Kane Tenace

• Thread starter Thread starter afl genius

How is that a valid statement? It's too easy to question Tenace's place in the team when there are several better players available. We want the best team on the park every week and Tenace is more useful getting his 40+ powder puff touches in the 2nds.

:thumbsu: Round of aplause for you MARTYK i couldnt have said that better my self, just face it WE ARE GEELONG not evry player is going to be a good one and Tenace is a waste of a spot for someone far better!!!!:thumbsu:

i understand the bit where you dont want him in the team mate...and thats ur right of vote and opinion...got no issue with that. I am just talking about the difference between what he is actually like as a player...and how people are trying to portray him as being two very different things...

He isnt that poor. He adds a certain value to the side alot of other players cant. We have alot of same footballers at geelong and be brings much added variety...I agree he needs to work hard on more than one area in his game...but he isnt hopeless by any measure as some are trying to wrongly portray just to vindicate some pissy little point.

WE Are Geelong,

It's not worth it mate. They'll never understand.

Just sit back and enjoy the footy. You obviously know what you're talking about. :thumbsu:

It's BigFooty nature to have to bag out someone each week. This is Tenace's time.

i understand the bit where you dont want him in the team mate...and thats ur right of vote and opinion...got no issue with that. I am just talking about the difference between what he is actually like as a player...and how people are trying to portray him as being two very different things...

He isnt that poor. He adds a certain value to the side alot of other players cant. We have alot of same footballers at geelong and be brings much added variety...I agree he needs to work hard on more than one area in his game...but he isnt hopeless by any measure as some are trying to wrongly portray just to vindicate some pissy little point.

ok thats kool you stick to ur opinion and I'll have mine. but i do think that he could be traded for someone better and you never know he may have a better career at another club. Or he could start to be the next KK?? Anyway all is good for other opinion's.:D

He thinks that he is a good footy player (as i have met him and don't even like him off the footy field)

I agree with we are geelong and cat empire.

I also believe that with supporters of AFL clubs there is a certain culture to bag your own players based on their performance. But not just dales girl, but also at the footy, Personal insults are going too far. I dont know the guy, but im sure someone who is in and out of a side doesnt think he is the greatest footballer...

I think that players like Tenace would be certaintly be lacking confidence and having your own supporters paying you out isnt going to help.

Tenace replaced Rooke in the side

Surely Prismall is more of a Rooke type of player than Kane is?

we need that hardness and defensive ability (although I realise we have loads of others who have that - you can never ever have enough) of a Rooke - and while BP is not yet on Rooke's level - his silky skills and no nonsense approach is far more of what we need than bloody Tenace.

Re: I, ripitup27...

I've refused to post in the Tenace bashing threads all year but now you've tipped me over the edge...

Yawn. :rolleyes:

9 wins in a row and all that happens on this board is anti-Tenace threads.

It's nothing short of disgraceful.

Go Kane.

Re: I, ripitup27...

While I think Kane is hard done by, he doesn't deserve to be selected ahead of someone like David Johnson. heck, I don't even understand why DJ isn't in the team - I had always thought he was regarded pretty favourably. Not to mention hunt - I miss the commentators making comments about his legs or his bullet kicks. I will not be able to go on with life until I hear Brucie Mac going on about Hunts legs, would be hilarious.

well everyone on here has there own opinions on Kane and the other boys but i think we just need to leave it at that and we agree to love and follow the club we all love so much,every one isn't going to like every player that comes to geelong but lets just not turn into collingwood or richmond supporters!!!!!:thumbsu::):thumbsu:

if you reckon he hasn't got pace, you are not watching the game, but he certainly can't kick at pace like Woja

he doesn't have the balance and natural skills to be able to take advantage of his pace, so he has to slow down for his disposals

he gives us depth and would probably make it into alot of other AFL teams, but in my opinion her is not in our best 22 players

He has the pace , great pace . Its the other skills he is a little down on. Tenace is a great spare parts player but dont think he will ever have a full time spot. We still need these types of guys

Kane Tenace is the weakest link in the side, every one goes on and on about he's pace, and he can run the lines etc but he was shocking on friday night and to be given lots of game time :eek: look at past players geelong drafted to the club with pace bamford, d clarke, t finocchiaro they had pace but pace is not everything. I think use of the pill is much more important tool to beat your man with. I think that the tenace experiment is a failure he has shown time and time again that he is not up to AFL level. We have other players on the list that can use the pill so they should be given a go!

Yes, an objectionable yet informed opinion. I like it! :thumbsu:

Pace and quick ball movement are 2 totally separate things.

The value of pace is only realised if the ball can be moved quickly and efficiently.

The only time I see Tenace's pace as value to the team is when he can run from point A to point B in a straight line without pressure, maybe like when he gets dragged and needs to run off the ground quickly. :)

I find it interesting to watch opposition players on Tenace and the tactics employed to try stop him. I watched against Freo an incident which wasnt sighted mind you because it was so far off the ball...Dean Solomon run 20 metres to just wack Tenace in the guts and then just sprint off...Fletcher on Friday get reported for striking Kane wasnt it?

Yup coincidence...or Kane is such an aggressive in your face type the hard men of the comp are trying to take him down a peg or three or then again maybe he adds value to the team you guys just cant see or refuse to see.. maybe some of you guys might just want to watch the games a bit closer and learn a thing or two about modern footy...and grow a football brain.

I find it interesting to watch opposition players on Tenace and the tactics employed to try stop him. I watched against Freo an incident which wasnt sighted mind you because it was so far off the ball...Dean Solomon run 20 metres to just wack Tenace in the guts and then just sprint off...Fletcher on Friday get reported for striking Kane wasnt it?

Yup coincidence...or Kane is such an aggressive in your face type the hard men of the comp are trying to take him down a peg or three or then again maybe he adds value to the team you guys just cant see or refuse to see.. maybe some of you guys might just want to watch the games a bit closer and learn a thing or two about modern footy...and grow a football brain.

And this is a perfect example in how to persuade others to a different view: through personal attacks - nice going champ :thumbsu:

My opinion, is that I agree that Tenace is in the team because of his different attributes, and if we had a Prismall, Hunt or DJ in instead, we would have a bit of a "samey" midfield. Bearing this in mind I wouldn't have a valid argument IF Tenace PROVIDED something different. All that ends up happening is that he provides a loose man and then dishes it off, sometimes very horribly through either poor skills or poor decision-making. Consequently, let's get someone else in to provide a loose man, yet STILL be able to deliver the ball to its target.

This is a parody right?

Don't think the guy would say boo to a Goose he's that quiet and unassuming, seems like the last person in the side who would be "in your face."
Still I for one will watch more closely this week [ provided he's in the side that is ] and try picking up on these things that only you seem to be capable of spotting.

And this is a perfect example in how to persuade others to a different view: through personal attacks - nice going champ :thumbsu:

My opinion, is that I agree that Tenace is in the team because of his different attributes, and if we had a Prismall, Hunt or DJ in instead, we would have a bit of a "samey" midfield. Bearing this in mind I wouldn't have a valid argument IF Tenace PROVIDED something different. All that ends up happening is that he provides a loose man and then dishes it off, sometimes very horribly through either poor skills or poor decision-making. Consequently, let's get someone else in to provide a loose man, yet STILL be able to deliver the ball to its target.

You made it a personal attack...was it directed at anyone in particular?...if you felt it was relevant to yourself thats your problem. Personal attacks are directed at someone's 'person'...mine was a general remark to any poster who doesnt read a game of footy with a bit of footy nous. I didnt quote anyone stop making yourself into a victim...if you are too sensitive to it all too bad. This is a footy site..do you want me to elaborate about what footy is about as a game too?

What you said about Tenace is just generic...I dont want to abuse you because you will try make out its personal and below the belt. You havent made one decent point about what Tenace brings to the team...everyone keeps going...speed, he can run, what else?

How about you just look where he gets the footy. Why other sides are so hell bent on trying to stop him doing it...and have a bit of a think joining the dots.

He does need to improve his kicking, decision making and one on one's in marking contests but alot of that comes if you have the rudiments there and just get some regular footy training and match time.

This is a parody right?

Don't think the guy would say boo to a Goose he's that quiet and unassuming, seems like the last person in the side who would be "in your face."
Still I for one will watch more closely this week [ provided he's in the side that is ] and try picking up on these things that only you seem to be capable of spotting.

I'm not the only one thats the point..opposition sides are all over it they just cant stop it presently...its just the cat fans that seem oblivious to it who keep posting about why Kane Tenace keeps getting a game. (Yawns).

...and yes Tenace isnt the sort of guy you expect the hard men of the competition to go after...why are they doing it then?

..opposition sides are all over it they just cant stop it presently.

Not really sure what you mean by that.

Also not sure exactly what you think he brings to the side, for to quote you ............... "He does need to improve his kicking, decision making and one on one's in marking contests but alot of that comes if you have the rudiments there and just get some regular footy training and match time." ............. pretty basic things that you seem to be saying he's not that good at, and after several years playing at the elite level I doubt "regular footy training and match time" are going to improve one in those areas that much.

I'm not the only one thats the point..opposition sides are all over it they just cant stop it presently...its just the cat fans that seem oblivious to it who keep posting about why Kane Tenace keeps getting a game. (Yawns).

...and yes Tenace isnt the sort of guy you expect the hard men of the competition to go after...why are they doing it then?

I think he has a big future at the cats and will be a 200 gamer but it is time for him to have a spell in the two's.

I would argue that hard men are targeting Tenace because he is easily intimidated and thrown off, not because he is a key player. The fact of the matter is he was exposed by Welsh's overhead marking against Essendon and provided little for us, he needs to qork on decision making and disposal as well as defensive positioning for marking contests. I think that a run in the two's were he can work on that would do him good.

I think it would be in the best interests of the club to give Josh Hunt or DJ a run in the seniors

I think he has a big future at the cats and will be a 200 gamer but it is time for him to have a spell in the two's.

I would argue that hard men are targeting Tenace because he is easily intimidated and thrown off, not because he is a key player. The fact of the matter is he was exposed by Welsh's overhead marking against Essendon and provided little for us, he needs to qork on decision making and disposal as well as defensive positioning for marking contests. I think that a run in the two's were he can work on that would do him good.

I dont agree with hard men risking being suspended just to throw a guy off who isnt adding some sort of value to a side...just too costly in todays footy to do that. Your points regarding his decision making, marking contests etc links up with the points made by the Cattery so answering both here...I feel he needs to improve them I never said he was a basket case. I think he has the ability to do them he just isnt executing these skills properly for what could be a variety of reasons.

For example at AFL level if you change the way you play it takes time to come up to speed. Tenace has changed the way he plays in the new Geelong game plan and structure...he has struggled with it at times for sure. I would suggest we need him for finals and he should be persisted with at the moment.

A spell in the twos would give him some 30+ possession games sure...and this is where its just an opinion of mine would rather see him work it out in the ones.

I would argue that hard men are targeting Tenace because he is easily intimidated and thrown off, not because he is a key player.

Seems about right to me, if he is being targeted, and I stress "if", that would seem the logical reason why.

I dont agree with hard men risking being suspended just to throw a guy off who isnt adding some sort of value to a side...just too costly in todays footy to do that. Your points regarding his decision making, marking contests etc links up with the points made by the Cattery so answering both here...I feel he needs to improve them I never said he was a basket case.

At AFL level if you change the way you play it takes time to come up to speed. Tenace has changed the way he plays in the new Geelong game plan and structure...he has struggled with it at times for sure. I would suggest we need him for finals and he should be persisted with at the moment.

A spell in the twos would give him some 30+ possession games sure...and this is where its just an opinion of mine would rather see him work it out in the ones.

Nobody is intentionally risking suspension but if you suspect you can make a guy hesitate next time he goes for the ball you are going to give it to him.

I am not sold that we need Tenace over Josh Hunt or David Johnson. In the future yes but at present for our 2007 finals campaign I think Hunt is the better option.