KDFL 2014

Good to hear Longwood will be more competitive, it can only be good for the league and hopefully the club. Also, I had a quick browse of the classified section and saw Longwood are hoping to get an Under 18's side up this year, if there's enough kids it would be great to see. Will the VCFL (or whatever they go by now) allow them to have a side?

The impression I got from the meetings 2 years ago is no but I could be wrong...Avenel are battling, Vt the same and Euroa have bugger all and are relying on overage players to put a side on the park. Not sure where the kids are coming from who are going to represent the Redlegs..

I did say Chiller would go bang at Longwood. The strength of his team will probably vary a fair bit from week to week by the sounds depending on who is available on any given day but they will cause an upset or two which will be like the feeling the Collingwood's and North Melbourne copped this year when getting rolled by the Suns.

Any word on if Longwood will be changing their name and jumper from the Redlegs to the Rams in 2014? Things may be a bit divided around the place if this change happens.

Having won the raffle at Longwood (half a side of prime lamb thank you very much) I believe that the "Rams" would be great. A couple of years into a new league might be the right time for a change of brand.

It has copped a bit of a bashing on Facebook. Lots of loyal supporters wanting to stick with tradition. Is there a jumper design out there?

A few mentioned the fact that the KD has two teams known as the Redlegs and three teams as the Lions. The KDL has allowed clubs to stick with their traditional strip, which is in contrast with PDFL which does not allow it.

Cant have it both ways here Hank - plucking figures out of your arse regarding Mounts spending (that by the way is way off the mark) and then making statements about only dealing with "cold hard facts" rather than rumour and innuendo? You state "supposedly". Is that rumour and innuendo? I'm all for anyone having a say (as I am now) but dont hedge your bets. Practice what you preach.

If ya can get it spend it I say. If you do not have it, its a bit more hard work. Most clubs wAste it anyway. Money is handy but is not the be all end all. Just look after ya locals

Why should AFL Vic Country ( VCFL) have the right to say whether a side can have a side , offered within the competition they play .
Surely they ain't trying to boost some competitions by restricting sides in others ??

I know dids. I won't out him to prove you wrong but I will say this - he is not paid a cent other than the odd pizza award he occasionally gets for getting in the best. He is an integral part of the club committee and has made a significant contribution during it's transition from league whipping boy to a competitive unit.

Say what you will about his face but don't question his commitment and passion for his club.

Gday Harry .. I had two goes at reading your post to confirm if it was for me or Dids! But if you are telling me that you and he are same in the ilk of the small country club supporter like myself then I welcome your efforts .. and all who want footy to continue at this level.

After all, the VCFL have been following the philosophy to centralise the minor leagues into the major leagues. Longwood are alive in the KDFL while the cousins in the O&K League are bastardised into merging Goorambat,Tatong and Swanpool with a loss on appeal. In the meantime the Bonnie Doon Mokbels are not questioned .. Funny that??
By the time I'm dead .. in the next decade maybe?? (.. and that may be the decade before man lands on the moon Dids tells me!!)
The VCFL will instruct the major leagues of GVFL and O&MFL to have the District Leagues forcibly absorbed as player payments in both levels would be uncontrolled in the lower levels and will start to impact on major clubs.
For instance in 20 years Longwood and maybe VT gone into Euroa and Benalla. Avenel and Nagas to Seymour. Murch to Tatura. Maybe a KDFL around Shepp to keep the GVFL strong with the other small towns either watching footy TV or going to Major League footy .. Just like the good old USA without College footy!! Eh? For O&K all the DISTRICT FOOTBALL Clubs who are just like the KDFL ..(I've been there..) will have to meld with Albury, Wodonga, Myrtleford, Wang Rovers, Wang Magpies in the OMFL, and Benalla in the GVFL.
So what of the kids and the older youngies who just want a game of footy .. let alone fossils like meself??
So merging local Clubs into major towns facilities, training lights and a welcome hand? I question that but I suppose I watch the history channel (606) too much on the Pay TV and measure the insipid work of Hitler and the Nazis from 1932 too much!! Ohh .. for pharwksake .. now he is calling it all a NAZI supported VCFL Plot!! Jesus Cripes Carrot?? (.. Well ..erm .. at least they have the same structured 4 lettered acronym??) Cheers John Carrot

Longwood is travelling along alright from what I hear JC, your thoughts..
NFI, JT .. I've lost my mojo to fight the dollar destruction at the lowest level of footy so I'm out of the circle, (Saw an article on Shepp news recently of some Shepp Netball side talking about having to spend more money .. Er Wha' So when I turn up at the gate can I ask for a 50% discount as I won't be watching the netball?? .. piss off!!).
I still like to watch live country footy and netball; especially if family are playing, instead of the TV of my favourite Essendon Pepsi's in 2014 ( Coca Cola withdrew their sponsorship so the Peptides Company stepped in .. they are the ones who make Pepsi .. erm .. aren't they?).. ahem .. what I mean is I'll see you and Wazza at the VT Oval as well as I'll be at the Redlegs Stadium but I know nussing Colonel Clink .. not even anything about the latest debate about the Longwood Redlegs Sheep Shaggers!! JC

Hey Hank1 I think you may need to take JC's bigfooty license away from him, by the standard of his past posts he is struggling to steer his keyboard & could cause a severe accident in the near future & hurt someone! As with most old codger's they should resit their license once a year! Hope your wearing a helmet behind that keyboard JC, that's the 1 that goes on top of your head! You know the 1 with the brain in it or in your case LACK there of.... ;)
Now now mooth smoover?? Sorry mate .. a typo - Now, now Smooth Mover. Are you having a personal go at me responding to those of your brand having a go at me?? You guys who are quite prepared to say.." I am over 20 so I need $500 per week ( including the byes) because I'm pretty f'n good." You also get say $300 per fortnight on the dole .. maybe with $160 rent assistance per fortnight. You and your three playing mates in the car have come up to an away match. You only come to Thursday training nights cos it's part of your contract. Be it home or away you only stay for the awards presentation which is your froth on your beer then head back to Melbourne. Do you join in the monthy club home match social nights put together by diligent local people committe and supporters who want to party with you? No, no and no to all three! Even if i didn't ask three direct questions your three no answer fits all those that would be asked of you!!
Moreso do you declare at the CentreLink office or on line every fortnight that you haven't had a job that paid you and had tax taken out ( ie you've had the odd cashie but we are not gunna tell those bastards are we..) nor have you declared that you have been paid income from the following list which includes PAYMENT FOR SPORTING ACTIVITY, which most footy payments may be contracted but I doubt have withholding tax.
Consider those last two points mate before you personally abuse me .. I would like to call you a buffoon in the Big Footy school yard but you barrack for the Essendon Peptides so I relate to in some part. Cheers Cobber John Carrot

Yeah not holding my breathe on it Jax that's for sure....
JT mate
I have found that my support for the Red is still not challenged .. as in Longwood Red wine from Maygars, Redlegs socks, Red Cordeaux (backed for a win and ran second in the Melbourne Cup), stopping for Red lights etc.etc. I've transcended to the white grapejuice and as such have no direct association with the Redlegs inner circle except that I am still a life member at Longwood, hate you and Wazza and VT's guts (.. only joking cobber..) and no matter what name change may take place they will still be called the Redlegs with my support .. even if they become the Longwood Redlegs Sheep Shaggers .. erm .. Rams .. I think .. Cheers Cobra erm Cobber JT Jax .. John Carrot (Hic..)

Longwood's recruiting is going well, with Fraser Gehrig confirmed & ex-Morrison medallist linc withers a done deal.
Tav .. That's Gerrig Fraser a soccer player from Germany who is a horse person from one of the horse places up the ruffy road. Jason Webb will tell you what I mean about the property which was called Vinery on the Ruffy Road.

The manager got a call from Melbourne one day to say an oriental buyer was coming in. Give him all that he asks.
About 2 pm a long white limo pulled up and a 4 feet nothing short fella in white suit got out. Spotted a cropduster flying over, pointed and yelled “De plane.. de plane!” Poor little bugger had a lisp.

He was there to buy a mare. A standard bred trotter, not a thorough bred galloper.
“Managgger”, He said, “I want you to wift me up on her wight side so I can see her eye..ths and ear..ths”
Next
Oh wift me up again so I can thee her teeth.
“flipping hell”, thought the manager as he put the little bloke back down for the second time.

“Managgger”, the little Oriental said, “Now I want you to wift me up to thee the thame on the left thide..”
“flipping hell”, .. again thought the manager as he put the little bloke back down after the left viewing.

The little rich guy in the white suit had a thip of thorberry wine (.. arh shite! I mean – a sip of strawberry wine) then turned to the Manager and said, “I want to thee her twat”..

This was the straw that broke the Manager’s resolve.
He pick the little bugger up, lifted the mares tail and shoved the oriental’s head half way in to the mares rear!!
He pulled him out, threw him on the ground and said, “Did you get a good look you sick little bastard..??”

The bloke in the white suit dusted himself off and said, “Firstly. I’ll pay the money to buy the mare. Secondly I thank you for your patience .. but at the end I just wanted to see her wun awound a widdle bit!!!

Undera is crisis, Byers has quit, at least 8 players following Mahoney to Bonnie Doon & no money in the bank.

Now now mooth smoover?? Sorry mate .. a typo - Now, now Smooth Mover. Are you having a personal go at me responding to those of your brand having a go at me?? You guys who are quite prepared to say.." I am over 20 so I need $500 per week ( including the byes) because I'm pretty f'n good." You also get say $300 per fortnight on the dole .. maybe with $160 rent assistance per fortnight. You and your three playing mates in the car have come up to an away match. You only come to Thursday training nights cos it's part of your contract. Be it home or away you only stay for the awards presentation which is your froth on your beer then head back to Melbourne. Do you join in the monthy club home match social nights put together by diligent local people committe and supporters who want to party with you? No, no and no to all three! Even if i didn't ask three direct questions your three no answer fits all those that would be asked of you!!
Moreso do you declare at the CentreLink office or on line every fortnight that you haven't had a job that paid you and had tax taken out ( ie you've had the odd cashie but we are not gunna tell those bastards are we..) nor have you declared that you have been paid income from the following list which includes PAYMENT FOR SPORTING ACTIVITY, which most footy payments may be contracted but I doubt have withholding tax.
Consider those last two points mate before you personally abuse me .. I would like to call you a buffoon in the Big Footy school yard but you barrack for the Essendon Peptides so I relate to in some part. Cheers Cobber John Carrot

Hey JC maybe you should stop accusing every man & his dog for being a money hungry, greedy, non talented 2's footballer! We can't all be like you mate.... & I know you weren't referring the dole part to me considering I am married (the wifey won't let me be a dole bludger ;)) have 2 kids work 2 jobs, looking to do some full time study next year & am an assistant coach so you can take that shit up with your footy club not me mate.... Other than that mate your posts at 1st where fair & everyone understood your point but because you have bashed the topic so much people are now actually tired of it & are having a go back at you because your posts are now like a broken down 1920's record player (I wouldn't even know if they had them back then but I'm sure you'd be able to tell me?) & your just repeating yourself with every post.... We get that you are disappointed with the current era's money situation towards footballers but how about making your next post about your beloved "REDLEGS" & how they will improve next year & put the Longwood FC on the KDFL map.... Cheers & enjoy your pension.... ;)

Ps but I knew you weren't talking about me when you said "you & your 3 mates" I haven't got that many.... :D

I saw the thread on Facebook and I did post on there (I thought they should keep their nickname, but change the colour of their shorts from Navy to White, because white is a great contrast to the red of their jumper, and for the netballers to wear a fluro yellow bib on their skirts against sides that wear a lot of red, like what Tongala do when they play Numurkah in the Murray League), and it's good to see a lot of interest in the club, and I wish them well in 2014.

And, JC, keep punching & I'll see you in 2014 ;).