Kdfl - 2011

I see the lanky v undera contest was a close one with lanky only getting in front in the last quarter. Any one got a match report ? Would appear lanky are not that far out in front for flag favorite, with also a loss to violet town. Will be an interesting finals series with rushy finding some form as well.

Went back and had a kick for Rushy on Sat down at Avenel. Very lucky to get away with the win, Avenel played really well all day and their frontal pressure was excellent and their structures were good. They probably just lacked a bit more quality up forward. Subber Arandt and Brett Gordon were stand outs.

Jungle Martin was a bit wayward, kicking 2.5 and overall our delivery into the forward line wasn't great. Stephen Kirby was best on for mind, with Tom Clarke, Jedd Perry and Nathan Gage not far behind.

It was great to see Drew Clarke back after a lenghty stint on the side lines, kicking 5 in the 2's and he'll be an awesome acquisition to the senior side over the last 2 games. We've still got the coach and Shaun Damon to come back in, as well, so will be close to full strength come finals time.

Went back and had a kick for Rushy on Sat down at Avenel. Very lucky to get away with the win, Avenel played really well all day and their frontal pressure was excellent and their structures were good. They probably just lacked a bit more quality up forward. Subber Arandt and Brett Gordon were stand outs.

Jungle Martin was a bit wayward, kicking 2.5 and overall our delivery into the forward line wasn't great. Stephen Kirby was best on for mind, with Tom Clarke, Jedd Perry and Nathan Gage not far behind.

It was great to see Drew Clarke back after a lenghty stint on the side lines, kicking 5 in the 2's and he'll be an awesome acquisition to the senior side over the last 2 games. We've still got the coach and Shaun Damon to come back in, as well, so will be close to full strength come finals time.

good to have you back by the looks tav... by the shepp news you were BOG, and after flying in that morning too.

I see the lanky v undera contest was a close one with lanky only getting in front in the last quarter. Any one got a match report ? Would appear lanky are not that far out in front for flag favorite, with also a loss to violet town. Will be an interesting finals series with rushy finding some form as well.

Your dead right Up There it will be a great finals series, the top 5 looks set now with Stanhope 4 points and lots of % ahead of Tally. Any side can win it if they are at their best. The Undera v Lancy game was a tight contest, it was good that the rain stopped in time for the ones. One goal 9 points in the second half says it all for Undera, we had our chances but didn't take them unlike Lancy who never stopped. Could have gone either way. Looking forward to VT at Undera this week.

Yes we are doing the gate raffle and the blanket at half time so hopefully the Merrigum guys will help out with the blanket. Good cause so hope everyone can give to help out him and his family.. Cheers

Good to see other clubs in the district getting behind the cause as well with Picola in the PDFL NW league raising nearly $500 on saturday.

After the tumultuous week down in the Swans nest, it was great to see the way the senior boys aquitted themselves. Seemed to have a real red hot go all day, could not fault their endeavour. The new coach spoke very well, just wants the boys to stick together, finish the year off and try and earn a little respect back from their opponents and supporters. Judging by the way they went about it saturday, with their attack on the ball, tackling, smothers, etc they have taken a small step in the right direction, which was good too see.

As for Drew Clarke didnt look like he had any time out of the game, moved very well and was strong overhead in wet conditions, could of easily kicked 15 if he wanted too. Will be a very handing inclusion to the Rushy senior side. Looking forward to the finals series as it seems like the top 4 are pretty evenly matched.

Good to see Sammy La still kicking bags and the Undera boys still in the mix and with a show heading into the finals! All the best lads.

LONGWOOD’S INJURY TALLY ASTOUNDING AFTER LAST WEEK..
When you lose by 22 goals against Tallygaroopna; as the Longwood Redlegs did last week, there can’t be much reason for complaint. Or could there?
When Tally are over 12 goals in front at half-time, how do you reconcile the fact that a minority of the Tally shepherds .. and that is no anti-religious comment .. didn’t do their flocking team mates any good?
Moreso, with “good shepherd elbows”, three kings from Tallygaroopna had put two concussed Longwood Redlegs on the bench by the long break.
With another to follow from the same culprits later when 19 year old Justin Gelsi; playing his first promotion to the seniors, had his eye socket bones broken into a five-piece surround-shattering elbow injury by one of the aforementioned shepherding Kings of the Demons.

An investigation and a six week result (+2 for being a slow learner). JC, your club certainly has a set of the proverbial on it and is prepared to back itself. Perhaps the culprit could purchase a watch and learn to tell the time in the off season thereby arriving at the contest as it happens for a change. It's a big wheel but...

Geez Woody .. you can be more cryptic than me!

Not sure if your post is re-inforcing (backing me up) or regurgitating (spewin’)?

To the last point .. “It’s a big wheel but ..”.
I take that as .. “he who is without “beard” cast the first stone .. (quote: Monty Python, Life of Brian at the stoning scene..). Erm .. and the Bible .. roughly.

But I need clarification on the statement ..” JC, your club certainly has a set of the proverbial on it and is prepared to back itself.”

I can’t read between those lines mate. Maybe an age problem on my part.
But are you referring to the proverbial “namure” that “Douggie from Nooroopna” once said? If so .. more enlightenment please.

I’ve thought the Longwood Redlegs have been fairly well received and behaved these two years in the KDFNL without having too many “feralites”; as all Clubs do both on and off the field, myself included/excluded depending on your own point of view!

The Club tells me that there is not an ounce of acrimony with Tally .. their people were great on the day of the injury. However there is no place in country footy for thugs – and, unfortunately that day, the experience of the umpiring handling the clashes wasn’t up to scratch either.

Cheers cobber
John Carrot:thumbsu:

My work here is done;)!

Seriously though, well done to Longwood for following up. As for Tally, too right, no problems at all there, good people. As for the bad apple, the big wheel had been turning all year. Got him late but got him none the less. Full points Short Steel, look forward to improvements next year:thumbsu:!

I don't think Senior Interleague will ever get off the ground in either the KDFL or the PDFL, simply because no-one wants to commit to it and that there's nothing much to play and that's why we don't have it now (Just like we don't have State Of Origin anymore).

From a Junior perspective, having a rep side for the Under 18's and Junior Netball is a good thing (and it has solid support from both the KDFL and the PDFL), because the kids want that rep jumper (or uniform) to wear at training and to have a bit of bragging rights to their mates at school, whereas at a senior level, you don't have that.

Not sure if your post is re-inforcing (backing me up) or regurgitating (spewin’)?

To the last point .. “It’s a big wheel but ..”.
I take that as .. “he who is without “beard” cast the first stone .. (quote: Monty Python, Life of Brian at the stoning scene..). Erm .. and the Bible .. roughly.

But I need clarification on the statement ..” JC, your club certainly has a set of the proverbial on it and is prepared to back itself.”

I can’t read between those lines mate. Maybe an age problem on my part.
But are you referring to the proverbial “namure” that “Douggie from Nooroopna” once said? If so .. more enlightenment please.

I’ve thought the Longwood Redlegs have been fairly well received and behaved these two years in the KDFNL without having too many “feralites”; as all Clubs do both on and off the field, myself included/excluded depending on your own point of view!

The Club tells me that there is not an ounce of acrimony with Tally .. their people were great on the day of the injury. However there is no place in country footy for thugs – and, unfortunately that day, the experience of the umpiring handling the clashes wasn’t up to scratch either.

Cheers cobber
John Carrot:thumbsu:

Well I can only talk about what happened at Murch when they played you guys, and although there were a few cheap shots, spiteful incidents and flare ups, at least you guys (Longwood) saw it for what it was, uncalled for.

This was emphasized by the fact that your reserves coach had a chat to us after the game, apologizing for a few of the things I've talked about here, which was greatly appreciated:thumbsu:, and didn't condoned such things (which is also good:thumbsu:), and didn't try to blame shift and look for reasons to excuse dickish behavior (like Ardmona does on an all too regular basis).

At least that accounts for something, and I hope that they nip that in the bud early, because idiots can ruin clubs quickly, but the aftermath remains a lot longer, because they're a good club and you want to attract good people and it would be a shame that a few idiots create a bad vibe around the place.

Although I was only goal umpiring during the 2nds game, I had to put up with the booming voice of a feral bogan chick in an old Nissan Patrol chick screaming abuse into my ear like a banshee for two hours or to anyone within earshot (she wasn't from Murchison thank god, but it's still bad nether the less), and yes this was bloody irritating, especially when she was bagging out Longwood's players and called one of our players a n!@#$r (which a club could get in trouble in if it was in a metropolitan league, which is a bit unfair because it's not their fault she's an idiot).

In the end, instead of feeling irritated about how the game panned out (a easy win to murch which felt a bit hollow, because of the abuse and the incidents of the match), I felt sorry for the good people at Longwood (Like John Carrot) for having that to contend with, which is bad enough, especially when wins are few and far between.

Anyway, I hope that the Elimination Final is a great success for Longwood, as I think that it will be a good game to watch if both Stanhope & Rushworth are at full strength, and I will go and have a look and spend some $$$$ there because it'll help them out after a tough 2011.

I don't think Senior Interleague will ever get off the ground in either the KDFL or the PDFL, simply because no-one wants to commit to it and that there's nothing much to play and that's why we don't have it now (Just like we don't have State Of Origin anymore).

QUOTE]

Its something the League needs to look very seriously at as we are getting left behind with the new VCFL structure for interleague, District leagues such as Heathcote and Loddon Valley are now ranked with the major leagues and can move up and down the interleague ladder. The concept now means that you can play any league anywhere in the state and a win means your league goes up higher in the ranking system therefore allowing clubs in that league to boast about the strength of the league to potential recruits.

Two years ago we would have been rated as good if not better than the Loddon Valley but now they are rated alongside major leagues and a part of the Major league interleague system, we have now been left behind and I assume to just get involved and be ranked would take 2-3years at best and maybe we have missed the boat.

Well now that the Final 5 is pretty much done and dusted for 2011 (unless the absolute extraordinary happens), the only real interest is to find out who will finish where in the Finals musical chairs.

So with that in mind here are my predictions for tomorrow.

Murchison to defeat Avenel by 38 points, After not even giving a yelp in their last quarter against Stanhope, you would think that Murchison would play with a little more purpose against the Swans, but I still think that Avenel will put in another good effort two weeks in a row, but I think that endeavor won't be enough for Avenel to win here.

Rushworth to defeat Girgarre by over 100 points After a surprisingly close game against Avenel, I doubt that Rushy will have another game like that against Gig, especially as they play Lancaster & Violet Town afterwards, Rushy to win easily.

Lancaster to defeat Ardmona by over 100 points I think Lancaster will grind the Cats into the dirt, and then put the cue into the rack, which is what good sides should do when they have two sides that should put up a fight in Rushworth & Murchison to look forward to after this match.

Nagambie to defeat Merrigum by 65 points The wet conditions could be the Doggies saving grace here, even though Nagambie have little to play for they still should win easily.

Stanhope to defeat Longwood by over 100 points Stanhope are going along nicely, after easily accounting for Murchison after a early scare, and they should make easy work of this game, to help their dream run into the finals (Stanhope have the bye & Avenel after this match).

Violet Town to defeat Undera by 14 points A potential Qualifying Final match-up awaits for these two sides, and although there's not much to seperate them, I would have to go with the Towners simply because they have players back and they didn't have as tough of a game last week.

Tallygaroopna has the bye.

Good luck to all teams tomorrow.

Anyway, I hope that the Elimination Final is a great success for Longwood, as I think that it will be a good game to watch if both Stanhope & Rushworth are at full strength, and I will go and have a look and spend some $$$$ there because it'll help them out after a tough 2011.

Jumping the gun a bit there Joe!, if VT beat Undera tomorrow, then Stanhope or Rushworth WILL finish 3rd.

P.S. Rushworth & Lancy do not play next weekend, both have a week off due to playing that game the week before Round 1.

QUOTE]

Its something the League needs to look very seriously at as we are getting left behind with the new VCFL structure for interleague, District leagues such as Heathcote and Loddon Valley are now ranked with the major leagues and can move up and down the interleague ladder. The concept now means that you can play any league anywhere in the state and a win means your league goes up higher in the ranking system therefore allowing clubs in that league to boast about the strength of the league to potential recruits.

Two years ago we would have been rated as good if not better than the Loddon Valley but now they are rated alongside major leagues and a part of the Major league interleague system, we have now been left behind and I assume to just get involved and be ranked would take 2-3years at best and maybe we have missed the boat.

I can see your point about having good Interleague results within the new state championship structure being a feather in the cap of the competition (as is the case with the Heathcote & Loddon Valley Leagues, who have had good results against more esteemed opposition over a few years) and as a good recruiting tool to get recruits, but I just don't think there's the drive either within the league or within the players to make Interleague happen again, because you need to be 100 % behind the concept otherwise it's not worth doing.

From a Junior perspective, having a rep side for the Under 18's and Junior Netball is a good thing (and it has solid support from both the KDFL and the PDFL), because the kids want that rep jumper (or uniform) to wear at training and to have a bit of bragging rights to their mates at school, whereas at a senior level, you don't have that.

PDFL delegates have agreed to enter the Worksafe Championships !

Jumping the gun a bit there Joe!, if VT beat Undera tomorrow, then Stanhope or Rushworth WILL finish 3rd.

P.S. Rushworth & Lancy do not play next weekend, both have a week off due to playing that game the week before Round 1.

I know there's plenty of footy to come yet (And I forgot about that game Lancy and Rushy had in early April at Ky:eek:, my bad) , but it wouldn't be a bad Elimination Final if that came to pass, because both sides are evenly matched.

Well I can only talk about what happened at Murch when they played you guys, and although there were a few cheap shots, spiteful incidents and flare ups, at least you guys (Longwood) saw it for what it was, uncalled for.

Unsure why you needed to jump in with this as the comments referred to an incident and a single Tally player with form. Like every club, Murch also has its peanuts, in all levels of footy.

G’day Joey
You’re spot on mate and as we discussed that day, the actions started by two of our reserves players put a blot on the Longwood Redlegs. The senior game was played in great spirit though, even though Murch flogged us in both games.
At the same time those incidents in the twos developed more into the “argy bargy” of footy without being the intensive sniping of what I’ve discussed before.
The seconds coach and a committee man ripped into the seconds boys in the post match address where the innocent also felt the wrath and it’s great to hear from you that our coach took it further to apologise.
Of the two separate incidents started by the offenders. One is young kid learning the hurly burly of senior footy. The other a dumb time-bomb who said after the game, “that’s it .. I won’t be back here” .. let’s hope – good riddance! The younger one has had some “quiet fire-side chats” about country footy – he’ll be ok.
As for the Nissan chick. We thought we had got rid of that feral lot last year.. but, like a bad smell .. they were back for the first game this year at Murch. The reserves player husband (who is still registered) was the one without the teeth .. and didn’t remove any dentures!! S’pose that’s why he doesn’t wear a mouthguard!!
As I’ve said before. All Clubs have to weed out their “feralites”.
I remember playing in the 60’s where the coach would say, “there are only two ways to stop a goal run-on by the other side .. the siren – or join in a blue to get rid of the nervous energy”! When I tell the young blokes about this, (who can’t believe those instructions!), I tell them I used to win my fights on the footy field by 150 metres .. Runaway, runaway (quote Monty Python)!!
Cheers cobber
John Carrot.
Ps: when I goal umpired as a home goal umpire last century, all umpires were expected to break up melees. I would take a flag with me to use like a police baton if I had to! Never had to, for Cripes sake.. but thank your god that umpies just have to stand back and observe nowadays. Keep up the great work between the posts old son!! See you at Redlegs Stadium on Sept.4

It's ok Woody.
Just a couple of Longwood seconds lacking discipline. I empathise more with Joey to have to put up with female bogans over the fence. I wonder how they would go if they went and watched the netball!!! OMG!
Cheers cobber
John Carrot

I can see your point about having good Interleague results within the new state championship structure being a feather in the cap of the competition (as is the case with the Heathcote & Loddon Valley Leagues, who have had good results against more esteemed opposition over a few years) and as a good recruiting tool to get recruits, but I just don't think there's the drive either within the league or within the players to make Interleague happen again, because you need to be 100 % behind the concept otherwise it's not worth doing.

Personally I would have loved to represent the league if given the chance and I'm sure most blokes would see it as a real feather in there cap! I remember playing for the Ballarat comp in 2003 I think and having real pride in representing the league, I'd be surprised if more than 10% of players weren't interested in the concept.

Unsure why you needed to jump in with this as the comments referred to an incident and a single Tally player with form. Like every club, Murch also has its peanuts, in all levels of footy.

Of course, and during that game I was talking about, we had a few blokes who mouthed off and did silly things as well, and like most clubs we've had our fair share of arse clowns, but if we did anything stupid either on or off the field, I would be the first to say so, because I've never been an apologist for my own club, especially when they're in the wrong.

The weird thing though was that the first quarter was tough but fair, and Longwood were stiff not to get a few goals on the board, but it just got out of hand, all because of a few idiots, and the seniors was played in good spirits.

G’day Joey
You’re spot on mate and as we discussed that day, the actions started by two of our reserves players put a blot on the Longwood Redlegs. The senior game was played in great spirit though, even though Murch flogged us in both games.
At the same time those incidents in the twos developed more into the “argy bargy” of footy without being the intensive sniping of what I’ve discussed before.
The seconds coach and a committee man ripped into the seconds boys in the post match address where the innocent also felt the wrath and it’s great to hear from you that our coach took it further to apologise.
Of the two separate incidents started by the offenders. One is young kid learning the hurly burly of senior footy. The other a dumb time-bomb who said after the game, “that’s it .. I won’t be back here” .. let’s hope – good riddance! The younger one has had some “quiet fire-side chats” about country footy – he’ll be ok.
As for the Nissan chick. We thought we had got rid of that feral lot last year.. but, like a bad smell .. they were back for the first game this year at Murch. The reserves player husband (who is still registered) was the one without the teeth .. and didn’t remove any dentures!! S’pose that’s why he doesn’t wear a mouthguard!!
As I’ve said before. All Clubs have to weed out their “feralites”.
I remember playing in the 60’s where the coach would say, “there are only two ways to stop a goal run-on by the other side .. the siren – or join in a blue to get rid of the nervous energy”! When I tell the young blokes about this, (who can’t believe those instructions!), I tell them I used to win my fights on the footy field by 150 metres .. Runaway, runaway (quote Monty Python)!!
Cheers cobber
John Carrot.
Ps: when I goal umpired as a home goal umpire last century, all umpires were expected to break up melees. I would take a flag with me to use like a police baton if I had to! Never had to, for Cripes sake.. but thank your god that umpies just have to stand back and observe nowadays. Keep up the great work between the posts old son!! See you at Redlegs Stadium on Sept.4

That's good to hear, JC (And I wish that you don't see that bloke who said "That's it, I won't be back this year" and the Nissan Patrol chick for dust, we can only hope for your sake :D), and that you took that kid aside, and sorted it out that way, which is the right thing to do.

With that in mind, I hope that you go allright against Avenel and Girgarre and snag some wins to end the season on a positive note for, and I'll see you at the Final :thumbsu:.