Karmichael Hunt

Not sure if serious? You have just stated he won a premiership, was a part of the best Queensland team of all time, and add in the fact you left out that he was always picked in the Australian team, then follow it up by saying he was above average (you guess).

F#ck me! What would he have had to do to be a great player? Score 50 tries a game? The fact was he was consistently seen as one of the top 1 or 2 players in his position, and one of the top 13 players in the country (as seen by his ongoing selection for Australia).
mmm, yet he was picked on the bench of out of position a bit (or others who could adapt to other positions were chosen with him). He was never in the top couple of players in his position, but benifitted from playing club footy with the qld/australian captain. club combo's are seen as important at rep level. He didnt particularly deserve Aust selection (IMO). My point about him being in good sides was more related to the fact he wouldnt be used to being in a shit team.

He has a heap of hype when he came into the game, but the reality was he had a big (yet innefective) side step and couldnt tackle. He got progressively safer at the back but his sidestep and attack dissapeared as defences just tackled him. Decent link player but nothing outstanding, although he probably would've ended up at 5/8 to replace Lockyer if he stayed in league. I cant remember any game he dominated himself, and he certainly hasnt been missed.

Although im biased because I never liked him as a player. He was known as campaigner long before he left the game. Acted like a bit of an arrogant flog and rejected his own country when picked because he wanted to play for Qld. Then when asked who he supports in union "Oh the All Blacks." So I'm pretty biased because the bloke is a w***er!

Goes for all blacks so? Wasn't he born in new zealand
I've got no issue with someone from NZ supporting the all blacks. I do though when they just reject playing for the country he lived in till he was 12-13 to play for qld/australia then oh yeah i support the all blacks. Tosser

That is a good point.

On a slightly different note- how many clubs would campaigner get a game in besides GC? Curious what others think...

When you are criticising him you have to realise that the team he is playing with is getting smashed every week, and the only week they didn't get smashed was his best game.

As the team gets better so will he. It would be a nightmare being a defender in that team.

mmm, yet he was picked on the bench of out of position a bit (or others who could adapt to other positions were chosen with him). He was never in the top couple of players in his position, but benifitted from playing club footy with the qld/australian captain. club combo's are seen as important at rep level. He didnt particularly deserve Aust selection (IMO). My point about him being in good sides was more related to the fact he wouldnt be used to being in a shit team.

He has a heap of hype when he came into the game, but the reality was he had a big (yet innefective) side step and couldnt tackle. He got progressively safer at the back but his sidestep and attack dissapeared as defences just tackled him. Decent link player but nothing outstanding, although he probably would've ended up at 5/8 to replace Lockyer if he stayed in league. I cant remember any game he dominated himself, and he certainly hasnt been missed.

Although im biased because I never liked him as a player. He was known as campaigner long before he left the game. Acted like a bit of an arrogant flog and rejected his own country when picked because he wanted to play for Qld. Then when asked who he supports in union "Oh the All Blacks." So I'm pretty biased because the bloke is a w***er!

in the last 5 years of league he was very much considered one of the top 3 fullbacks going around in league - to say otherwise is complete rubish.
As a player in league he was a very good defender, and was good link player and had good vision. As far as never dominating a game that is clearly untrue as he was named as man of the match in the 2007 ANZAC test match he was also one of the better players in a number of state of orgin matches and his good form for a time kept billy slatter out of the origin team as fullback. As for supporting the all blacks given he knocked back an offer from NZ rugby to play for the all blacks and did the same with oz rugby so he could play afl shows how wrong you are.
If you want to knock him as an afl player who has not even played half dozens games in his life fair enough, but to knock his record as a league player is way off.

But as an afl player he is still very much learning the game and we wont know how good or bad he will be as a player for atleast another 12mths.

Not sure if serious? You have just stated he won a premiership, was a part of the best Queensland team of all time, and add in the fact you left out that he was always picked in the Australian team, then follow it up by saying he was above average (you guess).

F#ck me! What would he have had to do to be a great player? Score 50 tries a game? The fact was he was consistently seen as one of the top 1 or 2 players in his position, and one of the top 13 players in the country (as seen by his ongoing selection for Australia).

Also, probably regarded as the most fearless player (for his size) in the game. The things that will keep getting him a game for the Suns were the things that made him a star in RL - courage, competitiveness, excellent tackle, never-quit attitude. He was one of the youngest players picked for State of Origin and the Australian team. He'll go alright.

I think we worked that out long ago with your rl rants .
Of course I am biased towards rugby league, it's my favourite sport, and I dont really see an issue with responding in threads on this board that are rugby league related. It's not like I come on here and start threads just to attack AFL, why would I when I like that sport as well (because, remarkably, it's possible to like more than one code). But I'm generally going to side with the RL side of things if there is an arguement going on.

My RL bias is seperate to my bias against campaigner, however, who I have no concern over them going to AFL. It's interesting to see someone playing a code not natural to them. He just also happens to be a player I never liked when in rugby league, and who I feel was always fortunate to be around some pretty good players in getting selected in rep sides.

Good read, this interview with Hunt by Robert Craddock - http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/thrill-of-the-hunt-for-footy-nomad-karmichael-hunt/story-e6frf9jf-1226051701390

Here's a few selections from it -
Do you have to be fitter to play AFL football than rugby league?
Yes. Rugby league is big on speed and endurance,... In AFL you have that repeat speed and endurance (and also) mixed in with distance running. I find you have to be a lot fitter in AFL. I am still improving my fitness.

Do you ever stand against an AFL player and think he would be an outstanding rugby league player?
Barry Hall stands out. He would be an awesome second-rower. Oh mate, before we played against him I had never seen him in person. I rotated on to him once and I just looked at him and thought, "He's big". I know they call him "Big Bazza", but man, he really is big. I reckon he could play league and make all the rep sides, especially in the second row. (bit old for that now methinks)

So you could play AFL even beyond your current contract, which finishes next year?
Yes, definitely. Bloody oath. What's not to enjoy? It is such a great challenge. It is like buying a new set of golf clubs. You hit a few good shots and fall in love with the game. Obviously it is a different game, but I find everything in the AFL so challenging and with the environment we have on the coast I am in a happy place.

Do you ever miss league?
No. There is a not a time when I think, "Geez I would rather be somewhere else", because I would not want to be anywhere else than playing AFL footy. It is such a great game. So demanding. I find it really enjoyable to play even when it gets tough. It asks a lot of you, not only physically and endurance-wise but you have to be thinking as well.

Did you ever doubt your decision or have any regrets?
None at all. I went through all those doubts before I signed. This was not a fly-off-the-handle decision. I thoroughly thought it through and assessed whether it was right for me. Now I try to be better each week.
It shows not only the superior fitness and pyhsical requirements of the Australian code but it also shows the critical importance of decision making in our game - as Hunt said "It asks a lot of you, not only physically and endurance-wise but you have to be thinking as well."

If even half of that article is the truth and not some fluff/publicity piece, then he is going to be a very, very good player.

Good read, this interview with Hunt by Robert Craddock - http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/thrill-of-the-hunt-for-footy-nomad-karmichael-hunt/story-e6frf9jf-1226051701390

Here's a few selections from it -
It shows not only the superior fitness and pyhsical requirements of the Australian code but it also shows the critical importance of decision making in our game - as Hunt said "It asks a lot of you, not only physically and endurance-wise but you have to be thinking as well."

I like the experiment, but I read the same article in the Record and realised why he had such an ambassadorial role. He's paid to say stuff like that, so I personally don't read much into it. I think he's progressing well, but the AFL portion of his contract would come into jeopardy if he didn't answer thusly.

When we played Carlton one of the guys said, "You are going all right. You are keeping me quiet". I wasn't that surprised because they are a very respectable bunch of boys.

lol, seems a bit patronising. :p

I like the experiment, but I read the same article in the Record and realised why he had such an ambassadorial role. He's paid to say stuff like that, so I personally don't read much into it. I think he's progressing well, but the AFL portion of his contract would come into jeopardy if he didn't answer thusly.

No his comments are more upbeat than ever before.

7 games last week. Only 2 players out of the 14 teams that played didn't get a kick. 1 of those players was campaigner.

Everyone who thinks Hunt won't make it is going to end up with egg on their faces.

He is super competitive and a great athlete. To be doing what he is doing now is a great achievement. Imagine him with another couple of seasons of experience under his belt.

This guy wants to make it. He is very driven.

Everyone who thinks Hunt won't make it is going to end up with egg on their faces.

He is super competitive and a great athlete. To be doing what he is doing now is a great achievement. Imagine him with another couple of seasons of experience under his belt.

This guy wants to make it. He is very driven.

David Clarke was super competitive and a great athlete. As awful as he was, he looked like James Hird compared to this clown. Yep two years down the track, he'll be up to 7 handpasses a game that go nowhere.

He's very driven? Wow. That must set him apart from the 700 other professional footballers around. I never realised he was the only one who was driven. They must have all got there on luck.

Karmichael Hunt