Toast Kane Cornes

• Thread starter Thread starter kaysee

No, I've been defending him all year (usually with that exact same argument) but I hated his game today.

What, the only player presenting an option or kicking forwards (and long)? When you had half our team instantly looking backwards when they got the ball and Kane was one of the few to look forwards, I find it hard to criticise him, even if he didn't provide too much of a damaging penetration.

If that's how you remember his game, I mustn't have been watching the same game as you. Then again, I wasn't exactly fixated to the exciting action that was going on, so maybe I missed some of his good work, but I literally can't remember a single time where I said 'well done Kane' to myself. I can remember plenty of 'FFS Kane' moments though.

Members wing, played on quickly from HBF, kicked a perfect 50m pass to Matt Thomas at HFF who was one on two? I'm pretty sure it was our only highlight of the day.

Kane is probably the only one that understands Matty's game plan.

He was awful today. I distinctly remember being angry with him more often than any other player. This includes Chaplin, Carlile, Westhoff, Thomas and Logan.

Watching it crawled in my bed sulking at home,

Seriously thought he was one of our best. No idea if it looked different at the game, but thought he did some very good things.

Watching it crawled in my bed sulking at home,

Seriously thought he was one of our best. No idea if it looked different at the game, but thought he did some very good things.

Him being awful and being one of our best today aren't mutually exclusive

Bump.

Well done to Kane on a pretty damn good year when a lot of you thought he was done.

Wasn't perfect, but he has been one of our more consistant and played in general a different style. His kicking has improved throughout the year aswell.

Round 1: 2nd BOG
Round 2: 2nd BOG
Round 4: 5th BOG
Round 5: 5th BOG
Round 9: 3rd BOG
Round 14: 3rd BOG
Round 15: Cant find stats
Round 16: Cant find stats
Round 17: Cant find stats
Round 18: Cant find stats
Round 19: BOG
Round 20: 5th BOG
Round 21: Cant find stats
Round 22: Cant find stats

When I can find the others, I reckon there are a couple more BOG efforts aswell.

Would have to be close to being in the Top 3/Top 5 of our B&F.

Generally liked Kane's season. He had a couple of games where he reverted to bad habits, but for the most part he was a solid contributor. His consistency will probably see him poll very well in the MVP although I think it'll go to Brad overall.

Yeah, I still don't see this massive improvement in disposal or change in playing style. Opposition coaches still allow him to run loose and gather possessions almost at will and he still rarely does the team things. He's definitely had his moments in 2012 but i can't help but think the game has passed him by. I want to like having Kane in the side, I really do, but........I'm sorry.

Kane didn't shit me as much this year so from that perspective, he's improved.

Jokes aside, I think he'd be good for us next year.

He thought Primus was a douche. Was pretty shitty with him for playing him out of position and then was told his services were not longer required. He felt he was very hard done by because it was the coaches fault for playing him out of position.

Salter lol.

if his prep. and work rate can have a positive influence on 1 or 2 or more of the younger brigade then he's worth keeping on the list imo:thumbsu:

which player do you think he has influenced recently?

it is widely known both kane and chad leave no stone unturned when it comes to presenting themselves week in week out,that kind of commitment can ONLY have a POSITIVE influence on the{lets be honest} the entire playing group.
For you to call me out and name one in particular ......:rolleyes: you name one he's had a negative influence on lol

He's had a solid season. Still accumulates without being noticeable. His disposal hasn't been bad this year and he's generally reduced the number of fumbles and hospital handballs compared to 2011. I also think he restricted the numbers of cheap around the back handballs he got. So they are small positives. Importantly, his best value came when he was tagging and tagging well (see the 3 consecutive wins mid-season).

We have at least five duds in our regular 22 worse than Kane (Thomas, Logan, Rodan, Pfeiffer, McCarthy), so he's far from our biggest concern.

IMO he has generally been better in his attitude and urgency to move the ball with purpose. There has been a large reduction in the number of times he would demand a cheap 1-2, skirt around rucks/kick-takers for an easy disposal only to kick it backwards, and chip/hball the ball to put a team mate under pressure.

If anything I would say Dom has been the serial offender of the above this season. Kane has generally done a good tagging job too (especially considering how heavily umpired taggers are). For the most part, he has looked to move the ball positively forward and even snuck forward to kick a few more goals. He has had more kicks this year (282) than he did in his B&F years of 2008 (268) and 2010 (271)... not suggesting he is B&F worthy.

He has had some poor moments and games... but it is times like that we need other players to step up & help out. All and all he has performed to PAFC standard this year... one of the few who have.

He was very good on Sunday. Did exactly what was required of him. A very team-oriented performance.

If he had played that way all season there would be no criticism. Bring on 2013.

Apart from the constant calling for the footy when in horrible position, Good work Kaneo :thumbsu:

Sprinting to the backpocket waving his arms to receive a kick from an under-the-pump defender wouldn't be so bad if he was fluidly linking in perpetual motion for a quick switch, but how many times does he beg for it only to stand stock-still before chipping 15m sideways or forward to an equally dead-ended option?

Guys like Ablett Junior, Robert Harvey and Peter Burgoyne used to run hard to offer a relieving option to do something positive like break lines or hit up long options. Kane is great at the first part, but is dismally predictable after that.