KAYO

Tap Tap Tapperoo

Dec 15, 2009
One thing I will point out that others may not, the UI design, layout and practicality of the application itself is a major **** show. I had Kayo and enjoyed it because it was sports focus orientated, but then cancelled my subscription given how how unpractical it is to navigate through the application is.

It’s not going to win any awards, but I actually think it’s reasonably easy to navigate. Certainly no worse than other similar apps imo.

MightyTiger

Jun 21, 2010
It’s not going to win any awards, but I actually think it’s reasonably easy to navigate. Certainly no worse than other similar apps imo.
I absolutely hate how when I click on a channel another small box opens up, and then I have to click whether I want to watch from the start or live. Just want to click on a channel and it open straight up. And just generally dislike how everything else works within the application.

And to be fair I'm even thinking of switch from Foxtel now to just normal Foxtel, the fact I have 120mbs steady cable internet constantly and I have streams that are delayed, streams that lag etc is just something that really irks me.

Btw can someone explain why when I watch a game televised on channel 7, and switch to Foxtel now channel the game is delayed by about 20-30 seconds to the live feed from channel 7?

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
Kayo is brilliant for me but if you have crap internet like ADSL or NBN I wouldn't recommend it. If you have decent cable internet go for it.

SunGirl89

Feb 19, 2019
Gold Coast
Liverpool
I have Optus Cable internet and the latest Apple TV. I stream free-to-air TV, Kayo, Netflix and Stan and have zero complaints.

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
Btw can someone explain why when I watch a game televised on channel 7, and switch to Foxtel now channel the game is delayed by about 20-30 seconds to the live feed from channel 7?

Internet feed is always going to have a delay. FWIW in the tea-room at work if there's a sports game on and other blokes are watching on their phones with Foxtel Now and I tune on Kayo my feed seems to be 5-10 seconds ahead of theirs.

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
Also works brilliantly with Google Chromecast, as does Netflix, Stan, Youtube, pornhub, anything really.

funk44

Skookum Choocher
Mar 31, 2010
No Eurosports channel meaning no live Snooker from all the world ranking tournaments kills it for me.

Apart from that reports about Kayo are good but they do drop in and out a bit from what i have heard and that would be highly annoying especially at the end of close games.

Streaming Live sport is never reliable IMO or trust worthy and just when you don't want it to play up and stop etc it usually does! Grrrrr
No cycling either. I've had to buy Eurosport player + VPN for the giro. Bloody annoying

Brass Dog

Feb 19, 2019
Yankees
I get buffering with Kayo which is bloody annoying. Last weekends game was ok until the 4th quarter, then buffering made it pretty much unwatchable. I'm not hooked up to the NBN yet, but what I don't understand is this never happens with the other streaming service I use, Netflix. Anyone have any idea why thats the case? Cheers.

Sep 27, 2008
Chelsea, Black Caps, Subiaco
I've been using Kayo since Easter, I've had a few buffering issues here and there but it's mostly pretty good.

I'm on the NBN but it's not particularly fast, I've just switched to a supposedly faster plan with my ISP so hopefully that sorts out any buffering issues.

JohnZ

Mar 10, 2016
I get buffering with Kayo which is bloody annoying. Last weekends game was ok until the 4th quarter, then buffering made it pretty much unwatchable. I'm not hooked up to the NBN yet, but what I don't understand is this never happens with the other streaming service I use, Netflix. Anyone have any idea why thats the case? Cheers.
Netflix isn't live, so it can download faster than the video plays back, giving enough buffer in case the internet slows. Live streaming apps like Kayo will pre-buffer about 7s to give enough leeway for changes in download speed (which can vary over the course of a game), but if the internet drops out completely, or sometimes the speed slows enough, the video will buffer because it has nothing to play.

A query for Kayo users.

For majority of the AFL games i watch i am generally starting half hour after the game actually starts (kids bed time etc). Can i jump in on the game from the start in these cases or am i stuck watching live?

Also; can i pause, rewind, re-watch etc?
Are AFL games on demand?

A query for Kayo users.

For majority of the AFL games i watch i am generally starting half hour after the game actually starts (kids bed time etc). Can i jump in on the game from the start in these cases or am i stuck watching live?

Also; can i pause, rewind, re-watch etc?
Are AFL games on demand?

Yes to all of those.

freofc1994

Sep 15, 2014
NY Giants, Chelsea
Foxtel is essentially finished. Paid over the odds for Cricket and has been paying over the odds for the footy as well as NRL and A League.

It absolutely refused to give sports consumers what they really want and that's just sports without all the other added channels.

With the likes of Optus having what is a reasonable product for streaming means that streaming services become another alternative player for broadcasters to go up against.

The US has seen a massive increase in streaming services for sports and the likes of Fox that built their entire Network on the back of the NFL are realising that the days of network broadcasting holding all the cards are numbered.

Apr 11, 2002
Iggles, Georgia.
Kayo is brilliant for me but if you have crap internet like ADSL or NBN I wouldn't recommend it. If you have decent cable internet go for it.

nonsense

there's is an existing thread on Kayo, probably not useful for anyone having the 2 running, but given the attitude of the OP, no doubt it was much easier for him/her to create a thread than search for the one that he/she must have known already existed. Very surprised anyone replied tbh.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/kayo-sports.1208981/

whirlpool the best for support etc
https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/35r5yx19

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
nonsense

there's is an existing thread on Kayo, probably not useful for anyone having the 2 running, but given the attitude of the OP, no doubt it was much easier for him/her to create a thread than search for the one that he/she must have known already existed. Very surprised anyone replied tbh.

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/kayo-sports.1208981/

whirlpool the best for support etc
https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/35r5yx19

What are you on about? Obviously if you don't have a fast and reliable internet connection you're going to run into trouble, especially if you want it in HD. It would only take other family members doing anything like watching a youtube video or netflix etc and your kayo stream would grind to a halt.

Apr 11, 2002
Iggles, Georgia.
What are you on about? Obviously if you don't have a fast and reliable internet connection you're going to run into trouble, especially if you want it in HD. It would only take other family members doing anything like watching a youtube video or netflix etc and your kayo stream would grind to a halt.

nah mate, what are you on about? nbn isnt world class but it's more than capable for an average household, you dont need cable.

BIRDBRAIN

Aug 12, 2013
nah mate, what are you on about? nbn isnt world class but it's more than capable for an average household, you dont need cable.

I've never had NBN so I can only go off others I know who were forced onto it and reckon it's no better than their ADSL was. If your internet connection isn't brilliant (and unlimited data) I actually wouldn't bother with kayo, you'd be better off getting Foxtel satelite and leaving your internet free so you can actually stream Netflix etc in another room even when someone is watching the footy. Of course it depends on each individual household and what it's needs are, these days with kids, students, work, gaming, Netflix you might have 5 or 6 devices all using the internet at once

Apr 11, 2002
Iggles, Georgia.
I've never had NBN so I can only go off others I know who were forced onto it and reckon it's no better than their ADSL was. If your internet connection isn't brilliant (and unlimited data) I actually wouldn't bother with kayo, you'd be better off getting Foxtel satelite and leaving your internet free so you can actually stream Netflix etc in another room even when someone is watching the footy. Of course it depends on each individual household and what it's needs are, these days with kids, students, work, gaming, Netflix you might have 5 or 6 devices all using the internet at once

Yeah well that's simply wrong.

Unlimited data is a necessity & I would agree if you have more than average demands then it might be trial & error getting an acceptable setup working. We regularly have up to half a dozen devices using on our 75mb plan with no real issues.

SunGirl89

Feb 19, 2019
Gold Coast
Liverpool
Can i split screen games on delay?
Don't think there are any limitations on split screen. You can do live games/channels, replays, shows, etc. For live games, you can watch from the start or from live, or advance/rewind to any point in the game.

SplitView.JPG

SplitView-options.JPG

Dec 13, 2012
The Exers
Foxtel is essentially finished. Paid over the odds for Cricket and has been paying over the odds for the footy as well as NRL and A League.

It absolutely refused to give sports consumers what they really want and that's just sports without all the other added channels.

With the likes of Optus having what is a reasonable product for streaming means that streaming services become another alternative player for broadcasters to go up against.

The US has seen a massive increase in streaming services for sports and the likes of Fox that built their entire Network on the back of the NFL are realising that the days of network broadcasting holding all the cards are numbered.
You realise Kayo is just foxtel with a different brand name?