Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2

obviously Freo is my number 1 team but growing up I used to just love AFL and watch every single game I could. There probably is only 1 game a week that lives up to standard everything else is just shit. Freo have been holding up the afl most weeks with how good the games are. As a fan of Freo I hate it it’s sent me bald and given me heart problems as an afl fan I love it cause it reminds me of how good footy was growing up.
This finals series has been deplorable and yet the only good one was ours. If JL keeps giving us great games to watch keep him for as long as possible because the AFL as a whole has been a shocking watch for years

Interesting to see that shaky coach Chris Scott has brought in Nathan Buckley as an assistant for next year.
We're lucky we don't need any of that

Interesting to see that shaky coach Chris Scott has brought in Nathan Buckley as an assistant for next year.

Yes I’m sure that Nathan Buckley, likely coach of the Tassie Devils, was falling over himself to uproot his family for the next year or two and move west before he becomes a head coach again

Unless Adam Simpson is keen, I think the chances of anyone of note uprooting their family for an Assistant coach gig in WA is somewhere between nil and f all.

I'd love to see the WAFC sign off on the WA teams breaching the soft cap and paying the tax, just to say '**** you' to the crooks at AFL house.

Unless Adam Simpson is keen, I think the chances of anyone of note uprooting their family for an Assistant coach gig in WA is somewhere between nil and f all.

I'd love to see the WAFC sign off on the WA teams breaching the soft cap and paying the tax, just to say '**** you' to the crooks at AFL house.

Simpson has moved back to Melbourne I think?

It’s a joke isn’t ?

I posted previously about how Mitchell’s brought in Daniel giranseracusa and tried for hinkley
- conversely it was brought up on here a few times about chasing Hinkley for director of coaching role etc and a lot people actually laughed /joked - obviously Ken couldn’t teach anything to the all knowing jlo but Sam Mitchell still thinks he needs some tips

Scott brings in Buckley

But apparently jlo and he’s amazing coaching group only needed to bring in development coach in mayney - they don’t need any more advice /help they know all /everything that’s required to achieve the ultimate success

- can’t possibly learn anything more

#organicgrowthis#organicgrowthisallitakes

Yea I’ll happily admit this the big issue in trying to add to both clubs IP

Those ****en entitled pieces of 💩 at the WAFC need to be ****ed off ASAP

I’m now well and truly in the camp that we let the AFL take over our funding distribution coz sure as shit the WAFC only cares about the WAFC and westcoast

Tho it’s worth remembering the AFL did sign off on an increa to the soft cap /specifically for a head assistant /director of coaching role at clubs .. once again tho those at freo making the important decisions appear to be content to sit on their hands on this , again

It’s a joke isn’t ?

I posted previously about how Mitchell’s brought in Daniel giranseracusa and tried for hinkley
- conversely it was brought up on here a few times about chasing Hinkley for director of coaching role etc and a lot people actually laughed /joked - obviously Ken couldn’t teach anything to the all knowing jlo but Sam Mitchell still thinks he needs some tips

Scott brings in Buckley

But apparently jlo and he’s amazing coaching group only needed to bring in development coach in mayney - they don’t need any more advice /help they know all /everything that’s required to achieve the ultimate success

Sorry mate. Normally agree with you but this is unfair. Would you move your family across the country to WA for $90k a year if you were an experienced AFL coach looking for an assistant role?

Nah I understand fully piggy ,made numerous posts about how it’s probably the number 1 thing that wa clubs are disadvantaged at buuuuuttt we still appear to be very passive in this area is more what I’m getting at - see the decision to not appoint a new coach when Carr left,the continued re shuffling of positions instead of canvassing outside people - why didn’t Freo try for say Mitch Duncan’s services??

seemingly only able to attract Rawlings- 2yrs later after another reshuffle?

finally I edited my response to your previous post noting the afl has increased the soft cap for specifically a director of coaching role etc

It’s pretty obvious the club hasn’t even bothered asking someone like Ken the question or almost anyone else in the industry- so little noise on this indicates the club is hardly pursuing improvement in this extremely important area of football operations aggressively if at all

Absolutely you wouldn't, honestly over here there should be things that both clubs should be able to do for club staff which is be able to other above market rates, and provide free housing. Otherwise there's just no way we'll be able to compete.

I think the hardest part of getting change to our Coaching list is attracting them to WA. We dont know how hard behind closed doors they have tried. So that leaves them with less options of local talent only. So perhaps they judgethat local talen is not worth adding so keep to the tried and true.

Nah I understand fully piggy ,made numerous posts about how it’s probably the number 1 thing that wa clubs are disadvantaged at buuuuuttt we still appear to be very passive in this area is more what I’m getting at - see the decision to not appoint a new coach when Carr left,the continued re shuffling of positions instead of canvassing outside people - why didn’t Freo try for say Mitch Duncan’s services??

seemingly only able to attract Rawlings- 2yrs later after another reshuffle?

finally I edited my response to your previous post noting the afl has increased the soft cap for specifically a director of coaching role etc

It’s pretty obvious the club hasn’t even bothered asking someone like Ken the question or almost anyone else in the industry- so little noise on this indicates the club is hardly pursuing improvement in this extremely important area of football operations aggressively if at all
How would you know though? It's not like every conversation the club has is made public.

It is more likely they are doing everything they can with no luck than just sitting back doing nothing.

Seems like criticism without supporting evidence to me.

The question is not whether Fremantle are approaching other assistants, the question is how can the rules be changed so that Freo can attract talented assistant coaches.

You know what, as long as these guys are just happy to be here :) and enjoy working with their mates then who cares if it stifles the potential of this playing list.

At this point - what even is another 5 years of the people at this club shielding their jobs with the youth excuse.

Longmire, Simpson, Goodwin premiership coaches. Buckley, Ken, even Cameron made prelims plus. Blokes like Ratten, experienced with multiple finals campaigns. Then guys like Dew who was a senior coach, now an assistant to a premiership team.
And we can't get one? Honestly what's more likely, we've tried them all (plus others) and they all said no, or we've checked out and are satisfied with Mr MidTable whilst Chris bloody Scott is still pushing to get that extra edge?

How would you know though? It's not like every conversation the club has is made public.

It is more likely they are doing everything they can with no luck than just sitting back doing nothing.

Seems like criticism without supporting evidence to me.

The question is not whether Fremantle are approaching other assistants, the question is how can the rules be changed so that Freo can attract talented assistant coaches.
Move freo to Victoria possibly lol

It’s a joke isn’t ?

Scott brings in Buckley

Mitchell is thinking he gets Hinkley in some BS advisor role it will give him the upper hand to Zac Butters stakes.

Thats the end game.

Like some have said, it is mere speculation that the club have not tried to lure a practiced assistant coach, read, past AFL head coach.
What people think, and reality, especially here on BF, really is shoot from the hip ,or is that lip, shit.
You only have to have listened to Malthouse, Lyon, and Simpson to understand that the VFL, have never, never, understood the hardship of the travel of the two WA clubs.
All three mentioned, have made it clear they never understood just how difficult it was to be jumping on a plane every second week.
I think even McQualter made mention of it during the early weeks of his stint.
Other states coaches have a ten minute plane flight ever couple of weeks, but nothing like the WA clubs.
Only a desperate Victorian, wanna be coach, would venture over three time zones to take on flying every two weeks. And most trips, at least five hours.
But, i guess, as per usual, anything to knock the club.

Like some have said, it is mere speculation that the club have not tried to lure a practiced assistant coach, read, past AFL head coach.
What people think, and reality, especially here on BF, really is shoot from the hip ,or is that lip, shit.
You only have to have listened to Malthouse, Lyon, and Simpson to understand that the VFL, have never, never, understood the hardship of the travel of the two WA clubs.
All three mentioned, have made it clear they never understood just how difficult it was to be jumping on a plane every second week.
I think even McQualter made mention of it during the early weeks of his stint.
Other states coaches have a ten minute plane flight ever couple of weeks, but nothing like the WA clubs.
Only a desperate Victorian, wanna be coach, would venture over three time zones to take on flying every two weeks. And most trips, at least five hours.
But, i guess, as per usual, anything to knock the club.
In a sport and industry where there are finite opportunities I find it hard to believe that any aspiring or experienced coach considers travel as a hinderance. They study and spend years on their careers and then say "No thanks, I don't fly domestic?" Laughable.

The ones that are worth employing, who’ll make a difference, absolutely.

its not the travelling it is uprooting your family .

If you leave family behind in other state then it raises closeness etc etc.

Even Flyin flyout families in mining have higher divorce rates and the spend a lot of time with family with 2 weeks on 2 weeks and even better rosters sometimes

Not spending enought time together as a family is hard.

moving kids interstate is hard.

I've never once considered living in Victoria or NSW and have done quite well for myself.

Way Australia seems to function though, is that Australia doesn't exist outside of those two places.

I'm sure Perth to them is like someone asking me to move to Birdsville / Broken Hill / Mt. Isa.

its not the travelling it is uprooting your family .

If you leave family behind in other state then it raises closeness etc etc.

Even Flyin flyout families in mining have higher divorce rates and the spend a lot of time with family with 2 weeks on 2 weeks and even better rosters sometimes

Not spending enought time together as a family is hard.

moving kids interstate is hard.
It’s why the WA teams should be united in confronting the AFL with an increase in our soft cap.
That and spending more coin on improving our U18’s system.
Otherwise you can forget about this decade for ultimate success.

Aspiring and experienced coaches are different beasts.
Inexperienced coaches will come west because they are desperate to log their required Assistant time in the book...
Good experienced (ex senior) coaches will have more east coast options...and are quite likely to have cooled their ambitions... and have older kids etc.
The best assistants are smart, dog hungry...and on the up.
But not yet proven.

Coach Justin Longmuir Pt 2