Kdfl - 2011

Surely Tocumwal will have him signed for the whole year. they would be naive to not do so with a CV as 'diverse' as his.

Airport West thought they did last year, mate from there said he took a substantial sign on, went to Bali for a holiday with it then shortly after returning decided he wanted to go down Gippsland way.

the rumour out of the avenel camp is the reason why avenel seconds forfeit today is because half the seconds side refused to play after the senoir coach abused them last week for being shit any truth to the rumour

I thought it a bit odd and also pi55weak that they forfeited at 8.30pm on thursday night when they only had 12 players at that stage.

In years gone by if VT had 12 twos players on a thursday night we would have thought it was christmas.

Maybe they are not use to struggling for numbers

Also, heard a rumour that Stanhope have made a play for Balraj Singh, now at Tocumwal... Any truth hank?

Nice Rumour, but no Tav, no truth, been making a few calls over the past Month or so and haven't jagged anyone and he certainly hasn't been on the radar. Still trying though.;)

I thought it a bit odd and also pi55weak that they forfeited at 8.30pm on thursday night when they only had 12 players at that stage.

In years gone by if VT had 12 twos players on a thursday night we would have thought it was christmas.

How do you determine that it is, in your words "pi55weak" to forfeit at 8.30pm thursday night ??? Surely thats better than 11am gameday ???

Its dissapointing thats for sure, first forfeit i can remember since i have been at the club, in years gone by there have been plenty of numbers and it was usually blokes missing out on a game that was the problem. Not the case this year, as you no.

Hopefully we will regroup and continue to field a competitive side in the remaining games this year :thumbsu:

How do you determine that it is, in your words "pi55weak" to forfeit at 8.30pm thursday night ??? Surely thats better than 11am gameday ???

Its dissapointing thats for sure, first forfeit i can remember since i have been at the club, in years gone by there have been plenty of numbers and it was usually blokes missing out on a game that was the problem. Not the case this year, as you no.

Hopefully we will regroup and continue to field a competitive side in the remaining games this year :thumbsu:

Hopefully we do Joey! Been very disappointing this year after our year last year. As the seniors captain of the club it has been very frustrating and disappointing with the way alot of the blokes have just dropped off over the course of the season and also after the end of last season. But i'm still confident we'll be competitive for the rest of the season and win games. Also i dont think avenel have ever forfeited a team in the last 25 yrs, or so im told, so very shattering to see that happen. Hopefully it never happens again.
On another matter does anyone know when those heritage jumpers are meant to come in?

We received a top up of jumpers on the weekend, and for the 3rd time I think in the past couple of years the maroon was a different colour to what the original jumpers are, they might turn up 3 months late but even then dont expect the colours to be right!!
Merrigum 3rds actually wore there heritage jumpers on the weekend so they have obviously received some, the 2nds and 1sts wore there normal jumpers though!

Sparra there has to be more to it l coached Avenel twos for 4 or5 years and some Thursdays we only had 12 but you used your runner 3rds the goal umpire and anyone else,l did hear the senior coach gave a spray and the next week there is 5 clearences away from the club.
I follow and love the club and although lm not directly involed lve got a gut feeling the shit may hit the fan

Sparra there has to be more to it l coached Avenel twos for 4 or5 years and some Thursdays we only had 12 but you used your runner 3rds the goal umpire and anyone else,l did hear the senior coach gave a spray and the next week there is 5 clearences away from the club.
I follow and love the club and although lm not directly involed lve got a gut feeling the shit may hit the fan

Musta been some spray as back in my day a good rev up was actually expected when things weren't going to plan. Is it a gen Y thing as I couldnt believe in my last year of coaching how precious the younger generation had become in such a short time.

Geez Jobby, I even remember a day when you punched the old board that our team was stuck to, magnets went everywhere and I ended up starting the next term on the pine as a result ha ha!!

In all seriousness let's hope its a situation that can resolved quick smart, I remember a stream of 3rds kids helping us out at times Jobby, are them days gone up there too???? I remember a young Ratsnake playing with us after a bag of ten in the 3rds at Gig, why dont they ring him as according to the YVMDFL thread he's snatched it at Warby ;)

Hopefully we do Joey! Been very disappointing this year after our year last year. As the seniors captain of the club it has been very frustrating and disappointing with the way alot of the blokes have just dropped off over the course of the season and also after the end of last season. But i'm still confident we'll be competitive for the rest of the season and win games. Also i dont think avenel have ever forfeited a team in the last 25 yrs, or so im told, so very shattering to see that happen. Hopefully it never happens again.

It is dissapointing Goody, hopefully the same doesnt happen at the end of this year. There are still some very good players at the club ie yourself, subba, duckworth, sidebottom, zoch, with the right mix of recruits and maybe trying to get a few of the local blokes back, Nevill, O connor, John and Andrew Green, Hately, Aldridge to name a few, things may take a positive turn. But i do agree that its going to take alot of work to get the club up and about again.

Mail from the Avenel diehards that this is a senior coaching issue, is this the case.
After the spray he gave our coaching panel while he was playing did not look as though he had his mind on the job.

Musta been some spray as back in my day a good rev up was actually expected when things weren't going to plan. Is it a gen Y thing as I couldnt believe in my last year of coaching how precious the younger generation had become in such a short time.

Geez Jobby, I even remember a day when you punched the old board that our team was stuck to, magnets went everywhere and I ended up starting the next term on the pine as a result ha ha!!

In all seriousness let's hope its a situation that can resolved quick smart, I remember a stream of 3rds kids helping us out at times Jobby, are them days gone up there too???? I remember a young Ratsnake playing with us after a bag of ten in the 3rds at Gig, why dont they ring him as according to the YVMDFL thread he's snatched it at Warby ;)

Well if he has snatched it at Warburton, now would be a perfect time to get one of Avenels finest citizens back in the Swans nest :thumbsu:

hasn't snatched it at warby despite the rumours was down there watching them on the weekend , just having a few issues with the knee again. and your right its no good for the small group of blokes that have stayed there. subba could have and probably should have moved on to atleast play finals footy, and goody who is a top bloke and the clubs b&f winner over the past two years who desipte copping a pretty average verbal from the coach from what i'm told remains positve, and ducky who has travelled up over the past 3 seasons has been a real asset to the club. with all the local talent that is now at longwood,nagambie,seymour, and glenrowan they could ill afford to upset guys like this. i hope for their sakes it gets sorted sooner rather than later.

Couldn't agree more mate.

So sad to hear all this "unnecessary" crap going on at a great club with such a rich history and a place that myself and my family and so many other great people have spent countless years of enjoyment at, please get it right guys ! :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Just noticed on the clearances that Stanhope have had a very busy day with 4 new recruits coming there way from GV, Bendigo, HDFL and the Northern Footy League... Any key players amongst them Hank?

See Rushy also have their pacy wingman Jungle Martin on the way back as well as another recruit from Bendigo.

Anyone else looking to lodge in a last ditch effort clearnace by tomorrow's deadline?

Just noticed on the clearances that Stanhope have had a very busy day with 4 new recruits coming there way from GV, Bendigo, HDFL and the Northern Footy League... Any key players amongst them Hank?

See Rushy also have their pacy wingman Jungle Martin on the way back as well as another recruit from Bendigo.

Anyone else looking to lodge in a last ditch effort clearnace by tomorrow's deadline?

Josh Maudsley is a young Stanhope/Girgarre boy, played seniors at Girgarre last year and went into Ky this year were he has been playing 2's, rang the club last week and wanted to come and play, assume he will be borderline Seniors/Reserves.

Brendan Fraser (Golden Square) & Russ Weekley (Mt Pleasant) are a couple of Uni mates of mine, both can play and good sizes, Fraser hasn't played for 4yrs and Weekley 18months, both have heavy work commitments and are probably a 10% chance of playing at all but just got them registered just in case I can eventually talk them around;)

Scott Houghton has been playing 2s at Montmorency in the NFL, is supposedly 6'7", played in Mulwala's losing GF side in the Murray League last year. Will hopefully be cleared and play this weekend.

Hopefully that covers them for you Bodzy, so in reality only one late recruit at this stage. Still a day to go though:p, What about you guys?

Another tall on board, Returned to the area from WA on Tuesday, no its not Mark McQueen but atleast he was playing with him over there so hopefully Wacka passed on a few tips.
6' 3" hopefully get cleared and line up in the twos on Satdy.
Shaun Rennie lodged clearance to return to Murch, may be another avenue to goal for the grasshoppers.

Gee just looking at the remainder of the year's draw and looking at what the ladder was after the first 6 games (the games that get played twice) and tomorrow has some potentially do or die games when you think of how close it will be especially between 4th and 7th for that 5th spot.
Undera vs Murch is a huge game in the context of things as is Tally vs Stanhope, for Tally that is, I think Stanhope have all but sown up a top 3 birth unless they get a horrible run of injuries.

My end of season ladder prediction from top 8:

1st: Lanky 17 or 18 wins
2nd: Stanny 15 or 16 wins
3rd: VT 13 or 14 wins
4th: Murch 11 or 12 wins
5th: Tally 11 or 12 wins
6th: Undera 11 or 12 wins
7th: Rushy 11 or 12 wins
8th: Nag 9 or 10 wins

If Murch lose tomorrow swap them with Undera. Murch and Tally will probably need to be a game clear of Rushy and Undera due to percentage.

Well, there were no major upsets today everything seemed to go as most people suspected (apart from Murchison, who are really pushing "it" uphill after having a 8 point loss to Nagambie last week and losing today against Undera).

Stanhope's additions seem quite handy Hank, it'll be interesting to see how you guys and Undera go on the 16th, that will be a very good game.

Undera are going good, they've got blokes in the two's who can slot straight in (Chapman & Mahoney being the main ones today), but they seemed to put the cue in the rack in the last quarter (they were up by 49 points at 3/4 time and won by 32 after allowing Murch to bang on a few unanswered goals), but they did enough to hold Murch off when they needed to.

Jungle Martin's Rushy homecoming was certainly auspicious, 11 goals and only got 3rd best :eek:, but he adds something that Rushy lacked a bit of and that's a bit of run, and that could give them just enough to snag a surprise 2nd chance.

But Murch, the Bye couldn't come soon enough, more injuries and that loss to Nagambie seems like a millstone around our neck, but we're only a game out but it's looking very hard for Murch to get into the 5.

Everyone else seems to have gone along as expected, but what's happened to Avenel not having a 2nds team last week ! (which is surprising considering their senior numbers are usually pretty good), and Euroa barely scraping up a 2nds team against Mansfield, was it just a one-off or is it something more to it.

And John Carrot, if your reading this, I like the notes in the book for Longwood :D, and your statements about the 3 wise men, high elbows, clashing uniforms (from the waist down at least), baristas, perculators, former players and dubious 50 metre penalties are just great (I really mean it), and they're a pleasure to read :thumbsu::):D:cool:.

We received a top up of jumpers on the weekend, and for the 3rd time I think in the past couple of years the maroon was a different colour to what the original jumpers are, they might turn up 3 months late but even then dont expect the colours to be right!!
Merrigum 3rds actually wore there heritage jumpers on the weekend so they have obviously received some, the 2nds and 1sts wore there normal jumpers though!

So it's not just us that has that problem :eek:, Murch's colours seem rarely to match up (the Bottle Green looked faded on the ones from last year, and they faded to a grey/green and a faded fluro gold after a few washes thanks Kooga:thumbsdown:), but the last ones we got (from Sherwood) don't fade in the wash (yet) and actually look like our colours.

Murch got our jumpers (Green & Gold stripes and a crimson red sash) at the last KDFL Meeting, and they look surprisingly good in the flesh ( a lot better than I thought), and we'll be wearing ours (1sts only) against Lancaster at home on the 27th of August (the last round of the season, our last home game and the day of our reunion).

Stanhope's additions seem quite handy Hank, it'll be interesting to see how you guys and Undera go on the 16th, that will be a very good game.

Yes was a pleasure to watch a 209cm ruckman feed it down our onballers throat, with Fuz being out for most of the games so far, our onballers didnt know what to do with themselves.
The other little fella, he is only 190cm went ok too seeing it was his first game and first training run for the season, will ony get better. He was only going to play twos but Lowey, Sime Fraser and Fuz didnt come up so we through him straight in.
Both fitted in really well.:)
Ryan Logan kept Arho goalless, with a bit of help from the big ruckman dropping back, and only for a lapse late in the 2nd 1/4 we were pretty well in control all day.

See Violet Town have got Leigh Fox signed up too so the ruck stocks in the league have been given a significant boost in the last week.

And John Carrot, if your reading this, I like the notes in the book for Longwood :D, and your statements about the 3 wise men, high elbows, clashing uniforms (from the waist down at least), baristas, perculators, former players and dubious 50 metre penalties are just great (I really mean it), and they're a pleasure to read :thumbsu::):D:cool:.
G'day Joey
For those who care to remember .. and for those who care of the Days of Our Lives here is a transcript. I was invited by the Longwood Redlegs to contribute. I hoped it might upset some people .. has it? They said it might be a while before I get invited again! Well at least until after the 21 days investigation of the Tally thugs is complete.
One of the best quotes I heard of these thug shepherds was .."Imagine Dream of Jeannie with her arms crossed in front before she blinked!!"
Good comparison but I had trouble comparing my favourite Barbara Eden with these callous w***ers!
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:

LONGWOOD’S INJURY TALLY ASTOUNDING AFTER LAST WEEK..
When you lose by 22 goals against Tallygaroopna; as the Longwood Redlegs did last week, there can’t be much reason for complaint. Or could there?
When Tally are over 12 goals in front at half-time, how do you reconcile the fact that a minority of the Tally shepherds .. and that is no anti-religious comment .. didn’t do their flocking team mates any good?
Moreso, with “good shepherd elbows”, three kings from Tallygaroopna had put two concussed Longwood Redlegs on the bench by the long break.
With another to follow from the same culprits later when 19 year old Justin Gelsi; playing his first promotion to the seniors, had his eye socket bones broken into a five-piece surround-shattering elbow injury by one of the aforementioned shepherding Kings of the Demons.
Not sure if this time it was done by the player with the nickname Gold, Frankincense or Mryhh! Needless to say .. it was needless to do!
The Tally Road Runner Redlegs need to get those three kings back on their camels and .. as the good shepherd said, “Get the flock out of here!!”

..AND THE UMPIRES CAN’T SEEK SANCTUARY WHEN THE BELL RINGS IN THE BELFRY!
It’s about time supporters are made to wear away strips! See .. Longwood Redlegs (Red jumper, Navy shorts and Red socks) played Tally last week ( Melbourne colours including red socks.) Both have Redlegs as the nickname.
Apart from the fact that both umpires were not ready to handle a game which evolved into off-the-ball incidents. For instance, Longwood’s Marc Ericksen was taken out at a centre bounce in the second quarter – not to return.
The umpires’ focus was more to the “advice” from the boundary line (some pretty ordinary!), over the many lacking-wrong-misinterpretations of the game itself which they were creating.

A classic was a 50 penalty against Longwood for someone in a red shirt on the fence using the word of the Thailand Island resort. That supporter wore a red shirt with blue .. Tallygaroopna’s! The island is Phuket.
When a Redlegs supporter; wearing Longwood’s red Club shirt, (politely) pointed out that the abuse came from a Tally spectator .. phweet tweet by the twit! 50 more metres to put Tally in the goal square.

If you can remember how Geelong’s Yates took out Dermott Brereton at the first bounce of the 1989 AFL Grand Final (yet didn’t we all luv that then! .. ahem! .. ) you will get the drift of how Ericksen, and others, were put out of the game by the shepherding kings!

We know the umpire is sacrosanct. We know there is no game without them. And what is definite is that all Clubs must promote the guys and gals who blow the whistle and support them.

At the same time their governing body must push the AFL for more money and use it to combine the experienced person with the up and comer .. to Longwood’s injury detriment. .. that didn’t happen last week.

WELCOME NAGAMBIE TO REDLEGS STADIUM
Back in the Benalla League days, when Longwood were stuck in 2008 in the dying league, ( .. which the VCFL refused our request to leave .. but .. I digress!) we lost many players from the Redlegs Stadium to play in a better league (KDFL) and go to Nagambie. Scott Paulke, Brian Morris, Jason Webb and ‘specially the ex-coach from the ‘noughties Brendan “Varcs” Vercoe.
So it’s a back-to Redlegs Stadium for some and also the first time for some of them in footy and netter from the “Nagga’s” .. and welcome!
But speaking of ex-coaches .. will Varcs pull on the boots against his premiership side of last year?
Ex-coaches .. now there is a question?
Footy supporters claim to be experts .. like tradies somewhat ..
“x an unknown factor .. and a spurt as a drip under pressure?”

Ex Longwood coach, Adam Bourke, is now playing for Nagambie and the “welcome home” will be interesting? Will the pressure bring out the x factor .. or, as the best “barista” in coffee emphasises .. it’s all in the “dripolator”!

Hey Hank, noticed you kicked 6 on the weekend. Out of curiosity what's the most you've kicked in a game and is the shift foward permanent..?

Yeh, what a welcome return to Jungle Martin! I didn't get back for the weekend's match but he had 9 to half time and then kicked 2.4 in the second half. Super effort and hopefully the form continues. Even more importantly, Scott Lambden had a good match, so getting those 2 and Drew Clarke to return is a massive bonus (all 3 would be in our top 5 or close to it, I'd imagine..). The boys have the bye this week and then 2 season defining games against Murch and Stanhope. Win both and I reckon we're a good chance of September action.

Interesting reading, too, John Carrot, in summing up; you lost, Tally were going the man and the umpires were ordinary..(?)