Universal Love Keith Thomas

The latest from Casual Keith.
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-05-01/from-the-ceo-may-1

Dear members and supporters,

Earlier this week, I reminded Ken of an infamous moment he and I shared way back in 1988.

As two young, less than influential, members of the mighty Fitzroy side, we were invited to attend a special team meeting called by our legendary coach David Parkin.

Having cleaned up our first six highly fancied opponents, Parko felt that the time was right to inform the playing group that he felt that this team was capable of achieving premiership success.

He would recall many years later, that it was the first time in his illustrious career that he had ever been so bold in sharing his predictions with a playing group. If memory serves me correctly, Fitzroy abruptly lost the next nine games and didn’t even contest the finals series that year! Parko to this day considers it the worst coaching blunder of his entire career.

Needless to say, Ken hasn’t forgotten the moment either!

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2014-05-01/from-the-ceo-may-1

mods i couldn't find an ongoing message from the CEO thread so if you feel this should be moved then do so. But just got this long email message for the casual one. The first few paragraphs are worth getting down, especially for those who like lids being place on it. I assume the link to the website will be up soon

Dear members and supporters,

Earlier this week, I reminded Ken of an infamous moment he and I shared way back in 1988.

As two young, less than influential, members of the mighty Fitzroy side, we were invited to attend a special team meeting called by our legendary coach David Parkin.

Having cleaned up our first six highly fancied opponents, Parko felt that the time was right to inform the playing group that he felt that this team was capable of achieving premiership success.

He would recall many years later, that it was the first time in his illustrious career that he had ever been so bold in sharing his predictions with a playing group. If memory serves me correctly, Fitzroy abruptly lost the next nine games and didn’t even contest the finals series that year! Parko to this day considers it the worst coaching blunder of his entire career.

Needless to say, Ken hasn’t forgotten the moment either!

It does amuse me a little to hear all of the chatter around our likely prospects this year. I guarantee you, the playing and coaching group are the absolute best people to stay grounded and in the moment. And whilst I seem to remember Ken often falling asleep in team meetings in the old Fitzroy days, I’m sure he learnt enough back then to ensure that he has the boys singularly focussed on the difficult task of GWS in Canberra this weekend!

Hasn’t the Adelaide Oval experience been just superb?

Hats off to our events team who have nailed the pre-game entertainment with the March from the Mall, team entry (Not Giving In by Rudimental - listen here) and ‘Never Tear Us Apart’ moments being the major highlights for me. I hope you are enjoying it as well.

The boys have been simply outstanding in all three home games, but what about that crowd!!

The players are telling us that they have never felt such powerful energy from our home crowd, and it is definitely having a serious impact on our performance. The combination of a team playing exciting, full-blooded footy with a passionate, loud, full stadium behind them is fast becoming the talk of the nation. We have been out there saying that we have the most engaged supporters in the competition, and every Port Adelaide weekend at Adelaide Oval has simply served to hammer home that claim. Long may it continue!

Idea was right, execution was diabolical.
I'll leave that for others to judge, although I did find the random capitalisation and emboldening of words distracting.;)
I'm all for enjoying the special moments that rounds 1-6 have brought, but am desperate for it to continue right through this season and those to come.
Back slapping is great and fun for us supporters to engage in and enjoy from the national media coverage, as long as the players stay focused.

mods i couldn't find an ongoing message from the CEO thread so if you feel this should be moved then do so. But just got this long email message for the casual one. The first few paragraphs are worth getting down, especially for those who like lids being place on it. I assume the link to the website will be up soon

Umm yeah, two posts before yours. ;)

Lid Firmly Screwed on as it should be

This was made clear by Ken Hinkley after the Geelong game

Ken Hinkley press conferene
"People want to mark us on 'our start to the season has been really strong’ … and it has us up the top, so it puts us in a good position," Hinkley said.

"But we have to defend that now.

"Great sides like Geelong and Hawthorn do it all year, we've still got to do that and that's what we're setting out on next week [against Greater Western Sydney]."
Ken Hinkley press conferene

No one was criticising the message I think more the rumours and innuendo
The execution was diabolical and I am very embarrassed.

What I passed on were not rumours. I witnessed the goings on but as I said, I should have kept me gob shut and just posted the initial post and let it be.

I'm more than pleased with what Keith Thomas emailed/put in the public domain and that's the end of it.

What I passed on were not rumours. I witnessed the goings on but as I said, I should have kept me gob shut and just posted the initial post and let it be.

I'm more than pleased with what Keith Thomas emailed/put in the public domain and that's the end of it.

STOP DIGGING!!!! :D

KT's memory is failing him, or he's taking some liberties here. this doesn't match up with fitzroy's '88 season at all. nor '87, the other year KT and hinkley were there. not even close, really...

http://afltables.com/afl/teams/fitzroy/allgames.html#1988

W-L-L-L-L-L-W-L-L-W-L-W-L-L-W-L-W-L-L-L-W-L

L-W-W-W-L-L-W-W-L-L-L-L-L-W-L-L-W-W-L-L-L-L

'87 seems closest. being up 5-3, then losing five in a row

Not you mate....just the way the way it evolved its not a big issue...we as fans just trust kt and kern to tbe job and they havent given us a reason not too....

With the latest message kt put out ...I think we are good

I feel secure in the knowledge that Keith Thomas is the CEO of our club. Could not be in better hands, really.
I fear that clubs like Melbourne and Brissie would like to get their hands on KT and the AFL would probably subsidise in part. Oh how the cows would love to have KT but I really can never see that one happening.

You severely underestimate KT's integrity and commitment to the cause.

If you heard KT's speech at the club 1870 event on the 16th he ain't going to another AFL club and Kochie wont let him go. HQ might be calling for a job there ( not at another AFL club) but that might be awhile yet as Port haven't started making a profit yet.

KT's memory is failing him, or he's taking some liberties here. this doesn't match up with fitzroy's '88 season at all. nor '87, the other year KT and hinkley were there. not even close, really...

http://afltables.com/afl/teams/fitzroy/allgames.html#1988

W-L-L-L-L-L-W-L-L-W-L-W-L-L-W-L-W-L-L-L-W-L

L-W-W-W-L-L-W-W-L-L-L-L-L-W-L-L-W-W-L-L-L-L

'87 seems closest. being up 5-3, then losing five in a row

KT casually rounded up

You severely underestimate KT's integrity and commitment to the cause.
Yep, even if he was willing to go elsewhere I don't think it'd be until we've got a flag and he's put all the systems in place that he'd have confidence the next person wouldn't have to start from scratch again.

IF Keith Thomas goes anywhere in the future it will be to a big job at AFL House, not to another club.

To make myself clearer I don't actually think that KT is going to go anywhere, I just don't even like other clubs thinking of trying to get him - he's our I tells ya!!

KT won't go anywhere unless it is somewhere at AFL house and even then, Bucky Cunningham didn't do/want that!

pretty sure that KT's journey at the PAFC has only just begun, he wouldn't move on to the next challenge until the PAFC were a powerhouse on and off the field.

Universal Love Keith Thomas