KDFL - 2012

Lol Sparra .. see where you are coming from!! See you tomorra.
P.s. I'l never forget when text abbreviations first evolved and the story of the woman who sent a text to her friend after the friend's husband had passed away. She ended with "LOL" .. for "Lots of Love". Unfortunately, by that time "lol" had become "Laughing Out Loud"!!!!

Always my opinions only Roger old Codger! As I've said before mate, I've had my moment in sun forty years ago and now regard myself as Sergeant Schultz .. "I see nussing"!!! And quite rightly, am told nussing! Cheers John Carrot

Fairly sure the AFL is making big cuts to Auskick this year??

Give em a break roger, they've gotta pay Izzy somehow, along with the rest of the very unfunny joke that is GWS.

Fair dinkum, he's got as much chance of playing soccer for Australia than he has being any good at AFL (or probably VFL for that matter) level. Makes me sick.

Thought I'd give my take on the Avenel-Gigarre game. Both these sides are looking to improve significantly on last season, and I think it's safe to say that both have. My take is obviously going to be a lot more Avenel focussed since I know a lot more about them than Gig.

First Quarter: In what was basically the theme for the entire day, Avenel had a lot more of the play but failed to put it on the scoreboard. Avenel led 3.5 to 3.2 at the break, and it would surprise me if they went inside 50 more than 7 or 8 times for the quarter. Their midfield was very efficient with their entries though, refusing to bomb and hitting targets more often than not.

Second Quarter: Avenel started this quarter strongly, getting out to around a three goal lead before Gigarre stormed back into it by kicking three or four goals in the last 10 minutes to go into the break level. Again, Avenel were poor in terms hittin targets insude their fifty and kicking in accurately at goal.

Third Quarter: Gigarre kicked a goal within the first 30 seconds fo the quarter but from there it was avenels quarter, outscoring Gig 4.4. 28 to 1.0.6 for the rest of the quarter. Ryan Kliemt went off with what looked like a hamstring injury for Avenel during shortly after half-time, who will be a loss for the Swans.

Fourth Quarter: the match was on the line in this quarter and while Avenel did enough, I don't think either side really stepped up. Avenel kicked 2.6 to Gig's 2.4, and there were a number of shots at goal from both sides that failed to score. I dont think that Gigarre were ever any closer than they were at three quarter time, however they probably had more of the play in this quarter than at any stage of the game, bar the second half of the second quarter.

For Avenel, Danny Neville was clearly best with Arandt, Green, Hately and Layton all playing good games. A number of other pplayers were ok but the feeling was the Avenel had pretty much just done enough to win.

For Gigarre, I thouhgt Roberts in the ruck was their best 4 quarter player, with Wheeler and Borthwick both coming into the game at times and having a big influence.

Is that that the policy of "Number Nine" Roar Passion? Like the tigras of now ..not like the Tigers of old we are from ninth place .. Yellow and Black .. we are from ..erm between eighth and tenth. Richmond from the Punt Road oval .. where I spent many days standing on empty steel beer cans as an 11 year old, at Essendon's away game at the Punt calling out things like " Sheedy you bludger!' Then laughed to me'self with embarassment as a kid. Then loved him when he took the Bombers to glory in the 80's. Meantime was there both years at the MCG standing room in 72,73 I think when the Blues won one and the Tiges .. barracking with my late mate Doods won the next one. I think the '72 MCG Grand Final was a record where both sides kicked just under 30 goals each .. nearly 51 for the match I reckon.
Doods and I promised to only grab a can out of the esky in the standing room of the old southern stand when you were allowed to bring in your own esky. Wanna no more about that great Grand final .. Google it! When they kick over 50 goals under that can limitation Doods and Carrot can only call on KRAFT. Not a toasted cheese sandwich .. Kan't Remember A Flipping Thing!!

Here's you point of view.. if anyone is still watching - Aussies and Windies about to start.

My thoughts follow..

From Roar Passion
"The answer is demolish school and junior football leagues .
The retention rates , being the amount of kids who progress out of these comps , due to their age , and play football the following year , have apparently been as low as 5% .
Losing 95 out of every 100 kids , isn't for the betterment of football in general our football clubs .
Sooner all football clubs have 2 junior sides and that is the only junior football the better."

Final thoughts from John Carrot:
Roar Passion .. I thought your first sentence was a bit of phwark-it! Give up. Basic School footy has gone 'cos no men want to become teachers and most teachers nowadays are women .. and I congratulate that. But Big Ted has had a yarn to Humphery B Bear with no undies on, the Bear that is .. erm .. and in the bush it's only Aussie footy Dads and Mums who provide the Junior Auskickers and those over that age the opportunity to play our great game.
Don't give up .. don't allow a game like soccer to intrude .. for cripes sake they call it football. Imagine the kids singing the Club song in the room after game with the excitement of a NIL ALL DRAW!!!
Cheers Cobber
John Carrot

Wouldn't it have been nice if the AFL in their wisdom pumped the millions of dollars they have done and will do to Greater Eastern Dubbo into grass roots football instead.

Surely they could have supplied all junior football jumpers, equipment, insurances etc. in fact the whole bloody lot to promote and keep kids playing footy.

I really don't think that big double chin demetriou even gives a rats arse about grass roots football and as such it has been severly neglected, while the dwindling population of "elite" footballers and their hangeroners (paid support staff) get well looked after.

shit better close starting to feel like the carrot man

Laughing out loud at the last sentence Sparra. My favourite text abbreviation though is PML .. Pith Myself Laughing .. in my Pith Helmet!! Cheers John Carrot
:thumbsu:

Laughing out loud at the last sentence Sparra. My favourite text abbreviation though is PML .. Pith Myself Laughing .. in my Pith Helmet!! Cheers John Carrot
:thumbsu:
And as well Sparra spoke of GWS becoming Greater Western Dubbo? No Wazza that zoo is where all the money monkeys will go for their trip away before sense prevails and they become the Greater Wagga (Wagga) Westen Baboons .. under the Presidency of the great w***ery who suggested 6 or 7 Collingwood players aren't in love with their coach? Now Wayne .. the attention seeker, Wayne Carey .. or is it "w***erie" is it 6 .. or is it 7? .. and name the names w***erie!!
It would be great to two see Greater Western Aussie Rules footy sides from New South Wales. One from Wagga Wagga led by the Danihers and the other from Wagga Wagga led by the Carey's. As Spike Milligan said at his Mum's place at Woy Woy. "Why do we call Wagga Wagga Wagga?" Spike is buried in Woy Woy in NSW and on the bottom of his headstone it says .. "I told you I was sick!!" .. Know where you're coming from Spike! Cheers John Carrot

What happened in the Murchison/Merrigum game? Were Murchison a bit scratchy or are Merrigum better than they showed against Rushworth?

Murch won by 38 points, is that not a handy win? Clearly Merrigum were better than against Rushworth. The difference was we played 3 decent quarters instead of 1. It was a decent effort against one of the contenders but the playing group wasn't content with the result which was good to see, there were plenty of chances in the 3rd and 4th quarters to make the game very close. Also giving Rushworth a 12 goal start and Murchison a 5 goal head start isn't helping the cause.

For The Gum Geoff Connally did a great job on Durwood keeping him to 3 goals (2 in the first qtr, 1 being a very soft free kick!), Logan Church and new recruit Dan (The Cheese Grater) Beattie played well on the wings and Josh Pell surely took the umpires league votes, great game by the pastey white kid in the number 4!:D

Final thoughts from John Carrot:
Roar Passion .. I thought your first sentence was a bit of phwark-it! Give up. Basic School footy has gone 'cos no men want to become teachers and most teachers nowadays are women .. and I congratulate that. But Big Ted has had a yarn to Humphery B Bear with no undies on, the Bear that is .. erm .. and in the bush it's only Aussie footy Dads and Mums who provide the Junior Auskickers and those over that age the opportunity to play our great game.
Don't give up .. don't allow a game like soccer to intrude .. for cripes sake they call it football. Imagine the kids singing the Club song in the room after game with the excitement of a NIL ALL DRAW!!!
Cheers Cobber
John Carrot[/quote]

John: advice, don't talk about something you know so little!:thumbsdown:
I teach P.E in a secondary school, we have 7 staff, 6 are male and 5 play football. SO yes men do teach and yes we do a damn good job! Blaming schools for the problems in footy is a joke.

What happened in the Murchison/Merrigum game? Were Murchison a bit scratchy or are Merrigum better than they showed against Rushworth?
A few rumblings in the land of the grasshopper I am told.
players are unhappy with the coach already Bathman to Shep East and a few more to follow.
Although I doubt Durward or Milne would leave considering the amount of cash they are on

A few rumblings in the land of the grasshopper I am told.
players are unhappy with the coach already Bathman to Shep East and a few more to follow.
Although I doubt Durward or Milne would leave considering the amount of cash they are on

Rubbish. Yes, Bathman was selected in the Reserves in round 1 and then decided to go back to the East. Only other problems are the dozen blokes missing out on a 2s game due to numbers (League medallist even had a rest to give others a run) and an old bloke snoozing on the way home on the Mystery Bus trip. Very impressed with playing group and coaching panel. :thumbsu:

John: advice, don't talk about something you know so little!:thumbsdown:

I teach P.E in a secondary school, we have 7 staff, 6 are male and 5 play football. SO yes men do teach and yes we do a damn good job! Blaming schools for the problems in footy is a joke.

Yes the vegetable is off the mark but you're also a little half cocked. Do you really mean that your whole school staff is seven teachers and of those six are male? If so, then it's by far the exception as just under 50% of all secondary teachers are male. Five blokes playing footy is great role modelling but no guarantee that secondary age boys will take up or continue the sport. I have worked with female secondary teachers who promote the sport better than some of the blokes pulling on the boots. Primary schools, where many kids take on the game is where Carrot is correct. Male teachers are thinner on the ground than the hair on their collective heads. However, and this is where carrot is wrong, again many of the girls are great supporters - they have sons, husbands, grandchildren etc involved in the game.

A word of advice, if you check what time Carrot makes his posts then you may have some idea how far down the vegetable path he is!:rolleyes:

Yes the vegetable is off the mark but you're also a little half cocked. Do you really mean that your whole school staff is seven teachers and of those six are male? If so, then it's by far the exception as just under 50% of all secondary teachers are male. Five blokes playing footy is great role modelling but no guarantee that secondary age boys will take up or continue the sport. I have worked with female secondary teachers who promote the sport better than some of the blokes pulling on the boots. Primary schools, where many kids take on the game is where Carrot is correct. Male teachers are thinner on the ground than the hair on their collective heads. However, and this is where carrot is wrong, again many of the girls are great supporters - they have sons, husbands, grandchildren etc involved in the game.

A word of advice, if you check what time Carrot makes his posts then you may have some idea how far down the vegetable path he is!:rolleyes:

I think the orange vegie has gotten all of you off the mark. School footy teams has very little to do with the actual Schools, is played on a Sunday, coached by parents of the kids and has very little to do with the Gender of their English, Maths or Art teacher on a Monday through Friday.. If we want to debate the inequality of the sexes in our Schools maybe somewhere there is a dedicated forum for this? Move on gents..

Rubbish. Yes, Bathman was selected in the Reserves in round 1 and then decided to go back to the East. Only other problems are the dozen blokes missing out on a 2s game due to numbers (League medallist even had a rest to give others a run) and an old bloke snoozing on the way home on the Mystery Bus trip. Very impressed with playing group and coaching panel. :thumbsu:

Only early in the season Grassy but how do you rate this Murch team to Nagaz when you were there or Katandra over the years?

They impressed me against VT.

Undera will surely shorten in the market with the recruitment of Sammy Gross. First payment would definately be a mirror, then it is to be hung up in the rooms so he can enjoy the sight of his own glissening body in the sunlight. How old would he be now? in his mid 40's l would assume. Can't wait to catch up with the man nicknamed "the body" when we play...:thumbsu::thumbsu::D:D

I think the orange vegie has gotten all of you off the mark. School footy teams has very little to do with the actual Schools, is played on a Sunday, coached by parents of the kids and has very little to do with the Gender of their English, Maths or Art teacher on a Monday through Friday.. If we want to debate the inequality of the sexes in our Schools maybe somewhere there is a dedicated forum for this? Move on gents..
I love having a kick with the little tackers on my 3 yard duties each week.... Great confidence booster taking hangers and snagging a quick 14-15 goals on Prep-6 kids...!!

I'll come back later Didak, Woody and Robbo63 to straighten out a few points about possible misinterpretation of my comments on the work of our teachers .. If you page up you'll find the Roar Passion brought it up in the first place? But .. with an ironic smile Woody, I must say that I'm a cricket nut, (now a self-funding pensioner after the last 8 years of being shafted from jobs by flippin' corporate "re-engineering, re-structuring and 'presenters of new paradigms' made up by friends of the w***erie!! No not Wayne Carey!!).
So my late night posts are done while watching the Aussies playing test cricket in the WIndies .. cos I don't have to be up at 6.00am till 8.00 pm to work my ask off anymore!!
I read and post while enjoying test cricket (cricket is contrary to footy development in the minor district leagues, I enjoy both short game promotions in T20 and One Day Cricket .. but then those players are on TV and get paid as they should.)
District football players get paid exorbitant amounts by the top Clubs and whacko .. it will be a "professional" 6 team District league in 10 years ..sucking the living bejesus from a major league like the GVFL and .. as has happened to the Benalla and District Football League since '00 .. where can our kids growing into footy go to?
Lunch on the 5th day at midday Port of Spain (2.00 am Aussie EST) Aussies 5/123, 177 in front .. but the clouds are looming in Trinidad and Tabago!! Looks like the Aussies will have batting practice in the remaining 70 overs of the day to 6.00 pm Atlantic Standard Time .. 8.00 a.m. for me. Do I reckon I'll be watching? I don't think I'll have anymore typing practice .. Only a pointy orange vegetable with green dreadlocks at the end would do something like that!! Cheers and it's goodnight from him!! John Carrot

G'day Bodzy.
My cousin is Brian Wilson .. a deserved winner of the 1982 Brownlow Medal before all of you insulters .. erm .. insult!! And your talk about the tackers in the school-grounds prompts a memory while I'm watching the Test Cricket.

Before the days of Redlegs Stadium we played footy in the PUB PADDOCK. Ironically, a paddock behind the Longwood Pub!!
Brian always credits me with teaching him tough footy is.
I took a screamer over the pack and accidentally drove my knee into his neck .. we were on the same side.
"Sorry mate", I apologised, "These things happen in footy!!"
I was 16 1/2 and Willo was 9!!!!!!!

In the 87 prelim ( the one where Jim Stynes crossed the mark) Willo was crunched in the last quarter by the "demur" Dipper and came off with his compound fractured collar bone protruding into his neck. The Demons lost and a week later after x-rays all over the body they found more than an a broken collar bone. There were bone chips around all limb joints from the ankles to the hands .. haven't seen him for a while and that was 25 years ago .. he's "probably" got a bit of arthritis by now. But because of the money and TV the elite are paid to play like that .. and play with injury .. the late Jimmy holds the record for most games in a row and I reckon the only thing that wasn't damaged while he did that was his heart!!
God help us if District footy gets "that professional" ..
For phwarksake .. Aussie's are now 7/157 leading by 207. My last post (..erm shouldn't use that phrase near ANZAC day ..eh?) will still not be at 8.00 am as .."Ma the rains are coming!!" Cheers from John Carrot the WHOB ..White Haired Old Buzzard

pps Half hour after lunch Aussie has declared after losing the 8th wicket. (3.15 am) WIndies 215 to win of 61 overs .. looks like I might sleep in but the light/thunderstorms threaten at Port of Spain .. Good morning all .. Go Aussie .. Go Redlegs!!

I'll come back later Didak, Woody and Robbo63 to straighten out a few points about possible misinterpretation of my comments on the work of our teachers .. If you page up you'll find the Roar Passion brought it up in the first place? But .. with an ironic smile Woody, I must say that I'm a cricket nut, (now a self-funding pensioner after the last 8 years of being shafted from jobs by flippin' corporate "re-engineering, re-structuring and 'presenters of new paradigms' made up by friends of the w***erie!! No not Wayne Carey!!).
So my late night posts are done while watching the Aussies playing test cricket in the WIndies .. cos I don't have to be up at 6.00am till 8.00 pm to work my ask off anymore!!
I read and post while enjoying test cricket (cricket is contrary to footy development in the minor district leagues, I enjoy both short game promotions in T20 and One Day Cricket .. but then those players are on TV and get paid as they should.)
District football players get paid exorbitant amounts by the top Clubs and whacko .. it will be a "professional" 6 team District league in 10 years ..sucking the living bejesus from a major league like the GVFL and .. as has happened to the Benalla and District Football League since '00 .. where can our kids growing into footy go to?
Lunch on the 5th day at midday Port of Spain (2.00 am Aussie EST) Aussies 5/123, 177 in front .. but the clouds are looming in Trinidad and Tabago!! Looks like the Aussies will have batting practice in the remaining 70 overs of the day to 6.00 pm Atlantic Standard Time .. 8.00 a.m. for me. Do I reckon I'll be watching? I don't think I'll have anymore typing practice .. Only a pointy orange vegetable with green dreadlocks at the end would do something like that!! Cheers and it's goodnight from him!! John Carrot

Actually didn't bring anything up re - teachers Carrot .
Simply don't think junior / school comps , which aren't necessarily or generally coached by teachers , are good for developing or maintaining player numbers at senior clubs.
Stats show that significantly less players , who are involved with these comps , play beyond under 16's football .

Simply don't think junior / school comps , which aren't necessarily or generally coached by teachers , are good for developing or maintaining player numbers at senior clubs.
Stats show that significantly less players , who are involved with these comps , play beyond under 16's football .

Might be more about just having a game rather than development and maintaining number.:rolleyes:
Fairly sure those that fall away wouldn't play at all if not given the opportunity to play school football. I do remember back in my day our school football side had a number of players that never played the game outside of school but played for the fun of it. Maybe if developing was not so important to so many and playing the game because its a fun game to play you wouldn't lose so many players???

Grasskat, sounds like your implying that Bathman left because he was selected in the reserves.

As someone who is well aware of the situation regarding his decision to play with Shepp East let me advise you that you are wrong:confused:

Regarding your reply about comments concerning the coaching panel let me inform you that you are wrong again as a number of players are unhappy with the coaching panel.

The only people I hear that are happy with the coach and his support staff are the ones who appointed him (surprise, surprise) and quite a few at the Eagles nest because they were glad to get rid of him.:eek:

As for the rumblings at Murchison, yes they are true and have been going on since before Xmas, but if you want to keep your head in the sand, then go ahead!:)

Conceded about the comment on teachers re your previous post above Tiger .. but let me extrapolate. If you take Aussie rules away from schools (..supervised by hard working professional teachers both male and female!!), Auskick - supervised by hard working volunteers on a freezing wet Saturday morning .. some of them male and female school teachers and remove Sunday junior 16 and under, again supervised by hard working volunteers on a freezing wet Sunday morning/aftenoon .. some of them male and female school teachers ..what is the alternative?
Firstly, other sports will fill in those gaps .. ( think how incredulous it would be to hear an after-game Club song ( Aussie Rules style!) following a "nil all draw".

Secondly, Senior football Clubs - be they major League or District are burning out support people. Not a lot nowadays volunteer and many workers hold their hand out to do jobs with the mindset that if the senior footy player can demand a monstrous quid, then I'm in for bit!! So how are many Clubs going to have external support for five games on a Saturday starting around 8.30 - 9.00 am.? Firsts, seconds, Under 18's, Under 16's and Under 14's. Let alone travelling for the morning games when playing away? And if you argue that individual Clubs be committed to hold the 16s and Under on a Sunday? No .. unless the highly paid players from the seniors of the Satd'y take a pay cut to finance that extra cost .. as well as contribute back to the Club by being there to umpire, sell raffle tickets, act as coaches, trainers, runners, water carriers .. phew .. etcetra. As if?
Couple of questions posed there cobber, but when I hark back to my high school footy in the 60's.. as does me mate RodgerDodger in the 80's, all I can say is that things are now very different. For many reasons .. OH&S, "Working With Children" legislation and our development into a litigious society. Look how the AFL footy media went ape's when the doctor's from the Carringbush sent Luke Ball back on to finally stuff up his career and his AC ligament! Thank Cripes the kid had the sense to deny any legal action pending!!
Cheers John Carrot