Judd Trade Hindsight

Well only really time will tell but I think Carlton has blown this trade.

He was going home so we were up the creek anyway we could only hope that a club stepped forward with players and or draft picks - enter Carlton.

But think about it - Judd is 24 and this year Carlton are not going to play in the grand final and whilst have great stock of young players probably wont play in a grand final for another 5 years or more by then Judd may well be at an end, especially in the midfield. Judd may not even poll that well in a Brownlow again as Carlton arent winning enough games.

Meanwhile, Kennedy has shown he is going to be a star for us if he keeps going the way he is going. Also from the Judd trade we got Masten who is showing great composure in the midfield for a first year player.

Had Carlton let Judd go and kept Kennedy, they would also probably got Masten or Palmer.

What I am saying is that Carlton would have been better placed in the 5 or more years time when they come to play in a grand final to have Kennedy and Masten/Palmer along with the rest of the young crop of players.

Time will tell.

I bet with the choice you'd prefer Judd at the Eagles. You'd be lying otherwise. So don't talk sh1t.

Kennedy injured again:

The West Coast Eagles have suffered another injury blow, losing young forward Josh Kennedy to a knee injury ahead of the clash with Sydney at Subiaco on Saturday.
Eagles coach John Worsfold said that former Blue Kennedy, who was traded to the club as part of Chris Judd's move to Carlton, had suffered a minor tear of his posterior cruciate ligament that would keep him out of action for at least two matches.

Full article: http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/another-injury-blow-for-eagles-49813

Kennedy injured again:

The West Coast Eagles have suffered another injury blow, losing young forward Josh Kennedy to a knee injury ahead of the clash with Sydney at Subiaco on Saturday.
Eagles coach John Worsfold said that former Blue Kennedy, who was traded to the club as part of Chris Judd's move to Carlton, had suffered a minor tear of his posterior cruciate ligament that would keep him out of action for at least two matches.

Full article: http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/another-injury-blow-for-eagles-49813

He should just change his name to Josh Former Blue Kennedy. :thumbsu:

Funny how when they write atricles about Judd its not Former WCE Judd........or Judd, who was traded to the Blues as part of the deal for Josh Kennedy. :p

As for JK, sorry to hear he is injured.
I'm 100% sure that if it was Judd that was injured we would have a flood of well wishers from the WCE.......seems only fair to reciprocate.:thumbsu::rolleyes:

I bet with the choice you'd prefer Judd at the Eagles. You'd be lying otherwise. So don't talk sh1t.

Mate you have missed the point. Judd was gone - he decided to leave so there was no choice for Eagles at all. We just had to hope a club stepped up and gave up some picks/kids and one did - Carlton.

Only in 10 years will the answer be known.

Mate you have missed the point. Judd was gone - he decided to leave so there was no choice for Eagles at all. We just had to hope a club stepped up and gave up some picks/kids and one did - Carlton.

The answer might be known on-field personnel wise.......was the Judd trade a win for the CFC in general, Absolutely.

Y'know it is possible for BOTH clubs to win out of this deal.

We signed an extra 5,000 members this year, on the back of another poor year form wise.
Our merchandising revenue is going through the roof as well.

On field you can see the confidence Stevens is getting from having Judd there, not to mention Murph, Gibbs, Bentick and Grigg.

Judd has lead a group that had no leader when he arrived.

I don't need 10 years to prove that we have won out of this deal..........though I dare say you might need that long to be sure that you have won as well.

IMO you have, and both clubs are better off for the trade.

If we keep Kennedy and take Masten, Morton or Palmer, sure, we still look O.K. on paper, but the outcry from fans for not getting Judd when we were so close would be greater than the outcry over losing Kennedy, and I dare say every stat he picked up at the Tiges or Pies or wherever would be posted on this board by troll with more venom than what we get over JK and Masten.

We would not have got the boosts off-field from keeping the picks, and I dare say, after not clinching the deal our membership may well have stagnated or gone backwards after another poor year in 07.

Win win. That's my take on it.:thumbsu:

Kennedy injury-proneness must be starting to become a concern though. Hasn't had a full season yet. Not a good sign for a CHF.:(
Masten starting a career on ball with OP before he even gets a kick.......

as you say. Time will tell.

Complete wank. Eagles were hoping someone would step up for Judd. :rolleyes:

crying-newborn-baby-photo.jpg

I'm impartial here, but I reckon any player who site go home factor is a tad soft eg Steinglien, Stevens, Judd, Carr and it continues. People argue Judd did well for West Coast in his time, but they pured development into him, who then bailed when he was in his prime as a football player, leaving a vast void in their leadership and midfield, in a nutshell he screwed them.

What about Bryce Gibbs, lets say in 3 years at 22 decides he want to be a Crow, are you guys going to be saying, ahh well good on him, he gave us 5 good years, no way, as you shouldn't, it's a cop out.

I also find it amazing, alot of the time these players when they move sometimes become a shadow of their former selves, I wonder if complacency kicks in for some.

Carr has never be the same, Stevens another same for Stenglein, Judd will obviously be different, because at 50% he would still be in the top 15% of players, TRUE GUN and legend, best player I have seen, IMO.

My god, what were we hearing trade time last year? The answer is that your team was holding us out until we gave up pick 1, 3 and a quality player. For a fully fit Judd, you could perhaps understand why you'd ask for a 3 in 1 scenario, but we stood our ground on the no.1 pick and you guys thought we screwed you over. How wrong YOU guys were, not us because:
The fact of the matter is he was even more unfit in his last year with the Eagles than he is now. If anything, he is working his way back into it, we may have to wait another year, but losing Judd was a huge blow and you guys wanted huge compensation because he was considered the best player in the competition. We "only" gave yous pick 3 and a guy noone outside Carlton knew about in a player called Josh Kennedy, but I for 1 knew it was a great pickup and so would the Carlton officials. Yes, we gave yous 2 beauties in Kennedy and Masten, but yous were spitting chips last October. Now we've been extremely generous, probably too generous but that wasn't the case last year. Oh dear me.

I'm impartial here, but I reckon any player who site go home factor is a tad soft eg Steinglien, Stevens, Judd, Carr and it continues. People argue Judd did well for West Coast in his time, but they pured development into him, who then bailed when he was in his prime as a football player, leaving a vast void in their leadership and midfield, in a nutshell he screwed them.
I'm sure you bagged the crap out of Wanganeen and Cockatoo-Collins as traitors and never really accepted them as true Port people...........I'm sure there are many more.:o

Of course not. Wanga's is one of those I would say went home and performed equally if not better.

All I am saying he screwed West Coast, you guys got a bargain and the rhetoric of deal with it, you got 6 years from him, doesn't gel with me.

I would say Wanga's hole for the bombers wasn't as great as Judd's to West Coast

Of course not. Wanga's is one of those I would say went home and performed equally if not better.

All I am saying he screwed West Coast, you guys got a bargain and the rhetoric of deal with it, you got 6 years from him, doesn't gel with me.

I would say Wanga's hole for the bombers wasn't as great as Judd's to West Coast

With Wanga in the bombers team in the 99 prelim and 01 GF, I dare say he could of been the difference in one of those games.... brownlow medalist (thief was William's) and a darn good player.

We didn't theive he wanted to return and we had the concessions to get him, who wouldn't.

We tried hard to get Chris Grant but he wouldn't come, he did say he came close to leaving.

Anyway, you guys are steering this off track from the fact that Judd ripped West Coast a new one :)

Of course you would argue that. Otherwise you would have to admit to being a hypocrite..........and it ain't that cold in hell. ;)

Wakelin
Pickett
Hardwick
Cummings
Heaver

.......just a few more who were......to quote your good self.......'developed and bailed".

Now again, you'll claim that the hole left by these guys wasn't great.

I'd argue that Wakelin left a big hole as did Pickett, and both went on to better careers with you than their former clubs.

Hardwick and Cockatoo-Collins left a hole as well.........if you get my meaning.;)

I'd argue that if WCE had their shit together and didn't lose Cousins at the same time then the hole wouldn't have been as great, but a player of Judds calibre will always leave a big hole so its a pretty safe arguement.

Still doesn't mean he shouldn't have left.

Leadership void?
Cox, Fletcher, Embley, Glass, Hansen.......not senior enough and able to lead?

Screwed WCE?
They could have got nothing, but instead got a good up and coming CHF, Masten, and whoever they took with pick 20.
Fair value? Hard to judge.......but screwed?

Pfft......give me a break.

Carlton coach Brett Ratten has scoffed at suggestions his club could yet end up the loser out of the Chris Judd deal despite the Blues landing one of the game's best players and their new captain.

In his first season with Carlton, the new skipper is averaging a healthy 23.7 disposals per game and has kicked nine goals in 10 games but does not appear to be having the same sensational impact that he had during his time with the Eagles.
"But regardless of what happens to the other picks and with Masten, I am not worried because I know the impact Chris Judd has had at our footy club."

Ratten also pointed out the Blues got pick 46 as part of the deal and the player gained with that pick in last year's draft in Dennis Armfield made an impressive debut against Geelong last week.
"So for us (the Judd trade) is just a win for us and that is all we are worried about," he said.

Full article: http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/ratten-judd-deal-an-enormous-win-49832

Carlton coach Brett Ratten has scoffed at suggestions his club could yet end up the loser out of the Chris Judd deal despite the Blues landing one of the game's best players and their new captain.

In his first season with Carlton, the new skipper is averaging a healthy 23.7 disposals per game and has kicked nine goals in 10 games but does not appear to be having the same sensational impact that he had during his time with the Eagles.
"But regardless of what happens to the other picks and with Masten, I am not worried because I know the impact Chris Judd has had at our footy club."

Ratten also pointed out the Blues got pick 46 as part of the deal and the player gained with that pick in last year's draft in Dennis Armfield made an impressive debut against Geelong last week.
"So for us (the Judd trade) is just a win for us and that is all we are worried about," he said.

Full article: http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/ratten-judd-deal-an-enormous-win-49832

He is the number 1 contested ball winner in the comp, crowds are up, membership is up.........merchandise sales are up.......I'd like to know how they measure "impact", because that statement is rubbish. :o

people are talking more about what he is doing for the club such as memberships merchandise. carlton does not need to worry about money you got one of the richest men in the country at the head of the football club. yeh judd is good but you gave 3 players to gain 1. someone mentioned that you got armifield for pick 46 settle down his no masten or kennedy.

personally carlton needed to do it because of the last 6 years results to get them from the bottom. was is the right decision overall to win carlton a flag imo no. carlton couldnt afford to wait a couple of more years to develop a kennedy or a masten coming through because that would require finishing towards the bottom for a couple more years. In the long run i would have liked to see a forward line that had fev kennedy fish betts and whoever. with a midfield of stevens murphy masten and kruezer. carlton is lacking that tall forward as they are to fev minded and by picking up judd short term fix with a long term loss

I think people are missing a massive point here. The guy isn't playing shite he's been fantastic. He is making his teamates around him look significantly better like all great players do.

But the biggest bonus for mine is our young guys are learning excellent habits from Juddy not only on the field but off. ie, what they eat and how hard you have to work to become great. Before they only had guys who's commitment has been questioned on more than one occasion.

Juddy has brought so much to the table I don't see how any sane person could possibly believe that we ran second in this race.

Gee I wonder why?
Fair dinkum, there are some absolute f__k wits in this world. Arggghhhh!!!

Gee I wonder why?
Fair dinkum, there are some absolute f__k wits in this world. Arggghhhh!!!

your missing a chf at the moment, you gave up a chf for judd who is a midfielder which you have gained with masten. you picked up kennedy in the top 10 you think these players grow on trees. hey you look like jb come in make your self at home. no its not like that you can find midfielders anywhere but the big men a hard to get and kennedy is not shit i think the kid has alot of potential to be something. and its not like carlton were lacking midfielders without judd in stevens carazzo simpson murph gibbs and walker when he comes back. whats 23.7 disposals. disposals mean nothing and you say there contested fair enough but his not as damaging as he use to be with them possessions and im going to a post but his not 100% and to all you people still thinking that its round 11

You must of bought a bag of chestnuts.

Please don't quote people who aren't even bright enough to post in Bay 13, it makes it doubly painful to read their garbage post twice.

We beat Collingwood due to Judd's last quarter, so the trade is already a win. :cool:

The trade was as much about having a good trading record and not burning your bridges like a few clubs who wear vertical stripes and have a bad reputation.

I hope the trade ends up a draw.

Moronic to suggest the Eagles have won the trade because they have Kennedy and the unproven Masten and Notte.

People overrate draft picks and assume every single young player will make it.

Clayton Collard was supposed to be a gun and a bargain, yet he was cut after one year.

We would have been considered fortunate to get that draft pick and player from Freo in a trade for someone like Russell last year.

Kennedy is no matchwinner or even a Roughead who is a gun, but a lead up CHF who gives you someone to kick to and brings the ball to ground.

We might even get the chance to draft a gun CHF and FF or two this year because we're supposed to believe the supply of young talent coming to Carlton ended at the last draft. ;) :rolleyes:

At least five years of Judd and the winning attitude he brought to Carlton is immeasurable for a club who have been rockbottom for six years.

People accuse us of tanking when we were a rabble, yet they also bag us for signing one of the best players in the AFL and say we should have gone for kids who won't win us any matches for some time.

Just what we needed, another Gibbs, Kreuzer and Murphy to get knifed on Bay 13 and by w***ers such as Mark Robinson who write for the Colllingwood Gazette..

Robbo, how many games has your rabble won this year when you're playing so many kids?

Fancy looking to win again by recruiting Judd and Hadley from clubs who have played in Grand Finals.

Masten, Notte and Kennedy will show us how to build a team when we win another PP.

How many memberships, corporate aackages and jumpers would we have sold if we had Kennedy, Masten and Notte? :cool:

Judd Inc booms
CARLTON knew Chris Judd's arrival at Princes Park was going to be big. But even it didn't envisage the money-spinning, marketing power of Judd incorporated. "We haven't got the figures yet to back this up, but a few of us at the club have joked that Chris is almost paying his own wages," Carlton communications general manager Ian Coutts said yesterday.

Judd, who signed a six-year contract to join the Blues from West Coast, is estimated to be earning about $4 million over the six years, a figure that does not include private sponsorship arrangements.

But from the day he signed with Carlton in October last year, the Blues' souvenir shop has gone into overdrive.

Judd's No. 5 guernsey is far and away the best seller.

The club has had so many requests for replica Judd jumpers that for the first time in history, it manufactured jumpers with the No. 5 emblazoned on the back.

"Usually supporters buy a jumper and then request the number of their favourite player," Coutts said.

"But the No. 5 was running out the door so quickly we had them pre-done . . . and still we struggled to keep up with demand. They've just walked off the shelves."

Judd player badges are the next highest-selling item in a year Carlton merchandise sales are up 15 per cent.

Coutts said Judd's arrival also had signalled a 30 per cent rise in corporate sales, while club membership has just crashed through the 40,000 barrier for the first time - nearly 5000 more than last year's record of 35,431.

"We can't directly say Chris has brought in an extra 5000 members, but we know he has," Coutts said.

"His recruiting has just generated so much more enthusiasm around the place and a massive upsurge in support.

"When we signed Chris, our chief executive Greg Swann said he had recruited him for the long term, not the short term. But off the field, his impact has been instant."
Only overrated club's sell a player's jumper by the truckload when he isn't even their best footballer. ;) :D

All I know is that WestCoast is currently 2nd last with 2 wins without him and we have doubled that with 4 wins just outside the eight with JUDDY in our team. I think it tells me alot of how he is going onfield as well. Oh the pain, the pain ...