Keep North Melbourne in North Melbourne!

Another myth. It aint the lack of effort from supporters. Moreso a lack of vision and leadership from a handful of faceless & incompetent men who have ruled the club.

FWIW - using last year we had 28% of our home games (plus 2 x NAB Cup fixtures) played interstate.

Next year 36% of our home games are being played interstate. For 9 frigging years we've had to endure being half pregnant with this ridiculous hybrid mix of home games being played intersate.

When you take into account that our memberships aren't discounted for the lack of Melbourne home games (our memberships cost as much as yours), it's a bloody miracle and only due to the loyalty of our supporters that we have 22K members.

Give us 11 home games in Melbourne and we'd be nudging 30K without too much trouble.

Good point there Lidge!!

I've been on the fence on this issue and, at my own admission, have not looked much further into it than the odd article written by gravy trainers in the HS and Age.

My opinion has been that Victoria as a state simply can't support 10 local teams and, really, a couple of them should go. Perhaps Hawks to Tassie and Kangas to GC.

That said, after reading above... I tend to agree with you that the GC just isn't ready for a full AFL outfitted team. They don't have a passion or love for the game. They're very, very feedble supporters at best. If the Kangas are not winning people will be off the wagon in very fast time! In Melbourne at least the club has passionate supporters who will support no matter what.

Why would a GC Roos member continue supporting their 'new' club should it suck? There's no reason... and no passion built up.

I also agree with you Lidge on Southport Sharks. Having family on the coast I've been to the Sharks venue many, many times and am actually a current member! It's a well laid-out venue and has TV's and a good sportsmans bar... but is ultimately a parma palace and pokies venue.

It's NOT a full-on footy club, not like we know here in Melbourne. I actually think the AFL should accept Southport Sharks as a new franchise team. At least in this the GC community would get behind them as they are a part of the soil and have been since day1.

I don't know the answer, I hardly know the question.... but what I do know is that the Roos are getting a preety raw deal and usually in cases like this the AFL have already made their decision and it's a matter of how they go about selling that decision as opposed to giving options per se. If the AFL have their mind made up, nothing will change it.

Good point there Lidge!!

I've been on the fence on this issue and, at my own admission, have not looked much further into it than the odd article written by gravy trainers in the HS and Age.

My opinion has been that Victoria as a state simply can't support 10 local teams and, really, a couple of them should go. Perhaps Hawks to Tassie and Kangas to GC.

That said, after reading above... I tend to agree with you that the GC just isn't ready for a full AFL outfitted team. They don't have a passion or love for the game. They're very, very feedble supporters at best. If the Kangas are not winning people will be off the wagon in very fast time! In Melbourne at least the club has passionate supporters who will support no matter what.

Why would a GC Roos member continue supporting their 'new' club should it suck? There's no reason... and no passion built up.

I also agree with you Lidge on Southport Sharks. Having family on the coast I've been to the Sharks venue many, many times and am actually a current member! It's a well laid-out venue and has TV's and a good sportsmans bar... but is ultimately a parma palace and pokies venue.

It's NOT a full-on footy club, not like we know here in Melbourne. I actually think the AFL should accept Southport Sharks as a new franchise team. At least in this the GC community would get behind them as they are a part of the soil and have been since day1.

I don't know the answer, I hardly know the question.... but what I do know is that the Roos are getting a preety raw deal and usually in cases like this the AFL have already made their decision and it's a matter of how they go about selling that decision as opposed to giving options per se. If the AFL have their mind made up, nothing will change it.

well said ari, the question I have is who is North Melbourne, I thought that they changed their name to the Kangaroos and that was to get a more national following, like the western bulldogs. The Kangaroos have just been wanting handouts from the AFL for ages, they really dont have a choice, if they move their culture will stay like the swans, if they dont their money source will slowly dry up and you might find them merging with the gold coast side like the lions did with the bears.

There are no real options unless they can find heaps of money and not just for the one year, continuously

Another myth. It aint the lack of effort from supporters. Moreso a lack of vision and leadership from a handful of faceless & incompetent men who have ruled the club.

FWIW - using last year we had 28% of our home games (plus 2 x NAB Cup fixtures) played interstate.

Next year 36% of our home games are being played interstate. For 9 frigging years we've had to endure being half pregnant with this ridiculous hybrid mix of home games being played intersate.

When you take into account that our memberships aren't discounted for the lack of Melbourne home games (our memberships cost as much as yours), it's a bloody miracle and only due to the loyalty of our supporters that we have 22K members.

Give us 11 home games in Melbourne and we'd be nudging 30K without too much trouble.

If it isn't lack of effort from supporters why is your membership so low? Why are your attendances so low? It's not a bloody miracle at all.
Do you get compensation away games on your membership to make up for the interstate home games you miss like Hawthorn? If not that is pretty poor. Unfortunately a second rate Sheffield Shield cricketer isn't going to save you.