K.Harper

Sep 21, 2008
Vic
Okay, so we all know what Harps is capable of, and we all know he has the attributes to become a exceptionally good footballer.

But, I just watched the reply and I saw a very very sore and tired K.Harper...either that or his work ethic just isn't up to scratch. I understand he is young and all that, but you can't take players like that into finals (in saying that...I think finals experience would be excellent for him)...His last month of football has been very average, he hasn't been getting enough of the footy, his tackles haven't been hurting and his kicking in front of goals has been shite. If you are only going to get 10 touches a game, you must make sure they count.

To get the most out of Harper he needs to have a big pre-season and in the pre-season he really needs to work on his tank and his contested football ability. I want him to run with Patch for the entire pre-season, he needs to learn how to get cheap possessions and how to get involved in the play more. We all know how dangerous he can be so we need to get the footy in his hands more often. He has to work on his leading and he needs to add another string to his bow.

I actually wouldn't mind him spending an extended period in the VFL either in the midfield or at half back, so that he can learn how to get his hands on the football a bit more. Just my two cents

Good points there. I've been thinking about this for a few weeks now. I know Harps is the future and it may hurt to miss the final but if we are fair dinkum about picking on form, he needs a spell. Maybe Wells should come in for him and not Cruize.

Give him the week off and bring him back for finals.

Good points there. I've been thinking about this for a few weeks now. I know Harps is the future and it may hurt to miss the final but if we are fair dinkum about picking on form, he needs a spell. Maybe Wells should come in for him and not Cruize.

Exposing him to finals in his current form could really dint his confidence and from what I can see he is a real confidence player. Really needs to just get involved more. We know he has all the right attributes, but if he can get his hands on it and accumulate our forwards would be licking their lips.

Imagine if he had as many Inside 50's as Anthony!!! Petrie, Taz and Hansen would have an extra 10 goals each next to their score tallies.

Give him the week off and bring him back for finals.
We have seen what he can do, it is all in the head (mental exhaustion) or physical (soreness). Giving him the week off will refresh him on both levels and hopefully he can fire on the big stage like he has throughout the season.

Some of the players need a week off, he is definately one of them....come back for finals

They need the experience in finals so wouldnt dare think of not letting him paying in a final

He's been struggling of late, but he won't get spelled as he is a coaches favorite.

JZ also needs to pull his finger out and have a bigger impact this week.

Looks like he is absolutely spent. A week off will do him ok and then straight back in week 1 of finals.

Also young Harps copped a bit from a few around where I sit. One bloke standing up the back of isle 17 (or 18) on level 1 let out some horrid abuse at Harps as he walked by while off the ground. But one bloke turned around and absolutely unleashed on this flog. I seen and have heard about a few incidents from North fans yesterday... Quite dissapointing considering how well the teams been going.

He's an important player and will bounce back for finals.

JZ also needs to pull his finger out and have a bigger impact this week.

He does, but he was limping around like an old lady (apologies to any old ladies reading this) on Sunday after copping a heavy knock to his lower back. He looked cooked! Hopefully his third game back this week can reignite his form anyway.

Shouldn't play VFL or AFL - the magic words "general soreness" come to mind.

He did look pretty spent on the weekend, maybe he wants a rest. We should rest anyone else who is really sore too. Levi probably deserves a call up after his blinder on the weekend.

It might also help to have some some other boys have match time, if ( touch wood it doesn't happen) NM get injuries.

We've come this far, and could possibly have 2 weeks max left.

Why wasn't he rested a few weeks ago instead of the week before a huge final?

Not sure if it would have been wise to rest best 22 players before even earning a final Chiefton. Imagine if we lost a crucial game and were resting players?

I think he should be rested this week though, plenty of VFL players could adequately take his spot for one game.

We've come this far, and could possibly have 2 weeks max left.

Why wasn't he rested a few weeks ago instead of the week before a huge final?

Good question, it reflects one area where I think Brad Scott could improve and that is cycling so called 'fringe players' (those in the VFL on the cusp of playing in the seniors) through the senior team 1-2 or 3 players a week. On the weekend Goldy should not have played, who could cover for him? Even if they had been available neither Daw or Mabon have played a senior game, if one or both of them had even 2-3 senior games in them we could be a lot more confident about sticking them in the side if needed in two weeks time. I think this week Grima and Wells will come back for Delaney and Garlett and we should rest JMac, Atley and Harper bringing in Greenwood, Mullet and Daw?

K.Harper