Kernahan hits back!

• Thread starter Thread starter choo

Maybe Sticks likes the system Ratts has going, if not the results and has some belief in him?

Maybe he sees him as a version of Bomber Thompson circa 2006, when Bomber's head was close to the chopping block? That Cats side in 2006 didn't quite have the injuries we have now but there were some ordinary performances from lesserlights like Bartel, Ablett Jr, Corey, Chapman, Kelly, Ottens, Mooney and you could go on.

I was just looking at one bad loss to the Hawks who ultimately finished lower than the Cats on the ladder where 17 eventual premiership players went down meekly.

Not saying this is what we will do, but we should always entertain these things. Nothing sure in this game.

Ok. But why?

The affairs of other clubs are no business of club presidents. Did you ever see Frank Costa giving his thoughts on other clubs? How about David Smorgon, or the late Jim Stynes?

McGuire uses his role in the media to take pot shots at other clubs (who can forget his eagerness to break scandals about other AFL clubs on the Footy Show). Yet the minute someone tries to return serve at the Magpies, McGuire starts frothing at the mouth & making threats to those who dare to challenge his club.

Doesn't change the fact that all we've had for 2 months is talk about what we need to do, followed by the same weak actions that led to the talk in the first place.

Don't really care. Sticks can only control what he can control. He can't play the game for the players, he can't stop injuries. We have 26 fit players available so people wanting Gibbs, Garlett and co to be dropped are being unrealistic.

I'm just glad to see some fight in the big man.

Maybe Sticks likes the system Ratts has going, if not the results and has some belief in him?

Maybe he sees him as a version of Bomber Thompson circa 2006, when Bomber's head was close to the chopping block? That Cats side in 2006 didn't quite have the injuries we have now but there were some ordinary performances from lesserlights like Bartel, Ablett Jr, Corey, Chapman, Kelly, Ottens, Mooney and you could go on.

I was just looking at one bad loss to the Hawks who ultimately finished lower than the Cats on the ladder where 17 eventual premiership players went down meekly.

Not saying this is what we will do, but we should always entertain these things. Nothing sure in this game.

Or maybe he is saving a great mate, he is in a terrible position he loves ratten but ......

The affairs of other clubs are no business of club presidents. Did you ever see Frank Costa giving his thoughts on other clubs? How about David Smorgon, or the late Jim Stynes?

McGuire uses his role in the media to take pot shots at other clubs (who can forget his eagerness to break scandals about other AFL clubs on the Footy Show). Yet the minute someone tries to return serve at the Magpies, McGuire starts frothing at the mouth & making threats to those who dare to challenge his club.

Agreed McGuire is a tool but he is one amazing president.

I'm just glad to see some fight in the big man.

As we all should be. Ratts has been attacked these last few days, and I've noticed a few have had a crack at Sticks' credentials as president also.

I'll say this, he ain't a 'leader of industry' like people have said the prez needs to be, but his blood is navy blue and he will ALWAYS put the club first, regardless of friendships. He'll do the right thing if it comes to that.

Or maybe he is saving a great mate, he is in a terrible position he loves ratten but ......

Maybe, maybe not, but here's the rub BRIB ... I love the club, I love its representatives and I support them unconditionally until they give me sufficient reason not to. Always err on the side of support, as hard as that might be sometimes. Believe me, I have some choice words to say in private and have been as hurt by the way this season is headed as the next supporter.

I don't know what is said behind closed doors, don't know what they have tried and not tried, don't know whether this is an aberration or not, don't know whether this list is the right one or not. That is why we employ people with football knowledge to work on these things. I'm fully aware that my opinions are just that, opinions, and really hope that the club pay my football opinions no heed if they think they know better.

Why can't presidents have an opinion? Put the pot shots on Eddie aside for a minute and answer the question.

They can have an opinion but expressing them about other clubs through the media is inappropriate and undignified when it has nothing to do with you. He knows different behind closed doors but is fuelling speculation that could destabilise our club.

Worse still, he does this under the guise of his media role as though he has no particular biases.

Does CarltonFan even follow Carlton?

All he does here is praise the bogan club that still can't get over Carlton putting them in their rightful place.

“Eddie knows very clearly my stance on this matter. This is not the first time I have had to remind him to refrain from making such comments about our Club, I hope it is the last,” said Kernahan.

481024-eddie-mcguire.jpg

Glad we're not talking to Malthouse - would be the Dennis Pagan scenario all over again.

Paul Roos on the other hand - make it happen Jeannie Pratt!

Malthouse will be 59 next year and has been coaching since 1984.

How many more years do you think he will have a passion for the game?

Malthouse would be a bandaid fix.

Paul Roos is our man, over a decade younger, just as highly regarded and has a reputation for always getting 100% out of his list.

Malthouse will be 59 next year and has been coaching since 1984.

How many more years do you think he will have a passion for the game?

Malthouse would be a bandaid fix.

Paul Roos is our man, over a decade younger, just as highly regarded and has a reputation for always getting 100% out of his list.

Fair points, but I don't think he's the type of bloke who would commit unless he was sure he was 100% prepared to totally invest in what he was doing; I'm pretty sure he wouldn't just use us as a superannuation fund.

The game certainly hasn't gone past him. Moot discussion anyway. We have a coach.

Its clear he has the passion right now. But what about in 2013 when he hits 60? 2014? 2015?

How many more years do we realistically think he could coach for? We'll be searching for yet another coach in a couple of years.

The only reason we should be marching Ratten out is if there is another option who is too good to refuse. Paul Roos is the only man I can think of who would fill that criteria.

Its clear he has the passion right now. But what about in 2013 when he hits 60? 2014? 2015?

How many more years do we realistically think he could coach for? We'll be searching for yet another coach in a couple of years.

The only reason we should be marching Ratten out is if there is another option who is too good to refuse. Paul Roos is the only man I can think of who would fill that criteria.

Dunno if we'll see eye-to-eye on this one. The way I look at it, what's the difference between 59 and 66?

I'm sure it would come up if and when they ever talk to him about it. Like I said, Ratts is our coach until Twitter tells me otherwise...:thumbsu:

They can have an opinion but expressing them about other clubs through the media is inappropriate and undignified when it has nothing to do with you. He knows different behind closed doors but is fuelling speculation that could destabilise our club.

Worse still, he does this under the guise of his media role as though he has no particular biases.

Cool. I disagree with that philosophy though. the idea that you have to be involved with a group before you can have an opinion on that group to me doesn't make real sense.

Does CarltonFan even follow Carlton?

All he does here is praise the bogan club that still can't get over Carlton putting them in their rightful place.

Not sure if serious.

I can comfortably praise our rivals and ask our club to learn from the benchmark... whether that be collingwood, eagles or crows etc...

Our recruiting has and continues to be poor compared to the best, our coaching is average and our off field leadership needs big improvement.

This Friday in the rooms before the game... I hope Sticks is allowed to speak to the group! Then bring in Barassi for the game against Collingwood.... I think maybe some of our legends coming in and showing some faith to the boys is something we need.... Times like these the cultural leaders of our successful past needs to stick their head in and help with spirit.

Getting in Paul Roos would be a great idea. He could implement a game plan where we bore the opposition to death, all the spectators could get a 2 hour snooze in and then wake up refreshed in time to go home. Brilliant!

Cool. I disagree with that philosophy though. the idea that you have to be involved with a group before you can have an opinion on that group to me doesn't make real sense.

I have a friend ... nice guy, decent earner, bit of a romantic at heart, great sense of humour, and has been involved in some cracker relationships in the past and if he is interested, I reckon your missus is an attractive proposition for him and she could certainly cater to his needs if he feels like a bit of a romp.

Just an opinion though. Hope neither you, your missus, your kids or respective families take offense to me saying so.

Journos do this all the time of course, but at least they have no conflict of interest in destabilising others.

All i can say is, This friday night will reveal all. Players are backing the coach and putting it on themselves all week .......so they should be coming out against the cats with a loaded gun, bullet of intensity, bullet of hunger, bullet of aggression, A BULLET OF EFFORT......if they don't and they serve up the same shit they have the last month and get flogged......Well