Rumour JUH

In situations like this the clubs shouldn't pay the player a dime.

Disgusting he's on full pay the entire year to party
ITKs suggested we tried to delist him earlier in the year but the AFL blocked it (optics).

A few months ago LB cryptically mentioned it's "in the AFL's hands now". The club have been concerned for a while he's pissing a heap of natural talent to the wall.

It's at a point where no club will take him and he may well be out of the system next year.

ITKs suggested we tried to delist him earlier in the year but the AFL blocked it (optics).

A few months ago LB cryptically mentioned it's "in the AFL's hands now". The club have been concerned for a while he's pissing a heap of natural talent to the wall.

It's at a point where no club will take him and he may well be out of the system next year.
I am not sure why you’d take him. The only way I’d do it if it was a one year deal and a minimum wage (no idea what it is these days) so he could prove himself again. If he really wants to come back then take 100k a year and prove it. Clauses in the deal after year one.

The thing is, it would be easy for him to get back on track given he has that much talent. He could earn a 2 year deal after next year on 400k and be back.

I am not sure why you’d take him. The only way I’d do it if it was a one year deal and a minimum wage (no idea what it is these days) so he could prove himself again. If he really wants to come back then take 100k a year and prove it. Clauses in the deal after year one.

The thing is, it would be easy for him to get back on track given he has that much talent. He could earn a 2 year deal after next year on 400k and be back.
Yes. Unfortunately the penny still hasn't dropped.

Someone will, there are too many teams and not enough talent but you'd think he will have to sign a contract that states if he stuffs up once then it's terminated.

Lots of Dogs fans are at pains to point out an upbringing in Framlingham is not like the upbringing that the vast majority of Australians have. The extent that that matters is clearly up for debate but it's a starting point and what might be logical in our society cannot entirely be true with a different upbringing that you or me don't necessarily have a lot of familiarity with or understanding of.

Fair enough. But then I would ask the following three questions:
  1. How many Australians get an education at Scotch College?
  2. How many Australians earn the ungodly amount he does, and at his age?
  3. How many Australians get to not turn up for their job for a full year and still be paid, and have most of his indiscretions kept quiet by his employer and a compliant (and gutless) media?

Every time you pay too much for a pie at the footy, or for your reserved seat, etc - just remember a little bit of that money indirectly goes here.

It also goes towards paying Daniel McStay's wages. At least Marra provides entertainment.

1. How many Australians get to not turn up for their job for a full year and still be paid, and have most of his indiscretions kept quiet by his employer and a compliant (and gutless) media?

And you support which team again?

I sometimes think about someone like JUH as a kind of virus ware running in the background of a club.

He's using huge amount of club resources (player welfare, conditioning, medical, etc) that would be slowing down the "CPU" of the club.

It's not just the money, it's all the other BS associated with someone like JUH that would make any club hesitant about picking him up even on a base wage contract.

In essence is his potential worth all the noise?

Will be an interesting watch to see if any club is brave enough to take that kind of highly risky punt.

AFL clubs are like problem gamblers when looking for natural talent and I’m sure someone would be lured into giving him another chance out of desperation, just like with Laurence Angwin, Harley Bennell, Ben Cousins etc.

If he doesn’t address the underlying issue I suspect it would end the same way.

I sometimes think about someone like JUH as a kind of virus ware running in the background of a club.

He's using huge amount of club resources (player welfare, conditioning, medical, etc) that would be slowing down the "CPU" of the club.

It's not just the money, it's all the other BS associated with someone like JUH that would make any club hesitant about picking him up even on a base wage contract.

In essence is his potential worth all the noise?

Will be an interesting watch to see if any club is brave enough to take that kind of highly risky punt.
If (as is suggested by the ITKs out there) the club wanted to sack him early in the season, then it’s exactly this.

It’s a huge deal sacking a former #1 pick who had 80 shots on goal in ‘24. If the club is that resolute he needs to go, it can only be because they’re that concerned about the impact his issues has on the club.

With the ferals he's now hanging around with 24/7 this boy will end up dead in a gutter one day, and no-one will be surprised.
To be fair the same was said of Cousins

The way they (mainly Barrett) talk around this stuff is cringeworthy.

Just say it like it is... the club wants to get rid of him, the AFL have forced them to keep him on the books and pay him this season while attempting some mediation be that because they're concerned about a lawsuit or the public image whatever it is, but that mediation opportunity will not be carried over into another season and the AFL will not stop the Dogs from tearing up his contract for next year. That seems to be my feel of the situation.

Without seeing the contract it's pretty clear he has not complied with the standards or requirements set on him as an AFL footballer and I can only assume it is only the AFL's direction that has stopped him from being fired right now, and that direction surely can't continue into next year as the AFL won't be able to justify prohibiting the Dogs moving him on and freeing up their salary cap surely. If the AFL want to pay him $1m for some public image thing about Indigenous players or mental health, whatever, let the social justice warriors at the AFL do that, but surely you can't sting the Dogs for this crap any more.

In a way, further increases my admiration for a certain megastar forward who changed clubs on the godfather of all deals (at the time). He had his problems, but was still able to put together an insanely good body of work on the field. Just goes to show how good he really was. In contrast to JUH.
Yeah nah, the majority of AFL players would be doing coke.

Jamarra's problems run a bit deeper than that I reckon.

And you support which team again?

I'm afraid that has zero to do with it. For one thing, I take a very big interest in the Dogs and if we don't do well in finals, nothing would be better than them having a great September.

To me it's simple. If you have a player doing any kind of illicit activity then get rid of them. It's what I would have done with Stokes when he was arrested buying coke. Fired immediately. And before you ask - if someone with the initials BS was doing the same thing now - they'd be out the door. It's very much a minority view I would expect.

You've either got standards or you don't. If your actions don't back up the rhetoric and hot air, then you really don't. That would be at my guess 100% of all clubs by the way.

I’m always reckoned that if you hung around with scumbags there was a fair chance you were a scumbag yourself.

No one can force you to associate with anyone you don’t want to, he’s a grow man fer goodness sake.
In his case you’re right.

However generally speaking bikies etc love to try and get involved with AFL players.

Don’t underestimate the way they are able to manipulate impressionable young men via drugs, gambling, power or whatever.

There’s a lot of silly and naive young footballers who make great targets for these scumbags.

Then once you’re in it can be very hard to rid yourself of them.

Rumour JUH