Judd vs. Kouta

• Thread starter Thread starter TNBT

Cheers mate! I would have been satisfied to have simply bred Kouta with Eloise Southby :D

Nah too dour.

Imagine Kouta at full back, chb, in the pivot, in the ruck and a kouta rover, at chf and one at ff and one crumbing for snaps at goal, one handed pick up and snap if Kouta ff couldnt snag the mark, and one on each wing. Is there a team that could beat the mighty koutas?

Kouta at the end of 99 and through 2000 would take Judd and anybody else to the cleaners. During that period he was the most devastating player I have ever seen. True utility who could pick up 35 possessions, double digit contested marks and 3-4 goals.

That being said and as everybody rightly pointed out Judd is the stayer and has played better footy over a longer period.

Therefore if you are talking about form over 1 year then Kouta has Judd (and anybody who ever played AFL - at least in my lifetime) covered but anything longer, Juddy

I have the question confused though, is it comparing both in their prime or both their careers.

Sorry, I guess I didn't word the question that well. The point was to compare Kouta at his prime, to Judd over his career. The reason I ask that is because to me, no one could touch Kouta in his prime. However, over the course of a longer time, Judd has been more consistently great for a lot of years.

TNBT, what are you doing here. I took it to be at their best and nominated Kouta. Career for career I would take Judd hands down.

How can you compare one guy's prime to another guy's career.

Not really apples and apples is it.

I see 30year old blue misread the thread then.

awkward-turtle.jpg

As much as it is possible to compare 2 players that played in different eras and different team dynamics (Kouta played in a genuine top 4 team at Carlton, Judd hasnt yet, Kouta had a number of other champions around him such as Diesel, Braddles, Sticks, around him, Judd doesnt) etc etc I compared one in his prime to the other in his prime so far.

Judd may well go up another notch but we cant compare something that hasnt happened. So from what I saw of Kouta and what I have seen of Judd at either WC or with us, I say Kouta for all the reasons mentioned so far. Like I said early, perhaps a good way to look at it is who would you like 18 clones of, would a team of Koutas beat a team of Judds? I reckon they would.

BP, if you want to take that as a win, you take it mate. :thumbsu:

But not all of us were there to see it ................................ I was :)

I went straight from the G to the arts centre to queue for tickets and watched all of the Essendon members that had already staked out places in the queue trudge off. Magic. Just magic.

Sadly this isn't the forum I could safely discuss what I did that night/morning.

Seriously though, I can safely say that I had never been on such a (natural) high.
Never had been and never will be again. That was the day.
It was like heaven unfolding in front of my eyes. Just Brilliant

What is also sad in hindsight, and this also is prolly not the thread to rehash it, (that dead horses carcass has been picked over many times in other threads) but that win was probably one of our worst. It and the momentum of the last years of the champions we had that carried us to competitiveness in 2000 and 2001 masked the rot and decay that was festering under the surface, and we all know what came next.

But lets not discuss that now. Lets marvel in the day and the man.

Im going Kouta at the moment but if I see Judd turn a GF on its ear and hold up a Premiership cup in a blue guernsey I'm entitled to change my mind.

As a midfielder judd is a superstar,nobody comes close.
Kouta as a midfielder was a star and he played positions that judd cant play i.e chb chf ff.a player that is elite as a midfielder and can play kp is very rare,i cant choose but am i glad ive seen them both don our magnificent jumper,just cant wait to see judd take us all the way

TBH I think more than a few did. In hind sight I can't see the point of comparing a player's best with another player's career but whatever.

Yer, tell Sin that I will expect an apology for post number 14 :).

Seems like im the only one that truly read the thread.

Bond University seems to be paying in the truckload latley.

Had a few at the Beach Hotel so relax.

Great Pub.

You always have an excuse for your lack of education and today Uni is back on again, after it having been on and off a number of times over the past few days. Dont you understand that your posts are a permanent record of your fibs?

And I read the OP in fact I will paste it here for you again:

Compare Kouta in his prime to Chris Judd. How do the two compare? How do you rate the two of them?

Nowhere in that sentence sequence does it say to compare over career. You see it is implied in a sentence that if you mention the criteria of the first subject (in his prime) but dont specify criteria for the second, then it is implied to the second even though it is not mentioned. For example, this sentence sequence: I caught 2 fish today. The first fish was a snapper the second was a whiting. Note that it is implied that the second was also a fish even though the sentence does not mention that it is. It is implied.

Its ironic that the poster of the OP admitted that what he meant is what you assumed to be his meaning even though you did so by ignoring simple rules of grammar and fell ass backwards by luck into what he meant, and everyone else applied the correct rules of logic and grammar and were in fact incorrect based on what the OP poster subsequently claimed was his intention.

And you claim to be a university educated. This week.

Honestly.... I have no idea what your talking about.

I type what I am going to say and then send it, many students I go to school with arent the best at english and thats probalby because of the 21st century way of learning.

btw i <3 you.

Honestly.... I have no idea what your talking about.

I type what I am going to say and then send it, many students I go to school with arent the best at english and thats probalby because of the 21st century way of learning.

btw i <3 you.

And much more mature too. :eek:

BTW, I dont judge people on the level of education they have. I dont much care if you do or do not go to uni or can or cannot understand rules of grammar. But I dont suffer fools too well, and I dont suffer fibbers much better. I agree that the standards that seem to pass for acceptable these days are declining, but I doubt very much that the rules of writing such as grammar, punctuation, notation etc would have been lowered in Universities. I admit it is almost 10 years since I last studied at uni but I doubt standards change. I accept you are not handing in an assignment here, so the same rules dont apply but some things become habit. Like reading what is written, not assuming facts not in evidence etc. and basic spelling and grammar become habit.