Kane Tenace

• Thread starter Thread starter afl genius

Firstly, thankyou for bloody responding eventually, although it took at least three goading posts before you finally did it:p

Secondly, I'd just like to say that I don't like the style of your posts - You insinuate that you're the only one that thought of these things - and it's not about "I knew it....I knew it", it's about using information to back up an argument.
Now back to Tenace.

Yes I can see the reasons for why he is in the team - but the majority of your arguments are based on his pace - I just don't think he's got sufficient pace for this role, I haven't seen enough evidence of it. For instance I've think I've only seen him chase down an opposition player with a tackle a couple of times - not something I'd expect from a player who's in a side merited for his speed.

The majority of what I am talking about is wanting to win a flag...its not between the lines its in black and white...read it please...speed is all you see. I see variance, balance and a competitive edge...

Ok now this is at least more interesting than saying Tenace is crap.... no he is not... yes he is.

I will say that I question the validity of the argument that Tenace is being targeted at all and if he was being targeted I question your reasoning for him being targeted.

I will also say that teams are going to use the Welsh stratergy on Tenace every week now. I am not sure we have an answer for that unless Tenace improves his defensive skills. Hence I think we should bring in Josh Hunt

Excellent remark...right up to the point you suggest we bring back Hunt to take Tenace's role/spot. In case anyone hadnt noticed Mackie is playing Hunt's role now and without the need for a jury the presiding football judge designated mackie was doing it much better...

But this takes nothing away from the fact that you are correct and that Sheedy is the first coach to find a way to deal with Tenace...we need to counter this tactic the sooner the better...by this I mean Sheedy created a scenario where Tenace had to follow Welsh...either that or Bomber was trying him out on the full back line...if thats the case Bomber must have been very confident of winning what was a very close tussle at that stage or he got stage fright again and refused to make the obvious move...either way it was a worry.

Nearly all of your posting is rubbish but this is one comment, which is just plain wrong. Tenace is a 50+ player now with plenty of senior games over the last 3 years to show what he has got to offer.
How can you possibly train a guy who is a borderline experienced AFL player?

Tenace lacks talent. His awareness is the worst in the side and I really can't think of a worst player for disposal by hand and foot in the team. These 2 aspects of nearly all footballers is talent related and almost not trainable. Tenace hasn't got it. Watch Joel Selwood(10 games new!) if you don't understand what I'm talking about. Bottom line.... Tenace made it to AFL standard because of speed, which he can't even use to its full extent because of next to no awareness and lateral movement ability(eg. Wojcinski).

An even better question... Why would you bother playing him in the seniors when there are at least 2 more effective players who could slot into team? The obvious answer is faith yeah?? Well, the club has put its faith in this bloke for too long and he is a proven non-performer. I can't recall any outstanding/important performances of his, and getting 30+ uncontested touches means nothing. He cannot man a defensive post... Lets bring in Hunt and/or Johnson and march into the GF!!!

Mate you know I enjoy either locking horns with you...or watching you take the veritable p1ss out of other posters...but you dont understand the argument here sorry...

Tenace is playing a new role this year and his pre season was interrupted by injury. The 50+ game argument would be sufficient if he had spent his whole time playing in the same role...he hasnt so drop it...he needs training and he is getting it...

Tenace doesnt lack talent...he lacks confidence. I have seen Tenace do what he needs to do...people dont get lucky in the AFL anymore...they either have it or they dont. I have seen him do it...he just needs to keep it up...and/or find it again.

If you think AFL is about having one skills set...speed...um...so why not just turn up to every A grade athletic meet in Victoria and sign em up bro...dont sound dumb when I know you arent dumb ok...

Lateral movement is a good point. Wojo did a knee yet he is laterally brilliant...Tenace needs to broaden his horizons perhaps...

Uncontested touches in the way Tenace gets them will be fundamental to finals success. How wrong could you be. The crows showed the hawks on the weekend what sort of a side they are by not giving them any free footy...there are some guys you cant stop though and this is why Adelaide can shut down the hawks but struggle to shut down the Eagles and Swans...because they havent been able to stop these two top sides getting free footy in the open...

We need to develop/facilitate all the loose footy we can get by finals...its a fact of life...get with the program of how to win a flag...

As mentioned previously, I beleive that Tenace should be dropped this week for either of Johnson or Hunt who one would assume will be needed to man up on Collingwoods small forward brigade. The week after though is anyone's guess. I am a fan of Prismal, and believe that given time he will mature to be a decent player. How good though is anyone's guess. At the present moment in time, however, I just don't think we 'need' a (nother) Prismal type player in the senior team. As the old saying goes, 'too many cooks spoils the broth.'

Ablett, Bartel and Selwood are our in and under ball getters. It is as an in and under ball getter that Prismal would be selected. Prismal is a quality player, and would no doubt be starting at nearly any other club in the AFL, but when he is competing for a spot with two of the top three brownlow medal favourites and one of the favourites for the NAB rising star award, all of whom are playing a similar style of football to him, but better, he will always struggle. If we do get an injury to any one of these guys, however, I have no doubt that he would be straight into the side.

Obviously, whilst playing the type of football they currently are, the senior squad is a hard team to break into. The injury to Rooke against Sydney, however is what created the opportunity. It seems that many on this site have a soft spot for Prismal, and the fact that Tenace was selected over him, as well as Hunt and Davey Johnson has caused a bit of an uproar. Lets look at it from a coaches perspective though...

The perfect Geelong midfield is as far as I am concerned:
Ling & Rooke - Taggers
Ablett, Bartel & Selwood - Hardball getters
Wojcinski - Speed machine, ball mover. (Ablett would also be included in this category)

Neither of the players in conention for selection would have been able to perform the tagging role that Rooke left open, so a direct replacement was not possible. The quality of Essendon's midfield meant that another tagger would not have even been required to shutdown their ball movers. Their performance was that pitiful late in the game anyway, that Thompson even admitted that he didn't know what to do with Ling after Hird went off injured. I think this was Bomber's cheeky way of saying that Essendon had nothing. With Lloyd missing out due to suspension, defenders would not have been high on the agenda either.

When the statistics on age, weight, height, etc were listed at the start of the year, however, believe it or not, Essendon were listed as the fastest team on paper. With guys like Davey and Lovett running through the middle, I have no doubt that Thompson made the right choice in selecting Tenace over any of the others. In the end he effectively shut Davey down anyway. :) Also, although still performing admirably, Wojcinski's form of late has been down in comparisson to his form earlier in the season. In fact, against Sydney it seemed that he was struggling with an injury. This would have no doubt also influenced the decision to include Tenace in the team.

Tenace will more than likely be dropped for a small defender (probably Hunt) this week due to the makeup of Collingwood's side. That said though, I do not believe that Prismal will be back in the side unless one of either Selwood, Bartel or Ablett get injured. If one of these guys do though, his abillity to step up might be a big factor in Geelong's premiership aspirations.

Thats a good read mr mackie...but should we continue with our tactic of cutting off the supply before it ever gets to the small forwards in any meaningful way or bring in the defender as you say to cover the supply into the forward 50?

My preference is to stay on the running attack that scores heavily from forays starting from the half back line...its a winning formula. Tenace stays. IMO.

We have an emerging elite midfield...lets not get scared by some small forwards who did us damage in the past. Lets stay in the present and forget the past.

Thats a good read mr mackie...but should we continue with our tactic of cutting off the supply before it ever gets to the small forwards in any meaningful way or bring in the defender as you say to cover the supply into the forward 50?

My preference is to stay on the running attack that scores heavily from forays starting from the half back line...its a winning formula. Tenace stays. IMO.

I do not believe that Tenace is an essential ingredient to our success coming out of the backline. He does well running forward of the ball as a reciever, but I believe Hunt should be selected this week. He will man up well on Didak or Neon, and he also offers movement out of the backline. As the old coaches adage goes too, a kick gets to its destination in less time than even the fastest sprinter.

Other threads have also mentioned that Collingwood will not be able to recall many of it's more mature players, as it was suggested after their win over StKilda that they would be able to do. Clement, if anyone is interested will miss the rest of the season... The key to beating the pies this week will be in smashing their young players. I mentioned in my previous post that Essendon are the fastest team on paper. Geelong are the heaviest team on paper, and it is evident in the physicality of our season thus far.

After the embarassment of the hiding the pies gave us last year, a number of the Cats will be out there with something to prove. Although many doubt his toughness after he pulled out of the contest last year, Hunt's tackling is A grade and his big body will hurt a few of the young pies.

I agree with the comments that Tenace should not be allowed anywhere near defensive 50. His disposal is too poor to be trusted around the D50, and he needs to learn not to kick it into the corridor when his kicks are not weighted well enough.

That is his major disposal problem, he gets under the ball too much, and he really needs to work on that.

I'll admit, when I first posted in this thread, I was way over the top, but I was just disgusted with his game against Essendon, he really gave us nothing all night.

Just on the speed thing, despite once running away from McLeod in his first season, I am yet to see any effective pace that has outdone the opposition, much like someone like Wojcinski would do. Can you name any examples of this pace besides the McLeod one?

As for being an important part of our side, we need to remember the only reason he was in the side Friday night was because Max Rooke was injured. Now Max Rooke is not an outside, quick midfielder. He is a defensive, hard arse midfielder/back flanker, hence why Kane was playing on the back flank all night. If Rooke was fit, he would have played, and he offers something very different to what Tenace does. That.s why I think Johnson and Hunt would have offered more, because they are more like Max. Even Prismall is.

I agree, Tenace does offer something in the midfield at times, but the other night he was playing back, and that's not where he should be nor ever should be. If he is to be in that side, he needs to play forward of the middle, to allow for his poor disposal.

I also agree this best 22 stuff is overrated, but I also believe there are players on our list, that at the moment would be lacking confidence like Kane would be, and deserve just as much to be in that side as he does. Kane was in that side because Bomber thought he was in the best 22, not because he offered something different. He was Max Rooke for the night, and thats not Rookes game. As we have seen, Bomber is big on best 22. He always talks of King being best 22. At the start of the year Gardiner was best 22.

Kane is OK, but he doesn't need to be in that side.

I do not believe that Tenace is an essential ingredient to our success coming out of the backline. He does well running forward of the ball as a reciever, but I believe Hunt should be selected this week. He will man up well on Didak or Neon, and he also offers movement out of the backline. As the old coaches adage goes too, a kick gets to its destination in less time than even the fastest sprinter.

Other threads have also mentioned that Collingwood will not be able to recall many of it's more mature players, as it was suggested after their win over StKilda that they would be able to do. Clement, if anyone is interested will miss the rest of the season... The key to beating the pies this week will be in smashing their young players. I mentioned in my previous post that Essendon are the fastest team on paper. Geelong are the heaviest team on paper, and it is evident in the physicality of our season thus far.

After the embarassment of the hiding the pies gave us last year, a number of the Cats will be out there with something to prove. Although many doubt his toughness after he pulled out of the contest last year, Hunt's tackling is A grade and his big body will hurt a few of the young pies.

What are you suggesting then is the essential ingredient for us coming off the half back line for us to win the flag this year keeping in mind what has won the last two flags and that our own coaching staff are quite keen to develop the same tactic this year? Given you say Tenace isnt it? That in modern footy also a good percentage of forward forays start off the half back line and they also start with guys who run really really fast as a winning formula..:)...being as basic as I can be about it all...footy is a simple game after all!

I hope that question will keep you on the topic and not off it which seems to be the trend on here that nobody except a few other posters can actually just grasp the issue and stick to it in this thread....

Question...what do J Hunt, DJ and Prismall have in common with Kennelly, Johncock, Mc Cleod and Wirrapunda...?

Question...who finished 1,2,3 in the last 2 seasons of footy? Why?

Question...Why do you think Geelong keep picking Tenace?...or have up until now...what is the tactic...the game plan for him?

Question...You are saying Hunt should come into hammer the young kids of Collingwood...yet you want him to line up on two of their most experienced players in Didak or Leon...?...ummm? You think Hunt is going to be able to leave these type of guys alone in the forward 50 to go off on solo rampages of mass destruction!...sounds a little moronic surely? If Hunt is picked and got the gig on either of those two...I think his day would be fairly well mapped out for him without any further/extra carriculum activities that represent fantasy land concepts for violent selection criterias.

This isnt school yard footy...lets do a bit better than knocking some well performed kids over...especially when you arent even picking the guy to play on those kids in the first place...:confused:

We have an emerging elite midfield...lets not get scared by some small forwards who did us damage in the past. Lets stay in the present and forget the past.

Umm, you've just spent the last few posts trying to persuade people to look back at the last few champions and try to emulate them - now you're suggesting to forget the past

Another thing: you said that Sheedy was the first person to figure out how to effectively combat Tenace (or something of that nature) - I think that that is a fairly easy solution to find, as it's simply a matter of putting a player on Tenace that's better at: overhead marking, foot skills, decision-making skills, stamina, and in fact any defensive skills whatsoever.

I have not seen Tenace show enough examples of the prime reason that he is in the team for - speed - where is this supposed attribute lurking? Probably where all the rest of his skills are. He just doesn't seem to have any turbos that he can kick into or something, and that confuses me, as I was under the impression that he was there to provide bursts, to cause panic in the opposition, to chase down players, to run away from players (WITH the ball, TOWARDS goal), break lines etc. Things that players without this supposed pace can't do. However what I've seen is really nothing all that different from other midfielders in the reserves - which consequently leads me to the assumption that Tenace is in there on reputation alone, on the potential of him having this speed to burn opponents with. But if he hasn't shown this potential after 53 games, this speed to get to where the ball is, why would he start using it now? Because he doesn't have it. And once again it comes down to his poor footy skills: the basics that are lacking and are the motivation behind my desire for another to take his place.

Umm, you've just spent the last few posts trying to persuade people to look back at the last few champions and try to emulate them - now you're suggesting to forget the past

Another thing: you said that Sheedy was the first person to figure out how to effectively combat Tenace (or something of that nature) - I think that that is a fairly easy solution to find, as it's simply a matter of putting a player on Tenace that's better at: overhead marking, foot skills, decision-making skills, stamina, and in fact any defensive skills whatsoever.

I have not seen Tenace show enough examples of the prime reason that he is in the team for - speed - where is this supposed attribute lurking? Probably where all the rest of his skills are. He just doesn't seem to have any turbos that he can kick into or something, and that confuses me, as I was under the impression that he was there to provide bursts, to cause panic in the opposition, to chase down players, to run away from players (WITH the ball, TOWARDS goal), break lines etc. Things that players without this supposed pace can't do. However what I've seen is really nothing all that different from other midfielders in the reserves - which consequently leads me to the assumption that Tenace is in there on reputation alone, on the potential of him having this speed to burn opponents with. But if he hasn't shown this potential after 53 games, this speed to get to where the ball is, why would he start using it now? Because he doesn't have it. And once again it comes down to his poor footy skills: the basics that are lacking and are the motivation behind my desire for another to take his place.

Mate you just make it all up as you go...thats what everyone does on here when they get defensive..like you are now. You're a bit soft.

Easy answers to dumb questions from you.

The specific past relating to collingwoods small forwards who have done us damage? I shouldnt even have to point this out because it is articulated clearly already..but if you want verification of the bleeding obvious...so be it..whats this got to do with running half backs from other sides?...Zero...dumb question.

Sheedy got Tenace onto the full back line. He doesnt belong there...its a combination of Bomber leaving him there and good coaching from Sheeds to create uncertainty with match ups further up the ground...thats it. I said we need to counter it...its the first time its happened this year...its not the end of the world? Have you got any clues at all? I just said counter it...I didnt say anything more.

Tenace has heaps of speed. What are watching? Are you saying in 53 games he hasnt shown any speed..?...You are a laughing stock mate right now.

Where is his speed lurking you ask...? maybe the same place where your intellect is hiding. When you find your right mind again...there you will find his speed too..

At any rate...now that you and I cant take this debate any further...take it up with the match committee...they obviously see something in Tenace also and dont rate him the way you rate him...I agree with them in this instance. He has potential..the sort of potential you need for the modern game. It doesnt seem to be hurting the side. In modern footy you cant have passengers...Chappy made that remark after the NTH game...do you think if Tenace was considered a passenger after that speech he would still be getting a game. This is a clear indication the coaches and players down there dont think he is a liability or a passenger. They agree with me and completely disagree with you buddy boy...tough t1ts...:)

When you wrap your brain around that one...stop thinking this is just a disagreement with me. Nobody at the club agrees with you either except maybe the three players everyone keeps bringing up which is natural. Are you one of those players..?

Question...what do J Hunt, DJ and Prismall have in common with Kennelly, Johncock, Mc Cleod and Wirrapunda...?

Question...Why do you think Geelong keep picking Tenace?...or have up until now...what is the tactic...the game plan for him?

Question...You are saying Hunt should come into hammer the young kids of Collingwood...yet you want him to line up on two of their most experienced players in Didak or Leon...?...ummm? You think Hunt is going to be able to leave these type of guys alone in the forward 50 to go off on solo rampages of mass destruction!...sounds a little moronic surely? If Hunt is picked and got the gig on either of those two...I think his day would be fairly well mapped out for him without any further/extra carriculum activities that represent fantasy land concepts for violent selection criterias.

Question 1. Josh Hunt is an elite kick of the football as is Kenelly, Joncock, McCloud and Wirrapanda. Tenace is not. Wirrrapanda and Johncock are not particular quick they are just good users of the ball and very good defensively. I would say Wirra & Johncock a more similar to Hunt than Tenace.

Question 2. I agree with the statement, we need an attacking half backline like the top 3 teams last year. Hunt lead rebound 50's last year so he still fits with that idea.

Question 3. Personally I was a supporter of picking Tenace I just think he needs to now go back and improve his defensive game. Others just think he is a dud. I disagree with that.

Question 4. When did footy suddenlly become a one on one contest? Last I checked players lay tackles & bumps on players that are not there opponent. A bit more physicall presence can't be a bad thing when Collingwood have the youngest guy in the AFL running around there forwardline.

Question 1. Josh Hunt is an elite kick of the football as is Kenelly, Joncock, McCloud and Wirrapanda. Tenace is not. Wirrrapanda and Johncock are not particular quick they are just good users of the ball and very good defensively. I would say Wirra & Johncock a more similar to Hunt than Tenace.

Question 2. I agree with the statement, we need an attacking half backline like the top 3 teams last year. Hunt lead rebound 50's last year so he still fits with that idea.

Question 3. Personally I was a supporter of picking Tenace I just think he needs to now go back and improve his defensive game. Others just think he is a dud. I disagree with that.

Question 4. When did footy suddenlly become a one on one contest? Last I checked players lay tackles & bumps on players that are not there opponent. A bit more physicall presence can't be a bad thing when Collingwood have the youngest guy in the AFL running around there forwardline.

Yes Hunt and co have certain things in common with those half backs mentioned but my point was that the match committee have opted for the fleet footed in defense this year...so far. I was just suggesting/hinting they were trying to emulate the quick half backs of the top sides from the last 2 seasons. Am I wrong?

Re...Didak and Leon ..if you go into the game expecting Hunt to be running off them or peeling off to run kamakaze missions on young players...expect him to get caught out. Sometimes footy is just one on one with players of that quality. I just think people often have notional ideas about the game and it sounds great but in practice those ideas are rather impractical and to suggest Hunt will get picked to knock someone out rather than just be the ideal match up for a very good small forward is a nonsense.

Yes Hunt and co have certain things in common with those half backs mentioned but my point was that the match committee have opted for the fleet footed in defense this year...so far. I was just suggesting/hinting they were trying to emulate the quick half backs of the top sides from the last 2 seasons. Am I wrong?

Re...Didak and Leon ..if you go into the game expecting Hunt to be running off them or peeling off to run kamakaze missions on young players...expect him to get caught out. Sometimes footy is just one on one with players of that quality. I just think people often have notional ideas about the game and it sounds great but in practice those ideas are rather impractical and to suggest Hunt will get picked to knock someone out rather than just be the ideal match up for a very good small forward is a nonsense.

I can see your point and it is valid regarding a quiker HB line better example would be Mattner & Gram but I can see Tenace will get exploited now. It was only a couple of plays in the 1st half but they stood out like dogs balls. Tenace is not just poor but attrocious at position himself for a marking contest and is soft as butter in that situation. He needs to develop that part of his game. I think it would also be beneficial to give Josh Hunt a run.

You can't have it both ways. You can't say that Tenace can run off Didak and Davis so we should keep him in the team but Hunt can't because players of Didak's/Davis' quality mean footy is just one on one.... which is it?

Nobody is saying Hunt is there to knock people out. People are saying a player with greater physical presence would be an asset against Collingwoods younger less developed team.

There is a positive to this discussion and that is
1. Every time a player gets singled out as not good enough to be in the side within a week or 2 they play a pearler of a game.
2. Previously it was Enright
3. Prior to Enright it was Mackie
4. Prior to Mackie it was Harley.
5. Shit I recall even Junior getting a spray for being a sook!!
Keep it up you baggers of players and we'll soon have the best 22 players in the league.
:D:D:D:D

1. Every time a player gets singled out as not good enough to be in the side within a week or 2 they play a pearler of a game.
Keep it up you baggers of players and we'll soon have the best 22 players in the league.
Odd!!! I thought the same thing - I don't think this top 22 has much bearing - but the pressure on every player to earn his place is paramount.(I enjoy the erudite, insightful or sometimes dimwitted differences of opinion just the same) Have you ever looked at the nasty, nasty stuff that is posted on other boards? Makes ours look even better.

Very True. I will be looking for Tenace to pickup the 3 votes this week.

Odd!!! I thought the same thing - I don't think this top 22 has much bearing - but the pressure on every player to earn his place is paramount.(I enjoy the erudite, insightful or sometimes dimwitted differences of opinion just the same) Have you ever looked at the nasty, nasty stuff that is posted on other boards? Makes ours look even better.

In fairness this board usually starts with the minority saying "he is a dud", "Can't play", "Should retire", "trade him". Before a more reasonable consensus is reached.

I don't think the players are mindfull of this...otherwise why Ling sacrifice his game to tag out the best opposition player, why would kelly be in and under packs instead of waiting for the cheap possession last year, why would enright be adding a decent defensive side to his game rather than just getting handball receives and pumpin the ball forward.

This is what excites me most about the cats ATM, they are playing for each other and not looking for personal glory.....this is the best place any team could be.

What are you suggesting then is the essential ingredient for us coming off the half back line for us to win the flag this year keeping in mind what has won the last two flags and that our own coaching staff are quite keen to develop the same tactic this year? Given you say Tenace isnt it? That in modern footy also a good percentage of forward forays start off the half back line and they also start with guys who run really really fast as a winning formula..:)...being as basic as I can be about it all...footy is a simple game after all!

I hope that question will keep you on the topic and not off it which seems to be the trend on here that nobody except a few other posters can actually just grasp the issue and stick to it in this thread....

This isnt school yard footy...lets do a bit better than knocking some well performed kids over...especially when you arent even picking the guy to play on those kids in the first place...:confused:

Q1. What does Kane Tenace have in common with those guys? He never uses his pace and no one has been able to give a recent example of when he has done so, like Wojcinski. Most of those sides only have one attacking, running half back anyway, and ours is Wojcinski. I haven't seen Kane genuinley attack all year. He kicks short, and at times sideways, and rarely breaks, if ever, breaks the lines like the players you mentioned do.

Q2. Adelaide, West Coast and Sydney. Because they had midfields that were stronger and harder at the contest than any other team. Adelaide had Goodwin, Ricciuto, Edwards and Reilly in and under packs. West Coast the same, with Cousins, Braun, Judd and Kerr. Sydney had Kirk, Bolton, Ablett etc. That's what bottom sides lack.

Q3. Tenace was dropped a couple of weeks ago and only came back in for Rooke. Rooke is a DJ/Hunt type. Not a Tenace/Wojcinski type. He hasn't been constantly being picked, and when Rooke is fit, he plays, and he's not a running defender.

Q4. I never agreed with that comment in the first place.

The bottom line is so many people are saying we need him for team balance and as a running defender (I hate havign Tenace back, I'd be OK if he was forward), but why then did he only come into the side last week for an injured Rooke, when Rooke is a hard arse defender/midfielder?

ripitup27;8072642E The bottom line is so many people are saying we need him for team balance and as a running defender (I hate havign Tenace back said:
Essendon are well know as having a slow side,especially given that Stanton and Wunderlick were out.
The choice of Tenace was IMO the correct one. I admit that he made a couple of major errors in the first half,but that was due to him being caught out playing in the wrong position and slow responce by the coaching staff.
I've watched the game a few times now and believe that Tenace was instramentable for several of our goals through his running link play.
This is his role,and he should not be played as a defensive HB.

I don't think the players are mindfull of this...otherwise why Ling sacrifice his game to tag out the best opposition player, why would kelly be in and under packs instead of waiting for the cheap possession last year, why would enright be adding a decent defensive side to his game rather than just getting handball receives and pumpin the ball forward.

This is what excites me most about the cats ATM, they are playing for each other and not looking for personal glory.....this is the best place any team could be.
I don't think Prismall32 was implying that they do not play for each other - he/she is right just the same. Forget 2006 - it is sad and sour history - I revel in the way they play as a team this year but each one must be aware of the Prismall type player waiting in the wings. Match-ups aside, Kane Tenace disappoints - perhaps I have expected too much from him - just my personal view!

How about you just look where he gets the footy. Why other sides are so hell bent on trying to stop him doing it...and have a bit of a think joining the dots.

This is an interesting one from one of the most loyal Cats around. I thought Tenace was poor overall but yes he did get belted off the ball and WAG (LOL) has pointed out that this is not the first time he has copped it.

I think that maybe the hit on Kane may have been borne out of pure frustration from Inspector Gadget. His groin looked gone in the second half..maybe he got hurt just before or actually during his 'double event' of delightful clangers just before half time. Perhaps the injured Don whacked Tenace because he just couldn't catch him.

This would tend to support the 'all he has is pace' view, which if overly simplistic may in fact have some merit. Solomon isn't quick either so perhaps Kane is not the weapon that WAG is trying to point him out to be. One thing we do know for sure about Kane after last Friday is that he's lost in that key defensive part of the ground but you don't need a football brain to work that one out.

Intersting thread this one. The jury is out for mine on Tenace but perhaps Collingwood at the G is a good match for him to hit his straps.

regards,

REB

Mate you just make it all up as you go...thats what everyone does on here when they get defensive..like you are now. You're a bit soft. Easy answers to dumb questions from you. You are a laughing stock mate right now.

I don't think that calling people names will raise credibility to your argument...it usually symbolises a weakness as they can't think of anything substantial, so they resort to denigrating as a form of attack

Tenace has heaps of speed. What are watching? Are you saying in 53 games he hasnt shown any speed..?...

Well then give me an example for heavens sake. You've talked about it so often but I haven't seen any evidence, and you haven't offered any. You talk about him being quick, yet there's nothing that you've offered that backs it up. A perfect example of your lack of evidence:

Where is his speed lurking you ask...? maybe the same place where your intellect is hiding. When you find your right mind again...there you will find his speed too..

Mixing attack with avoiding the question. Bravo.

He has potential..the sort of potential you need for the modern game.

THAT I agree with

It doesnt seem to be hurting the side.

yet