Karmichael Hunt

commentators acting like he was playing like ablett he will be a good player nothing special but a lot better than everyone thought he would be

Dumpstar,

I put up the video in response to his accusation that Hunt was only a sniper.

He wants me to put up video of the hit on Swallow.

Here's the hit on Swallow, at 3.08

http://www.afl.com.au/video/tabid/76/default.aspx

Select NMFC v GCFC: Match Summary

Hunt attempts to evade - look at how he pulls his hips *away* from the head, and tries a half jump to avoid the head.

Basically, it should be reviewed, and Hunt should be complimented on his effort to protect Swallow's head.

Oh, and his hit on Delany at 0.26 ... that rocked.

Quoted for the card, the video I asked Groves for was the one today, Hunt almost broke Swallows neck, you know the one where Swallow dived in front of Hunts hip, and yes Adrian I did watch the video of Hunt after you asked me to right up until Hunt sniped Monfries.:thumbsu:
Thanks for sharing.

what did you make of hunts attempt to kill himself running with the flight head first? Bit weak?

Dumpstar,

Here's the hit on Swallow, at 3.08

http://www.afl.com.au/video/tabid/76/default.aspx

Select NMFC v GCFC: Match Summary

Hunt attempts to evade - look at how he pulls his hips *away* from the head, and tries a half jamp to avoid the head.

Basically, it should be reviewed, and Hunt should be complimented on his effort to protect Swallow's head.
thought the same Ian.
He avoided a disaster for himself and swallow.

I think the Hunt incident will be assessed and will more than likely cop a suspension.

However, if the case is taken to the tribunal, he'll have a very good chance of getting off.

Frame by frame, it will look bad, just as the Whitecross incident did.

But, when you have three separate parties involved in an incident and all the moving parts that go with it, it will be difficult for the prosecution to stick the suspension.

Swallow was being tackled and slung at the same time whilst he had the ball. Hunt was running to the contest and got Swallow in the head with his hip whilst being slung to the ground. Hunt had very few options and I'd say contact to the head was incidental.

The MRP findings will be interesting as to whether they've become a little gun shy after recent defeats or whether they proceed with another case leading to another embarrassing defeat.

You are a joke mate all that video shows is that Hunt, once again refuses to put his head over the football, to accuse Swallow of 'diving' in front of Hunt is shameful, i'll say it till the day I die, we are lucky we don't have another paraplegic from the game.

Another? When was the last one in the AFL?

This thread has gone downhill pretty quickly. :thumbsdown:

I like the way he bumps.

I've been saying for a few years that with the AFL cracking down on head high contact the traditional bump is pretty much dead. Best way to hurt someone is lower the head and hit the body with the shoulder.

Got Delaney and Swallow a beauty with that technique.

The Equalizer,

Frame by frame, its looking pretty good to me - Hunt is definitely rotating his hips *away* from the contact.

Look at the angle his arse is at at 3.04 - its pointed into Swallow.

By the time the contact happens, his right hip has been pulled back, and his left pushed forward - exactly the reverse of what you do when trying to hit someone.

He dodged him, in short.

Dumpstar,

Yeah, could possibly be looked at but Swallow basically got tackled into Hunt's hip and he tried to avoid his head like you've said. Should get off and is no way a 'sniper' because of that.

One of his major advantages is his tackling ability and his big body, love how he uses it, and that hit on Delaney is a beauty.

The Equalizer,

Frame by frame, its looking pretty good to me - Hunt is definitely rotating his hips *away* from the contact.

Look at the angle his arse is at at 3.04 - its pointed into Swallow.

By the time the contact happens, his right hip has been pulled back, and his left pushed forward - exactly the reverse of what you do when trying to hit someone.

He dodged him, in short.
I'm just thankful Andrew Swallow isn't in a wheelchair tonight.:thumbsu:

If it had been a normal AFL player, he might well have been.

For Hunt to be able to see the risk, and haul his ass around so it's a glancing blow with Hunt using his power to pull his weight away from the contact, rather than running into his head with his weight forward, was an amazing feat.

Im in awe after going through that frame by frame.

If it had been a normal AFL player, he might well have been.

For Hunt to be able to see the risk, and haul his ass around so it's a glancing blow with Hunt using his power to pull his weight away from the contact, rather than running into his head with his weight forward, was an amazing feat.

Im in awe after going through that frame by frame.

This. Nothing in it, Hunt did a good job avoiding wiping him out.

You are a joke mate all that video shows is that Hunt, once again refuses to put his head over the football, to accuse Swallow of 'diving' in front of Hunt is shameful, i'll say it till the day I die, we are lucky we don't have another paraplegic from the game.

Someone throw me a life jacket!!

I'm drowning there are so many tears in here

I'd like to remind people that the hit on Delaney at 0.26 in the film is a thing of beauty, and to be admired.

Completely safe, weight low and rising, shoulder and upper arm into the upper arms and then to the chest ... and then keeps his feet to stay in the play.

Bravo !

Another interesting point about that game is Hunt's 81% disposal efficiency on 16 possessions, which put him fourth on the team for disposal efficency. He was also equal fourth on tackles.

I think he's had his breakout game against Essendon, and has stepped up as a footballer.

Absolutely, if he plays you can bet he'll be gunning almost solely for Fyfe's shoulder and he hits HARD.

I do like watching him play and develop as a footy player though.
I don't know.

He is throwing his weight around, mostly legally but it seems a necessary thing?

How many other mature blokes did they have in the middle today to stamp themselves on the game physically.

That many young guys the burden is greater for the older players. I reckon he would be way more likely to line up Crowley or Deboer.

Probably true, though if he cops a reprimand he may tone it down a little.

One of the skills campaigner is learning is when and how he can line up a player.

He seems to have a very, very nasty rising block, where he comes in low and lifts up with his shoulder and upper arm, ideally against the upper arm and side - the hit on Monfries is an excellent example

Watch this, pause it at 21 seconds for the closeup, look at his stance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQPKuJVX0hY

He has his left leg forward and bent, and his right leg straight and behind him. He is lower than the target, enabling leg drive, and his head is away on an oblique angle to avoid head clashes.

Here is the hit on Delaney. Pause at 18 seconds for the closeup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_u1MA-HZ3Mw.

Again, left side forward, leading leg bent, rising up into the hit, head bent down and to the side to avoid head clashes.

He's putting effort into starting low, and in avoiding the head.

Karmichael Hunt