Prodigal Sons

There's plenty of praise being heaped on the boys and deservedly so. Two 10 goal wins against good opposition is a good start to the season.

Let's all make a real effort not to get sucked in by the hype - it's round two and we've won a few short races but it's early days in the marathon.

I see on the GFC website game review that Dean Laidley says Geelong are;

1/ "best in the competition at contested football
2/ "the team that will win the premiership"

Great compliments but bloody early days I reckon and a long long way to go.

PLEASE KEEP A LID ON IT CATS FANS - NO ONE LIKES COCKY SUPPORTERS - ESPECIALLY AFTER ROUND TWO. WHEN I FEEL LIKE I'M GETTING AHEAD OF MYSELF I JUST THINK ABOUT THE DARK DAYS AS WE WERE RE-BUILDING THIS GREAT SIDE.

GO CATS !!!!!!

totally agree prodigal... the premiership isn't won in april after all. I think Laidley only made those comments about Geelong in an effort to deflect attention from his own side's insipid performance after half time.
Next week against Hawthorn will be a test imo as in the past the cats have played brillantly one week then lost the following round against a team they're expected to beat convincingly. If we dispose of the Hawks as we should than I'll be really struggling to keep my excitement in check.

---------------
Lem... Lem I'm sorry, but you know I had to right man? Lem I'm so sorry man... oh God I'm sorry--- Shane Vendrell

R.I.P Curtis Lemansky

Anyone remember the form Melbourne were in Rds 1 - 4 last year?

My tip to Cats fans is only talk us up with other Cats fans. There is no place for spruiking to supporters from other clubs. Be humble.

We have been waiting too long to assume that any sucess is guaranteed.

I disagree.

Talk it up, we are playing good footy and knowing Geelong we can do a 180 at any stage... talk it up whilst we are going great.

Soupy said:
I disagree.

Talk it up, we are playing good footy and knowing Geelong we can do a 180 at any stage... talk it up whilst we are going great.

By doing a 180 I guess you mean loosing a couple. Make no mistake we will loose games. Every game is a tough one. Freo last year at home for example. They had some tactics that did us on the day.

Its how we react as supporters that is important. I have enough faith in the list and the coaches to talk us up more after a loss. In most case we learn more from a loss and it gives the coaches a focus on to further develop the team.

I reckon the "knowing Geelong" you are talking about is happening less and less. Last years loss to Essendon I would classify as this "old" Geelong - just playing poorly to loose a game we should win.

Most of our other losses came with bouts of injury or particularly good play or tactics by the opposition.

Keep the faith - win or loss.

But arrogant supporters from any club on a roll never goes down well - because every team on a roll eventually looses.

Agreed. The last thing we need to do is become like Eagles supporters from last year, thinking the cup was in the bag after round 12.

It's fantastic to see the boys in such great form but it only takes a small change in momentum for things to go pear shaped. Doesn't mean we shouldn't enjoy it while we're on top, though!

I would think we all know how quickly things can change in football and moreso supporting Geelong and all the disappointment we've had over the years that we wouldn't dare get ahead of ourselves.

It is amazing how a few big wins can make you feel though!

I agree with Kent being the only exception. The Saints, Eagles and Crows have gone on big winning runs the last two seasons and between them have a premiership total of 0.

Lol, i was wondering when this thread would come up! (it can be our new slogan, along with my own personal favourite one "Operation payback!")

To be honest i agree on keeping it all quiet (although how quiet can you be when you're ON TOP OF THE LADDER! :thumbsu: )... the quieter it all is the least the other clubs are 'on to you"

And the last thing in the WORLD id want, would be is for us to become arrogant. I mean i did avoid barracking for Essendon for a reason. :D

Enjoy the ride while it lasts, but the scariest thing is injuries. The damn curse can strike you down anywhere at anytime. Its only round two peoples!! There is a loooooonnnng way to go yet!

This is how I see it.

2004 was our breakout season. I secretly hoped for a top 8 finis but never believe bar a fairytale that we could win the flag

2005 I still didnt think we had the best list in the league. I thought we were pulling close to teams like Brisbane, Port but actually thought Sydney would go close with the Saints the standout team

2006 I honestly think we have the best list. I havent thought that for a long long time. But I think our best 22, 25-28 are the best in the league BAR NONE. Now I am in the USA this year so I dont have many people to preach to and be cocky too but I honesly believe that we havent had an oportunity like this in a LONG LONG TIME. We have the best, most even list in the league there is no doubt in my mind of that. If the best team wins it this year it will be Geelong, COCKY AS F*CK but I think it is true. Not I know a lot can happen and lets not get carried away this is a marathon not a sprint but if we stay fit and on the park we can sprint through this marathon. Years of being a Geelong fan should have prepared me for this but I cant help feeling excited, because this year I look upon our boys and see a side that is crazy, ruthless, tough, hardworking and DEPSPERATE.

Saints - still out biggest threat but lacking depth in their ruck, midfield and backline. With a guy like Kosi they rob peter to pay paul choosing to play him in the ruck over CHB/CHF. I have no dout our boys can destory pecket, thompson and even the Great Harvey. I think our forward line is to multi pronged for their defence. They struggled to keep the eagles in check

Eagles - brilliant midfield. Dont have the utilities we do. Their midfielders are fine but cant go forward and back like the two Coreys. Players like Mooney and Milburn, they just dont have them. They lack the roational power of Geelong

Adelaide - most like us, multipronged, hard working, hard to match up on. Not to sure of they have the overall class.

Bulldogs - Its easy to be fast and skillfull when you are not playing bigger bodies. Will be interesting to see how they go when they have some big tough boys like Rooke tagging them. I think they are a coupleof years away, I dont know if they can go all the way in their first big year.

Thats it.

I just think we have it over these teams. We are primed, ready and I am going to enjoy the ride and get excited as ********.

Agree that we need to keep a lid on it because there's just so far to go.

However, doesn't mean we can't enjoy ourselves while our team are playing like millionaires. We've all been through enough tough times to give us the right to soak it up in a time like this.

The key is to not get ahead of ourselves. We will lose at some stage, that's inevitable. Don't get cocky. Quietly confident is the key!

d_henderson1810 said:
I'll keep a lid on it at the moment, but if we win the premiership, that lid will explode and I'll be cocky about it months on end.:)

Years