KDFL 2013

Ardy v Avenel - I am going to back Ardy in to win their first win on the weekend, they managed to kick 9.5 against Stanhope on the weekend and will be better for the run. Ardy by 9 points

Gig v Undera - I'm going with Gig, give Nagambie a good run for their money last week and many tip Nagambie to finish in the top few this year. Gig by 16 points

Lanky v Nagambie - 7 outs for lanky this week will be hard to replace, nagambie should get the points you would think but it will also depend on who they get back in, i see reading the team sheets that Rob Auld played last week, depth could be a problem for the lakers this year. Nagambie by 10 points

Longwood v Murch - Murch by 200+, Rushy had 46 shots on goal against Longwood last week but kicked 20.26 if Murch can get them between the big sticks this will end up very ugly i think.

Stanhope v Rushy - both played sides round 1 that finished bottom last year, will be an interesting game. Stanhope will have Trist and Auld in and look to be stronger than last week. i dont think that rushy will get as many shots on goal this week so they will need to make sure they take their chances, this game will be a good yard stick for the tigers to see where they are at. Im going with Rushy by 4 points.

VT v Tally - big crowd expected out at VT on Sunday, Tally with a draw last week will be hungry for a win but one would think it was a bit of a wake up call for VT at Ky last weekend. Tarrant and Kinnear in for VT!! Man they will take some stopping. Good luck to the redlegs but im marking this one in the book for VT. VT by 47 points.

Qwerty think you may have had 1 rum can too many before writing this lol

Avenel to beat arty easy
Undera to beat gig
Nagambie to handle lanky
Murch who had a scare against the bye to get longwood in a tight contest
Stan rushy Draw.
Vt to flog tally

That's the word of the Godz

Ardy v Avenel - I am going to back Ardy in to win their first win on the weekend, they managed to kick 9.5 against Stanhope on the weekend and will be better for the run. Ardy by 9 points

Gig v Undera - I'm going with Gig, give Nagambie a good run for their money last week and many tip Nagambie to finish in the top few this year. Gig by 16 points

Lanky v Nagambie - 7 outs for lanky this week will be hard to replace, nagambie should get the points you would think but it will also depend on who they get back in, i see reading the team sheets that Rob Auld played last week, depth could be a problem for the lakers this year. Nagambie by 10 points

Longwood v Murch - Murch by 200+, Rushy had 46 shots on goal against Longwood last week but kicked 20.26 if Murch can get them between the big sticks this will end up very ugly i think.

Stanhope v Rushy - both played sides round 1 that finished bottom last year, will be an interesting game. Stanhope will have Trist and Auld in and look to be stronger than last week. i dont think that rushy will get as many shots on goal this week so they will need to make sure they take their chances, this game will be a good yard stick for the tigers to see where they are at. Im going with Rushy by 4 points.

VT v Tally - big crowd expected out at VT on Sunday, Tally with a draw last week will be hungry for a win but one would think it was a bit of a wake up call for VT at Ky last weekend. Tarrant and Kinnear in for VT!! Man they will take some stopping. Good luck to the redlegs but im marking this one in the book for VT. VT by 47 points.
Avenel by 100pts
Undera by 21pts
Lancaster by 35pts
Murch by 180pts
Stanhope by 30pts
Vt by 66pts

For all those heading out to the Chris Tarrant show on Sunday there will be a big Collingwood and general AFL memorabilia to purchase after the game, get around it!

OKFL King Valley 48.21.309 def Swanpool 0 :(
KDFL Murchison 49.20.314 def Longwood 0 :(
Hope that is the low point for the Swans and RedLegs for 2013!

Sad day for country footy

Yep bad look. Murch are a tough ask for Round One, however. Longwood are definitely at a cross roads to say the least. I've been in the position of helping a club come back from the brink and many good decisions and a "buy in" from the whole community is needed to come back from here.. Ardmona are having a crack at the moment but aren't out of the woods yet either. No one wants to see clubs fold, but these are Wunghnu results, and lets hope we don't see that happen again. Only Longwood FNC can help itself. If there are enough willing to fight there is hope otherwise this is a club on life support for the rest of this season..

Good Luck to whoever plays Avenel for there next home game, The ground is shocking, make sure you take the Gridiron pads. I know we just came out of a drought but that was a while ago, I thought hughes ck was close by.

And yeh a sad day for country footy, Longwood, keep at it. We are battling along and with help from within it'll turn around.

I know that it has been decided regarding the implementation of a Final Six and how it will run for this year but the format has always caused contention. I don't know if this version of the system exists somewhere else but I'd like to put forward the following:

Week 1
1 v 2 3 v 4 5 v 6
Winner 1 v 2 goes through to Major Semi-final in week 3 (week off week 2).
Loser 1 v 2 goes to Major Qualifying final in week 2.
Winner 3 v 4 goes to Major Qualifying final in week 2.
Loser 3 v 4 goes to Minor Qualifying final in week 2.
Winner 5 v 6 goes to Minor Qualifying final in week 2.
Loser 5 v 6 is eliminated.

Week 2
Major Qualifying Final
Winner through to Major Semi-final in week 3.
Loser through to Minor Semi-final in week 3.
Minor Qualifying Final
Winner through to Minor Semi-final in week 3.
Loser is eliminated.

Week 3
Major Semi-final.

Winner through to Grand Final.
Loser through to Preliminary Final.
Minor Semi-final.
Winner through to Preliminary Final.
Loser is eliminated.

Week 4
Preliminary Final - Loser of Major Semi-final and winner of Minor Semi Semi-final.

Week 5
Grand Final - Winner of the Major Semi-final and winner of the Preliminary Final.

Advantages:
One and Two receive two chances and the shot at a week off.
Three and Four receive one chance and the shot at a week off.
Five and Six receive none of the above benefits and must keep winning.
More finals to spread across clubs, lessening the rotation period.
No need for ranking of highest placed loser etc.

Disadvantages:
Five weeks of finals instead of four.
Five and Six have a really difficult task to make the Grand Final.

Any thoughts?

I know that it has been decided regarding the implementation of a Final Six and how it will run for this year but the format has always caused contention. I don't know if this version of the system exists somewhere else but I'd like to put forward the following:

Week 1
1 v 2 3 v 4 5 v 6

Week 2
Major Qualifying Final
Minor Qualifying Final
Loser is eliminated.

Week 3
Major Semi-final.

Minor Semi-final.
Loser is eliminated.

Week 4
Preliminary Final - Loser of Major Semi-final and winner of Minor Semi Semi-final.

Week 5
Grand Final - Winner of the Major Semi-final and winner of the Preliminary Final.

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Any thoughts?

I think it has merit Rewards the top sides but it does make it difficult for the fairy tale finish from a team that just scrapes in

Week 1
1 v 2 3 v 4 5 v 6

Week 2
Major Qualifying Final
Minor Qualifying Final
Loser is eliminated.

Week 3
Major Semi-final.

Minor Semi-final.
Loser is eliminated.

Week 4

Week 5

Advantages:

Disadvantages:

Any thoughts?

It's good ideas you've put forward here Woody & by no means am I potting it but my personal opinion is a 6 team finals series should be decided within 4 weeks not 5! It's just too long.... There are obviously a few different ways to do it but I would keep it within 4 weeks.... But yeah good ideas mate :thumbsu:

Wow that's not great for either side or comp, hope my old mob the Redlegs can improve.
My old side too.I really hope they can get their act togeather.However i fear this could be the final year of the club[If it makes it through this year].:(

Fear not. In an effort to distract the media from his recent ineptitude and to deflect any attention regarding potential legal action from Jimmy H, the Big D will announce that country footy is heart and soul of the game and that no club will exist in poverty of players, volunteers and cash by 2020. In a hastily compiled media release he will outline a strategic withdrawal from the Gold Coast and Cabramatta in preference to an upgraded stadium at Ballarat, a new venue in Albury and a team for Tasmania.

Should be an absolute cracker of a match between Stanhope and Murch this weekend!
Certainly will be as will the clash between Ex Murch player/coach Justin Williams and Luke Chapman. Both blokes renowned for not taking a backward step so should be a very entertaining game..

Haha, Chappy has a deep, loud voice but thats about it!!;)

Haha will be a cracker! Thou they will play at opposite ends of the ground, will be great to watch if they cross paths! Who will take chappy for Stanhope? And who would take willow for murch?

I really hope Jon cooper gets the job on Justin ., no love lost between them two ;) :thumbsu:

Good Luck to whoever plays Avenel for there next home game, The ground is shocking, make sure you take the Gridiron pads. I know we just came out of a drought but that was a while ago, I thought hughes ck was close by.

Longwood's ground wasn't much better I'm afraid, although they are at a disadvantage because they're not in an irrigation area like a lot of the KDFL clubs, the ground was very dry and barren in patches (which is everything to do with the lack of rainfall we're having right now) but hopefully we can get a bit of rain & it will come up great (provided we don't get a frost that kills off any new growth).

It's strange isn't it Longwood & Avenel have 1,000,000% better facilities than Murchison (Avenel just got massively upgraded facilities for thier Netball Club, and I'm interested to see what's been done so far), whist murch has a great ground but has facilities that we're outdated & cramped when Menzies was in power :rolleyes:

Been while since I was back home at Murch. How are the Hoppers doing this year?
Going quite well, thier first game was a win over Longwood (314-0, which is no good for Murchison, Longwood or the KDFL), but thier first real test will be this Saturday against Stanhope at home, both sides have recruited well, and I think it will be a close game (I think Murch will win but only by 3-4 goals).

The 2's have got plenty of numbers, Netball's going OK with thier new courts (and hopefully other capitol improvements to come), but we are very light on for numbers in the 3rds (Murch had a lot of players who were in thier last year of Under 18's in 2012) like a lot of teams, which is a worry.

In summary, the Hoppers should be a big challenger for the premiership this season.

ARDMONA vs. Girgarre, although gig has the better form going into the game with a good effort against Undera, whilst Ardmona on the surface should've done better against Avenel, for no other reason besides mere guesswork & having some handy inclusions in thier lineup, Ardmona will win thier first game since 2011 with a 13 point win at home.

MURCHISON vs. Stanhope, Stanhope is more match ready after good wins over Ardmona (after a good start from the Bushcats) & Rushworth, and I think that Justin Williams should play a big factor against his old club Murchison, and should do some damage on the scoreboard, I think with the strong midfield, and with several options up forward for the Hoppers, Murchison should prevail in what should be a high scoring, entertaining and tough game of local football, Murchison by 21 points.

Nagambie vs. VIOLET TOWN Although Violet Town looked like a side that was below thier best on Sunday (allowing Tally to win the 3rd quarter, before putting the pedal to the metal in the 4th quarter), I think that the "getting to know you" stage will well and truly be over with a very good win over Nagambie, Violet Town by 10 goals plus.

RUSHWORTH vs. Avenel, Like Ardy/Gig, this game is very hard to pick, like a broken nose, Avenel having a good win over Undera & easily beating Ardmona after an early scare, but Rushy crashing back to earth after a heavy loss to Stanhope, although I would favour Avenel if it was at home, but because it's at Rushy I will slightly favour Rushy by 7 points.

Tallygaroopna vs. MERRIGUM, Tally showed some positive signs in patches against Violet Town to show that they won't be easy opponenets for most KDFL sides, and although the Dogs had a great win against the reigning premier, and might be a bit rusty after the week off, they should do enough to hold Tally off in a game that should be closer than people expect, Merrigum by 35 points.

Undera vs. LANCASTER, Undera having a patchy win against Girgarre & a loss to Avenel, don't warrant favourtism against a Lancaster side that had a good win over Nagambie, and I suspect that the Wombats winning form will continue in what I think could be a side that like them will be fighting for a 5-6 placed finish this season, Lancaster by 28 points.

Longwood have the bye.

Longwood's ground wasn't much better I'm afraid, although they are at a disadvantage because they're not in an irrigation area like a lot of the KDFL clubs, the ground was very dry and barren in patches (which is everything to do with the lack of rainfall we're having right now) but hopefully we can get a bit of rain & it will come up great (provided we don't get a frost that kills off any new growth).

It's strange isn't it Longwood & Avenel have 1,000,000% better facilities than Murchison (Avenel just got massively upgraded facilities for thier Netball Club, and I'm interested to see what's been done so far), whist murch has a great ground but has facilities that we're outdated & cramped when Menzies was in power :rolleyes:
lol ya got that right mate it hasnt changed since i played there (Murch) and the was nearly about the time yeh :)
and i hope they (Avenel and Longwood) do get some rain it supposed to be this weekend so yeh hope so, will be a cracker for sure (Murch v. Stanhope). ALSO good luck to The Bushcats this weekend c'mon boys you know you can........