Judd is not a cripple! So we lost.

jj1978

May 11, 2006
I was at the game, and when I got home I watched it again... at the game when we were 25 points in front I sensed it could go either way.. we'd smash em.. or just think we had sealed the game and take our foot off the peddle (the latter happened).

Judd was brilliant.... watch him throughout the game closely and see what he does... how he leads the players.. makes effort to tell them what they've done good/bad... a REAL CAPTAIN. Finally a captain since Sticks that is a Captain not a band-aid.

But Judd when he had the ball was brilliant, the handpasses he pulled off when you wouldn't blame him for fluffing, his direct kicking, it was great. The only reason he slowed down was due to lack of Match fitness. But mark my words by round 5 we'll be creaming ourselves at what he does. Seriously when we played West Coast I used to pay more attention to our players how they move on the field, and never really saw the marvel of Judd. Now he's a Carlton player I watched him closely and by oath... he is the BEST in the comp (even underdone).

And in terms of our loss... teams lose games throughout the year..we can still get out 8 wins.. just one of them wasn't going to be round 1. Chin up... I have a strong inkling that we're going to beat StKilda... trust me :)

Judd is not half the captain he could be. He never had leadership at the eagles, perhaps things will change at carlton but don't get excited yet.

Also, judd is not the best (even underdone) ... not even close when he's underdone.

He doesn't have the great teammates anymore or from what i saw the blocking gameplan. He has llost his pace as well. Judd is still going to be great but he can't do everything. The rest of the team needs to lift. Murphy is but gibbs still isn't.

Judd is not half the captain he could be. He never had leadership at the eagles, perhaps things will change at carlton but don't get excited yet.

Also, judd is not the best (even underdone) ... not even close when he's underdone.

He doesn't have the great teammates anymore or from what i saw the blocking gameplan. He has llost his pace as well. Judd is still going to be great but he can't do everything. The rest of the team needs to lift. Murphy is but gibbs still isn't.

It was his first game as captain, and his first game with a new club, first game after surgery....etc etc
I reckon he conducted himself leading up to the game and in the game as a true champion. If you still had him you would be still worshipping him to this day.

was he unacountable at ur mob because last night it seemed like hed play great defence and terible offense. i know he isnt 100% and stuff but i saw no pressure in him when they had the ball. hes great in situations where it is a throw in, ball up or bounce.

Good to see that you are still bitter about Judd leaving. Chin up mate, you'll be fine.

What a masterful command of the English language. Ignorant fool. Then again, what else could one expect from a sewer dwelling Richmond supporter.
I think you quoted the wrong post:D. It happens:).

It was his first game as captain, and his first game with a new club, first game after surgery....etc etc
I reckon he conducted himself leading up to the game and in the game as a true champion. If you still had him you would be still worshipping him to this day.
Great player, it's just he's not a great leader.

He could become so much better and he might but atm he's no great leader.

And when underdone there are many better players.

was he unacountable at ur mob because last night it seemed like hed play great defence and terible offense. i know he isnt 100% and stuff but i saw no pressure in him when they had the ball. hes great in situations where it is a throw in, ball up or bounce.
He wasn't unaccountable with us, he's always been a great tackler.

I know he wasn't 100% but his offence wasn't too bad, his kicking was great but he didn't have penetrating runs or kicks, which is vital to his game.

Thought is was a good effort first up from a man who's clearly still at 70-80%.

His lack of ability to apply defensive pressure was annoying (as with all our midfield) and i'd love to see even a flicker of the 'afterburners' just so i know that they actually still exist. We'll just have to give him a month or so.

If people dont mind me putting my 2bobs worth in here....I watched Judd when he took on captains role at WC...If he wasn't intimidated by the strong personalities of certain players in that team, then I'm a monkeys uncle!!.....Those certain players "ran" that club for a long time, and please dont deny it, its common knowledge.....Even when they won the flag a couple of years ago, Judd looked thrilled to bits as he and Woosha held up the cup, .... until Woosha allowed Cousins to also hold up the cup!!...Just the three of them....Judds face dropped momentarily, you could see that cousins presence made him feel different and not the real captain...that was before the rest of the team got up on the platform.....after that we thought he looked just like he was....a token gesture of a captain......the real captain was Cousins....still!!!......that scenario does not make for a happy chappy IMO.....will be a lot different at Carlton i feel....

If people dont mind me putting my 2bobs worth in here....I watched Judd when he took on captains role at WC...If he wasn't intimidated by the strong personalities of certain players in that team, then I'm a monkeys uncle!!.....Those certain players "ran" that club for a long time, and please dont deny it, its common knowledge.....Even when they won the flag a couple of years ago, Judd looked thrilled to bits as he and Woosha held up the cup, .... until Woosha allowed Cousins to also hold up the cup!!...Judds face dropped momentarily, you could see that cousins presence made him feel different and not the real captain...that was before the rest of the team got up on the platform.....after that we thought he looked just like he was....a token gesture of a captain......the real captain was Cousins....still!!!......that scenario does not make for a happy chappy IMO.....will be a lot different a Carlton i feel....

Probably because he knew Cousins was high as a kite....again. :rolleyes:

Good to see that you are still bitter about Judd leaving. Chin up mate, you'll be fine.

Why is it most Carlton fans always feel the need to either deflect the comments made or questions asked and turn threads into slanging matches?

I made the following post in the other Judd thread on this board. Judd was never a great captain at the Eagles. Champion player, however he was never a leader, never the real captain. Cousins was always our captain and even then I would say players like Cox, Glass and Embley were our leaders. Judd leads by example, however he doesn't lead in the way I believe a captain should.

As for being bitter about Judd leaving, you're right alot of Eagles fans were pissed off when he said he was heading home and it was evident that he was going to the highest bidder. Home sickness? Yeah right. However most of us are over it. One player doesn't make a football club, as you can notice from last night's game.

"Not sure why most discussions on the Carlton board appear to deteriorate into off topic slanging matches, however I'd like to make a comment on the original post. :cool:

Judd has never been your typical leader. He leads by example but rarely with passion. That was clearly evident from his time at West Coast. When he decided to leave some said it was because he was not passionate about being at West Coast. I disagree, I think thats his style and it was evident from his 'leadership' last night. I personally think a Captain should be more passionate and 'aggressive' in his style of leadership, especially in footy. Cuz, despite his mountain of off field troubles, was the second best Captain we've had behind Woosha and one of the best Eagles of all time. These guys bled blue and gold for the team.

I believe Stevens would have been a better choice for Captain with Judd as a deputy. However I think the Judd appointment was both a management/marketing decision as well as a football one.

As for Judd not being at his best, give the guy a break he's coming off an injury or a pre-season. Come the middle of the season we will know. I noticed that he got alot of the ball but he just wasn't as damaging on his runs and a couple of times got out run by Foley and King. Hopefully just cob webs but a couple of teeny weeny worrying signs. Also without Cox hand feeding him and Cuz and Kerr running alongside him its going to be a little harder for him."

Last night showed that Judd still is a force to be reckoned with, but before you start to yell out words like "Bitter!" and "Sour Grapes!", remember when i say this that I have seen absolutely every Chris Judd game.

Last night he did some good things and will get better touch as the season goes on, but he was slow. Really slow. Judd didn't chase at all last night whilst at the Eagles he developed a wonderful defensive side to his game. But more concerning is that he didn't break away from a pack once and he didn't outrun anyone. It has been a year (round 1 against Sydney last year) where I noticed a big drop off in his pace.

The first half of last year, he still got a lot of possessions but they were less effective as they were often behind packs and in the backline. When his groin got really bad he couldn't kick more than 30 metres. Last night his kicking was better but, it has been a year now and still his pace has not returned.

It is concerning for Carlton to say the least.

Why is it most Carlton fans always feel the need to either deflect the comments made or questions asked and turn threads into slanging matches?

I made the following post in the other Judd thread on this board. Judd was never a great captain at the Eagles. Champion player, however he was never a leader, never the real captain. Cousins was always our captain and even then I would say players like Cox, Glass and Embley were our leaders. Judd leads by example, however he doesn't lead in the way I believe a captain should.

As for being bitter about Judd leaving, you're right alot of Eagles fans were pissed off when he said he was heading home and it was evident that he was going to the highest bidder. Home sickness? Yeah right. However most of us are over it. One player doesn't make a football club, as you can notice from last night's game.

"Not sure why most discussions on the Carlton board appear to deteriorate into off topic slanging matches, however I'd like to make a comment on the original post. :cool:

Judd has never been your typical leader. He leads by example but rarely with passion. That was clearly evident from his time at West Coast. When he decided to leave some said it was because he was not passionate about being at West Coast. I disagree, I think thats his style and it was evident from his 'leadership' last night. I personally think a Captain should be more passionate and 'aggressive' in his style of leadership, especially in footy. Cuz, despite his mountain of off field troubles, was the second best Captain we've had behind Woosha and one of the best Eagles of all time. These guys bled blue and gold for the team.

I believe Stevens would have been a better choice for Captain with Judd as a deputy. However I think the Judd appointment was both a management/marketing decision as well as a football one.

As for Judd not being at his best, give the guy a break he's coming off an injury or a pre-season. Come the middle of the season we will know. I noticed that he got alot of the ball but he just wasn't as damaging on his runs and a couple of times got out run by Foley and King. Hopefully just cob webs but a couple of teeny weeny worrying signs. Also without Cox hand feeding him and Cuz and Kerr running alongside him its going to be a little harder for him."
If Stevens was such a great leader why was Lance Whitnall (who is now gone) preferred to him a year ago?

I don't know who is a great leader at your club. I don't follow the Blues. I assumed Stevens is the next best choice purely because he was named as the vice captain.

Are you telling me that the Blues have no suitable leaders at all that a player who was the captain of the club he just left was made the captain when based on his previous performances he wasn't really a 'leader' in the true sense of the world and he's had but a few months to get to know his team mates?

Judd is a good leader but not in the traditional sense. He leads by example..by the way he trains and he plays games out. However he is not the raw leader that some players are. When out on the ground he is very focused on himself and getting himself playing his best footy. He doesnt get emotional or start reving the fellas up with the big talks before the bounce.

That is not a slight on Chris at all, just his personality. And its not WC bitterness towards him. You could look the threads up on the WC board saying the same thing over the past few years if you could be bothered. Some WC supporters questioned whether he was actually leading the club while he was captain. Reality was that Cousins was captain, Judd just had the title.

At WC we have/had a core of players with strong leadership traits (Cox, Hunter, Glass, Cousins, Chick, Wirra etc), Judd didnt need to get down and dirty with the captaincy IMO. He just did his own thing and his leadership in terms of example was more than enough. The others would provide the gee-ups in the rooms. He might need to life a cog at the Blues as he is leading a crop of younger players and doesnt have the strong core group of players supporting him.

Last night showed that Judd still is a force to be reckoned with, but before you start to yell out words like "Bitter!" and "Sour Grapes!", remember when i say this that I have seen absolutely every Chris Judd game.

Last night he did some good things and will get better touch as the season goes on, but he was slow. Really slow. Judd didn't chase at all last night whilst at the Eagles he developed a wonderful defensive side to his game. But more concerning is that he didn't break away from a pack once and he didn't outrun anyone. It has been a year (round 1 against Sydney last year) where I noticed a big drop off in his pace.

The first half of last year, he still got a lot of possessions but they were less effective as they were often behind packs and in the backline. When his groin got really bad he couldn't kick more than 30 metres. Last night his kicking was better but, it has been a year now and still his pace has not returned.

It is concerning for Carlton to say the least.

Your right, that wasnt the real Chris Judd. He will improve on that. Will be interesting to see how much though.

Judd is not a cripple! So we lost.