T.Perry

Oct 26, 2005
Rushy Tigers
I'm not brave enough to leave VT out of the big one like JC, however, I do believe that the winner of the elimination final might very well play off for the flag.

Couldn't agree more woody, but in my opinion that's why VT are in the box seat, very hard to win 4 finals & remain injury free, etc.. VT will be cherry ripe, the only real question mark is that if the win the 2nd semi, they'd have only played once in the last 4wks leading into the GF. Despite this, the smart money is on VT & by a substantial margin.

jobbytonny

Sep 20, 2006
Hankie mate .. I thought you might have been passed that? We had a ball at Redlegs Stadium with Ardie Cats and one FM radio fun to end the season of good community footy before the big paid egos go for it over the next 4 weeks. Nagas or Murch for me.
And here I read that you guys are still saying that the flag goes to the highest payer. Well why don't you phwkn professionals apply to join the big money GVFL or O&MFL and leave this community footy to what last Satd'y at Longwood was all about!! Do we have to spend the summer to "raise enough funds to challenge the likes of Violet Town in years to come." Pretty weak arse response to the KDFL season Hankie mate!!

J.C m and m said it best 'let it go no one listens to thecno' and l find it hard to believe anyone of the 40 odd blokes playing would haved called it fun , and ego is not a dirty word

Mar 16, 2008
Uppercomebackwest
J.C m and m said it best 'let it go no one listens to thecno' and l find it hard to believe anyone of the 40 odd blokes playing would haved called it fun , and ego is not a dirty word
It probably was pretty bad footy but I bet twenty-two blokes and one club would have had a lot of fun. Only six teams get a win in the last round and if you aren't looking at finals a win is the best you can do.

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Kilmore, Broadford, Yea, Calder
Who won the Comp medal? I heard Sala won the two's, fair effort from the old fella if so.

Pretty happy to be selected in a pocket on the previous page, my days of tackling the #1 defender are long gone haha. Dont stress about fwd pressure Tav, get in deep and high and we'll be right ;)

Loving the suggestions that VT are vulnerable, be lucky to get $1.10 surely ... even with 5 in the race. Only minor query would be the most recent grand final appearance :D ....... yellow & black!!!

BODZY#32

May 24, 2006
Deep in Defence
Micky Martin
Who won the Comp medal? I heard Sala won the two's, fair effort from the old fella if so.

Pretty happy to be selected in a pocket on the previous page, my days of tackling the #1 defender are long gone haha. Dont stress about fwd pressure Tav, get in deep and high and we'll be right ;)

Loving the suggestions that VT are vulnerable, be lucky to get $1.10 surely ... even with 5 in the race. Only minor query would be the most recent grand final appearance :D ....... yellow & black!!!
2003 CGFL at Alex! Hey Doon we made the herald sun paper for that.... Biggest losing margin in a granny!!

And Russ Lee won it on 33 votes, Steve Thompson 2nd on 21 votes.

Doona2

Mar 1, 2005
Kilmore
Kilmore, Broadford, Yea, Calder
2003 CGFL at Alex! Hey Doon we made the herald sun paper for that.... Biggest losing margin in a granny!!

And Russ Lee won it on 33 votes, Steve Thompson 2nd on 21 votes.

Sorry mate had to bring it up ;) Now that Avenel aren't in the race I hope you guys can get the chocloates, and then who knows what will happen down the track with all this AFL Vic talk - the Towners and the mighty Tigers (and others) may be back together again .....

Alley cat

Sep 15, 2005
Seymour
Care to enlighten us Doona?
It's gotta be the old Waranga League stuff. Throw in Kilmore VT and the Doon.. Also give Longwood a life line and let them in. It could be Nagambie, Avenel, Longwood, Violet Town, Boonie Doon, Alex, Yea, A reformed Thornton Eildon maybe??, Broadford, Kilmore. Maybe Heathcote? Imagine all those grudge matches against people you love/hate?? The main finals should be played at Seymour. It's a no brainer and must happen!!

Blackout

Apr 1, 2009
Country Victoria
It's gotta be the old Waranga League stuff. Throw in Kilmore VT and the Doon.. Also give Longwood a life line and let them in. It could be Nagambie, Avenel, Longwood, Violet Town, Boonie Doon, Alex, Yea, A reformed Thornton Eildon maybe??, Broadford, Kilmore. Maybe Heathcote? Imagine all those grudge matches against people you love/hate?? The main finals should be played at Seymour. It's a no brainer and must happen!!
That old chestnut hey.

Joe Mama

Apr 5, 2001
Everywhere you want to be
Brisbane Lions
Mernda, Murch/Toolamba, Man City
What everyone's thoughts on the 2nd's and 3rd's,As in who do you think will we the Flag?

Well for the seconds, Undera of all the teams I've seen look like likely premiers, but Tallygaroopna and Lancaster you would think would be strengthend by having guys drop down from the 1sts who have played less than 6 games in the 1sts this year (and therefore qualify for finals in the twos), but that all depends on who they get and how many, I would still favour Undera for the flag but Lanky will take some beating.

Violet Town & Murchison should be a very close game Sunday, considering the Towners won by a point when they last played. I would have to favour Murchison slightly but that all depends on what murch team shows up.

The 3rds, Lancaster have easily been the best side all season, and Nagambie have been just as good, although finals have a habit of producing surprizing results, I can't help to think that Lancaster and Nagambie will play off for the Premiership and the Wombats should win the flag as they have been the best team in 2012.

T.Perry

Oct 26, 2005
Rushy Tigers
Rushy's season is over with a nail biting 3 point loss to murch. Apparently it was a hard fought contest & given Rushy beat murch by a point earlier in the year, another indication of how even the teams were throughout the year. Will be interesting if undera can regroup next week, hopefully murch can get on a roll & acquit themselves well for the rest of September.

Jan 21, 2007
home or work
Hankie mate .. I thought you might have been passed that? We had a ball at Redlegs Stadium with Ardie Cats and one FM radio fun to end the season of good community footy before the big paid egos go for it over the next 4 weeks. Nagas or Murch for me.
And here I read that you guys are still saying that the flag goes to the highest payer. Well why don't you phwkn professionals apply to join the big money GVFL or O&MFL and leave this community footy to what last Satd'y at Longwood was all about!! Do we have to spend the summer to "raise enough funds to challenge the likes of Violet Town in years to come." Pretty weak arse response to the KDFL season Hankie mate!!

Hey Carrot Top surely you have something more constructive to do like work in your veggie garden or polish your walking frame maybe even pop a viagra & tap your mrs (or whatever relation she is to you out that way) on the shoulder? I dont play in this league but I like to get on these threads & have a read around to see whats goin on in other leagues & every single time I enter this site I see you having yet another F***ing whinge about $$$$ paid to players! Look I know the government has really stuffed it up for you AGED Pensioners but continuing to complain about your money problems on a footy chat forum is pointless! For starters even if any of us (god forbid) agree'd with 1 single word that comes out of you mouth do you think we'd have the power to change how 100's of clubs across the state operate?? People are in footy for grand finals & success & unfortunately will do what they have to to succeed, thats just a natrual aussie instinct! Never give up.... So i'm not 100% sure exactly what happened to you in World War 1 but your guna have to let it go & the sooner you do that the better your health will become!

Now to the rest of you, I must admit besides the above mentioned carrot top this is probably 1 of the better threads getting around, I always have a laugh at some of the friendly banter you guys throw around!! Keep it up Cheers:thumbsu:

GrassKat

Spec Moderator
Dec 15, 2006
Toolamba
Murchison-Toolamba FNC
murch has 2 nominated, dyl burls and jake rennie. not sure about tally though

Both have had great years. Burls has held down a wing all year and Rennie has been very lively up forward with a great leap. Both have been very valuable in our line up. Not sure of any of the other nominated rookies.

wmat4

Jun 27, 2007
Around the trap
OKC Thunder
Both have had great years. Burls has held down a wing all year and Rennie has been very lively up forward with a great leap. Both have been very valuable in our line up. Not sure of any of the other nominated rookies.

Tommy Hepburn has been nominated from Stanhope. I think he'll actually go quite close to winning it, (might be a little biased!!) but Thumpa has done a great job in the seniors this year.

T.Perry

Oct 26, 2005
Rushy Tigers
Hey Carrot Top surely you have something more constructive to do like work in your veggie garden or polish your walking frame maybe even pop a viagra & tap your mrs (or whatever relation she is to you out that way) on the shoulder? I dont play in this league but I like to get on these threads & have a read around to see whats goin on in other leagues & every single time I enter this site I see you having yet another F***ing whinge about $$$$ paid to players! Look I know the government has really stuffed it up for you AGED Pensioners but continuing to complain about your money problems on a footy chat forum is pointless! For starters even if any of us (god forbid) agree'd with 1 single word that comes out of you mouth do you think we'd have the power to change how 100's of clubs across the state operate?? People are in footy for grand finals & success & unfortunately will do what they have to to succeed, thats just a natrual aussie instinct! Never give up.... So i'm not 100% sure exactly what happened to you in World War 1 but your guna have to let it go & the sooner you do that the better your health will become!

Now to the rest of you, I must admit besides the above mentioned carrot top this is probably 1 of the better threads getting around, I always have a laugh at some of the friendly banter you guys throw around!! Keep it up Cheers:thumbsu:

Mate, I've had a couple of digs at John carrot about his penchant for going on about 'narbolous country footballers', but he's a cracking bloke who has a deep passion for local footy & the longwood fc in general & while you also may not like reading his posts or agree with his opinion I reckon you've well & truly over-stepped the mark with your comments.. It's an opinion-orientated forum & if you don't agree with what he writes that's your prerogative, but to have a crack at his age, socio economic status & marital life wreaks of disrespect.

I'm glad you like this thread but John carrot's unique style is a key component of it & I reckon he actually deserves an apology for some of your derogatory comments.

Mar 16, 2008
Uppercomebackwest
Tommy Hepburn has been nominated from Stanhope. I think he'll actually go quite close to winning it, (might be a little biased!!) but Thumpa has done a great job in the seniors this year.
Much as I would rather bathe in my own urine than support anything from the gumbooters this comment is right on the mark. Tom is a great young player who stood up in games when some of the more senior brigade didn't. Would like to see him really extend his talent in the future.

jobbytonny

Sep 20, 2006
Mate, I've had a couple of digs at John carrot about his penchant for going on about 'narbolous country footballers', but he's a cracking bloke who has a deep passion for local footy & the longwood fc in general & while you also may not like reading his posts or agree with his opinion I reckon you've well & truly over-stepped the mark with your comments.. It's an opinion-orientated forum & if you don't agree with what he writes that's your prerogative, but to have a crack at his age, socio economic status & marital life wreaks of disrespect.

I'm glad you like this thread but John carrot's unique style is a key component of it & I reckon he actually deserves an apology for some of your derogatory comments.
Agree totally J.C may have left from centre views and if he wants to ramble about the 'money men ' then let him go thats what bigfooty is all about

Jan 21, 2007
home or work

Well then I guess I just had mine!! & I've done enough for local footy over my years to have whatever say I like also! Doesn't make it any different! & I dont know you from a bar of soap but still have that footy respect for you as you have also been around & done alot for your local club so I will not sit here & go tit for tat with you but when I make a comment I stick by it & suffer the consequenses if any! :thumbsu:

The Scribe

Mar 1, 2006
What are peoples thoughts on this weeks games?

Murch are yet to get over the Lions this year but both encounters have been close. Undera are coming off the back of consecutive losses and will be without its leading goal kicker (Rutley) who has taken a week for striking. Murch are in form at the moment & I think they might get the chocolates in a close one.

Not sure many give Nagambie (or other sides for that matter) a chance against Violet Town - hard to mount a case with VT's performances this year. Nonetheless we're heading across to Murch giving ourselves a chance and with the intent to win.

Good luck to all involved this weekend.