KDFL - 2010

G’day Crockie
Won’t get into pedantics about Spanish names mate, ‘cept to say get on ‘em in the wussie round ball game! ESP to win the WWCC .. the World Who Cares Cup!

Apart from the Germans!! As Basil said, “Don’t mention the war”!!

What a beauty by Murch on the weekend. Has opened the pandoras box me thinks. Cletus Delroy should be “Wading” into the thread to pump Murch up.

Good Club the Hoppers, but I do have a bitch about your scribe in the footy record when the Redlegs played Murch last financial year when he said, “The Longwood blokes started playing the man after half-time”. Que Mr Fawlty? The scoreboard would tell you that our blokes couldn’t even catch ‘em let alone play the man?

After the shafting we got from reports against Violet Town three weeks ago; where our retaliators were unfairly pinged by the men in (.. insert your own colour), plus the fact that the GV Umpires haven’t had the courtesy to send a seconds umpire “interstate” to Longwood .. or should that be “intestate”!! I’m starting to think of a bit of conspiracy theory .. (tongue in cheek). But no, not totally joking!

And the old ally from last century, Avenel, have played a pearler for their win last weekend.

This is a bloody good league for the Longwood Leggers to join and with 7 rounds to go more surprises are expected. ‘Cepting that the Longwood Redlegs are re-building.
Cheers
John Carrot :):thumbsu:

Ps No disrespect to the Towners re the above, bytheway. Just in case VT Number 24 might line me up next game!! Cheers

He, is a she, Mr Carrot and may not have paid a real lot of attention to the game I think. In, fact, the reports in the "Record" are generally dictated to her by someone else - who ever is closest at the time. So I wouldn't read too much into it.

No doubt Cletus Delroy - Peterson was very chuffed with the victory, I'm pretty sure i saw him with a red can (not of the coke variety) in his hand standing near the BBQ after the game...

He, is a she, Mr Carrot and may not have paid a real lot of attention to the game I think. In, fact, the reports in the "Record" are generally dictated to her by someone else - who ever is closest at the time. So I wouldn't read too much into it.

No doubt Cletus Delroy - Peterson was very chuffed with the victory, I'm pretty sure i saw him with a red can (not of the coke variety) in his hand standing near the BBQ after the game...

G’day Crockie
Didn’t read much into it of course .. but ‘cept to say that I hope the lads in control in the on-field (insert colour here) uniforms aren’t getting mixed messages that the Longwood Redlegs are the newly adopted ferals in the League. Come to Redlegs Stadium to observe a truth far removed from that thought!

Now Mr C Delroy. If it is red and not Coca Cola, I reckon he’s just trying to “keep a lid on it” and “taking it one week at a time” by moving to the mid-strength beer!

However! A golden rule at Redlegs Stadium is that if caught consuming alcohol in “uniform” after the game then it’s a $10 fine for the “Trip Away Fund”! Also includes white jackets and flags .. the voice of experience speaking .. $10 lighter!!
Cheers
John Carrot:):thumbsu:

What happened with Nagambie and Stanhope on the weekend??
We (Nagambie) put in another disappointing effort on the weekend against Murch, just going through the motions isn't going to win us matches particularly against sides desperate to keep thier finals hopes alive.

The first half saw a pretty even contest with only a couple of goals in it, but the damage was done late in third and early in the last where Murchison put a few goals on us and got out to a 4-5 goal lead, after this we couldn't peg them back. In my opinion possession of ball was even all day but when Murch went forward they looked more damaging and scored easily. On the other hand our scores were hard to come by because of Much's defensive pressure and ability to clear the ball. For a couple of minutes in the last quarter we threatened and kicked a couple of quick ones but Murch answered with goals of their own and held on.

In my opinion the it was our lack defensive pressure that was costly, the ball tended to be run out of our forward line and through the middle to easily. Murch worked hard and ran both ways all day. We also turned the ball over with poor decision making, too often we kicked to a contest rather than working hard to make good position or kicking to our players advantage. Our conversion inside 50 was also poor, too many opportunities missed or not making the distance should have resulted in goals. On the whole though Murch played the better footy and deservedly won the game.

I thought Hodgetts was probably their best and got heaps of contested ball all over the ground. Young Milne looks to be a player, good skills and can take a grab. I think he jagged 5 but got a couple of cheapies - he was probably the difference. Freeman was solid for 4 quarters and also got plenty of it particularly in the back half where he floats across half back. Williams was his usual intimidating self and whilst he had little impact on the game had Nagambie players second guessing themselves and was throwing his weight around.

On a positive front Lloydy, Paddy & Jacko Hutton will be happy we've signed a ruckman and they won't be required to pinch hit in the ruck as they have all year. Lloydy has been really good for us in there and has given us a contest, but all 3 players will be happy to return to thier key positions. We're also hopeful of getting some key players back in coming weeks - Clydesdale, Sullivan, Fox, Haysom, Le Cerf, and Varcoe will be very handy for us in our run home.

Interesting first half of the year, 6 teams maybe even 7 still in with a shot at the title in probably one of the most even season for a long time.

Lancaster- Form side have been the best in the first half, but have they peaked to early?

Undera- Up and down, horrible in GF replay. On paper probably best side but need to get everyone on the park.

Nagambie- Shot out of the blocks looked like another minor premiership on the way but have had a form slump in recent weeks. Still waiting to see them at full strength.

Stanhope- Probably suprised a few by beating Nagambie, big let down on Saturday against Avenel. Has Patto got any tricks left for September?

Violet town- All the hype pre-season haven't delivered against the better sides. Could be a darkhorse.

Murchison- Have taken a while to get going, with young Milne up forward kicking goals and a good draw will push for finals.

What happened with Nagambie and Stanhope on the weekend??
We (Nagambie) put in another disappointing effort on the weekend against Murch, just going through the motions isn't going to win us matches particularly against sides desperate to keep thier finals hopes alive.

The first half saw a pretty even contest with only a couple of goals in it, but the damage was done late in third and early in the last where Murchison put a few goals on us and got out to a 4-5 goal lead, after this we couldn't peg them back. In my opinion possession of ball was even all day but when Murch went forward they looked more damaging and scored easily. On the other hand our scores were hard to come by because of Much's defensive pressure and ability to clear the ball. For a couple of minutes in the last quarter we threatened and kicked a couple of quick ones but Murch answered with goals of their own and held on.

In my opinion the it was our lack defensive pressure that was costly, the ball tended to be run out of our forward line and through the middle to easily. Murch worked hard and ran both ways all day. We also turned the ball over with poor decision making, too often we kicked to a contest rather than working hard to make good position or kicking to our players advantage. Our conversion inside 50 was also poor, too many opportunities missed or not making the distance should have resulted in goals. On the whole though Murch played the better footy and deservedly won the game.

I thought Hodgetts was probably their best and got heaps of contested ball all over the ground. Young Milne looks to be a player, good skills and can take a grab. I think he jagged 5 but got a couple of cheapies - he was probably the difference. Freeman was solid for 4 quarters and also got plenty of it particularly in the back half where he floats across half back. Williams was his usual intimidating self and whilst he had little impact on the game had Nagambie players second guessing themselves and was throwing his weight around.

On a positive front Lloydy, Paddy & Jacko Hutton will be happy we've signed a ruckman and they won't be required to pinch hit in the ruck as they have all year. Lloydy has been really good for us in there and has given us a contest, but all 3 players will be happy to return to thier key positions. We're also hopeful of getting some key players back in coming weeks - Clydesdale, Sullivan, Fox, Haysom, Le Cerf, and Varcoe will be very handy for us in our run home.

Oh diddums - the only team without a ruckman and with injuries

Sparra old mate Bodzy was chasing a match report so I obliged......not to sure why you are insinuating I'm having a whinge as my post clearly points out Murch comprehensively outplayed us.

As Bodzy alluded to in his post about VT - "I know we've currently got 8 senior players out, but i'm sure everyones in the same boat there". He also asked if "too many key players were out?" Hence I noted we have some quality to come back into the side in coming weeks - it was in no way an excuse for us getting rolled.

Take nothing away from Murch I'm sure they weren't full strength either but for the bloke off the street who didn't go to the match, knowing this information gives a different perspective.

A well rounded report from you scribe, interesting when you state some facts and you still get people whinging.
On the new ruckman Jason Webb, played at Deni last year in the MFL, good lump of a lad and uses his frame well. Is a Rushy native but we won't hold that against him!!

A well rounded report from you scribe, interesting when you state some facts and you still get people whinging.
On the new ruckman Jason Webb, played at Deni last year in the MFL, good lump of a lad and uses his frame well. Is a Rushy native but we won't hold that against him!!

G’day Hank,
“Revered” is the word the people use of Webbie at Longwood.
He had a training run at Redlegs Stadium pre-season with his longwood mate Patch Hargood .. but at that stage was still with Deni. Jason Webb starred for the Leggers in 2008 in the BDFNL. As a “fair lump of a lad”. Noticed he is now a little less lumpy .. which is great!

Great to see Jason now back in this league at Nagamabie, however he has come back to join ex Redlegs of recent years past at Nagambie in Brendan Vercoe (ex Longwood coach and Redlegs legend), Scott Paulke (2007 Captain), Brian Morris (2007 B&F) and Leigh Fox early Noughties Redlegs player and son of Dave and Leslie Fox who have all contributed much to footy in the GV and KDFNL region.

Couple of passing points:
~ Firstly it’s VERCOE! .. for me mate Brendan. Childhood nicknames gave him “Varcs” but he is no relation to the Geelong player.
~ If people have read my support of VCFL decision making of the Benalla League over the last few years .. (or should that also include the French word “Non”!!). The Longwood Redlegs decided in 2008 to move to the KDFNL. Even had Bill Sykes in attendance at that meeting.
~ However state politics; despite the great work of Bill, can’t override the politics of VCFL football; of which my PERSONAL opinions (not the Longwood FNC’s) have been expressed months ago for those who care to read the back-up stuff.
~ So Longwood were unfairly committed in 2009 to the Benalla League, knowing it was just a process as that competition was doomed. We had to tread quicksand ( while the arse fell out of the nightie of our player list!) for sides around Benalla and the “alternatively sponsored” Bonnie Doon to be “given time” to get their shite together!!

In the meantime the guys mentioned above needed to play in a stronger competition so how could you stop them. Ironically, I hoped last year that Nagambie would take out the flag to give the Redlegs a bit of leverage after players had “climbed the mountain”!! If only ..
If only my Aunty Roberta grew a beard. I could call her Uncle Bob and sign her up as a back up ruckman!!

Now Sparra. Keep the “Vitamin B” (Vic Bitter) cold at VT! And don’t bag the scribbler (“Scribe”) too much! I find his posts observant and accurate.
Did you also read that the NO-DOZ Fev and the Cuz are taking contains Vitamin B1 and Vitamin B3 as well as caffeine. I reckon that would be great in liquid form .. Vitamin B beer and coffee at the same time .. RBT could even be minus .05!! ..

Sorry, I digress.

Longwood have injuries/unavailability .. as well as previously explained no-shows this year .. but we do have the best ruckman in the comp in Leggers coach Adam Bourke. Bourkie didn’t start until round 4 or 5 of these 13 so far; due to recovering from an operation. However if his form continues, I’ll be interested to see how he polls at year end from a second bottom side!

Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

Sorry Hank, out of the loop mate - is Jason Webb at Stanhope or Nagambie?? I know Stanhope have spoken to him a few times in the past.

He's definitely a fair lump of a lad - would have to be close to 6ft 5 and when I last saw him he was about 110kgs. Was a great athlete as a kid and I'd imagine he'd still move around the park pretty well. From what I've heard he's a pretty smart player, who loves dishing off to running players.

I know he played U14's at Rushy, but not sure he played thirds. Think he had a pretty bad motor bike accident as a kid? Started his senior career at Longwood and went ok in Murray league, so would be a more than handy acquisition in the KDL.

Sorry Hank, out of the loop mate - is Jason Webb at Stanhope or Nagambie?? I know Stanhope have spoken to him a few times in the past.

He's definitely a fair lump of a lad - would have to be close to 6ft 5 and when I last saw him he was about 110kgs. Was a great athlete as a kid and I'd imagine he'd still move around the park pretty well. From what I've heard he's a pretty smart player, who loves dishing off to running players.

I know he played U14's at Rushy, but not sure he played thirds. Think he had a pretty bad motor bike accident as a kid? Started his senior career at Longwood and went ok in Murray league, so would be a more than handy acquisition in the KDL.

Hey Perry Mason ..
Ah sorry .. that's a TV character from last century, not an insult.
Good post about Webbie. I didn't want to mention it, but the comeback fom the devastating prang explains why I use the word "revered" when he is seen at Redlegs Stadium.

From what you have heard .. and what I have seen, he is now a lean mean rucking machine with a footy brain.

Looking forward to he and Foxie matching Bourkie in a few weeks.
Also Varcs v Dave Cini. Naugton Bros down back against Mozza, Snags challenging his past captain Paulkes!

Mate .. don't worry about "line in the sand" crap .. the margin is going to be big!! (On the scoreboard to Naga!) But the contests are going to be great.
Cheers
John Carrot:):thumbsu:

Sparra old mate Bodzy was chasing a match report so I obliged......not to sure why you are insinuating I'm having a whinge as my post clearly points out Murch comprehensively outplayed us.

As Bodzy alluded to in his post about VT - "I know we've currently got 8 senior players out, but i'm sure everyones in the same boat there". He also asked if "too many key players were out?" Hence I noted we have some quality to come back into the side in coming weeks - it was in no way an excuse for us getting rolled.

Take nothing away from Murch I'm sure they weren't full strength either but for the bloke off the street who didn't go to the match, knowing this information gives a different perspective.

Well I will have to back pedal and apologise for my mocking of one line in your comprehensive match report, especially after the back up recieved from Hunk and John Longwood.

Not like the European Finch to back down, grow some aggotts and stick to your guns bartender:D:thumbsu:

Just a re-post, especially considering some of the results in recent weeks!

Heading quite quickly towards the business end...let's have some predictions on what's coming, and opinions on what's passed.

Final 5:
Premiers:
McNamara:
Rookie:

Biggest surprise:
Biggest disappointment:
Headline we'd like to see:
Headline we won't see:
In 2011...

Heading quite quickly towards the business end...let's have some predictions on what's coming, and opinions on what's passed.

Final 5: Lancaster, Undera, Nagambie, Stanhope, VT
Premiers: Undera (Mooroopna man will have them primed and beazer is saving himself for when it matters most. La Porta too hard for any team to contain)
McNamara: Troy Snelson or James Martin, or maybe Hank (6 games to go, 18 votes might be enough..)
Rookie: No idea..

Biggest surprise: Perhaps that neither Undera or Nagambie are flag favourites with 6 rounds to go..?
Biggest disappointment: That Doona doesn't post as much on the KDL thread, or that John Carrot has taken his place..
Headline we'd like to see: Rushy smack Stanhope to keep their faint finals hopes alive!
Headline we won't see: Girgarre's recruiting spree pays off.. Beazer finally fits into size 34 shorts..
In 2011... Ronnie Burls appointed KDL director of umpires.. Ardy appoints Chopper Reid as President.. Common sense prevails as Ian Cruz is appointed Stanhope coach..
Hate doing these things, but yep, bored..

Final 5:
Premiers:
McNamara:
Rookie:

Biggest surprise:
Biggest disappointment:
Headline we'd like to see:
Headline we won't see:
In 2011...

G’day Lanca ‘Strine
Being a newbie to the league .. plus the fact that the Longwood Redlegs and Blue haven’t played every side yet, I’ll open the batting if you like.
Cheers
John Carrot :thumbsu:

Ps Get on ESP, the Spaniards against the Dutch in the FIFA HooGivesA WWW.FOFI Cup. That's the World Wide Wusses.Fall Over Feigning Injury Cup! Go the Manuels and the Emmanuels!!

Final 5: Top Lancaster (.. Wombats now AGC and will hold), Nagambie/Undera .. 2 or 3 .. as the Irishman was told when shown a spade and a shovel .. take your pick! Stanhope will hold 4 but a beautiful raffle for fifth between Violet Town, Murch and Avenel .. I’ll pick Spades .. erh ..VT.
Premiers: Will come from the top three when it all matters in September.
McNamara: Is this the name of the League medal? Adam Bourke from Longwood .. get set on good odds now.
Rookie: The young Milne kid from Murch. Easy. He must keep a lid on it though!

Biggest surprise: A blow out GF..
Biggest disappointment: A blow out GF..
Headline we'd like to see: Adam Bourke, Longwood Coach, wins 2010 KDFL Best and Fairest..
Headline we won't see: Longwood Redlegs and Blue define final Five with last round win! But don’t tell John Carrot he’s dreamin..?
In 2011..Too Far Far away in July, 2010. Maybe Shrek turns red from Green and joins Longwood from that land Far Far Away .. and no jokes about the Donkey, Cat and the Princess Kim Clysters!!

Hate doing these things, but yep, bored..

G'day Perry
Trouble is .. I'm going to have to spend the rest of this season trying to work out if you have insulted both Doona and John Carrot .. or if it's a back-handed compliment to us both ..

Biggest disappointment: That Doona doesn't post as much on the KDL thread, or that John Carrot has taken his place..

Cheers Cobber
John Carrot :):thumbsu:

Final 5: Undera, Lancaster, Nagambie, Stanhope. Then Violet Town would have to be favourites to take the final spot of the chasing pack, ahead of Murchison on percentage, then Avenel and Rushworth courtesy of tough draws. (I'm tipping Tallygaroopna to finish with 9 wins with their easy draw, although they are starting too far back in my opinion)
Premiers: Undera
McNamara: Snelson (Girgarre)
Rookie: Milne (Murchison) or Duncan (Avenel)
Biggest surprise: Avenel
Biggest disappointment: 2010 finals comprising more or less the same clubs as the last three years.
Headline we'd like to see: All KDFL clubs fielding Under 18's.
Headline we won't see: KDFL senior interleague to return.
In 2011... Avenel and Murchison to be contenders.

Final 5: Undera, Lancaster, Nagambie, Stanhope. Then Violet Town would have to be favourites to take the final spot of the chasing pack, ahead of Murchison on percentage, then Avenel and Rushworth courtesy of tough draws. (I'm tipping Tallygaroopna to finish with 9 wins with their easy draw, although they are starting too far back in my opinion)
Premiers: Undera
McNamara: Snelson (Girgarre)
Rookie: Milne (Murchison) or Duncan (Avenel)
Biggest surprise: Avenel
Biggest disappointment: 2010 finals comprising more or less the same clubs as the last three years.
Headline we'd like to see: All KDFL clubs fielding Under 18's.
Headline we won't see: KDFL senior interleague to return.
In 2011... Avenel and Murchison to be contenders.

Andrew oldfield
Troy snelson
Tim Harris
Adam Brunt
Rhys Buckton

my pick for medal

You got the spelling wrong Carrot.

Doger!! ..You left foot limping lettuce green shirt worker in the rain today!!! Duzzen matter if you or he are BDan's or BDon's .. he's surname is VERCOE!! i.e Varcs!!

Thanks for querying that farcical report at three quarter time at Redlegs Stadium!
Me thinks it is pretty "precious"!

..Maybe more in the Shepp News during the week .. but if it goes any further than today it will be a "pharcikal pharkin" travesty of justice to a bloke who played his 150th game today.

More info on big footy and local press .. maybe state press .. next week if this pharcikal tribunal hearing goes ahead.

I keep quoting the Yugoslav from the pizza shop in the movie, The Wog Boy, who said, .."They say I know pharkin nuthin' .. but really .. I know phark all!!

Cheers

John Carrot ;):thumbsu:

ps Well done to players and supporters of Undera for today at Longwood Redlegs Stadium .. great day to get there on a lousy atmospheric day. However, I believe today's different stategy by the bottom side Longwood, halved the winning margin for Undera and exposed a possible chink in the Lions attacking style. Truly, would hate to see today's Redlegs style in a match of sides of comparable ability. But for the Leggers, it was an interesting concept against a very good KDFL side recognised as a top 3 club.:):thumbsu:

Geee never over the last 10 years of senior footy or even junior footy I have witnessed such tactics in a football match. Lining up next to Sammy and all we could see where red jumpers in front of us! For the sake of it I counted in the 2nd quarter and the leggers had 2 players forward of the centre circle, these tactics were used all day and despite the difference between the 2 sides we found it very very hard to score. I must say I dunno how much i'd like turning to play a game of footy and know that my sole ambition for the game is to crowd the oppositions forward line in order to stop heavy scoring.

None the less it was good tactics and was interesting to see a coach think outside the square, I have no doubts the leggers prevented a fair few goals and they played that style ok! Well done Bourkey.

No real shock results yesterday, everything went as most thought.

Doger!! ..You left foot limping lettuce green shirt worker in the rain today!!! Duzzen matter if you or he are BDan's or BDon's .. he's surname is VERCOE!! i.e Varcs!!

Thanks for querying that farcical report at three quarter time at Redlegs Stadium!
Me thinks it is pretty "precious"!

..Maybe more in the Shepp News during the week .. but if it goes any further than today it will be a "pharcikal pharkin" travesty of justice to a bloke who played his 150th game today.

More info on big footy and local press .. maybe state press .. next week if this pharcikal tribunal hearing goes ahead.

I keep quoting the Yugoslav from the pizza shop in the movie, The Wog Boy, who said, .."They say I know pharkin nuthin' .. but really .. I know phark all!!

Cheers

John Carrot ;):thumbsu:

ps Well done to players and supporters of Undera for today at Longwood Redlegs Stadium .. great day to get there on a lousy atmospheric day. However, I believe today's different stategy by the bottom side Longwood, halved the winning margin for Undera and exposed a possible chink in the Lions attacking style. Truly, would hate to see today's Redlegs style in a match of sides of comparable ability. But for the Leggers, it was an interesting concept against a very good KDFL side recognised as a top 3 club.:):thumbsu:

Was one of the most puzzling things I have ever come across in 20 years of football
the umpire said there was a directive from the KDFL but was not sure what they what the directive was. Said that it was a crack down on insulting and abusive language and it didn't matter that patch's "phark" was not directed ant anyone but that he had said it. What was more dumbfounding for me was that I used the word FIVE times standing 1.5m from the same umpire and there was nothing done. Shouldn't I have been red carded???
Last game an opposition player abuses one of our players directly in front of the umpire "get up you f@#$% weak c@#$%" and nothing. This week one of your players say's "f@#$ when the opposition get a goal and is sent off and gets a red card.
Umpires I've never understood most of them and I guess I never will.:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Geee never over the last 10 years of senior footy or even junior footy I have witnessed such tactics in a football match. Lining up next to Sammy and all we could see where red jumpers in front of us! For the sake of it I counted in the 2nd quarter and the leggers had 2 players forward of the centre circle, these tactics were used all day and despite the difference between the 2 sides we found it very very hard to score. I must say I dunno how much i'd like turning to play a game of footy and know that my sole ambition for the game is to crowd the oppositions forward line in order to stop heavy scoring.

None the less it was good tactics and was interesting to see a coach think outside the square, I have no doubts the leggers prevented a fair few goals and they played that style ok! Well done Bourkey.

No real shock results yesterday, everything went as most thought.

G'day Tige
Here is how the local press saw the Longwoood v Undera game..
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:

REDLEGS GET UNDER A LION’S SKIN
Sunday night’s Dancing with the Stars had an old classic song. Cole Porter and Sinatra’s “I’ve got you under my skin”. Bit like the Redlegs getting under Undera’s skin with a tactic named “Operation Tackle” by Longwood’s coach Adam Bourke.

Bourkie’s pre-match address asked for a minimum of one tackle, one block and one shepherd per player, per quarter to contest the Lion juggernaut.
A bit of “Sydney Swan’s” flooding was also required to keep the scoring down.
Bourkie was “thinking outside the square” with only two players on Longwood’s forward side of that centre square.
The tactic was to try and keep a margin to 4 or 5 goals until ¾ time, then see if a change in strategy to attack might be a shock.
It was more a business decision than an army operation because sometimes in business you have to cut your losses.
On the scoreboard, Undera won by 127 points, 15 points more than the opening round at the Lion’s den. But by now the Lions are second on the ladder with the Leggers second last.
Yet statistically, “Stan the Statistician from Stradbroke Island” has the result that the Redlegs and Blue were 62% successful!
Undera kicked 19 goals in their win but their scribe in the KDFL footy record suggested a 50 goal plus score.. ( Our mate Stan can get more positive spin than a politician ..eh?)
One quip at the post-match discussion did put things into a more reasonable perspective when a supporter proposed (.. probably a statistically challenged rellie of Stan from up north) “that three weeks back, fifth placed Violet Town kicked 171 points against us while this second place team kicked 129 points against us today. As well as that, we doubled our score in those three weeks!!”
Longwood score 2 behinds last Satd’y as against 1 behind against VT!!
The key to AFL flooding is to get players behind the ball to gain possession then after a turnover down back all run forward to possess, go wide, get inside 50 and score.
Longwood didn’t have the fitness to run like that but did gain possession often to get inside fifty. Unfortunately a class act like Undera also got players back to regain the footy and attack.
But number 14 for Longwood, Brendan Hamill, would have been close to BoG from both sides with his outstanding ability to back himself to mark in packs across half back. Match that with long clearing kicks, precision passing to move up the wing and to get under the packs and fire out a handball to blokes like Ricki Shiner and Dave Cini.
Dallas Middleton, selected on the wing but dropping back was another tackle, turnover possession getter in a side which did a great job to frustrate the Lion’s brilliant attack.
League leading goal kicker, Sam LaPorta “only” kicked 4 for the day.
Peter “Pup” Clarke was a welcome return from army duty in South Australia and will be one to watch coming up. The fit Adam “Snags” Larkins assumed an on-ball role; running from defence to follow the ball into attack, while Jake Hedwards, played his second senior match and showed cause for his promotion.
Everyone gasped as Jake ran with the ball overhead to attempt the mark in the second quarter while the pack coming at him meant crunch time. Tough little buggra is Jake (.. bit of a rugby background). He just got up shook his head and got on with it!
Longwood locals in Tim and Matt Naughton also had a true go.
CONGRATS PATCH
Congratulations to Patrick “Patch” Hargood on his 150th game with Longwood. But Patch’s celebration was soured with a nefarious red card and “pharkisal” (.. erh mis-spelled) farcical report of which we may hear a lot more of next week. Stay tuned to the Euroa Gazette to find out more but in the meantime .. Well Done Patch!