Jurrah in Dees Fold

• Thread starter Thread starter Griff19

I can't see it working out. He had a good year when he was the focal point in the forward line and everyone else had to work around him, but that's not going to happen with Clark, Hogan, Daves and Howe down there. He was never a structure player and at times we accommodated him a little too much.

No guarantee he'd come back and stick it out, no guarantee he'd play near the level he was at when he was in his prime. We don't need another med/tall forward in the mix, especially one who is going to struggle to adapt to a forward line that doesn't revolve around him.

But I get where you guys are coming from.

I can't see it working out. He had a good year when he was the focal point in the forward line and everyone else had to work around him, but that's not going to happen with Clark, Hogan, Daves and Howe down there. He was never a structure player and at times we accommodated him a little too much.

No guarantee he'd come back and stick it out, no guarantee he'd play near the level he was at when he was in his prime. We don't need another med/tall forward in the mix, especially one who is going to struggle to adapt to a forward line that doesn't revolve around him.

But I get where you guys are coming from.

This. There'd be a 'feel good' vibe about it, but we've got a very good forward line now (minus a good crumber) so he isn't really needed. Also not sure he ever really had the workrate needed to succeed at AFL level. Could take a hanger and kick some goals but was never great at putting on defensive pressure or working hard to get the ball if it wasn't directed straight to him.

How could it not work out football wise? He's a freakishly talented player which is what we need, you don't just say "Nah our forward line is good enough", you take every bit of talent you can get and Jurrah has that in spades.

I don't care about anything else anymore, just win f***ing footy games.

Absolutely would welcome him back if:
  • He's got his personal life in order.
  • He's 100% committed to a move back to Victoria to pursue an AFL career.
  • He's 100% committed to getting fully fit to an AFL standard.

Why do something unmelbourne-esque and wait for him to sort his shit out? Surely we stand to gain more of the positive publicity we have experienced lately.

How could it not work out football wise? He's a freakishly talented player which is what we need, you don't just say "Nah our forward line is good enough", you take every bit of talent you can get and Jurrah has that in spades.

I don't care about anything else anymore, just win f***ing footy games.

That'd be why everyone pounced on the freakishly talented Garlett last draft then. Baggage, potentially disruptive and a bit of a gamble.

Now: Pick him up, he's still a freak, we've got nothing to lose
2 years time: Typical Melbourne, always in the media for the wrong reason, can't catch a break.

LJ maybe my favourite player of all time, but the risk of taking him could seriously damage our club,he'd have to be in a pretty good way. But good luck to the guy, glad he is moving on.

Couldn't agree more mate.

I can't see any way Liam being free of those problems and returning in such a way wouldn't help morale around the club either. I'd be bloody thrilled if it happened.
Bloody Fantastic Point, and upon reading this tread I was totally against it, but your point made me re-think my position.

Howe and Jurrah competing in the air

Hogan Dawes Clark hitting packs

Drool worthy forward line

Chuck Fitzy somewhere in there too (I'm a huge fan of him and I personally think that he's going to get better and better with his footy). With that forward line we are more than ready, forward wise.

No way in holy hell

We're talking about changing the culture of our club - and you guys want to bring back this convicted criminal with time served. He will never have it in him to be 100% committed to any AFL club. I see Andrew Krakouer treating Collingwood like garbage after they gave him a second chance. Goes AWOL mid-season then recently phones the the VFL team an hour before start time to say he's ill. How that escape any notable cricticism in absolute joke

Where's the "don't like" button when you need it? Talk about perpetrating stereotypes.

How's life amongst the cheese-eating surrender monkeys?

hehehe I know this is off topic, but that's kinda an interesting statement. The french cop that due to WW2, yet the resistance kept fighting, The Americans celebrate their war on independance, yet if it wasn't for the french, the British would've smashed the hell out of them. Just an interesting point I reckon.

Wouldn't say a lot of time and research goes into derogatory terms. It's catchy enough to stick though.