Kdfl - 2011

I don't make a habit of bagging umpires, if we didn't have them there would be no game and I don't expect them to be perfect in the KDFL 2's. But the Violet town club reserves umpire is a dead set cheat. He absolutely robbed Undera two's yesterday with plenty of dodgy decisions and 10plus 50 meter penalties. The worst of the bunch being a free kick and 50m penalty which directly resulted in a goal for the Undera runner being on the ground, not in the centre square but ON THE GROUND, where the F*** is the runner meant to be? This guy is a joke, the VT players were apologising for his behaviour after the game but why is he allowed to be involved in a role which can influence games. He is a blight on the VT football club. He was bad the first time we played VT but has deteriorated since then and other clubs have had trouble with him too. He cost us any chance of finishing top 3. But the real losers will be Rushy or Murch ressies who could miss out on a finals spot if VT 2's make the finals now in their place. Apart from all the cheating decisions he was giving lip to the players, and in one case daring them to punch him. It is umps like this that cause frustrations to get out of hand and fights develop. Luckily this didn't happen. This guy has to go.:thumbsdown:

Yep your right but get your own sh!t in order before you gob off buddy, your crowd yesterday was an absolute joke. The lady that was yelling out using the F & C words out loud sounded was terrible and the yobos at the bar werent any better.. Thought l was at Ardy for a minute.. If you guys had a interchange steward in the twos then half of the shit would have been avoided. Like l said get your own shit in order then you can gob off you sook..

Glad someone brought that up . Was disgusting at best , as said we need umpires for the game to be played but he represents VT footy club and blatantly cheated . Also was happy to tell our players that he was doing so . Not good enough VT should be ashamed for his behaviour.
Also sent one of our players off for striking fair enough the guy said he did it , when the 15 mins up we sent our player back out ,but he stopped the game and would not allow him to come back on the field or any other player for that matter so played the last quarter with 17 players(plus gave a 100mt penalty)
.As mentioned is disappointing , not for ourselves as we are more than likely going to play finals , but the teams that will miss out because of this . We did have an umpire officiating the game also ( was his first game as our normal guy was away) and he was overidden the whole game and was his first time so was a little unsure.Plus we didnt expect a cheat to umpire !!!

Yep your right but get your own sh!t in order before you gob off buddy, your crowd yesterday was an absolute joke. The lady that was yelling out using the F & C words out loud sounded was terrible and the yobos at the bar werent any better.. Thought l was at Ardy for a minute.. If you guys had a interchange steward in the twos then half of the shit would have been avoided. Like l said get your own shit in order then you can gob off you sook..

Happy to say the crowd was rowdy yesterday. Didnt here any F & C's though little fella . Was a good close game in the seniors that was officiated very well. How would a steward have avoided his decisions on the ground ? The send off was there happy with that , the 15 was timed . Should have been aloud back on , the 10 50mt penalties and all the free kicks was the problem .
Id much rather be a loud and passionate club than a cheating one !!!

At the Lion Vs Lion game yesterday I saw the worst display of cheating I have ever seen in the reserves game. For you to criticise the crowd for abusing the umpire is laughable as the umpire was just as abusive towards them!:eek:. I would have thought someone from the VT football club should have had a word to their umpire at one of the intervals or even get him replaced as he was quite obviously out of control.

On another note did I hear that S. Harrison went down with yet another broken leg, if so he would have to be the most unlucky footballer ever to play KDFL!

Yes same leg but a bit higher this time and only the Tibia, not both and a better break this time, not the spiral fractures like last year. Was again just starting to play some good footy too, was good in his 1st game back against Rushy and yesterday would have been in the best 4 or 5 before taking a pack mark and then our ruckman landed on his leg as they went to ground. Will surely finish him up this time round, getting operated on as we speak.:thumbsdown:

yer hank l was about 20m away in the car he was just unlucky liked his comment though when he first done it 'oh l broke my leg again shit'

Yeah, his best came later when he was on the green stick, which he mentioned pretty quickly after breaking it. " Give me the green stick this time, I'm having a crack at that this time round" A few amusing comments came after he had a couple of puffs of that, but I'll leave them to the fella's that were close by!! By the way, went in for surgery this arvo, but found an infection, so until they clear that up they can't do the op. Another:thumbsdown:

Im sure there was a few more F's in all of that Jobby...
Yes Hank the green sticks go alrite,I upped the pain level number so I got one this time.. haha!

Firstly I do agree that this bloke is not the best ump running around, but then I have seen worse over the years.

He does not like players answering back and our blokes have finally worked him out. They played in front and went the ball unlike a few Undera players.

When we played Gig our blokes were abusing him and he sided with Gig who eventually won the game even though we were a much better side.

He is not a blight on VT but in fact a blight on the whole system where we have to provide our own umpires who do not have any training and are basically not up to scratch.

When VT played Murch the same umpire sided with VT due to abuse from a few Murch players. Murch then sent out their own umpire after half or quarter time and after a couple of dodgy decisions both ways from both umps the game was sorted out.

I guess Murch decided to do something during the game and not whinge afterwards.

Firstly I do agree that this bloke is not the best ump running around, but then I have seen worse over the years.

He does not like players answering back and our blokes have finally worked him out. They played in front and went the ball unlike a few Undera players.

When we played Gig our blokes were abusing him and he sided with Gig who eventually won the game even though we were a much better side.

He is not a blight on VT but in fact a blight on the whole system where we have to provide our own umpires who do not have any training and are basically not up to scratch.

When VT played Murch the same umpire sided with VT due to abuse from a few Murch players. Murch then sent out their own umpire after half or quarter time and after a couple of dodgy decisions both ways from both umps the game was sorted out.

I guess Murch decided to do something during the game and not whinge afterwards.

So what your saying is that the opposing side should get their umpire to cheat to make it even?:thumbsdown:. Obviously VT have no respect for the tradition of a "fair game" if they let this guy umpire week after week.

Firstly I think everyone agrees that it is becoming harder and harder for clubs to find umpires. Without them there wouldnt be a game at all. If you pay close attention throughout the reserves competition there are many umpires that clubs get frustrated though.

Due to rules being interpreted differenty by different umpires it seems clubs are unsure of how to handle them. I have noticed with certain umpires that even if you backchat without swearing a free kick/50m penalty is awarded, where as with others nothing happens.

This you find out after one or two decisions against. The team who uses this umpire frequently usually knows what the umpires guidelines are.

What has happened to umpires before a game going into the rooms wishing them good luck and letting the teams know how they umpire a game? aka any swearing=sent off, holding the opposition up after a mark=50m

Fair enough Sparra, I'll cop that, good reply. It's crap for players who have this bloke every week and from what you say they don't know what they will get from him good or bad. I was surprised when I saw that Gig beat VT, now I know why. We all agree that he is a sh*t ump who cheats. Jax, it isn't the first and wont be the last time a shit ump is discussed on here and if I want to say something about it i can, the mods will let me know otherwise. It is a forum last time I checked.

While I'm here VIP, bit dissappointed with undera's after match roll up for a drink and chat.

Just as well VT turned up or it would have been a sad old affair.

Regarding umpires try these novel approaches:

Players - Once a free kick has been given keep your mouth shut and your hands to yourself.

Coaches - Remind players (especially the young ones) that an umpire has not yet to date actually kicked a goal for the opposition. Reiterate the first point. Direct players to the laws of the game. Have players consider the number of times they have abused the rules and got away with it. Consider the number of times that you as coach have advised players to do the same. Remind players that self discipline is also a life skill.

Club Presidents - Try to expand your vocabulary before displaying low level literacy skills. After the pump up given on the 98.5 KDFL footy wrap on Saturday perhaps greater diplomacy should have been the order.

On a lighter note, can any club beat the side of lamb raffle that Longwood have for home and away games? In today's climate it is top value - still got a roast and a couple of packs of chops to go!

Bugger! Missin out, bit of luck the KDFL might finally schedule us a game at Longwood for the first time next year. Sounds like a chicken dinner

So Girgarre were a much better side than VT on this day- Kept there mouth shut and played the game.

Bugger! Missin out, bit of luck the KDFL might finally schedule us a game at Longwood for the first time next year. Sounds like a chicken dinner

Don't hold your breath, if the 3rds draw is anything to go by, all the best, we have already played Avenel at Avenel and we have to travel there again on Saturday while the rest of the club has the bye and then we play them at home again the next weekend, so we play Avenel 3 times and 6 other sides only once!! Go figure.

...so we play Avenel 3 times and 6 other sides only once!! Go figure.

Check the results, seems 2010 bottom side Rushy had the privilege of playing reigning premiers Murch twice in a row early in the season and then copped them again recently. As there was always going to be an extra bye in the Thirds maybe it's a good time to consider playing eleven rounds and redoing the draw for the remainder. Be aware that the U/15 and U/17 netball have a more significant problem with this.

True, Ardy & Gig played each other to make up a game as well, so 5 sides travelled 0-15mins to play and we travel an hour, seems pretty fair, have looked at the draw and if they arent worried about sides playing each other 3 times then surely they could have evened up the travelling by having each side playing their nearest neighbour therefore it would have been Ardy v Gig, Stanhope v Rushy and Avenel v Murch, this scenario would have fitted perfectly in the draw. Anyway I've had my whinge.:mad:

Stand back Hank! Here comes John Carrot blowing his trumpet and banging his big bass drum again..:eek:

At least I can multi-task ..eh?

From the top of the Hume freeway - VT, Longwood and Avenel have no hope of implementing/sustaining thirds footy while our district (community) league remains under 18’s.

After my Wangaratta experience of the farce of “junior League” footy in the late 90’s I banged the drum in the local paper up there with other Dad’s and they restructured their great league from “U17 and a half” downwards to U14s and U16s levels only in the early Noughties. The elite juniors were recruited by the Wang Rovers and Wang Magpies Under 18s while the others could choose an allocation to an O&K Club reserves (..or better).
Much better than being a big fish in a small pond in Wang Junior Footy where kids turned 18 after 1 July and DROVE to the junior footy!! Which, bytheway, didn’t finish for we adults until 4.30pm which stuffed any idea of going to senior footy on a Satd’y arvo .. let alone keeping up with the Longwood Redlegs at home.

The VCFL then made the call (about ’05-’06) that junior footy must end at age 16; as it should be, with a dispensation – as I last knew, for the Benalla Junior Comp.

Locally, the Euroa juniors are transitioning through these years from great work starting with the Auskick dad’s to the current Sunday junior footy adult leaders in the Seymour Junior Footy League.
My nephew is a now senior in Euroa’s Under 12’s this year. Last year they were premiers and champions with a percentage of 12 and a half thousand!! This year the wet has brought them back with a percentage around 1000%.. But they are big fish in a small pond.
Last year’s Euroa U16s were flogged but are competitive this year with the new age group coming through.

To assemble thirds from we “Hume freeway” Clubs, the KDFL have to go Under 17 with players registered with VT, Longwood and Avenel after leaving the Seymour Juniors at over 16 .. AND THEY THEN BECOME FREE AGENTS AT THE END OF THE SEASON to return to Euroa or Seymour the next season .. if they are good enough .. if they want to.

I remember the body build of under 18’s when I had turned 16 and it scared the living suitcase out of me!
Plus, to continue to flog my favourite assessment in these years of the “Two Tens”.
Country families now have an average of 2.3 kids. Numbas 1 and 2 leave to go to uni or work elsewhere and; apart from being a in-house computer freak ..0.3 is not even half as good at footy as his brothers!!

Food for thought Hank ..
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
Ps .. Actually two post-scripts. Great to hear the Stanhope guy who broke his shin at Redlegs Stadium is moving through it. Hope that infection is nailed! I can vouch that it takes many “F’n” words to pass the pain and recover!!
Secondly .. At the main bar at Redlegs Stadium, tickets in Hillies Side of Lamb raffle; with a box of Longwood Wine for second and a Slab of “Sparkling Brown” for third, will be on at the Elim. Final on Sunday, 4 September. Even more incentive to come and see a great game between two sides which shall remain nameless at this stage!!:thumbsu:

Stand back Hank! Here comes John Carrot blowing his trumpet and banging his big bass drum again..:eek:

At least I can multi-task ..eh?

From the top of the Hume freeway - VT, Longwood and Avenel have no hope of implementing/sustaining thirds footy while our district (community) league remains under 18’s.

After my Wangaratta experience of the farce of “junior League” footy in the late 90’s I banged the drum in the local paper up there with other Dad’s and they restructured their great league from “U17 and a half” downwards to U14s and U16s levels only in the early Noughties. The elite juniors were recruited by the Wang Rovers and Wang Magpies Under 18s while the others could choose an allocation to an O&K Club reserves (..or better).
Much better than being a big fish in a small pond in Wang Junior Footy where kids turned 18 after 1 July and DROVE to the junior footy!! Which, bytheway, didn’t finish for we adults until 4.30pm which stuffed any idea of going to senior footy on a Satd’y arvo .. let alone keeping up with the Longwood Redlegs at home.

The VCFL then made the call (about ’05-’06) that junior footy must end at age 16; as it should be, with a dispensation – as I last knew, for the Benalla Junior Comp.

Locally, the Euroa juniors are transitioning through these years from great work starting with the Auskick dad’s to the current Sunday junior footy adult leaders in the Seymour Junior Footy League.
My nephew is a now senior in Euroa’s Under 12’s this year. Last year they were premiers and champions with a percentage of 12 and a half thousand!! This year the wet has brought them back with a percentage around 1000%.. But they are big fish in a small pond.
Last year’s Euroa U16s were flogged but are competitive this year with the new age group coming through.

To assemble thirds from we “Hume freeway” Clubs, the KDFL have to go Under 17 with players registered with VT, Longwood and Avenel after leaving the Seymour Juniors at over 16 .. AND THEY THEN BECOME FREE AGENTS AT THE END OF THE SEASON to return to Euroa or Seymour the next season .. if they are good enough .. if they want to.

I remember the body build of under 18’s when I had turned 16 and it scared the living suitcase out of me!
Plus, to continue to flog my favourite assessment in these years of the “Two Tens”.
Country families now have an average of 2.3 kids. Numbas 1 and 2 leave to go to uni or work elsewhere and; apart from being a in-house computer freak ..0.3 is not even half as good at footy as his brothers!!

Food for thought Hank ..
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
Ps .. Actually two post-scripts. Great to hear the Stanhope guy who broke his shin at Redlegs Stadium is moving through it. Hope that infection is nailed! I can vouch that it takes many “F’n” words to pass the pain and recover!!
Secondly .. At the main bar at Redlegs Stadium, tickets in Hillies Side of Lamb raffle; with a box of Longwood Wine for second and a Slab of “Sparkling Brown” for third, will be on at the Elim. Final on Sunday, 4 September. Even more incentive to come and see a great game between two sides which shall remain nameless at this stage!!:thumbsu:

Good evening Prof Merlot..:D.. Long time no type....Just to fill you in our abominable situation with u18's further up the freeway....Starts with F and ends in D and it's not for forked...or is it...

Wang based clubs are really struggling for no's with kids. At the 1/2 way mark of the season we had 5 clubs have to combine to make 2 sides. Down from the 4 they started with. Problems everywhere....Doon are talking about returning their 3rds back to the BDJFL. Bright and Myrtleford are at war over the Alpine eagles set up as well.....As for The Blacks,at this point we're very strong but we'll have to see for next year. From what I'm told the problem is state wide.....

Changing of age groups is only a short term fix...We need to go back breeding boys, not male children with 4 thumbs.....

Keep your pointy end down old Fella'....Cheers

Good win by the Tigers over Gig on the weekend. Congratulations to James 'Jungle' Martin who broke Rushworth's individual goal kicking record with 17 (previous best was Danny Irwin against Merrigum, 1999, with 15). He kicked 9 in the first quarter and for a moment the league record of 25 looked possible, but Gig really played well in the 2nd quarter and bottled it up nicely, limiting our chances to score. I think he only got 1 in the 2nd quarter.

In other good news Drew Clarke played seniors and was a stand out - moves so well for a big bloke and he took marks at will and Todd Clarke and Shaun Young both dominated in the 2s and will push for selection against VT.

Tim Wicks will come back for that game as well, so it should be a cracking end to the season at Iron Bark stadium against the lions. I must admit I didn't realise Stanhope could still finish 3rd, so depending on results we'll either have VT in the qualifying final or Undera in the elimination final.