KDFL - 2012

What's Lanky's excuse this time??? Been using the injury list for along time but this weekend had Barnett and Nunn back with 2 new good players and still couldn't win against a decent team.
Don't they know that it's football not handball??? A lot of talk round the ground is gees why don't they just kick the F***ing ball, and that's not just from the opposing team supporters either.
What is their problem at the moment?? Coach?? Premiership hangover??? Too big for their boots??
They have a fantastic thirds side and the reserves ain't half bad either so know idea what's going on up top.....
By all accounts, including the One FM broadcast, they were trying to kick the ball, it's just that it was mostly off the ground or being hacked out of mid air.o_O

The finals aspirants have their fate in their own hands; there’s a lot of big games coming up in the next 8 rounds. Murchison look to have the hardest finish to the season and Lancaster having an easier run home than their counterparts, perhaps they could come home with a wet sail?

Murchison’s run home
Lancaster, Violet Town, Tallygaroopna, Nagambie, Undera, Ardmona, Rushworth

Tallygaroopna ’s run home
Undera,Ardmona, Rushworth, Murchison, Stanhope, Avenel, Nagambie.

Stanhope’s run home
Avenel, Girgarre, Lancaster, Violet Town, Merrigum, Tallygaroopna, Undera.

Lancaster’s run home
Murchison, Longwood, Stanhope, Avenel, Girgarre, Violet Town, Merrigum.

Avenel’s run home
Stanhope, Girgarre, Lancaster, Violet Town, Merrigum, Tallygaroopna, Nagambie

The finals aspirants have their fate in their own hands; there’s a lot of big games coming up in the next 8 rounds. Murchison look to have the hardest finish to the season and Lancaster having an easier run home than their counterparts, perhaps they could come home with a wet sail?

Murchison’s run home
Lancaster, Violet Town, Tallygaroopna, Nagambie, Undera, Ardmona, Rushworth

Undera,Ardmona, Rushworth, Murchison, Stanhope, Avenel, Nagambie.

Stanhope’s run home
Avenel, Girgarre, Lancaster, Violet Town, Merrigum, Tallygaroopna, Undera.

Lancaster’s run home
Murchison, Longwood, Stanhope, Avenel, Girgarre, Violet Town, Merrigum.

Avenel’s run home
Stanhope, Girgarre, Lancaster, Violet Town, Merrigum, Tallygaroopna, Nagambie

Tallys run actually finishes with Gig at Tally , so i guess this gives them a slighly better run than you thought , swapping Gig for nagambie as the last game , if Tally can win 2 outs of the Rushy , murch , stanhope and Avenel games they would be a good chance to sneak in

Undera,Ardmona, Rushworth, Murchison, Stanhope, Avenel, Gig.

Tallys run actually finishes with Gig at Tally , so i guess this gives them a slighly better run than you thought , swapping Gig for nagambie as the last game , if Tally can win 2 outs of the Rushy , murch , stanhope and Avenel games they would be a good chance to sneak in

Undera,Ardmona, Rushworth, Murchison, Stanhope, Avenel, Gig.
Yeah I must have gotten my wires crossed there. Well that does make their draw look a bit easier with a lot of winnable games, even the Undera game they would go in with a big chance this week.

Anyone can beat anyone at this stage, going to be a ripping final 7 rounds and great for the comp..

Its Hotting up with alot of sides trying to secure a finals birth, here is my go at the final washup before finals..

Violet Town (flying at the moment)
Undera (Genuine contender)
Nagambie (dropped a couple but still capable)
Rushworth (sleeping giants)
Lancaster (tough from here but have to be in it to win it)
Tally (stiff to miss out but draw and injuries haven't helped)
Murchison (promised alot, started run late but also tough draw may see them miss)
Stanhope (former powerhouse who aren't far away,unlikely to make it)
Avenel (have improved but still in the bottom half, need three more quality recruits to challenge)
Merrigum (biggest improvers, still work to be done but heading in the right direction)
Girgarre (couple of good scalps but still near the bottom, still work to be done)
Longwood (try hard but lack of recruits is a real problem, there is light but along way away)
Ardmona ( a year to forget but to their credit haven't forfeited as yet, the only way is up for the bushcats)

Just my thoughts but things can certainly change as this has been the most even year since l can remember.

Its Hotting up with alot of sides trying to secure a finals birth, here is my go at the final washup before finals..

Violet Town (flying at the moment)
Undera (Genuine contender)
Nagambie (dropped a couple but still capable)
Rushworth (sleeping giants)
Lancaster (tough from here but have to be in it to win it)
Tally (stiff to miss out but draw and injuries haven't helped)
Murchison (promised alot, started run late but also tough draw may see them miss)
Stanhope (former powerhouse who aren't far away,unlikely to make it)
Avenel (have improved but still in the bottom half, need three more quality recruits to challenge)
Merrigum (biggest improvers, still work to be done but heading in the right direction)
Girgarre (couple of good scalps but still near the bottom, still work to be done)
Longwood (try hard but lack of recruits is a real problem, there is light but along way away)
Ardmona ( a year to forget but to their credit haven't forfeited as yet, the only way is up for the bushcats)

Just my thoughts but things can certainly change as this has been the most even year since l can remember.

I'll have a stab.

Top 5 at the end of the home and away season.

Violet Town - overwhelming flag favorites and deservingly so. Hard to fault their year at all. Have had key players out at various stages and have never really looked like dropping a game. It's theirs to lose.

Nagambie - bookies had them at short odds before the year, but there wasn't a lot of hype on here. We got that one wrong. Very disciplined game plan, rarely turn the ball over. Don't have a stand out up forward like most of the top teams, but I feel this is an asset, making them harder to shut down. Very even team. I think they will play off with VT.

Undera - another one who there wasn't a hell of a lot of fanfare for on here prior to the start of the year. excluding their round one shocker against Nagambie, have probably been the best performed team after Violet Town. Couple of absolute guns in their team in Godsmark and La Porta.

Rushworth - probably have the roughest draw of the lot on the way home, with VT, Nagambie, Undera, Tally and Murch to come. I think is where most people had them around at the beginning of the year. Some very good talls in their team, although the loss of Drew Clarke is a big one.

Lancaster - disappointing year so far given the quality of their list, in particular the huge loss to Tally. Still think that they'll end up making the 5. They would probably start favorites in all their remaining games, with the exception of the VT game. Their results suggest that they can be very good, but equally as bad when it's not their day. Perhaps my perceptions is skewed, because the only time I saw them this year they gave us a hell of a hiding. Do need to get some players back from injury or Tally could finish here.

The rest aren't in order of how I see the ladder at the end of the year, but more just general comments on their season so far.

Tally - I think that they've probably gone a bit better than was anticipated at the beginning of the year. Do probably have the best draw, given that they play each of the current top 3 once for the year. Have performed well so far and have either the best or second best forward in the league, depending on who you ask. Could very well squeeze into the 5 on their draw.

Longwood - have a genuine crack and make do with what they've got, but clearly need to recruit and this has been tough for them historically. Hard to see how they will develop players given they are perpetually relying on the juniors of other towns. Do have some of the best facilities in the comp, although I wish they'd get rid of the cricket pitch on their oval given the town doesn't have a cricket club.

Murchison - big hype at the beginning of the year, have obviously lost a couple of their recruits. concur that their draw will make it hard from here. The only ones of the top 6 they don't play twice are Lancaster and themselves. If they make it to the finals, they will have to have beaten some very good sides on the way and could be very dangerous.

Ardmona - about as rough a year as it gets. Agree that they seem to have gotten rid of a lot of their uglier element, which is good. A lot of credit should go to the blokes who double up most weeks, which must be very difficult.

Avenel - we've improved a lot, and hope to again next year. Loss against Murch by a point and the draw with Rushworth, makes finals a tough ask. The club seems to be going in the right direction both on and off the field, although not having thirds was unfortunate. Much better feeling around the club than past couple of years, we really need to work on our consistency.

Stanhope - seem to be about on par with Avenel going on results. Haven't seen them yet so it's hard to comment, but beating Rushworth and pushing Nagambie suggests that they're very capable on their day.
Girgarre - with Merrigum and Avenel have been big improvers, but seem to lack a bit of consistency. Are competitive against everyone except probably the top 2. Definitely steps in the right direction. Always difficult for a town of this size, especially with Stanhope 5 minutes away.

Merrigum - have clearly improved drastically on last year, with their win over Nagambie obviously being their highlight. When we played them they had a lot out and got injuries during the game, so they're another one that's hard to rate. Could well finish third last and I would suggest that they're probably the most talented team to finish that low that I can remember, which is a testament to the the strength of this years comp.

I just saw the scores for VT and Ardmona. I remember Longwood doing that to Glenrowan 20 years ago in the B&DFL, when the standard of that league then was the equivalent of the KDFL now. Over the next few years the standard of the league began to drop with the spoon dwellers left with no option but to fold, merge or move to a stronger league with the hope of attracting better players.
With the league team numbers depleted the standard of the league dropped further as the limited competition made it difficult for the clubs to attract good standard players.
The B&DFL ended up a country football joke. I sure hope the KDFL is not following the same path!!

I've seen the photo in the Longwood Rooms, Murchison also kicked 50 goals against Merrigum in 2004 and had that record until Lanky broke it with 52 and now Violet Town have it with 55.

But in reply to your post, at least the likes of Glenrowan had the option of going to another league to try thier luck (although thier move to the O&K was a good one, apart from when they were beaten by a similar margin by Greta this year), but for the KDFL sides, there's really nowhere else they can go (Tally & Violet Town in the Picola SE League & Longwood (Violet Town) possibly in the O&K), and although there will likely be some losses of teams through mergers & foldings, I can see some clubs looking to go into the KDFL or the PDFL if they can't make a go of it in the Major Leagues, and don't have the $$$$$$$ to keep up with the Jones's (Tongala, Euroa, maybe Rumbalara & Congupna but the Picola League would be better fit).

I bet that Thornton/Eildon wished that the BDFL was still here now, because it might've been easier to start up again in a weaker competition, than having the choice of the YVMDFL or nothing, and they might've been saved instead of having to fold.

Euroa could be the likely candidate join, because they had to get a 3rds side this year or that could've had some major consequences for them staying in the GVFL, that's why Yea doesn't have a 3rds side this year in the Yarra Valley Mountain District FL because they got a lot of kids from there (it was in Tuesday's Shepp News if anyone's interested)

The KDFL will still be here, it's just going through the same problems that the Ovens & King League is going through at the moment.

You can bet there's something brewing at the VCFL in regards to footy in this region, and I can't help but to think that in a few years, there will be a shuffling of the deck chairs, and there will be some big changes.

You might have to drop whelan this week jax.. Didn't train due to his media commitments! It's a wonder Sammy didn't point out he's a higher paid player than the other boys on the panel..

If rocking up in his sign on fee (brand new Porsche..) wasn't bad enough, wearing a gucci suit & flashing his new rolex might've been taking it too far.. Either way I reckon it might wise to put him on ice for this weeks match.

You might have to drop whelan this week jax.. Didn't train due to his media commitments! It's a wonder Sammy didn't point out he's a higher paid player than the other boys on the panel..

If rocking up in his sign on fee (brand new Porsche..) wasn't bad enough, wearing a gucci suit & flashing his new rolex might've been taking it too far.. Either way I reckon it might wise to put him on ice for this weeks match.
He told me he can't train due to the flu, bloody little bugger isn't he..might have to take a leaf out of richmonds book l think....;)

I just saw the scores for VT and Ardmona. I remember Longwood doing that to Glenrowan 20 years ago in the B&DFL, when the standard of that league then was the equivalent of the KDFL now. Over the next few years the standard of the league began to drop with the spoon dwellers left with no option but to fold, merge or move to a stronger league with the hope of attracting better players.
With the league team numbers depleted the standard of the league dropped further as the limited competition made it difficult for the clubs to attract good standard players.
The B&DFL ended up a country football joke. I sure hope the KDFL is not following the same path!!

The standard of the KDFL is actually up. Longwood and Ardmona being the exceptions. Merrigum and Girgarre have proven to be very competitive. There is then 8-10 teams who are of the opinion that they are worthy of a finals placing. KDFL senior footy is quite healthy, it's our junior system that needs the lifeline.

My tips this week:
AVENEL vs. Stanhope - The crunch game for these two as mentioned earlier; both are in the chasing pack, both need this win to put themselves into contention as their percentages are significantly worse than the rest of the chasing pack. Going by results the last few weeks, Avenel have been in better form than Stanhope, however, I don’t expect it to be that much this week, Avenel by 15 points.

GIRGARRE vs. Longwood – It has been a rough first round of games for the Girgarre boys, they’ve run a lot of the big boys close without coming away with a win. They should be too strong for an improving Longwood. Girgarre by 75 points

LANCASTER vs. Murchison – The league’s two underperformers will finally meet in a game both will desperately need to win. Murchison has been unlucky with a lot of close losses and Lancaster has been remarkably hard to work out. I feel I should tip Murch as they have been more consistent, and with their next 6 games they will need to win these types of games. However I get the feeling Lancaster will win by 9 points.

MERRIGUM vs. Ardmona – Merrigum should notch a hard earned third win for the year, I can’t really see the struggling Bushcats really putting up much of a fight, so Merrigum to win by over 30 goals.

Tallygaroopna vs. UNDERA – Another massive game here, Tally either get a game up on their counterparts or slip right back into the pack, possibly a game behind, it really is an 8-point-game. If Undera can hold Arho they will go a long way to winning, but even if he does fire I wouldn’t be surprised if Undera still manage a win given their talent. Undera by 30 points.

VIOLET TOWN vs. Rushworth – The faultless Towners against the quiet achievers in Rushworth. I would love to see Rushy score a win to ruin VT’s Premiers and Champions aspirations. Although, from what I’ve seen this year there is no reason to expect anything other than a VT win. Violet Town by 35 points.

AVENEL vs. Stanhope: This is the game that either gives the winner a glimmer of hope and the loser no hope for finals, At home, I would have to pick Avenel because they haven't been as affected by injuries this year AVENEL BY 13 pts.

GIRGARRE vs. Longwood: I thought that Gig would've done better against Murch last week, but they are at least a 10-15 goal better side against Longwood and this should be no different here GIRGARRE BY 87 pts.

Lancaster vs. MURCHISON: Both teams seasons hang in the balance right now and neither side can afford to slip up at this late stage especially Murch who have a toughest run home of all the sides in contention, even with Lanky's new recruits and them being at home, I still think that Murch's form has been more consistent over the past month, and that will give them the edge in a close game MURCHISON BY 3 pts.

MERRIGUM vs. Ardmona: after two 50+ goal losses, today will see ardy only losing by 35 goals against an improving Merrigum MERRIGUM BY 200+ pts.

Tallygaroopna vs UNDERA: Another telling game for both sides as a win for Undera will go a long way to get the 2nd chance and a win for Tally could see them sneak ahead of Murch in 5th spot (they're only out of the 5 by 1 %), with two spearheads for both sides, it should be a real shootout but Undera bottom 8 players are better than Tally's, and Undera have a few more scoring options, but this should be a close game eitherway UNDERA BY 17 pts.

VIOLET TOWN vs. Rushworth: The Towners just look like a irrepressable force right now, and they should have no trouble dispatching another finals contender at home to continue on thier merry way VIOLET TOWN BY 41 pts.

Hey Carrot if you guys are going to play players from Romsy under false names you should tell them not to tell the gate people and the coach, and let your seconds goal ump no as well that way he won't give the votes to a number that's not even on the team sheet .

Surely not??? Romsey are flying in both grades and knowing their senior coach very very well I'd be extremely surprised if anyone would jeopardise suspension and a chance to play finals to play for Longwood ...... I'd suggest there from another club trying to be smart like back in the old BDFL days.

They also said Romsy had the bye so they come to have a kick with mate

SportsBet odds - VT $1.40, Nag $4.25, Undera $6.50, Murchison $9, Rushy $17, Lanky $26, Avenel $67, Tally $67, Stanhope $251 and the others over $1000.

Things are getting very interesting with 9 teams still a real chance of making finals.