KDFL - 2010

Sorry about braking my hand Hank and putting you through all this, I feel terrible and so must you;) 3Nuts you obviouly must play for Naggaz and you must be still embarrassed about getting flogged again by Stanhope:thumbsu: this time in a prelim by about 16 goals:eek:, hope that team photo you took before the game will be a lasting memory of how you couldn't get to grand final because of the Stanhope Footy Club:footy:...... No no no thank us later:D

Camon Gov, boasting about a 2nds finals win against a mob that there seniors are playing off in the big one is hardly good ammo. Fail.

Haha, nah nothing like a solid Sunday session to wind me up!
Longwood Footy Club Presentation Night Count “session” last Satd’y night.

Best and Fairest .. “#14 Hammer Time!” .. Man who backs into packs to mark – all 72kg (11.1/2 Stone) of him!!

Brendan Hamill.

Runners Up: Adam Bourke and Ricki Shiner

Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

Self explanatory really; September and Lancaster don't mix.
it certainly looks that way. have lost their last 3 prelims now, reckon there was another one before that too. (2006?)
there forward line was the problem on the weekend. im not sure if any of their starting 6 even kicked a goal. also godsy had about 50 touches without an opponent which didnt help their cause.
big game this week, cant split the 2 teams really. Ill go nagaz just, i reckon they will shut down underas dominant players.

Godsy.... Goes ok! Lol

Will be the acid test this weekend for him, although he was named your best in the Qualifying Final v Nagambie, he was far from it and young Sanderson took him to the cleaners not only nullifying his influence but kicking 2 very important goals from CHB himself. Will be interesting to see what if anything changes in the way the two sides set up from that day. Conditions will allow for a more free flowing and skillful game.
Probably the two most astute and tactical coaches who both seem to do their homework on the opposition to face off Saturday, it may be one of those GF's where their influence may be the difference at the end of the day.

All the best to all players participating and may the best teams win.

Will be the acid test this weekend for him, although he was named your best in the Qualifying Final v Nagambie, he was far from it and young Sanderson took him to the cleaners not only nullifying his influence but kicking 2 very important goals from CHB himself. Will be interesting to see what if anything changes in the way the two sides set up from that day. Conditions will allow for a more free flowing and skillful game.
Probably the two most astute and tactical coaches who both seem to do their homework on the opposition to face off Saturday, it may be one of those GF's where their influence may be the difference at the end of the day.

agree on the coaches hank, both put in the work on the opposition but equally important put there own players in areas where they can do some damage. underas bottom 4 to 6 players dont seem much, but they all do a job, nullifying etc. their top 4 to 6 are freed up at every opportunity.
nagaz are a touch more even and every player works to the team plan and doesnt go outside it.
when watching other teams, game plans, jobs, team rules dont appear as apparent.
auld to just do the job on mahoney, nagaz just over undera.

This GF is shaping up to be one of the best in recent yrs and Im looking forward to bringing the little ones down for a watch. I've changed my mind to many times about who will win, i'm leaning to Naggaz but have a feeling Undera may produce something. Agreed on the 2 coaches, no doubt have respect around the area in footy circles. Looks like it will be clear skies up here for the match so expect free flowing footy, if the game opens up the Lions have the firepower to put the Lakers away but if it's one on one contested footy I think Nagambie are well drilled enough and even to come out on top. Game will be won and lost by Nagambies back line, if they hold the Undera forwards they win, if Laporta and co fire it will be hard. Morris and Ratray cause the Lions troubles and Wood was dominate last start. Agree with you Hank, Godsmarks test will come this week.

Don't know who will win! Draw?

Anyone know what the condition of mooroopna's ground is like?

My prediction is Nagambie by around 18pts but only if they can hold LaPorta and not let him run amok up forward. I think that will be the key aspect to who wins this game.
BOG medal: S.Woods (nag)

Gonna be an absolute cracker of a game though!

My prediction is Nagambie by around 18pts but only if they can hold LaPorta and not let him run amok up forward. I think that will be the key aspect to who wins this game.
BOG medal: S.Woods (nag)

I don't think Nagambie would want to be too La Porta conscious - Mahoney is too smart to rest his back-to-back ambitions on the back of one player.. Suspect another undera forward to pop up, or a surprise move early (maybe Godsmark forward or La Porta up the ground) by the lions to try and sneak a couple when Nagambie are off guard.

Would prefer to see the lakers get up so that Jake Lloyd gets another flag under his belt, but reckon the lions will perform better on the day, as they did last year.

good luck to all the teams competing for the big one in the football and netball this weekend.

my tips for the footy

naggaz will get up in the seniors by 5 or so points in a very close game

millsy's boys will get up in the two's by a couple of goals

murch will be to strong for the stanhope boys in the thirds

again, good luck to all the teams.:)

I don't think Nagambie would want to be too La Porta conscious - Mahoney is too smart to rest his back-to-back ambitions on the back of one player.. Suspect another undera forward to pop up, or a surprise move early (maybe Godsmark forward or La Porta up the ground) by the lions to try and sneak a couple when Nagambie are off guard.

Would prefer to see the lakers get up so that Jake Lloyd gets another flag under his belt, but reckon the lions will perform better on the day, as they did last year.

My thoughts exactly. All things equal and we have a nice clear day as will be the case who wins the battle? Underas forwards or the Naggaz backline? What group is better?? I'm sticking with the Lakers but not with any great confidence. 1 goal either way but if I had to take one it would be the lakes.

Seniors-Nagambie 3-4 goals (to quick)BOG : Quade Comi.

Reserves-Stanhope 4-5 goals(quality inclusions) BOG: one of the senior inclusions.

Thirds-Murchison 5 goals( best side all year ) BOG: Milne

I did notice the comments on here a couple of weeks ago that he did no good but was named as the best player. Funny how that works, might be trying to get a bit of ammo to get in the VCFL rep side again next year.

I did watch the game you are speaking of and he was far from Undera's worst in pretty trying conditions . Sanderson did a good job of running off
all day and did happen to kick a couple , however the Undera midfield
butchered the ball all day to the forwards making it hard to have any impact on the contest as on of there forwards.

Seniors-Nagambie 3-4 goals (to quick)BOG : Quade Comi.

Reserves-Stanhope 4-5 goals(quality inclusions) BOG: one of the senior inclusions.

Thirds-Murchison 5 goals( best side all year ) BOG: Milne

G'day Semi Pro

Seeking a bit of clarification on tips please.

I agree both on tips and close enough on margins for the ones and twos.

But I spoke to Pete Milne at the last round who confirmed his son James had kicked over 100 in the threes and also about 50 or 60 for the seniors.
If young Milne plays in the third’s “End Year Formal” .. The Big Dance {?} as it now called by the commentators apparently!! Then Murchison will be long odds on.

Questions? .. has he played too many games in the ones and secondly – maybe Hank can advise me here (without any malice implied .. !!) – what are the KDFL rules on players being qualified/unqualified for the number games played in each level of footy?

All the best to the boys and the girls who seek the pinnacle this weekend.

Like climbing that Mt. Everest .. to reach the summit and take the flag would be exhilarating, however to be in the second party to watch on is still a magnificent effort. And just like that mountain .. it will still be there in 2011 to come back and do it again!

Cheers from a (sober .. really) John Carrot .. waxing lyrically of the joys of district footy!:p

P.S. The question about player games per level is that I can pass that on to my great grand-children at Longwood in 30 years so that we don’t lose our Grand Final because of unqualified players!!!

P.P.S. The real joy of district footy will become a reality when players receive remuneration after their performance rather than the meat sale during/before the practice matches. I’ll leave this topic with the question .. “Which comes first .. the chicken or the egg?” (And no-one must answer Paris Hilton!!).

I’ll be back beating my drum on this topic pre-season 2011. Meantime “Go Varcs!’ for the Lakers (Longwood Legend Brendan Vercoe!!):thumbsu:

G'day Semi Pro

Seeking a bit of clarification on tips please.

I agree both on tips and close enough on margins for the ones and twos.

But I spoke to Pete Milne at the last round who confirmed his son James had kicked over 100 in the threes and also about 50 or 60 for the seniors.
If young Milne plays in the third’s “End Year Formal” .. The Big Dance {?} as it now called by the commentators apparently!! Then Murchison will be long odds on.

Questions? .. has he played too many games in the ones and secondly – maybe Hank can advise me here (without any malice implied .. !!) – what are the KDFL rules on players being qualified/unqualified for the number games played in each level of footy?

All the best to the boys and the girls who seek the pinnacle this weekend.

Like climbing that Mt. Everest .. to reach the summit and take the flag would be exhilarating, however to be in the second party to watch on is still a magnificent effort. And just like that mountain .. it will still be there in 2011 to come back and do it again!

Cheers from a (sober .. really) John Carrot .. waxing lyrically of the joys of district footy!:p

P.S. The question about player games per level is that I can pass that on to my great grand-children at Longwood in 30 years so that we don’t lose our Grand Final because of unqualified players!!!

P.P.S. The real joy of district footy will become a reality when players receive remuneration after their performance rather than the meat sale during/before the practice matches. I’ll leave this topic with the question .. “Which comes first .. the chicken or the egg?” (And no-one must answer Paris Hilton!!).

I’ll be back beating my drum on this topic pre-season 2011. Meantime “Go Varcs!’ for the Lakers (Longwood Legend Brendan Vercoe!!):thumbsu:

Pretty sure when it comes to the Under 18s it doesn't matter how many Senior games they play as we (Stanhope) also have young Lachy Armstrong playing in the thirds who like Milne has spent the majority of the season playing seniors.

U/18's can play at any level during finals, they don't have to have played any 3rds games at all as long as they have played 3 club games. Agree with this rule as it is an underage competition so if you qualify by your DOB then you should be eligible.
So to clarify for the reserves qualification for an U/18 player who has played no reserves football during the year, they are eligible to play finals even if they have played only U/18 games or even played more than the 8 Senior games during the year.

For the Seniors, you have to play 3 club games to be eligible.

The Reserves, must have played 3 club games and no more than 8 Senior games during the H&A. Finals are not included for any of these and only games played for the club you are at are taken into account.
* I believe there should be an addition to this rule that stipulates that you must have played 3 reserves games also to be eligible.

Hope this helps.

All the best to everyone tomorrow.

Nagambie by 11pts - Anthony Haysom BOG

Stanhope by 33pts - David Reardon BOG

Stanhope by 1pt - Jye Patten BOG

Good Luck to all sides competing in both netball and football tomorrow.
Hopefully the sun is shining and it's a brilliant day for the KDFNL!

Tomorrow is the best grand finals that we could have wished for because the best two sides all season are in all three grades (according to form at the right time, not by ladder position at the end of the H&A).

Anyway, the 3rds game is the one I'm most interested in (for obvious reasons), and the few things that could swing the game in either directions could be:

How James Milne plays. Will Stanhope do something daring and put Lachy Armstrong on Milne to negate his influence, which sides depth will be tested early in the match (I think Stanhope's will be but they have enough players to cover that) and whose midfield has the greater capacity for gut running in the last quarter (because I can barely separate Stanhope or Murchison in this regard).

This game is worth getting there early, if only to see a strong leading full-forward with great hands and a beautiful kick, I know it's hard to put the blinkers off and be balanced about this game, but despite Stanhope's class and the ability in which they win big matches (which is the result of solid planning), I can't go past season long form and consistency so I'll pick Murchison to finally win their first KDFL title in any grade in a decade and win by 14 points (but if you anything about our cricket team, we have a horse sh!t record in Grand Finals).

B.O.G L. Armstrong (Stanhope, if he does play on Milne and keep him down to 2 goals max., but it will most likely go to a kid playing in the centre).

The Seconds should be close if you weigh up both Undera's list and the advantage of playing in the same grade all season compared to a solid core of Stanhope's 2nds plus some big inclusions, but I think that class shines through and Stanhope should win by 19 points B.O.G: D. Harrison (Stanhope).

The 1sts, well I'm surprised that there's no love for Undera here in this forum (I know that Nagambie would be slight favourites if you go by recent form), considering their strong midfield starring Godsmark & their forwards in La Porta & Spiro Vorgaslis (although playing a soccer g.f tonight might negate his influence mentally not physically), but you just can't go past the element of redemption and the fact that Nagambie seem to be stronger, fitter and more even than this time last season, Nagambie to win by 7 points in what should be a great Grand Final. B.O.G A. Haysom (Nagambie).

Good luck to all teams and players tomorrow (but not too much luck if you play for Stanhope's 3rd XVIII;))

Tomorrow is the best grand finals that we could have wished for because the best two sides all season are in all three grades (according to form at the right time, not by ladder position at the end of the H&A).

Anyway, the 3rds game is the one I'm most interested in (for obvious reasons), and the few things that could swing the game in either directions could be:

How James Milne plays. Will Stanhope do something daring and put Lachy Armstrong on Milne to negate his influence, which sides depth will be tested early in the match (I think Stanhope's will be but they have enough players to cover that) and whose midfield has the greater capacity for gut running in the last quarter (because I can barely separate Stanhope or Murchison in this regard).

This game is worth getting there early, if only to see a strong leading full-forward with great hands and a beautiful kick, I know it's hard to put the blinkers off and be balanced about this game, but despite Stanhope's class and the ability in which they win big matches (which is the result of solid planning), I can't go past season long form and consistency so I'll pick Murchison to finally win their first KDFL title in any grade in a decade and win by 14 points (but if you anything about our cricket team, we have a horse sh!t record in Grand Finals).

B.O.G L. Armstrong (Stanhope, if he does play on Milne and keep him down to 2 goals max., but it will most likely go to a kid playing in the centre).

The Seconds should be close if you weigh up both Undera's list and the advantage of playing in the same grade all season compared to a solid core of Stanhope's 2nds plus some big inclusions, but I think that class shines through and Stanhope should win by 19 points B.O.G: D. Harrison (Stanhope).

The 1sts, well I'm surprised that there's no love for Undera here in this forum (I know that Nagambie would be slight favourites if you go by recent form), considering their strong midfield starring Godsmark & their forwards in La Porta & Spiro Vorgaslis (although playing a soccer g.f tonight might negate his influence mentally not physically), but you just can't go past the element of redemption and the fact that Nagambie seem to be stronger, fitter and more even than this time last season, Nagambie to win by 7 points in what should be a great Grand Final. B.O.G A. Haysom (Nagambie).

Good luck to all teams and players tomorrow (but not too much luck if you play for Stanhope's 3rd XVIII;))

Try B.O.S (Best on Sidelines) For his gut walking getting to and from the Bar.:p

So Hank not playing tomorrow? If he's fit and not playing, and they get done, then there might be a few disappointed players wondering "what if we'd played our best available side" come tomorrow arvo