Food, Drink & Dining Out Kebabs

• Thread starter Thread starter porksy

I used to often buy them at Istanbul Cafe in Northbridge, that was quite a few years ago though..

We headed west to Perff for footy trip last year, and I think I may have stumbled across this joint , is it licenced out the back? Anyway, after we canned on at the E & W, we found this place....and he asked if I wanted an egg on mine! An EGG! Yes I want an egg, and fetch me one of those Becks my good man. Delightful.

Golden Grill (38 Station Place, Werribee, VIC) 2.5 stars
Customer service is great, but it all goes downhill from here. They're pricey, their meat is definitely not fresh and their kebabs are way too bitter/salty. Also used to be good.
Ken's Kebabs (Station Rd, Deer Park, VIC) 3 stars
The kebabs are real nice, the prices aren't bad and I like how they don't wrap kebabs in foil. Saves me a whole lot of mess. I'd probably have this place at 4 stars if it weren't for the effhead who works the caravan. Me and my older brother went to grab a bite from this place, and the first thing the idiot says to us is "Why did you come here? Couldn't you have just cooked a home meal?". Er, we came here to give bludgers like you running water. Dick. Don't bring your wives/girlfriends there either, because the idiot likes to hit on them.
Anyway, I didn't have a kebab last week, so I'm well overdue. Suggestions?[/quote]

Pretty stiff Op had a Kebab from these guys Thursday night still hit the spot and one of the better places around

Went to Alyssas last night for a sit down meal - it left a lot to be deserved.
I was holding out all day for my kebab fix and they missed the mark. Didn't have the love that you need in a kebab.
Free turkish bread was handy though.

If you're ever in Sunbury try out Cheeky Kebabs, often go out of my way for a cheeky kebab. Theres a Mr Happy in a van type setup at a BP on Bell St which (imo) do really good $6 kebabs. Alasya's is great. Back in the day I loved My Funny on sydney rd but the kebab station a few stores down was even better imo.

Was up in Sydney a couple of weeks ago - what is with the kebabs up there? Couldn't get a lamb kebab at all. It was either chicken or mixed. Ridiculous.

Best kebabs are in Beirut.

/Flog

All the kebabs I had in London were awful. I hate the way they serve them over there too, opened up rather than wrapped up in a roll, makes it much harder to eat them, especially when you're pissed. There was a kebab place around the corner from where I lived in Acton which did horrendous kebabs, couldn't even tell what sort of meat was in them, it was like spam and they always gave you bad indigestion and heartburn. I still ended up getting one almost every time I walked home from the pub though as it was the only place open late at night and then I always regretted it later.

Cosmos kebabs in Leedervile are the best kebabs I've had here but most kebab places here are pretty good compared to the ones I went to in London.

UK kebabs are shit. And they usually give them to you in a horrible styrofoam box that makes them sweaty and even worse.

Anyone know what happened to the Mr Funny that used to be on Spencer St in West Melbourne, across from the Spencer hotel?

AKA Mr Furry?

(This is how the sign looked from a distance when one had taken some drink?)

He moved away when the Spencer closed.

Crying shame. Is literally two blocks from my joint. I could go one right now.

UK kebabs are shit. And they usually give them to you in a horrible styrofoam box that makes them sweaty and even worse.
Across the road from the Compleat Angler in Marlow, great Kebab van, used to serve it in two paper bags, one for the kebab and the other for the salad, best babbys I ever had in the UK.

Perth people. Ever had one of the abominations across the road from the Paddo?

Absolute chunk of death. Only ever had one after about 25 pints.

Great when pissed but I imagine they'd be horrible sober.

Been there a few times after a night at the Paddo, their kebabs tasted alright from memory but I've always been so hammered that anything would taste good. That place must do a roaring trade on Friday and Saturday nights, it's a magnet for drunks staggering out of the Paddo at the end of the night.

You never walk out of the Paddo anything other than completely legless. I lived in MH for four years and the Paddo pretty much became my home. The place is poisonous.

And those kebabs are hideous. Perfect blind food.

You never walk out of the Paddo anything other than completely legless. I lived in MH for four years and the Paddo pretty much became my home. The place is poisonous.

And those kebabs are hideous. Perfect blind food.

I used to live in Leederville within walking distance of the Paddo so spent a fair bit of time there too as well as the Leederville Hotel and the Hip-E Club which usually involved a stop off at Cosmos Kebabs at the end of the night to get a kebab for the walk/stagger home.

Ah yes, Cosmos is actually a decent kebab. Sloppy but really enjoyable, though may give you the shits, kind of like the women that you generally drag out of the hip-e club as well.

Yeah they do good kebabs there, the place is always packed on Friday and Saturday nights. If you didn't pick up at the Leederville or the Hip E Club you could usually pick up there while waiting for your kebab.