Kerr

• Thread starter Thread starter Woodstock

listen dippy, the last 10 trade periods had one thing in common. They didnt have GC in the next 5 trade periods, fool.
The GC factor is over-stated.

Firstly, the 2009 won't be gutted. It will be a bit more shallow, but the first round will still have some quality. The age of eligibility will be lifted, but that doesn't mean the top 16 picks aren't going to be any good.

Secondly, the GC side will have plenty of draft picks when they come in, but they sure as hell won't be using them all. They'll be trading plenty of them, so clubs will still be able to have a presence in the early stages of the 2010 draft.

I agree totally.
west coast supporters are still devistated of their fall from glory.
hahaha hahaha hahha
Yeah - our three flags in the last 16 years were really hard to stomach.

Tigers fans don't have to worry about falling from glory.

I agree totally.
west coast supporters are still devistated of their fall from glory.
hahaha hahaha hahha
Hey at least we hav had glory in the last 20 years.
And btw learn to spell devestated.
And that was a completely irrelevant post anyway.

Matthew Richardson didnt deserve to come third
And Kane Johnson is a terrible player, can't use the ball at all.

hey mate,
for a start sweet name! hahahahahaha
just have a look at our premiership cabinet.
have A MARVEL AT THAT!!!
Yeah great - a bunch of premierships from a generation ago.

Were you even alive when the Tigers won their last flag?

I don't really see the point in getting into an Eagles v Tigers slanging match. It's not much of a contest.

WC are a successful club. Richmond aren't. What else needs to be said?

This thread is about Kerr. I'd prefer to stay on topic.

The GC factor is over-stated.

Firstly, the 2009 won't be gutted. It will be a bit more shallow, but the first round will still have some quality. The age of eligibility will be lifted, but that doesn't mean the top 16 picks aren't going to be any good.

Secondly, the GC side will have plenty of draft picks when they come in, but they sure as hell won't be using them all. They'll be trading plenty of them, so clubs will still be able to have a presence in the early stages of the 2010 draft.

With all due respect dude your post, IMO is pure BS.
It doenst mean that the top 16 picks in 2009 arent going to be any good?.
So auto magically, the 2009 draft is going to have 16 good picks, when over the stretch all other preceding drafts have had the likes of Aaron Fioras and a cavalcade of failed duds, in the first 16?
Secondly, and i quote "But it is understood Gold Coast will be able to have first call on most of the country's best 17 and 18-year-olds in two years' time(2009) with picks 1,2,3,5,7,9,11,13 and 15 in the national draft likely to be handed to the league's 17th club."
Gold Coast would also get access to a maximum of one out-of-contract player from the other 16 clubs.

So tell us einstein, why would the GC need to trade draft picks, when they will have 16 number 1 picks, in the PSD if they need them? With one of them being the e-girls "out of contract" players.

Not to mention that if a deal isnt struck for Kerr this year, then hold on does that mean he is "OUT OF CONTRACT", next year? and who is the coach of GC? geee...lets put it this way, the e-girls are pretty well ****ed, caught between a rock and hard place as we speak. ;)

Yeah great - a bunch of premierships from a generation ago.

Were you even alive when the Tigers won their last flag?

I don't really see the point in getting into an Eagles v Tigers slanging match. It's not much of a contest.

WC are a successful club. Richmond aren't. What else needs to be said?

This thread is about Kerr. I'd prefer to stay on topic.

Pffft haha haha succesfull club????
Oh and by the way Gunnar Longshanks (haha Tool) you created these posts. stayin on topic pfft.. yeah good mate! good!
how about you go post on your own forum Gunnar Longshanks haha

If the Eagles don't get what they ask for Kerr then there is no reason for them to trade him at the end of this season. Next year G C 17 comes into the equation , and they look as if they will have a whole lot of early picks, as well as early picks in the PSD so, if Kerr wants to go to a Melbourne club ,they will be forced to trade with the Eagles next year, and offer a decent deal, or watch Kerr go to GC 17.

hey mate,
for a start sweet name! hahahahahaha
just have a look at our premiership cabinet.
have A MARVEL AT THAT!!!
Yeh pity u werent even born mate ;)
and real mature changing the subject to his name :rolleyes:
Its ok to be jealous that you have never seen ur side taste success while you have watched west coast do it 3 times in the last 16 years.
And i delibrately misspelt devasted to emphasise his.:eek:

word is that sydney are having a look at him
and with baz thinking ofgoing to go to the doggies then they have heaps of room in that massive cap that theyget up thier

With all due respect dude your post, IMO is pure BS.
It doenst mean that the top 16 picks in 2009 arent going to be any good?.
So auto magically, the 2009 draft is going to have 16 good picks, when over the stretch all other preceding drafts have had the likes of Aaron Fioras and a cavalcade of failed duds, in the first 16?
No draft automatically has 16 good picks.

My point is that the 2009 draft isn't going to be as vastly compromised as has been suggested.

You've argued that no clubs will trade a first rounder for Kerr this year because this is the last uncompromised draft. In reality, next year's draft will proceed as normal, admittedly with a little less depth.

So tell us einstein, why would the GC need to trade draft picks, when they will have 16 number 1 picks, in the PSD if they need them? ;)
Because they will likely want established players from other clubs who aren't out of contract.

How do you think they'll land an experienced marquee player without trading for him?

For example, they'll be in a position to offer St. Kilda two of those picks for Nick Riewoldt. Not saying that will happen, but that's the kind of deal the GC will be chasing, and the draft picks will give them plenty of bargaining chips.

If you reckon the GC will use all of those picks on draftees, you're clueless.

Not to mention that if a deal isnt struck for Kerr this year, then hold on does that mean he is "OUT OF CONTRACT", next year? and who is the coach of GC? geee...lets put it this way, the e-girls are pretty well ****ed, caught between a rock and hard place as we speak. ;)
Not really.

We either re-sign him in the next month, which I reckon is still the most likely outcome.

Or we trade him this year. And contrary to your extreme prediction, Kerr will fetch something quite useful, even with the GC looming.

Oh and by the way Gunnar Longshanks (haha Tool) you created these posts. stayin on topic pfft.. yeah good mate! good!
What is it with newbies and the typed-out laugh?

At some stage, you actually have to make a point.

Did you deliberately misspell 'deliberately'? And 'devastated' again?

If the Eagles don't get what they ask for Kerr then there is no reason for them to trade him at the end of this season. Next year G C 17 comes into the equation , and they look as if they will have a whole lot of early picks, as well as early picks in the PSD so, if Kerr wants to go to a Melbourne club ,they will be forced to trade with the Eagles next year, and offer a decent deal, or watch Kerr go to GC 17.
GC17 has no picks in the national draft next year!!
I have no intention of getting involved in this slanging match, just pointing out some inaccuracies. I think Kerr will fetch a first-rounder or sign a contract extension with West Coast.

Yeh pity u werent even born mate ;)
and real mature changing the subject to his name :rolleyes:
Its ok to be jealous that you have never seen ur side taste success while you have watched west coast do it 3 times in the last 16 years.

haha to emphasise his. sweet spelling by yourself.
Pitty west coast are going to have to wait 20 years before more success comes their way!!!:thumbsu:

Oh and you started these posts idiot when you brought west coast living in the old days up.
Again real mature to make fun of someones name, ur probably used to that after your parents named u after an actor pfft real original hahah. MATT DAMON! bet u hear that alot ay :rolleyes:

haha to emphasise his. sweet spelling by yourself.
Pitty west coast are going to have to wait 20 years before more success comes their way!!!:thumbsu:
Think you have west coast mixed up with richmond
Lol 20 years pretty sure 5-10 mate before west coast are back on top and in premiership contention.
Have on doubt we will win another flag before richmond mate :thumbsu:

Lets stop with the childish crap will we?

No draft automatically has 16 good picks.

My point is that the 2009 draft isn't going to be as vastly compromised as has been suggested.

You've argued that no clubs will trade a first rounder for Kerr this year because this is the last uncompromised draft. In reality, next year's draft will proceed as normal, admittedly with a little less depth.

I think the big deal with the draft is that clubs are developing premiership teams with draft picks. Hawthorn have built a team in 4 years with nothing but draft picks, and so many teams want to emulate this. I think sides are hesitant in trading picks because we want to have a balance of age on our list, and keep the youth coming through. I disagree with this, because we have so many untried kids on our list, that we could survive a draft. Wouldnt seeing improvement from players like Meyer, Graham and Gourdis emulate what we would from new draftees?

Because they will likely want established players from other clubs who aren't out of contract.

How do you think they'll land an experienced marquee player without trading for him?

For example, they'll be in a position to offer St. Kilda two of those picks for Nick Riewoldt. Not saying that will happen, but that's the kind of deal the GC will be chasing, and the draft picks will give them plenty of bargaining chips.

If you reckon the GC will use all of those picks on draftees, you're clueless.

Completley agree, Gold Coast will only be immediatley succesful if they can get some established players. The amount of draft picks they have will be a bargaining tool.

Not really.

We either re-sign him in the next month, which I reckon is still the most likely outcome.

Or we trade him this year. And contrary to your extreme prediction, Kerr will fetch something quite useful, even with the GC looming.

Thats if he wants to resign, which is very possible BUT, this whole thread is operating on the assumption that he dosent, so we should assume that for now when discussing it.

If he dosent, you can either trade him this year, or run the risk of him running out on you next year. Its ok to start with a bit of hardball, but if you ask for too much, nobody will bite. Its just to much of a risk for some clubs, i know all draft picks are a risk, but you at least can get 12-15 years out of them, Kerr is in his mid twenties, so you will only get 5 or 6 years out of him. I understand how good Kerr is, ive been one of the people campaigning in getting Kerr on this board, BUT, i can understand why people dont want to go for him, and I unfortunatley think this is the attitude our club will take. :thumbsu:

Thats if he wants to resign, which is very possible BUT, this whole thread is operating on the assumption that he dosent, so we should assume that for now when discussing it.

If he dosent, you can either trade him this year, or run the risk of him running out on you next year. Its ok to start with a bit of hardball, but if you ask for too much, nobody will bite. Its just to much of a risk for some clubs, i know all draft picks are a risk, but you at least can get 12-15 years out of them, Kerr is in his mid twenties, so you will only get 5 or 6 years out of him. I understand how good Kerr is, ive been one of the people campaigning in getting Kerr on this board, BUT, i can understand why people dont want to go for him, and I unfortunatley think this is the attitude our club will take. :thumbsu:
That's fine.

All I've taken umbrage with is the suggestion that, should Kerr be traded this year, he wouldn't fetch a first rounder.

I think that's a ridiculous claim to make.

I would love to see Daniel Kerr in a Richmond Jumper, He is a ver y good midfielder. Why wouldn't have him in your side. He has finals experience. Thats who need a Daniel Kerr.
My opinion give Jarrod Oaklley Nicholls to West Coast for Kerr.