Kdfl - 2011

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown: Down to the VT family sitting out the front of the Gig Bar going back and forward to his own Esky supplying all there own drinks.

Just noticed on the clearances that Stanhope have had a very busy day with 4 new recruits coming there way from GV, Bendigo, HDFL and the Northern Footy League... Any key players amongst them Hank?

See Rushy also have their pacy wingman Jungle Martin on the way back as well as another recruit from Bendigo.

Anyone else looking to lodge in a last ditch effort clearnace by tomorrow's deadline?

Hey Hank, noticed you kicked 6 on the weekend. Out of curiosity what's the most you've kicked in a game and is the shift foward permanent..?

Yeah 6 tops it mate, was 3 before this year, went forward against Gig late in the 2nd term and snagged 5.
Unsure of how permanent it will be, with the Groin injury it just allows me to only do what I need to, Sime Fraser and Ferrari were two talls who didnt play on the weekend so if they were available and with the 2 new talls I'd say I would probably play a different role and Sime Fraser would take CHF. Just been to the physio and won't be playing this weekend, might just keep myself in cotton wool until the Rushy game, dare say if your coach is happy to have me lose down back we might go with that role again:D

:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown: Down to the VT family sitting out the front of the Gig Bar going back and forward to his own Esky supplying all there own drinks.
Here here Brother... Every club needs to be supported over the bar and canteen. It's a nice thought that everyone would be honest and do this.
I'm sure every country footy club in Australia would have one or two supporters (more than this) that BYO on the odd occasion to games. I agree it probably wasn't the smartest move walking back 'n' forth past the actual bar, but c'mon, in all seriousness,
does every Gig player/member/supporter do the right thing and never BYO a thing and only purchase food and bevvies from the ground they're at? Top work if they do...:thumbsu:

G'day Joey
For those who care to remember .. and for those who care of the Days of Our Lives here is a transcript. I was invited by the Longwood Redlegs to contribute. I hoped it might upset some people .. has it? They said it might be a while before I get invited again! Well at least until after the 21 days investigation of the Tally thugs is complete.
One of the best quotes I heard of these thug shepherds was .."Imagine Dream of Jeannie with her arms crossed in front before she blinked!!"
Good comparison but I had trouble comparing my favourite Barbara Eden with these callous w***ers!
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:

LONGWOOD’S INJURY TALLY ASTOUNDING AFTER LAST WEEK..
When you lose by 22 goals against Tallygaroopna; as the Longwood Redlegs did last week, there can’t be much reason for complaint. Or could there?
When Tally are over 12 goals in front at half-time, how do you reconcile the fact that a minority of the Tally shepherds .. and that is no anti-religious comment .. didn’t do their flocking team mates any good?
Moreso, with “good shepherd elbows”, three kings from Tallygaroopna had put two concussed Longwood Redlegs on the bench by the long break.
With another to follow from the same culprits later when 19 year old Justin Gelsi; playing his first promotion to the seniors, had his eye socket bones broken into a five-piece surround-shattering elbow injury by one of the aforementioned shepherding Kings of the Demons.
Not sure if this time it was done by the player with the nickname Gold, Frankincense or Mryhh! Needless to say .. it was needless to do!
The Tally Road Runner Redlegs need to get those three kings back on their camels and .. as the good shepherd said, “Get the flock out of here!!”

..AND THE UMPIRES CAN’T SEEK SANCTUARY WHEN THE BELL RINGS IN THE BELFRY!
It’s about time supporters are made to wear away strips! See .. Longwood Redlegs (Red jumper, Navy shorts and Red socks) played Tally last week ( Melbourne colours including red socks.) Both have Redlegs as the nickname.
Apart from the fact that both umpires were not ready to handle a game which evolved into off-the-ball incidents. For instance, Longwood’s Marc Ericksen was taken out at a centre bounce in the second quarter – not to return.
The umpires’ focus was more to the “advice” from the boundary line (some pretty ordinary!), over the many lacking-wrong-misinterpretations of the game itself which they were creating.

A classic was a 50 penalty against Longwood for someone in a red shirt on the fence using the word of the Thailand Island resort. That supporter wore a red shirt with blue .. Tallygaroopna’s! The island is Phuket.
When a Redlegs supporter; wearing Longwood’s red Club shirt, (politely) pointed out that the abuse came from a Tally spectator .. phweet tweet by the twit! 50 more metres to put Tally in the goal square.

If you can remember how Geelong’s Yates took out Dermott Brereton at the first bounce of the 1989 AFL Grand Final (yet didn’t we all luv that then! .. ahem! .. ) you will get the drift of how Ericksen, and others, were put out of the game by the shepherding kings!

We know the umpire is sacrosanct. We know there is no game without them. And what is definite is that all Clubs must promote the guys and gals who blow the whistle and support them.

At the same time their governing body must push the AFL for more money and use it to combine the experienced person with the up and comer .. to Longwood’s injury detriment. .. that didn’t happen last week.

WELCOME NAGAMBIE TO REDLEGS STADIUM
Back in the Benalla League days, when Longwood were stuck in 2008 in the dying league, ( .. which the VCFL refused our request to leave .. but .. I digress!) we lost many players from the Redlegs Stadium to play in a better league (KDFL) and go to Nagambie. Scott Paulke, Brian Morris, Jason Webb and ‘specially the ex-coach from the ‘noughties Brendan “Varcs” Vercoe.
So it’s a back-to Redlegs Stadium for some and also the first time for some of them in footy and netter from the “Nagga’s” .. and welcome!
But speaking of ex-coaches .. will Varcs pull on the boots against his premiership side of last year?
Ex-coaches .. now there is a question?
Footy supporters claim to be experts .. like tradies somewhat ..
“x an unknown factor .. and a spurt as a drip under pressure?”

Ex Longwood coach, Adam Bourke, is now playing for Nagambie and the “welcome home” will be interesting? Will the pressure bring out the x factor .. or, as the best “barista” in coffee emphasises .. it’s all in the “dripolator”!

Thanks for that John, your report is one of the first things I read in the book (apart from our notes), because it's not solely a dry, bland statement of last weeks games but something much more interesting. You describe the matches and you put in some interesting tid-bits as well which is pretty hard to do with a limited ammount of space.

G'day Joey
For those who care to remember .. and for those who care of the Days of Our Lives here is a transcript. I was invited by the Longwood Redlegs to contribute. I hoped it might upset some people .. has it? They said it might be a while before I get invited again! Well at least until after the 21 days investigation of the Tally thugs is complete.
One of the best quotes I heard of these thug shepherds was .."Imagine Dream of Jeannie with her arms crossed in front before she blinked!!"
Good comparison but I had trouble comparing my favourite Barbara Eden with these callous w***ers!
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:

LONGWOOD’S INJURY TALLY ASTOUNDING AFTER LAST WEEK..
When you lose by 22 goals against Tallygaroopna; as the Longwood Redlegs did last week, there can’t be much reason for complaint. Or could there?
When Tally are over 12 goals in front at half-time, how do you reconcile the fact that a minority of the Tally shepherds .. and that is no anti-religious comment .. didn’t do their flocking team mates any good?
Moreso, with “good shepherd elbows”, three kings from Tallygaroopna had put two concussed Longwood Redlegs on the bench by the long break.
With another to follow from the same culprits later when 19 year old Justin Gelsi; playing his first promotion to the seniors, had his eye socket bones broken into a five-piece surround-shattering elbow injury by one of the aforementioned shepherding Kings of the Demons.
Not sure if this time it was done by the player with the nickname Gold, Frankincense or Mryhh! Needless to say .. it was needless to do!
The Tally Road Runner Redlegs need to get those three kings back on their camels and .. as the good shepherd said, “Get the flock out of here!!”

..AND THE UMPIRES CAN’T SEEK SANCTUARY WHEN THE BELL RINGS IN THE BELFRY!
It’s about time supporters are made to wear away strips! See .. Longwood Redlegs (Red jumper, Navy shorts and Red socks) played Tally last week ( Melbourne colours including red socks.) Both have Redlegs as the nickname.
Apart from the fact that both umpires were not ready to handle a game which evolved into off-the-ball incidents. For instance, Longwood’s Marc Ericksen was taken out at a centre bounce in the second quarter – not to return.
The umpires’ focus was more to the “advice” from the boundary line (some pretty ordinary!), over the many lacking-wrong-misinterpretations of the game itself which they were creating.

A classic was a 50 penalty against Longwood for someone in a red shirt on the fence using the word of the Thailand Island resort. That supporter wore a red shirt with blue .. Tallygaroopna’s! The island is Phuket.
When a Redlegs supporter; wearing Longwood’s red Club shirt, (politely) pointed out that the abuse came from a Tally spectator .. phweet tweet by the twit! 50 more metres to put Tally in the goal square.

If you can remember how Geelong’s Yates took out Dermott Brereton at the first bounce of the 1989 AFL Grand Final (yet didn’t we all luv that then! .. ahem! .. ) you will get the drift of how Ericksen, and others, were put out of the game by the shepherding kings!

We know the umpire is sacrosanct. We know there is no game without them. And what is definite is that all Clubs must promote the guys and gals who blow the whistle and support them.

At the same time their governing body must push the AFL for more money and use it to combine the experienced person with the up and comer .. to Longwood’s injury detriment. .. that didn’t happen last week.

WELCOME NAGAMBIE TO REDLEGS STADIUM
Back in the Benalla League days, when Longwood were stuck in 2008 in the dying league, ( .. which the VCFL refused our request to leave .. but .. I digress!) we lost many players from the Redlegs Stadium to play in a better league (KDFL) and go to Nagambie. Scott Paulke, Brian Morris, Jason Webb and ‘specially the ex-coach from the ‘noughties Brendan “Varcs” Vercoe.
So it’s a back-to Redlegs Stadium for some and also the first time for some of them in footy and netter from the “Nagga’s” .. and welcome!
But speaking of ex-coaches .. will Varcs pull on the boots against his premiership side of last year?
Ex-coaches .. now there is a question?
Footy supporters claim to be experts .. like tradies somewhat ..
“x an unknown factor .. and a spurt as a drip under pressure?”

Ex Longwood coach, Adam Bourke, is now playing for Nagambie and the “welcome home” will be interesting? Will the pressure bring out the x factor .. or, as the best “barista” in coffee emphasises .. it’s all in the “dripolator”!

YAWN!!!!!!:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Hey carrot are you willing to let us in on the ex AFL player you may have or have or want to interview for the coaching job next year:D

Rory Hilton would be first cab off the rank wouldn't he, Dean Rice another but think he has already got a pretty good gig, not saying that the Longwood job wouldn't be a good gig.:thumbsu:. Would be great for the club and the league if Longwood could get Hilton for the job.

Dean rice is in his first season coaching Berwick , also of note Godsmark in VCFL side !

Hank and Jobby ..
As you know, I give too much information usually..
But this time I am gobsmacked and devoid of data of your outstanding declaration!
I'm not privy to committee decisions of the Longwood Redlegs and seek further qualification to this rumour you are perpetuating!
Or .. if I can use normal KDFL Big Footy language ... OMG! WTF R U talkin’ ‘bout!!
Cheers
John Carrot
p.s. Sorry ‘bout the “yawning” words previously used which spread over three syllables!

well J.C after snooping around a bit ,could it be a bomber who had a really good first year whilst still on the rookie list then played up until knights restructered and would be on a par with mickey martyn in the looks department:D

D.P, by the way my stab in the dark has no substance other than they are two ex-AFL players who have a family connection to the club.

well J.C after snooping around a bit ,could it be a bomber who had a really good first year whilst still on the rookie list then played up until knights restructered and would be on a par with mickey martyn in the looks department:D

Damien Peverill - what do I win? (the looks part gave it away)

Congrats to Godsmark on making the rep side, great effort.
Just wondering boys at the mid year mark who would be leading your club B&F's.
Also a stab at the league medal?? I'll tip Mick Shiels to win his 2nd to storm home late and win another.

Ty Guiney & Brenton Gray to be leading Stanhope's.

Greame Giles at merrigum. By a fair margin I'd say.

QUOTE]

Yeah well done to him, but I wonder how many other players were looked at in the league to try out? I'd be pretty confident saying that there would be none. Is one of the downsides of not having an interleague game but surely the coaches and selectors of the side have a responsibility to find out who else may be a chance to play.
For us Ty Guiney, Brenton Gray and Lowey should have been looked at, I know Lowey has been injured but you'd think a GV club Captain still in his 20s would be worth looking at.
Michael Sheils has shown a high consistent level over the years
Steve Thomson & Jason Casey rate higher than Godsy in my book, Siera would do some damage on a Wing at that level.
Not Godsy's fault and he has obviously shown he is well and truly capable at that level having been selected the last 4 years, but that just shows if he is a walk up start then surely some more blokes in the league deserve a look in.

QUOTE]

Yeah well done to him, but I wonder how many other players were looked at in the league to try out? I'd be pretty confident saying that there would be none. Is one of the downsides of not having an interleague game but surely the coaches and selectors of the side have a responsibility to find out who else may be a chance to play.
For us Ty Guiney, Brenton Gray and Lowey should have been looked at, I know Lowey has been injured but you'd think a GV club Captain still in his 20s would be worth looking at.
Steve Thomson & Jason Casey rate higher than Godsy in my book, Siera would do some damage on a Wing at that level.
Not Godsy's fault and he has obviously shown he is well and truly capable at that level having been selected the last 4 years, but that just shows if he is a walk up start then surely some more blokes in the league deserve a look in.

Yeah agree with whats your saying .
I think Mick Shiels played about 3 years back from memory .
I don't think they do alot of watching and alot of the time they rely on here say as too who they pick for there squad . I know Beazer was picked in the squad last year and that was only because Terry mentioned him to the coaches . So it may be a case of your club contacting them , which should'nt be the case .
Another way would be the league select 6-8 players who are interested to train and try out . This would have to be the case from each District League.

Yeah agree with whats your saying .
I think Mick Shiels played about 3 years back from memory .
I don't think they do alot of watching and alot of the time they rely on here say as too who they pick for there squad . I know Beazer was picked in the squad last year and that was only because Terry mentioned him to the coaches . So it may be a case of your club contacting them , which should'nt be the case .
Another way would be the league select 6-8 players who are interested to train and try out . This would have to be the case from each District League.

Hunk and Pro you are both right.

Would have thought once you have represented your state in these games given over 1 maybe 2 years should be enough. Move on and let someone else gain selection.

And yes maybe the league should put forward 3-4 names for selection each year.

QUOTE]

Always a matter of opinion Hank. I still rate Godsy as the best district player I have seen play in my 5 years of district coaching. (Damian Yze would be right up there too.) When Godsy is up and going he is almost unstoppable and incredibly fearless. I reckon Sammy Laporta is very stiff to have have not gotten a gig. There aren't too many better full forward marks, kicks and athletes running around at district level that I have seen. Definitely other players who wouldn't be out of place in the district side though and many clubs could put up a good case for their players. Not playing interleague does probably hurt players chances whereas Godsy has been in the best everytime he plays.

So lets see how we are going boys with a few b&f's leaders.

Stanhope -Ty Guiney & Brenton Gray
Merrigum - Graeme Giles
Nagambie - Michael Shiels

Surely we can get a few more boys