KDFL 2014

Interesting idea. It works in Melbourne because there a great many more blokes in their early twenties taking the senior/reserve/thirds spot in the adult competitions. Earlier this year Murchison didn't want fourteen year olds playing against eighteen year olds, this would now pit fifteen year olds against nineteen year olds - providing you can get enough upward of fifteen to play. All ideas are worth throwing around but I fear that a deeper issue is at play. In the MFL and PDFL where fourths exist there is already the problem of forfeits and doubling up. Perhaps AFL Victoria could invest in getting into schools (beyond Auskick age) and promoting the game instead of taking kids participation for granted. We recently took eighty kids (9 and 10 age group) to a free soccer day put on by FFV, well organised and great fun. Over to you Gillon.

Raising our age to Under 19 and catering for Under 15s would 'pit' 16 year olds against 19 year olds. We could offer the kids that come out from GVL clubs a one year clearance where they have the option to return to their GVL clubs the following year - or they may choose to stay and carve out their footy at KDL level.

We are trailing soccer by a long way at junior level. Imagine the issues we'd be facing if the senior soccer bodies in our region actually sorted their stuff out!

Many of us are guilty of looking at these problems from a personal (club/league) perspective and not at the game level.

Auskick has quite a few things working, but needs to look at its balance between participation and competition. The registration of $60 for a pack that is junk is unfortunate. What about kids registering at their local club, being provided with a new club footy jumper ($45 minus sponsorship) an appropriately sized Sherrin footy ($25) and a bag provided on the first year registered? The kids also need the opportunity to play against other centres. Imagine the knock on effects if Auskick were free!

Raising our age to Under 19 and catering for Under 15s would 'pit' 16 year olds against 19 year olds. We could offer the kids that come out from GVL clubs a one year clearance where they have the option to return to their GVL clubs the following year - or they may choose to stay and carve out their footy at KDL level.

We are trailing soccer by a long way at junior level. Imagine the issues we'd be facing if the senior soccer bodies in our region actually sorted their stuff out!

Many of us are guilty of looking at these problems from a personal (club/league) perspective and not at the game level.

Auskick has quite a few things working, but needs to look at its balance between participation and competition. The registration of $60 for a pack that is junk is unfortunate. What about kids registering at their local club, being provided with a new club footy jumper ($45 minus sponsorship) an appropriately sized Sherrin footy ($25) and a bag provided on the first year registered? The kids also need the opportunity to play against other centres. Imagine the knock on effects if Auskick were free!
Just a quick question boys.. What happens if a team forfeits like longwood has tommorow in the 2s.. And I'm trying to qualify blokes for finals, does that count if there on the team sheet or what.. As it could cost myself players not being able to play finals coz a team has pulled the pin and they were able to play this week.. Please explain.. Cheers

I know at home years ago if a team forfeited to us we were still asked to complete a team sheet for the side "we would" have put on the ground and that it counted as a game for qualification purposes.

Each league woudl probably have their own rules on this

Perhaps another idea to float around is each club being able to play a maximum of 6 overage players, these players are not able to play senior or reserves footy in that season. This will stop talented players from abusing the system by playing both levels. Perhaps also if they have played 1 or more senior games previously then they are also not eligible to play as an overage. This may be a quick fix but as to how long it lasts who knows..
Normo all you do is submit a teamsheet to the league as normal and it qualifies those players for the game, it has happened to us before with the thirds last year and that was the instructions given to us by the league..

Interesting idea. It works in Melbourne because there a great many more blokes in their early twenties taking the senior/reserve/thirds spot in the adult competitions. Earlier this year Murchison didn't want fourteen year olds playing against eighteen year olds, this would now pit fifteen year olds against nineteen year olds - providing you can get enough upward of fifteen to play. All ideas are worth throwing around but I fear that a deeper issue is at play. In the MFL and PDFL where fourths exist there is already the problem of forfeits and doubling up. Perhaps AFL Victoria could invest in getting into schools (beyond Auskick age) and promoting the game instead of taking kids participation for granted. We recently took eighty kids (9 and 10 age group) to a free soccer day put on by FFV, well organised and great fun. Over to you Gillon.

In Echuca alone there is 600 kids playing soccer

Raising the age won't fix the problem in fact it will just make it worse ,your teams closer to the major towns might win but not the outer lying clubs that then would have 14 or 15 yr olds against 19 yr olds.
The whole junior competitions need to be completely overhauled for it to survive and all clubs and all leagues need to be doing the same thing Some have 4ths. Some under 17 some under 18. Then we have an under 16 comp with 2 divisions where there are floggings every week and every week you see scores of over 100 points to 2 and that's in under 16 div 1 the so called best. No wonder soccer is becoming the sport they have the follow on from age group to age group it's a consistent flow, very unlike what we have and being honest as I've been at the coalface of junior football for 5 years and that included forming a new side , the senior clubs don't really give a rats arse about the junior players .
There needs to be a pathway that all leagues are doing the same thing as player and even junior players are swapping clubs so they don't get flogged each week and the old saying will ring true the strong will get stronger but at what price How many teams will have thirds next year possibly las than this year .

Merrigum deserve to be flag favourites 2ond big win over the lakers who I really rate BUT finals as we all know and the dogs found
out last year where the tempo and pressure goes up a notch ARE different than home n away games In saying that I think the dogs have
topped up their LIST with some reall class and the right type of players to take them all the way Their opponents Stanhope what do you guys think!!!

Merrigum deserve to be flag favourites 2ond big win over the lakers who I really rate BUT finals as we all know and the dogs found
out last year where the tempo and pressure goes up a notch ARE different than home n away games In saying that I think the dogs have
topped up their LIST with some reall class and the right type of players to take them all the way Their opponents Stanhope what do you guys think!!!

I would like to think we are a massive chance but for mine the top 3 are very hard to split at this stage. The healthiest list come September will be paramount.
Yesterday the Gum weren't at their best but Nagambie played very well in patches and fought back from 30 points down to come within 8 points in a tense final quarter. Don't write off those Lakers, they do play hard, have talent at both ends and have plenty of experience.
After last years finals I don't think the Gum will be "favourites", yes the list has changed significantly, but I think until we get that first final win the stink from last years finals catastrophe will remain. That's just the reality of how poor we were last year.

Not that I think we won't or can't win it, but with Stanhopes history and record I think most will have them as the top seed going into the finals.

This is going to be the most intriguing September in years. Murchisons list is in trouble and I can't see them recovering to be a threat. What a great win by Undera over the hoppers yesterday!
Many punters (myself included), had Undera near the bottom of the ladder at the start of the year. It's looking like they will be finalists, which is a super effort and good on them.
Avenel still loom as a dark horse, I certainly don't think they can win it but they will be a dangerous side and could upset the apple cart in the run home.
Lancaster I hate to say it, they are capable of doing damage as well but their horrible inconsistency is likely to have them wondering "what if?".. Bummer hey Swoop?!

I think you are playing your beloved doggies down a little I reckon they have been great you said they weren't at their best but still won over
a top football side You would think after last years finals embarrassment they will be ultra hungry And I really rate stanhopes chances especially if they
can get their list healthy in the next few weeks Yes great win by undera over murch That win has made lancys chances of playing finals slim but still a chance!!
PS yOU wouldn't have finals venues handy by any chance dids?

I think you are playing your beloved doggies down a little I reckon they have been great you said they weren't at their best but still won over
a top football side You would think after last years finals embarrassment they will be ultra hungry And I really rate stanhopes chances especially if they
can get their list healthy in the next few weeks Yes great win by undera over murch That win has made lancys chances of playing finals slim but still a chance!!
PS yOU wouldn't have finals venues handy by any chance dids?

Finals venues are all on the previous page.
Josh Pell is back for our next game and the lists health is getting better so yes it's all exciting and all.
However I don't think a 14 point win over another contender is overly convincing, nor was Stanhopes win against us earlier in the year. It's certainly 3 very even sides, making top 2 for finals is crucial.

I'm an Undera local and watch most games home and away it was a good win but Murch were very under manned credit to them for a great effort for mine if Merrigum can handle the bigger grounds in hot weather they are favourites. My tip for the medal is tom Davies

I'm going to go on a tangent, but I thought it was worth mentioning that in the decade I've been around the KDFL, this is the closest and most competitive I've seen the league. There have been very few hundred point hidings and the top teams have been challenged by just about every one of the middle to lower rung sides. As well as every side (except the reigning premier) fielding an Under 18's side. Outside of interleague results, our league is in a lot healthier shape than many others, despite the ramblings of JC.

I'm an Undera local and watch most games home and away it was a good win but Murch were very under manned credit to them for a great effort for mine if Merrigum can handle the bigger grounds in hot weather they are favourites. My tip for the medal is tom Davies

I would hope we've done enough to get Tom over the line.... He is easily in the Top 2 18yr olds that I have ever played senior footy with in my time.... He will win our B&F by a mile.... :thumbsu:

He is a good prospect I have watched him a lot this year he needs to work on his skills if he is to play good Gv footy it's a big jump he is hard at it and gets the footy a lot.good luck to him.

Mmmmmm 3 weeks for a head clash, I don't think so mate, dirty prick should of got the same amount that the player isn't playing
wouldn't be the first bloke to go to the KDFL fun house and get weeks for something he didn't do due to some weak as piss people

He did it and got caught doing it, low act, 10,000 people in jail and not one of them are guilty , just ask them all, tribunal are soft now, Just one I can remember , Rattles 10 weeks for a head but, to the nose, so your mate got off light, harden up tribunal on thugs who act like dogs

It's far more likely to get a lenient sentence for a dispicable act.
Found guilty and 3 weeks, Parsons got a fractured eye socket. 3 weeks is a fairly
light sentence I would have thought
Fair enough what you seen and what l did are 2 different things , and with reference to the weak as piss l wasnt talking about the gig people l meant the umpire who was 4m away looking at it and then said he didn't see it

Ican assure you he wont be in Stanhopes !!Of course he wont be at lancy why should he Tommy will make up his mind very
soon he met with a gvl club last night and that club will win his services The lad is a gun he would have to be a chance for the medal!!
And will guarantee u he won't be in the wombat colours next year smoothy..

Who wins this week fellas? Few interesting games that could shape the finals series in 2014.

Can Undera create another upset over Nagambie? Murch and Stanhope will be a big one. Lank/Rushy match could be interesting as well.

My tips:
Ardmona over Gig by 13 points
VT over Longwood by 50 points
Stanhope over Murch by 20 points
Nagamibe over Undera by 10 points
Lanky over Rushy by 5 points

Ican assure you he wont be in Stanhopes !!Of course he wont be at lancy why should he Tommy will make up his mind very
soon he met with a gvl club last night and that club will win his services The lad is a gun he would have to be a chance for the medal!!

Yeah true that swoop, but I might re-pay Besty the favour & poach a few of his young guns out to Lanky.... :D

Interesting results. Just a goal between Stanhope and Murchison and finals aspirants Lancaster getting home by seven points against Rushworth. Given Murchison are fifth, is there much between the top six on any individual team's day? Can't see Lancaster being a chance even if they make it, Rushworth have been badly depleted by injury and the Wombats apparently almost coughed it up.