Kdfl - 2011

Hoping someome can help me understand ! I keep hearing how Gig coach Scotty keeps telling the players, supporters, paper and the radeo that he is trying to get a local player culture. Keep local players in the club and introduce players into the club that are going to be long term clubmen and players for years. Not players who blow in for a year and move on...As quoted by Scotty many times..Do fly in players every week for $$$ fit this "local player culture"? I dont think so,but could be wrong. I didnt think Canavan was still coaching! Good luck Gig, alot of good blokes there,players and committee members. Will be a long year in "11". Stick together and regroup next year under new coach and push up the ladder.

No mention here yet of Lancaster's game on sat'd.

A Lancaster midfielder was king hit from behind while the umpire tried to deal with Lancasters runner being dumped on his arse about 5 metres away.
The player who was felled was out before he hit the ground, arms stiff as a board as he hit the turf.
He had nothing to do with the little push and shove happening near the umps, and wasn't involved in any squirmish with those around him. It was just a cheap king hit to an unsuspecting bloke who happened to be in the area.
To make matters worse, a spectator then approached Lancaster bench and threatened to go on with it. With players and the lone spectator having to be separated by one of the assistant coaches. Lovely stuff.

Luckily, as the Lancaster player was hit in the back of the head, he didn't sustain any broken bones or cuts to his face. Just a very sore head and a trip to Shepp hospital in a neck brace for observation.

Hopefully Lancaster have learnt the lesson, that every game against that club should be video'd.

Not good to hear Cosby, even without vision players can still be investigated.
Moving on, as expected a cracking game at Violet Town yesterday with Undera putting themselves back into the Top 3 mix with a 3 point win away from home.
VT 15 6 96 to Undera 15.9 99

Violet Town
Goal Kickers: B. Gleeson 5, A. Hobbs 3, M. Saddington 3, T. McCorkell , B. Gleeson , T. Ross , D. Saddington
Best Players: R. Wilson, B. Gleeson, J. Bodycoat, T. Ross, B. Gleeson, B. Bailey
Undera
Goal Kickers: S. LaPorta 6, M. Pell 2, A. Timmis 2, M. Wishart 2, D. Godsmark , Z. Shepherd , J. LaPorta
Best Players: J. Hajro, O. Macreadie, M. Wishart, B. Campbell, D. Breen, S. MCCORMACK

Not good to hear Cosby, even without vision players can still be investigated.
Moving on, as expected a cracking game at Violet Town yesterday with Undera putting themselves back into the Top 3 mix with a 3 point win away from home.
VT 15 6 96 to Undera 15.9 99

Violet Town
Goal Kickers: B. Gleeson 5, A. Hobbs 3, M. Saddington 3, T. McCorkell , B. Gleeson , T. Ross , D. Saddington
Best Players: R. Wilson, B. Gleeson, J. Bodycoat, T. Ross, B. Gleeson, B. Bailey
Undera
Goal Kickers: S. LaPorta 6, M. Pell 2, A. Timmis 2, M. Wishart 2, D. Godsmark , Z. Shepherd , J. LaPorta
Best Players: J. Hajro, O. Macreadie, M. Wishart, B. Campbell, D. Breen, S. MCCORMACK
Was a shattering loss but at the same time a great game to play in, with it being goal for goal all match from the get-go...
We coughed up five 50m penalties that cost us 3 goals, so from our team's perspective that was the most disappointing aspect. Both teams busted their guts and had lots of good passages of play moving the ball from end to end very quickly. By the same token both teams at times probably coughed up a couple of telling goals through lacking accountability.
Godsy, Pelly, Timmis, the big CHF (not sure of name) played well for Undera. S Laporta made the most of his kicking when he marked with 5 or 6 straight goals for the arvo. Our Full Back Peerso did a good job on him and spoiled in coming kicks many times.
Umpires were very inconsistent with their decisions all match and for both teams. Was very hard to gauge what they were going to pay and what they would let go.
Well done to Undera.

Was a shattering loss but at the same time a great game to play in, with it being goal for goal all match from the get-go...
We coughed up five 50m penalties that cost us 3 goals, so from our team's perspective that was the most disappointing aspect. Both teams busted their guts and had lots of good passages of play moving the ball from end to end very quickly. By the same token both teams at times probably coughed up a couple of telling goals through lacking accountability.
Godsy, Pelly, Timmis, the big CHF (not sure of name) played well for Undera. S Laporta made the most of his kicking when he marked with 5 or 6 straight goals for the arvo. Our Full Back Peerso did a good job on him and spoiled in coming kicks many times.
Umpires were very inconsistent with their decisions all match and for both teams. Was very hard to gauge what they were going to pay and what they would let go.
Well done to Undera.

The CHF was Wishart I think Bodzy.

Did he play for Stanhope at some stage Hunk?

If it is the same bloke he has put on a bit of beef, but christ he can play, great hands, quick of the mark but his kicking did let him down a bit.

The CHF was Wishart I think Bodzy.

Did he play for Stanhope at some stage Hunk?

If it is the same bloke he has put on a bit of beef, but christ he can play, great hands, quick of the mark but his kicking did let him down a bit.

Yeah thats him, has been grazing well over the last couple of years but can play. Originally an Undera lad, had a stint at Stanhope and even played some games at Mooroopna but now back at Undera, will only improve as the season wears on as he works off a bit of excess baggage.:D

agree hank.. the boy can play. played on him last year and still had the great hands although needed to practise his kicking and did run out of puff quickly(even i outran him :)), but was well and truly too good to be running around in undera's magoo's. may be the forward foil to help out LaPorta

"...he just has concussion and a headache," Carver said. "He hasn't been seriously injured..." (Shep News 16/05/11) Has Lancy's president graduated from teacher to neurosurgeon?:confused: Forget video for any match Cosby, it might help to confirm details but any fan of Boston Legal could get it thrown out. Go Denny Crane!

Speaking of things being a bit more even, is it necessary for top sides in the U/18 comp to play kids that are named in the seniors when they are playing a struggling bottom side? Any thoughts?

Yeah think its ordinary, clubs/coaches need to make a stand, obviously my 3rds boys are on the recieving end this year but certainly isnt sour grapes on my behalf as before this year I coached for two very succesful years and not once did a 3rds boy play 3rds and seniors on the one day and during those years we had many 3rds kids play seniors. This year when a 3rds boy gets picked to play Seniors, even though he will mean we will be 5+ goals closer to our opposition, he will not be playing 3rds first.
Ardmona was 100pts up at 3/4time against our 3rds, and they had two boys picked to play seniors as well, they continued to play 3rds when they could have went off and rested and low and behold after the game they pulled out of the seniors and Ardmona had to pull two up out of the reserves and they go on to score 2 goals for the game against our seniors, one of the boys would have to be in Ardmona seniors best 5 players.

"...he just has concussion and a headache," Carver said. "He hasn't been seriously injured..." (Shep News 16/05/11) Has Lancy's president graduated from teacher to neurosurgeon?:confused: Forget video for any match Cosby, it might help to confirm details but any fan of Boston Legal could get it thrown out. Go Denny Crane!

Yeah good point. One would have thought that you would consider taking further action based on the incidence alone and not based on whether the player has recovered ok. What if he had permanent neck damage. !! from all reports it was pretty cowardly act from the ardy player bucktin who ran from forward line to strike a player from behind standing by himself 15 metres away from the pushing and shoving. Weak as p...s ! And the ardmona club wonder why they receive such bad publicity about there football club. If they were serious about their club and reputation they would give this player his marching orders from the club !

Speaking of things being a bit more even, is it necessary for top sides in the U/18 comp to play kids that are named in the seniors when they are playing a struggling bottom side? Any thoughts?

Quite often this is an option provided for the third boys. We have 2 that play regularly. I can remember it was something that I was certainly keen to do when I was in the thirds as we would have 3 or 4 double up on occasions (avenel 05 & 06).

Representitive teams also ask players to play seniors to play against bigger bodies. The decision will normally be with the player to play both games. Sometimes parents can contribute to the players decision to double up.

Quite often this is an option provided for the third boys. We have 2 that play regularly. I can remember it was something that I was certainly keen to do when I was in the thirds as we would have 3 or 4 double up on occasions (avenel 05 & 06).

Representitive teams also ask players to play seniors to play against bigger bodies. The decision will normally be with the player to play both games. Sometimes parents can contribute to the players decision to double up.

Given, I can understand it when sides are close together on the ladder but is it necessary for those boys to play thirds if they are in a top side that is going to flog a bottom side in the U/18 comp?

Hoping someome can help me understand ! I keep hearing how Gig coach Scotty keeps telling the players, supporters, paper and the radeo that he is trying to get a local player culture. Keep local players in the club and introduce players into the club that are going to be long term clubmen and players for years. Not players who blow in for a year and move on...As quoted by Scotty many times..Do fly in players every week for $$$ fit this "local player culture"? I dont think so,but could be wrong. I didnt think Canavan was still coaching! Good luck Gig, alot of good blokes there,players and committee members. Will be a long year in "11". Stick together and regroup next year under new coach and push up the ladder.

Hey allbuddy, I played in the game against Gig on the weekend and don't think they had any fly-in players, and perhaps no paid players at all..? You're right, they're good blokes at Gig, but the fact remains that they're largely uncompetitive because none of them train and they aren't fit! It was a physical contest, they're starting points at most stoppages were spot on and they weren't bad in the clinches, but as soon as we ran the ball they didn't have anyone willing or capable of chasing..

We actually didn't use the ball that well going forward, but were able to continually get the ball inside our forward 50 because once we rebounded from defence there were options all over the ground.

It seems like the culture of players not taking responsbility for their own performances is having a worse affect on the club than any of their past coaches..

Yeah good point. One would have thought that you would consider taking further action based on the incidence alone and not based on whether the player has recovered ok. What if he had permanent neck damage. !! from all reports it was pretty cowardly act from the ardy player bucktin who ran from forward line to strike a player from behind standing by himself 15 metres away from the pushing and shoving. Weak as p...s ! And the ardmona club wonder why they receive such bad publicity about there football club. If they were serious about their club and reputation they would give this player his marching orders from the club !

Good Stuff Cazaly ..

G’day KDFellas .. and KDNetters!
Not that this yarn would apply to the Gals too much!!

Bit of history from me again .. which may be relevant to discussion regarding the “alleged” incident, between Ardmona and Lancaster. For a start I’m not sure if this whack was in the two’s, (home goal umpires) or the seniors, (assumed to be all GV Umpires).

My .. his ..story happened at Longwood on a wet Satd’y in ’74 at Redlegs Stadium.

Getting over a broken leg my role was as home team goal umpire. In the last quarter of a tense game, with the ball down the Tubb’s Hill end .. and I goal umpie at the Sawmill end .. I saw a couple of the lads pushing and shoving.
Next second, this bloke came in with a round arm punch starting from his right ankle.
The Redlegs player .. nicknamed Ticky .. lay in the mud with a popped eye, broken nose and shattered cheekbone, (ambulance required).

I ran in wearing my white goalies coat (..as the goalies did in those days – hoping not to be clobbered!) to stand over Ticky as the blue grew around us .. then dispersed.

By the time the umpire had got back from the other end, I asked, “Can I report this mongrel!” Ken’s cool response was, “No you are a home team umpire .. you are not allowed!”

After the game Ken then told me ..”you still have the right as a home goal umpire to lodge a witness report to your Club to request a tribunal hearing”. Thanks Kenny Farrell!:thumbsu:
Wednesday week later we assembled at the tribunal at a pub in Benalla, armed with all the evidence.

The President of the offenders Club stood at the start of proceedings and said..
“ The tribunal can apply any penalty as it wishes (which evolved to be two years out for the thug) .. but this person has been thrown out of our Club.

As a matter of fact we should have seen this coming, but he had a good footy reputation.

He joined this Club through the summer cricket and as he walked past the umpire after being given out LBW, he whacked him over the head with the bat!! And the cricket umpires standing each end were his own team-mates!!!”

In those days the batting side used to provide the umpires .. bit like footy these days where UNPAID VOLUNTEERS do all the central, boundary and goal umpiring for the District Twos!! But I digress ..eh?

If the Lancas have a case .. I say go for it!! Just like the Redlegs of 37 years ago.

Cheers
John Carrot
Ps The following year the Benalla League gave home goal umpires the power to report. But because of the amount of frivolous reports; the rule went down the gurgler after that season.
Food for thought to get rid of thugs .. eh?:thumbsu:

I hope for your case that you've named the right player, because that could land you in a bit of hot water if you haven't.

But, in regards to the rest of your post, I agree 100% and I would be extremely surprised if Lancaster don't go for an appeal with this, regardless of any injuries sustained to the Lancy player, but you know what they say, "the more things change, the more they stay the same":thumbsdown::(:mad:.

P.S
Having heard the other side of the story (from a pretty good source), it seemed (according to them) that although contact was made, it will likely see a suspension (if it goes to tribunal), but not a big one (2-3 weeks tops).

I hope for your case that you've named the right player, because that could land you in a bit of hot water if you haven't.

But, in regards to the rest of your post, I agree 100% and I would be extremely surprised if Lancaster don't go for an appeal with this, regardless of any injuries sustained to Carver, but you know what they say, "the more things change, the more they stay the same":thumbsdown::(:mad:

Probably should have used the word 'alleged" somewhere in the post !!. However there were plenty of witnesses.

Seems as though if wughnu had of been accepted into the kdl they could have chalked up a few wins with the scorelines over the last few weeks with merrigum,gigaree,longwood,ardy,avenel really copping some hidings!!! Poses the quiestion why do these teams deserve to be playing in the leauge and not wughnu?????

I'm pretty sure they never had netball sides, so im tipping that would be one of the main reasons

1.Had nothing to add to the League.
2. Merrigum, Girgarre, Ardy & Avenel have given decades of service to the League so I'd say that on its own would show that they 'deserve to play in the league' more so than Wunghnu.
3. Longwood was placed into the League by the VCFL and have shown improvement and have netball sides and have also wanted to get an U/18 side but have not been allowed by the VCFL due to the shortage of players in the Euroa/VT/Longwood area.
4. Wunghnu were the last side to try to gain admission and the league has enough sides as it is.

Probably should have used the word 'alleged" somewhere in the post !!. However there were plenty of witnesses.

G’day Cazaly

I gather that you , and many others write like all “twits”, ”Texters”, “SmSers” .. and probably .. Nowadays .. Planker W?ankers, like Sammy Newman and The Low Dose Tablet himself .. erm .. Ablett Junior ..

Have you seen Gazzas smart-asked plank?
When you get to see his w?ank ..erm .. plank photo, it just looks like he has landed without his Super $ Gold Coast cape on. No problems with the heat shield on the bald head though .. nothing to heat up ..eh?
As Wazza would agree .. he should fly out to Dubbo to join up with Sheedy’s Greater Western Dubbo Zoolander’s .. in text talk he might catch the “Flyflu”??

My call to you Cazaly is that I read your text message post as “ a player came bucketing in to join the fight” .. so write it out in f’n proper English from now on so we can all understand and don’t use this texting shite abbreviations.

Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
p.s. English is still the main subject to pass in Year 12. For me in 1968 I had to pass English Literature and English Expression. The former was to do with boring Shakespeare .. while the latter had nothing to do with breast-feeding!! Even when you are passionately writing .. or have “allegedly”spilled a few inks .. keep it as clean as you can!!

..as Joe Mama says .. for all punters .. think of the consequences.. Cheers

Not a bad call Washie.. BUT!
The VCFL bombed out the Benalla League over the past years, putting Longwood behind the eight ball 3 years ago. At that time we wanted to move with a strong team in 2008 (out of 5) out the BDFL. It was denied under the excuse that it would cripple footy in the Benalla area and it took 'till 2010 for us to join this fantastic KDFL footy and nettball.

Another 6 town league were exterminated .. sorry ..merged in the West Vic after last year, 2010. The only survivors will be the Federal League of 5. Bulioh and those guys. The VCFL will leave that alone .. don't go there mate!!
A Major League, the Hampden League out west, published their complaints in the Herald Sun a couple of weeks ago to say that they will no longer be able to have every side provide RESERVES footy as the better reserves players of a major league are being coaxed by MONEY from DISTRICT leagues.

Phorknwhaart??

I now live in Euroa and want district footy in surrounding towns to continue to provide the sporting opportunities and social fun to be passed on to those of the new generations of the people I have grown up with in the last 60 years. This year (2011) the historic Euroa Magpies had coaching staff and supporters ready but not enough volunteers and volunteering PLAYERS to field a thirds team!!

Wungnu's problems are not their own. And the “single sheep” have other issues which I won't discuss here.
But

I ask the VCFL .. the suits in the city .. to declare where district footy is going?
It's pretty obvious in my area that in Ten years .. no footy at Violet Town or Longwood -- gravitate to the Major League team Euroa. No thirds .. paid players in firsts and seconds only ..also 'cos not enough 18 years old still here in any of the towns .. (smaller family .. 2.3 kids move away..).
Same with Avenel, Nagambie and Murch .. morphing into Seymour.

VCFL wants to gets rid of District Footy .. it centralises $$ to major leagues. Gives more credence to the Bushwhackers at the Rovers ground in Wangaratta and that disgusting "so called" country footy show that I can't remember. It has Danni as a judge (sorry that's some other show) but is hosted by "Slime"! That is his nickname ain't it now that he has picked up some fallen player contracts from other players agent? (that was a smart-asked question).
Apologies to all the business people involved in AwFuL footy who have to battle against the AFLPA's union request of a 25% increase after the new $1.25B TV rights over the coming years!!!!

Don't bag me .. try and deny some of my points .. 'cos I have my answers.
From the WAP Vegie Man .. What a Pearler?

Good morning, good afternoon and Good Night

Cheers

I agree, because Wunghnu had an Under 17's team (Longwood don't and likely never will, at least not on their own), and I couldn't imagine that their numbers would've been as bad as Merrigum's are this season.

Although I understand Hank's points about why they aren't in the league, I believe that clubs need a home, and Wunghnu deserved a chance at KDFL level (and if it became a case of same sh!t, different league, to fold on their own terms, (football euthanasia instead of some other power pulling the plug).

But, sadly what's done is done, and even if they had Netball teams I doubt that they would've been enough to spare the VCFL's axe.

Not a bad call Washie.. BUT!
The VCFL bombed out the Benalla League over the past years, putting Longwood behind the eight ball 3 years ago. At that time we wanted to move with a strong team in 2008 (out of 5) out the BDFL. It was denied under the excuse that it would cripple footy in the Benalla area and it took 'till 2010 for us to join this fantastic KDFL footy and nettball.

Another 6 town league were exterminated .. sorry ..merged in the West Vic after last year, 2010. The only survivors will be the Federal League of 5. Bulioh and those guys. The VCFL will leave that alone .. don't go there mate!!
A Major League, the Hampden League out west, published their complaints in the Herald Sun a couple of weeks ago to say that they will no longer be able to have every side provide RESERVES footy as the better reserves players of a major league are being coaxed by MONEY from DISTRICT leagues.

Phorknwhaart??

I now live in Euroa and want district footy in surrounding towns to continue to provide the sporting opportunities and social fun to be passed on to those of the new generations of the people I have grown up with in the last 60 years. This year (2011) the historic Euroa Magpies had coaching staff and supporters ready but not enough volunteers and volunteering PLAYERS to field a thirds team!!

Wungnu's problems are not their own. And the “single sheep” have other issues which I won't discuss here.
But

I ask the VCFL .. the suits in the city .. to declare where district footy is going?
It's pretty obvious in my area that in Ten years .. no footy at Violet Town or Longwood -- gravitate to the Major League team Euroa. No thirds .. paid players in firsts and seconds only ..also 'cos not enough 18 years old still here in any of the towns .. (smaller family .. 2.3 kids move away..).
Same with Avenel, Nagambie and Murch .. morphing into Seymour.

VCFL wants to gets rid of District Footy .. it centralises $$ to major leagues. Gives more credence to the Bushwhackers at the Rovers ground in Wangaratta and that disgusting "so called" country footy show that I can't remember. It has Danni as a judge (sorry that's some other show) but is hosted by "Slime"! That is his nickname ain't it now that he has picked up some fallen player contracts from other players agent? (that was a smart-asked question).
Apologies to all the business people involved in AwFuL footy who have to battle against the AFLPA's union request of a 25% increase after the new $1.25B TV rights over the coming years!!!!

Don't bag me .. try and deny some of my points .. 'cos I have my answers.
From the WAP Vegie Man .. What a Pearler?

Good morning, good afternoon and Good Night

Cheers

Although I'm not as pessimistic about the state of district level footy (sadly, a few clubs will disappear, Wunghnu & Thornton/Eildon have gone and there will be more to come:(), I think you will see more clubs combining thirds teams (I think a few sides in the Ovens & King do this), so clubs aren't fighting for a declining number of kids (maybe this could be a solution for Longwood 3rds, combining with Avenel).

And I think that you will see some major league teams having a "open clearance" relationship between say a Tongala (Major League) and a Girgarre (Minor League, as an example), where blokes who aren't getting a game in Tongala's 2nds go to a Girgarre to play instead (I've only used these two teams as a possible relationship).

And as far as 2nds teams in Major Leagues go, I can see all Major League competitions going 16 a side for the 2nds because of the points raised by J.C (blokes formerly playing twos for nothing for say a Shepp Utd or a Mooroopna instead getting $$$$ to play for a Tally or a Ardmona, for example), and the fact that the numbers aren't there at that level.

It will be interesting to see what happens, but if the Hampden League's experiment with their 2nds competition works (eliminating their 2nds comp., and having their excess players play in minor competitions), then you will see some others fall into line (Sunraysia being the most likely) and do the same thing.

Well here are my tips for Round 6.

Violet town should easily beat Ardmona by over 100 points, Longwood to beat Avenel by 13 points after finding a rich vein of form, Murchison to dispose of Girgarre, Tallygaroopna and Arho to outgun Nagambie by 19 points, and Undera to maul the bulldogs of Merrigum by over 125 points.

P.S

Are any other clubs doing the "Heritage Round" thing ?, or is it just Tally, Undera & Avenel.

I hope all the clubs do it for future matches (if they can afford it), because it would be nice to see Ardmona wear Royal Blue with a AFC monogram, or Violet Town wear purple & gold, or Longwood wearing plain red, or Murch wearing green and gold stripes, or Gig going to the blue & white stripes, or Nagambie wearing royal blue & gold, or Stanhope wearing Shepp's style jumper, or Rushy wearing Collingwood colours (Lancy I don't think have even changed their jumpers, so they can miss out).

I reckon it would be interesting and the players I'm sure would like to have another jumper to wear and train in.

P.S
Murch have had a few jumpers in its 130 years but if we did wear a special jumper, I would like us to wear our jumper from the 30's (Green with Gold MFC monogram & trim)