Kdfl - 2011

Good win by the Tigers over Gig on the weekend. Congratulations to James 'Jungle' Martin who broke Rushworth's individual goal kicking record with 17 (previous best was Danny Irwin against Merrigum, 1999, with 15). He kicked 9 in the first quarter and for a moment the league record of 25 looked possible, but Gig really played well in the 2nd quarter and bottled it up nicely, limiting our chances to score. I think he only got 1 in the 2nd quarter.

In other good news Drew Clarke played seniors and was a stand out - moves so well for a big bloke and he took marks at will and Todd Clarke and Shaun Young both dominated in the 2s and will push for selection against VT.

Tim Wicks will come back for that game as well, so it should be a cracking end to the season at Iron Bark stadium against the lions. I must admit I didn't realise Stanhope could still finish 3rd, so depending on results we'll either have VT in the qualifying final or Undera in the elimination final.

Will T Perry be playing in the fianl home and away?

Just wondering where the KDFL ranks in regards to country footy leagues in vic? Sam La Porta, whats his background?

Kyabram & District League
Lancaster 1.62
Violet Town 3.40
Undera 6.50
Rushworth 11.00
Stanhope 21.00
Tallygaroopna 201.00

Just wondering where the KDFL ranks in regards to country footy leagues in vic? Sam La Porta, whats his background?

Sam LaPorta crossed from Mooroopna in the Goulburn Valley League 3 years ago, was a quality GV player, he would now be 29-30 at a guess, Co-Coach this year after kicking 100 goals the past two years in a side that won the flag and were runnners-up last year.

KDFL is a solid district league, most sides have quality Major League players in them, Top 8 sides have some decent depth, but bottom 5 sides drop away. Top side Lancaster would have atleast a dozen players who could slot into a GV senior side.

No training tonight at Stanny?

Haha, onto me, nah mate I have only trained once in the last 3 months, I had actually just got back from Nagambie after getting treatment from big Brent Clydesdale, any guys out there with injuries should get onto him, very good, puts his big frame into it too.

Tav you may have overlooked Undera as well, any of Undera, Rushy and Stanhope can finish 3rd. If Rushy win last round they will finish 3rd, if they get beat then it will come down to % between Stanhope and Undera as long as both beat Avenel and Tally respectively in the last round, don't worry about Undera's inferior % at the moment as they will more than likely bridge the gap between us this weekend when they play Merrigum.

Sam LaPorta crossed from Mooroopna in the Goulburn Valley League 3 years ago, was a quality GV player, he would now be 29-30 at a guess, Co-Coach this year after kicking 100 goals the past two years in a side that won the flag and were runnners-up last year.

KDFL is a solid district league, most sides have quality Major League players in them, Top 8 sides have some decent depth, but bottom 5 sides drop away. Top side Lancaster would have atleast a dozen players who could slot into a GV senior side.

Love Sammy La, probably on par as the best leading forward ive played with! Jase Butty our full forward at Hoppers is very similar but 6 or 7 years younger.

KDFL is probably as good as district footy gets and probably on par with North Central and Geelong District, in saying that I noticed the difference going back to Hoppers, was a huge step up from KDFL.

Love Sammy La, probably on par as the best leading forward ive played with! Jase Butty our full forward at Hoppers is very similar but 6 or 7 years younger.

KDFL is probably as good as district footy gets and probably on par with North Central and Geelong District, in saying that I noticed the difference going back to Hoppers, was a huge step up from KDFL.

Do I remember reading you kicked 7 on the weekend Shan? Well done mate. Great to see you are up and about after breaking your arm. would have loved for them to see you on two fit legs all year last year. That 10 goal game against Tally was devastating.

Good luck in the finals down there. And yeh Sammy and Godsy would be right up there with the best going around at district level and would be very handy in any major league side.

Do I remember reading you kicked 7 on the weekend Shan? Well done mate. Great to see you are up and about after breaking your arm. would have loved for them to see you on two fit legs all year last year. That 10 goal game against Tally was devastating.

Good luck in the finals down there. And yeh Sammy and Godsy would be right up there with the best going around at district level and would be very handy in any major league side.

Yeah had a good day Saturday. Would love a season without any problems, can not run ATM and barely getting through the games, training has been minimal which is frustrating. We will just miss finals to.

Ohhh Godsy and Sammy are out and out stars, quality footballers and better blokes.

On a lighter note, can any club beat the side of lamb raffle that Longwood have for home and away games? In today's climate it is top value - still got a roast and a couple of packs of chops to go!

Well done for winning the Lamb Woody !, that's a fantastic prize especially considering how expensive Lamb has been over the past few years.

Anyway, I hope they have another side of Lamb raffled off at the final, because I'll buy a few tickets to win that !.

Well, to get away from all the talk about umpires and what not, here are my tips for this week.

Violet Town to defeat Ardmona by 84 points Considering that Violet Town have pretty much got 2nd spot, I can see them only doing enough to win well, but not to go 100 %, especially since they face Rushworth next week.

Avenel to defeat Longwood by 37 points Avenel played really well for one half last week against Murchison, but it would've been a closer game if they had of converted more of their chances, (Murchison were lucky to kick 11 straight goals, to have a handy lead when they didn't really dominate the play), their new coach has seen the Swans play with renewed vigor over the past few weeks, and this should see them win easily against their neighbours up the road.

Murchison to defeat Girgarre by 44 points Murchison won easily last week, but weren't that convincing in doing so, and I think that Girgarre should provide some fight in tough conditions, but Murch will go through the motions to win down 2011.

Tallygaroopna to defeat Nagambie by 29 points Tallygaroopna should win here to keep their mathematical hopes alive, but I don't think it will be enough for them in 2011, but they should end the year well and should be proud of what they've done this season.

Undera to defeat Merrigum by over 85 points Undera should probably play like Collingwood when they play a weaker side, play like they're driving in 2nd gear for 3 quarters, and go into over drive for 1, and this will be how this game should pan out, but I hope the Dogs don't have any injuries because their big game against Ardmona beckons, because if god existed, and was fair, he (or she or shim:D), WOULD LET THE DOGS RECORD A WIN, ANY WIN IN 2011, because they deserve no less :).

Lancaster, Stanhope & Rushworth have the bye.

Good luck to all teams this weekend.

League Medal Count Monday night at Tat, anyone got any predictions for it? A top 5 or who you rate as the best 2 from each opposition team maybe?

I'll go with;

1.) Steve Thomson (Lanky)
2.) Dan Godsmark (Und)
3.) Matt Hodgetts (Murch)
4.) Mick Shiels (Nag)
5.) Spoons Gleeson (VT)

JACK ANDERSON UPDATE:

Hi all, fundraising for Jack is well under way. The GVFL, KDFL, PDFL and MFL and affiliated clubs have all been very supportive with their donations. Thanks to the fellow from Violet Town who spoke to the guys on Sport 927's morning show (Tony Jones & Michael Christian) to drum up support. Also Channel Nines "The Bench" will do a feature for Jack this Thursday night. Wes Cusworth and Peter Cardamone from 3SR have been outstanding in their efforts.

The plan is this...

Donations for Jack are ongoing and can be sent to:
"Jack Anderson Appeal" c/- Merrigum Football Club P.O box 74 Merrigum.

OR

You can attend "A pleasant Sunday", which will be held at the Sir Ian McLennan centre, Mooroopna on Sunday the 16th of October. The cost is $100 dollars a head, includes a meal and entry into draws for various cash prizes, with a major prize of $5000! Auctions and guest speakers will also be running on the day. The Merrigum/Girgarre and indeed many in the wider community have been saddened by the incident to our mate. We anticipate this event to be heavily supported by the public so please donate or buy a ticket because this bloke needs our support, after all as we know it could have easily been me or you.
Tickets can be arranged by contacting Tony Kilmartin on 0407841187
or Private message on here and I will arrange for you.

Please visit the website:
www.jackandersonappeal.com

Many thanks to Glenn James from Undera for building the website.

Top work and cause. Heard the report on 927 from VT sounded like Lamaro Snr. Got the ball rolling, well done!

Yeah Woody, planning has been going on since the incident with Graeme Macartney the main man behind the event. Should be a huge gig, we plan to pack the McLennan centre. Lamaro snr was very keen to help out when we played VT, good fellas out that way.:thumbsu:

No Hayden Lamaro tomorrow, but they have named Raymond!! For our sake hope they are still good enough to get over the line.

Must be a misprint, though I'm sure Daff would jump at the chance to re-live the 80s and get out on the park with a jumper on.... Although I'm more sure that he'll be sticking to counting the stats on the sidelines.

I reckon Daff would be full-forward for VT when they win the flag .. full support from John Carrot and the Redlegs to do so, and JT ..and maybe Draky!! Just watch the hamstrings lads?;)

What a great final round with meaningful games from third to six for ladder formation before the finals, plus a chance for Longwood to move a step up the ladder. It will be against Girgarre who have had the kick in the Heinz quarters this year!!:confused:

Big games at Redlegs Stadium tomorra! S’gunna be huge!!:cool:
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:

P.S. Channel Nines "The Bench" did a feature for Jack this Thursday night. Wes Cusworth and Peter Cardamone from 3SR have been outstanding in their efforts.
Jack Anderson is now doing hard yards from a footy injury. Our hearts go out .. but our donations must follow to the "Jack Anderson Appeal" c/- Merrigum Football Club P.O box 74 Merrigum.:thumbsu:

.. Can somebody on the blog also advise of an e-donation site to send the dollars?:thumbsu:

Even had Ray as playing on your team sheet on the website, Hayden is on it this morning though & Ray has been given the ass

Foxy on OneFM is obviously a smart man, picked VT to beat Rushy and Stanhope to beat Avenel, but then when Sammy Saracino said that Stanhope could finish 3rd, he said they were no chance!! C'mon Foxy didnt take a smart man to work that one out, if your tips were right that was the only outcome possible.
We certainly didnt deserve the double chance though after our 2nd half to the year, just lucky we probably had the easiest draw out of the Top 5, hopefully we can pull our fingers out now and make the most of the opportunity we have been given.

It might just all come down to the last round where Rushy take on VT at Home and Undera have Tally at Home.

My Top 5
Lancaster
Violet Town
Stanhope
Undera
Rushworth

Posted July 10, think that might have been spot on:thumbsu:

See you didnt play on the weekend Tav, you right for all of the finals campaign?

Hank do you know if the KDFL still provide a link where you can look at the vote-getters for each team?

Each club got about 20 copies of each count for the night of their own players, so you should be able to see how many you got at training tonight! Assume they would be up somewhere on the KDL website soon, wouldnt take much.