Kdfl - 2011

Well here are my tips for Round 6.

Violet town should easily beat Ardmona by over 100 points, Longwood to beat Avenel by 13 points after finding a rich vein of form, Murchison to dispose of Girgarre, Tallygaroopna and Arho to outgun Nagambie by 19 points, and Undera to maul the bulldogs of Merrigum by over 125 points.

P.S

Are any other clubs doing the "Heritage Round" thing ?, or is it just Tally, Undera & Avenel.

I hope all the clubs do it for future matches (if they can afford it), because it would be nice to see Ardmona wear Royal Blue with a AFC monogram, or Violet Town wear purple & gold, or Longwood wearing plain red, or Murch wearing green and gold stripes, or Gig going to the blue & white stripes, or Nagambie wearing royal blue & gold, or Stanhope wearing Shepp's style jumper, or Rushy wearing Collingwood colours (Lancy I don't think have even changed their jumpers, so they can miss out).

I reckon it would be interesting and the players I'm sure would like to have another jumper to wear and train in.

P.S
Murch have had a few jumpers in its 130 years but if we did wear a special jumper, I would like us to wear our jumper from the 30's (Green with Gold MFC monogram & trim)

Stanhope only wore the Shepp Style jumper between 1995-2005 due to undera having the maroon with gold sash when we joined, I'm not sure what you would class as heritage, but don't think getting a jumper out that was only worn for a small percentage of the clubs life and was last worn 6 years ago would be of any interest to our supporters and I know it certainly didnt interest our committee members, the main stance was that we are now wearing our 'heritage' jumper every week.
Maybe in 50 years time the club may look back and say gee that was a succesful era ( 3 senior, 2 reserves, 4 thirds premierships) of our club lets honour it by wearing those jumpers for a week.

Well here are my tips for Round 6.

Violet town should easily beat Ardmona by over 100 points, Longwood to beat Avenel by 13 points after finding a rich vein of form, Murchison to dispose of Girgarre, Tallygaroopna and Arho to outgun Nagambie by 19 points, and Undera to maul the bulldogs of Merrigum by over 125 points.

P.S

Are any other clubs doing the "Heritage Round" thing ?, or is it just Tally, Undera & Avenel.

I hope all the clubs do it for future matches (if they can afford it), because it would be nice to see Ardmona wear Royal Blue with a AFC monogram, or Violet Town wear purple & gold, or Longwood wearing plain red, or Murch wearing green and gold stripes, or Gig going to the blue & white stripes, or Nagambie wearing royal blue & gold, or Stanhope wearing Shepp's style jumper, or Rushy wearing Collingwood colours (Lancy I don't think have even changed their jumpers, so they can miss out).

I reckon it would be interesting and the players I'm sure would like to have another jumper to wear and train in.

P.S
Murch have had a few jumpers in its 130 years but if we did wear a special jumper, I would like us to wear our jumper from the 30's (Green with Gold MFC monogram & trim)
VT are doing the heritage round but wont be wearing the purple and gold,we ae going back a bir further and wearing the old Footscray jumper that is blue with a white and red band around the waist, it even has the collar on it..:thumbsu:

Stanhope only wore the Shepp Style jumper between 1995-2005 due to undera having the maroon with gold sash when we joined, I'm not sure what you would class as heritage, but don't think getting a jumper out that was only worn for a small percentage of the clubs life and was last worn 6 years ago would be of any interest to our supporters and I know it certainly didnt interest our committee members, the main stance was that we are now wearing our 'heritage' jumper every week.
Maybe in 50 years time the club may look back and say gee that was a succesful era ( 3 senior, 2 reserves, 4 thirds premierships) of our club lets honour it by wearing those jumpers for a week.

Yeah, fair enough, it is a bit too soon, and it never was your "true jumper" to begin with (plus a Heritage Round is a bit redundant for the like's of Stanhope & Lancaster, because all you can do is wear white or black shorts, and that's a bit pointless), but I still think away teams need to start wearing white shorts permanently again (mainly because of colour clashes like Stanhope's & Undera's, Murchison's & Rushworth's and Longwood's & Violet Town's) but that's for another day.

VT are doing the heritage round but wont be wearing the purple and gold,we ae going back a bir further and wearing the old Footscray jumper that is blue with a white and red band around the waist, it even has the collar on it..:thumbsu:

Footscray-Kit-1946.gif

Is this what you're going to wear ?.

And I think that you will see some major league teams having a "open clearance" relationship between say a Tongala (Major League) and a Girgarre (Minor League, as an example), where blokes who aren't getting a game in Tongala's 2nds go to a Girgarre to play instead (I've only used these two teams as a possible relationship).

Great to see you “wading” in with a top point Joe!

I’ve been banging this drum .. along with many others .. since the last century! (Again to clarify, that’s the last 20th century).

Many years ago I proposed that Euroa and Longwood work on an open clearance/permit structure until June 30 where the Euroa reserves and Redlegs seniors operate under a structure as you say above. After the close of clearances the sides would be bedded down and in fact if a Longwood local lad showed the skills he could go to Euroa to play senior footy at a higher level with the blessing of the Redlegs. I can name a Longwood lad who is doing that right now.
Mainly because of historical and latent animosity over years long gone by between the two Clubs the idea didn’t get legs .. so to speak.

Another proposal I put forward a few years ago in the Benalla League days was that; as Euroa junior footy ends at under 16, and GV Thirds are Under 18. Why not under 17 thirds in the Benalla League so Longwood could provide thirds footy for those coming out of the Euroa juniors .. with all bets off the next year .. as those who wished to could then progress to Under 18 GV major league thirds.
The Benalla Junior football league had a “dispensation” from the VCFL to continue to have an Under 17 level (even tho’ the maximum level of “junior” footy was deemed as Under 16 in the mid Noughties).
So the “suits in the city” put the kibosh on that one. Moreso, that Benalla junior league acts as a feeder for the Saints and the All Blacks .. so I won’t get into that as it might upset me cobber Slim18!

Just one last yarn on the “Traditional” jumpers this weekend. In 1989, Longwood were forced by the VCFL, through the Benalla League to change from their unique all Red jumper to a VFL side; on the basis of cost savings, choosing the Melbourne Football Club strip. In the mid-noughties our valued sponsor Rockmount ($kerching!) put up a quid for us to .. thankfully .. go back to the Red strip first worn when we reformed in 1970.
And that guernsey is a story within itself! That first year we had no funds generated to buy jumpers, however the Miepoll footy club had been in recess for 12 years and they donated those prickly woollen buggras out of the mothballs to Longwood.
But they were a red and white stripe. Same colours of established Benalla League side, Devenish .. nowadays euthanised! Too easy .. was the call .. we will dye them Red!!
If you look closely at the photo of that first side on reformation .. April, 1970 .. in the Hall of Fame at
the White Hart Hotel .. (sponsor $kerching!) .. you will see that the stripes are in fact red and pink!!

Maybe sounding politically incorrect, but I wonder what the ramifications might have been if we had gone all pink in 1970 as against raising a quid to buy new “all Red” jumpers the next year?
Bytheway .. my comments are my own and do not reflect those of the LFNC Inc.!
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
p.s. To all teams in all Clubs have a great time in your football and netball tomorra .. we have a blockbuster beauty at Redlegs Stadium against the old mate, Avenel..
p.p.s. I read this week that the hard working (.. and that’s not a smart masked description!) CEO of the VCFL has resigned/been pushed. Interesting to see where we go from here?

Maybe sounding politically incorrect, but I wonder what the ramifications might have been if we had gone all pink in 1970 as against raising a quid to buy new “all Red” jumpers the next year?

Bythe .. Bytheway .. Nothing homophobic nor mysoginistic with that comment. If a sponsor could pick this up through the Jane McGrath Foundation and maybe first game at home at Redlegs Stadium in April, 2012. Provide a pink jumper and socks for Longwood with the emphasise on supporting Breast Cancer. I want to get involved.
Cheers

ps What a cracker of game tonight. 3 Interchange and a sub. At last the AwFuL are realising we want to see attacking footy, kicking long to a contest and not using the interchange as a "chess" position. Plus not much (yet) of ringarosie possession before the basketballers run to the other end of the green court!! Welcome back real footy!!

Bythe .. Bytheway .. Nothing homophobic nor mysoginistic with that comment. If a sponsor could pick this up through the Jane McGrath Foundation and maybe first game at home at Redlegs Stadium in April, 2012. Provide a pink jumper and socks for Longwood with the emphasise on supporting Breast Cancer. I want to get involved.
Cheers

ps What a cracker of game tonight. 3 Interchange and a sub. At last the AwFuL are realising we want to see attacking footy, kicking long to a contest and not using the interchange as a "chess" position. Plus not much (yet) of ringarosie possession before the basketballers run to the other end of the green court!! Welcome back real footy!!
J.C HOMOPHOBIC and MYSOGINISTIC all on the one line is to much for some of our readers

View attachment 504
NOT SURE IF SERIOUS.

But, that wouldn't be a bad idea for around May J.C (Red & Pink stripes), you can wear a charity & heritage jumper all at once !.

One of the things I noticed watching the Essendon vs. Richmond game, is how the red shorts of Essendon with their regular jumper really helped them stand out against a side that also wears a predominately black jumper.

I know I've banged on about this numerous times, but wearing something that provides a contrast to the opposition (like white shorts), does help both players and spectators alike, and I think that the KDFL is really arse backward in not forcing clubs to wear white away shorts, because the benefits outweigh the costs.

J.C HOMOPHOBIC and MYSOGINISTIC all on the one line is to much for some of our readers

Sorry about eating a dictionary Jobbyav

On second reading I thought you were having a go at my spelling of "Bytheway" ..or should that be "By-The-Way"?;)

My Mum is still firing after breast cancer in 1981 and she got to Redlegs Stadium last Satd'y .. hale and hearty .. she is now in her 79th year .. to see her grandson get into the BoG awards for the Leggers. Older readers will remember Mary as a champion tennis player of the Longwood district.

Now that this pink thing .. Jane McGrath Foundation .. has been raised (for Longwood and the KDNFL).. I reckon in 2012 the AwFuL and the VCFL (whatever they stand for) .. should give the weekend to support breast cancer and prostate cancer a bit more support than paying for pink footies.

Maybe the late Devenish Club could donate their red and white jumpers after experiencing their "Youth-in-Asia {?}" .. Que?
The Redlegs could dye them Red and Pink.

Maybe in recognition of our conciliation to their Club back in 1970 .. eh?

Cheers

p.s. Buggra ..! There I go again with a word bigger than Galvanised Iron!! "Con Ciliation" was a Greek immigrant in the late 1950's who would bring out bottles of Ouzo to the Redlegs at three quarter time in the cold mid-winter. Told them it was aniseed lolly water!! We won more games in the freezing last quarter than we lost!! His cousin Con Cur agreed!!

A big story out of the Herald Sun offices last week relating to the KDFL was that of key players Matt Toohey and Brent Arho wanting out at Tallygaroopna.
Both played on the weekend and were the best two players in their win against Nagambie. Arho's preperation of a Friday night has been questioned but with 36 goals on the board at the moment, unlike poor old Taylor Walker, they might be able to overlook that. The real sticking point about the move though was Toohey's predicament which we wont go into other than to say a similar incident arised at the same club only a few seasons ago.

A big story out of the Herald Sun offices last week relating to the KDFL was that of key players Matt Toohey and Brent Arho wanting out at Tallygaroopna.
Both played on the weekend and were the best two players in their win against Nagambie. Arho's preperation of a Friday night has been questioned but with 36 goals on the board at the moment, unlike poor old Taylor Walker, they might be able to overlook that. The real sticking point about the move though was Toohey's predicament which we wont go into other than to say a similar incident arised at the same club only a few seasons ago.

Dont think their was any predicament with Matt, maybe a misunderstanding there???? Both players are playing really good footy with big BJ leading the goal kicking and young Toohey should poll well in the votes come the end of the year. That looks like to me they are both valued members of the Tally side, which are no doubt knocking on the door of the final 5 this year!

While I'm here I may as well send a link of about "Heritage Round", where 10 (Well, 9 if Murchison's jumpers don't arrive in time:eek:) of the 13 teams will don old timey uniforms for the day in aid of the EJ Whitten Foundation.

Stanhope & Longwood don't need to wear heritage jumpers (unless Longwood want to wear that fetching red and pink ensemble that J.C described earlier:D),because they wear them every week, and Nagambie has the bye, which is a shame because it would be nice to see them in their old colours of Blue & Gold.

This is a great idea by Tallygaroopna, and I hope that it raises a heap of money for this great charity founded in the memory of the great football icon.

www.sheppnews.com.au/article.aspx?id=1218016

P.S
I love Murchison's jumper (worn around the 1890's) of Green & Gold stripes with a red sash, it reminds me of Bob Marley, Rastas, ganga and Haile Selasie, ONE LOVE !:confused::thumbsu::):D:cool:

et_1974.gif

bob-marley-smoking-a-joint-poster_1.jpg

My tips for this round.

Stanhope to defeat Avenel by over 100 points.

Stanhope should have some key players back, and Avenel should be no match for them.

Girgarre to defeat Longwood by 13 points

Normally, I would've picked Longwood, but Girgarre weren't that bad against Murchison last week, and on that basis alone their good form should see them win over the 'Legs in a close one.

Lancaster to defeat Murchison by 23 points

Lancaster are the yard stick of the competition for good reason, and Murchison would have to do a lot better than the average performance of last week to seriously challenge Lancaster at home.

Murchison will have some key additions in the team (Justin Williams being the major one), and although they have matched the likes of Rushworth and Stanhope, their recent record against Lancaster is not a good one especially at Lanky, and they will be too good tomorrrow.

Ardmona to defeat Merrigum by 42 points

Although I would dearly love for the dogs to maul the cats in their brilliant barber pole jumpers, Ardmona's recent form indicates this will be a bridge too far for the doggies, and so the woofers won't get a bone this week.

Undera to defeat Tallygaroopna by 21 points

It will be interesting to see who the Lions will put on Arho, and I hope that the weather holds because this should be an entertaining shoot off between La Porta and Arho, but Undera's greater depth should see them through in a high scoring match.

Rushworth to defeat Violet Town by 12 points

Although both sides have yet to gel as a cohesive unit as yet, I think that Rushworth should do enough to record a rare win at Violet Town, but this should be a good game either way.

This promises to be a good round of football, and with 4 (hopefully 5 if Merrigum get their bite back:thumbsu:) potentially close matches, Round 7 will be a welcome change for the KDFL.

And in honour of E.J Whitten and this special charity round, I'll leave you with a quote from the movie "Coming To America", "....We appreciate the money that jingles, but we would prefer the money that folds", so dig deep and may your team be successful tomorrow.

hey hank, hear the 'bombshell' recruit has fallen through due to 'family matters'... are grant and schmidt still pulling on the boots later in the year?

So the “suits in the city” put the kibosh on that one. Moreso, that Benalla junior league acts as a feeder for the Saints and the All Blacks .. so I won’t get into that as it might upset me cobber Slim18![/FONT][/SIZE]

G'day wrinkley, good to see you still got the soap box, or should that be cab-sav box, in action. Just to bring you and some others up to date with what's happening with U18s in the O&K.
Your best mates at the VCEFFENL have capped the no's we can have in 3rds, also the Saints.....We are capped at 22 which is probably enough but other clubs are really struggling with Greta and King Valley combing their 3rds for the second time in 4 years in an effort to keep kids playing. Every week so far we have had to help out other clubs with players to avoid forfeits and keep kids playing at their own clubs.

In the reseves comp Bright are really struggling with one forfeit so far and players from other clubs helping them out on other days. A couple of others aren't much better off either. Bright seniors , prelim finalists last year, are in so much strife they were beaten by Goorambat last week.

The problems you guys are experiencing in the KDFL are common to most country/district leagues.We have sides that could well fall over in the next couple of years as well......

The problem was an increase in the no. of boys v's girls born 17 or 18 years ago or so the experts tell me...Thus a temporary shortage of juniors...This will come back to normal in the next couple of years.

So it doesn't matter where you are the problems are the same.

hey hank, hear the 'bombshell' recruit has fallen through due to 'family matters'... are grant and schmidt still pulling on the boots later in the year?

Yeah can't seem to get them over the line, Grant and Schmidt haven't said no but getting a bit late, would've liked it sorted out by now. Still got the feelers out though, maybe a VCFL rep in their late 20's might fit the bill, his home GV club might have something to say about that one though!

My tips for this round.

Stanhope to defeat Avenel by over 100 points.

Stanhope should have some key players back, and Avenel should be no match for them.

Girgarre to defeat Longwood by 13 points

Normally, I would've picked Longwood, but Girgarre weren't that bad against Murchison last week, and on that basis alone their good form should see them win over the 'Legs in a close one.

Lancaster to defeat Murchison by 23 points

Lancaster are the yard stick of the competition for good reason, and Murchison would have to do a lot better than the average performance of last week to seriously challenge Lancaster at home.

Murchison will have some key additions in the team (Justin Williams being the major one), and although they have matched the likes of Rushworth and Stanhope, their recent record against Lancaster is not a good one especially at Lanky, and they will be too good tomorrrow.

Ardmona to defeat Merrigum by 42 points

Although I would dearly love for the dogs to maul the cats in their brilliant barber pole jumpers, Ardmona's recent form indicates this will be a bridge too far for the doggies, and so the woofers won't get a bone this week.

Undera to defeat Tallygaroopna by 21 points

It will be interesting to see who the Lions will put on Arho, and I hope that the weather holds because this should be an entertaining shoot off between La Porta and Arho, but Undera's greater depth should see them through in a high scoring match.

Rushworth to defeat Violet Town by 12 points

Although both sides have yet to gel as a cohesive unit as yet, I think that Rushworth should do enough to record a rare win at Violet Town, but this should be a good game either way.

This promises to be a good round of football, and with 4 (hopefully 5 if Merrigum get their bite back:thumbsu:) potentially close matches, Round 7 will be a welcome change for the KDFL.

And in honour of E.J Whitten and this special charity round, I'll leave you with a quote from the movie "Coming To America", "....We appreciate the money that jingles, but we would prefer the money that folds", so dig deep and may your team be successful tomorrow.

Stanhope by 33pts
Longwood by 30pts
Lancaster by 66pts
Ardmona by 77pts
Undera by 31pts
violet town by 1pt

Great win by Rushy yesterday over VT.. I wasn't at the match but apparently the back 6 for Rushy played exceptionally well. I was surprised to see that Joe Mama picked the tigers, particularly that the match was played at VT, so he must be an astute judge..

Pretty sure that puts Rushy third on the ladder, showing how even the comp is given we've lost 3 games (albeit all by pretty small margins).

How long until Lamaro will be back? You'd think, especially given his pre-season form, he'll make them a 5 goal better side, but it appears with Lancy's big win over Murch that they're going to take some reeling in.