Key Forward

Love the fact that they've pulled the gun on all the worthwhile local talls in the draft, and now there no talent to actually gain contested possession or feed it to them. Sucked in.

Now we just need to strip them away fully developed while the scum fester at the bottom of the ladder.

Another interesting one coming out of contract is Leuenberger, particularly if the club believes that Clarke will want to go elsewhere. Whilst I didn't see the Brisbane game this weekend, it would seem that Leuenberger played well when playing as a key forward. Being 24, he will be coming into his prime.

One big problem: he reckons he is loyal to the Lions: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-04-29/lion-to-stay-loyal

Either trade for a top 5k and try to get Boyd (better than Patton) or hope we get someone like Mitch Harvey (SA, 196cm, 104kg) or Cam Conlon in the first/second round.

Free agent target: Harry T, Franklin.

Offer big bucks to someone like A Black to return here.

I saw that we sent our recruiters to the US Combine. Looks like we are searching high and wide for a KPP. Should also have a look at NZ. Over 35k kids playing footy there in probably the strongest comp outside Australia. Lots of athletic freaks there also. Some reckon that Agape Patolo (197cm ruckman/athletic freak/former rugby player, could probably play forward) may be a first round pick. The Hawks Kurt Heatherley is rated possible first round (injured).
Con the Fruiterer's daughter? :p

just massive

most of the sas guys who I met whilst in the military were 175-180cm. this guy is an absolute monster.

Yep, he is a monster for spec ops - most are as you say average or below in height, but with great endurance aerobic and relative strength for their size, apart from leadership and skills they learn. Ben is an exception in size - damn, he would perfect power forward - absolutely scare the living daylight out of any opposition based on size and reputation.

What's your point?

The fact that it is even being talked about is telling.

That game is the exception that proves the rule.

Buddy is a hot and cold player .

The good backs draw him up the field and run him around which gets him upset just as Elvis does .

With all the talk of how great he is I would rather go for Taylor who stays cool under pressure and can play both ends as a swingman the same as Elvis and he would cost us less

The good backs draw him up the field and run him around which gets him upset just as Elvis does .

With all the talk of how great he is I would rather go for Taylor who stays cool under pressure and can play both ends as a swingman the same as Elvis and he would cost us less
Firstly, facepalm. He is statistically the most consistent forward and he is in the absolute prime of his career. He has averaged more than 3 goals a game in every season from his 3rd season onwards.
secondly, double facepalm. I'm pretty sure Buddy doesn't have a problem running around the ground.
Thirdly, triple facepalm. Harry Taylor is not a free agent. He could cost us the next Harry Taylor and Joel Selwood for all you know.

IF the situation was being able to offer appropriate $ to either and have them walk across to the club I agree, Taylor is more consistent, flexible (either end, forward now maybe defence later) and does not come with all the media hype and off field antics.

BUT since I think we have to trade for HT it would cost us more than we can afford and still be competitive.

Firstly, facepalm. He is statistically the most consistent forward and he is in the absolute prime of his career. He has averaged more than 3 goals a game in every season from his 3rd season onwards.
secondly, double facepalm. I'm pretty sure Buddy doesn't have a problem running around the ground.
Thirdly, triple facepalm. Harry Taylor is not a free agent. He could cost us the next Harry Taylor and Joel Selwood for all you know.

THOSE FACEPALMS HURT but I like it so thats O\K

They are both WA boys but if Harrys out of contract at the end of the year we can still go for him and we have the salary cap to get him where Gelong doesn't .
We also Have some players to trade .
Also Elvis agrees with me so face palm back there ;):D

IF the situation was being able to offer appropriate $ to either and have them walk across to the club I agree, Taylor is more consistent, flexible (either end, forward now maybe defence later) and does not come with all the media hype and off field antics.

BUT since I think we have to trade for HT it would cost us more than we can afford and still be competitive.

Look we could get our money back for Crytownas a start .

I meant a cost as in players not cap space... Even out of contract Geelong would be asking for an elite player or player + picks for HT. He would be in the top three players for Geebung ATM.
If their is any way of it happening within reasonable cost then I would be over the moon but I am a realist and cannot see it happening.

I meant a cost as in players not cap space... Even out of contract Geelong would be asking for an elite player or player + picks for HT. He would be in the top three players for Geebung ATM.
If their is any way of it happening within reasonable cost then I would be over the moon but I am a realist and cannot see it happening.

First round pick + suban and Ibbotson with second and third round pick upgrades.

Or WHATEVER!

It can be done.

Well go to church as fast as you can and pray .

Adelaide is in the market as well now .

First round pick + suban and Ibbotson with second and third round pick upgrades.

Or WHATEVER!

It can be done.

Would be extremely happy for that - it instantly satisfies our immediate KPP needs and gives us a clearer longer window from next year for up to 5 years. Though who knows what may happen this year if things start going our way on all the critical fronts.

Also with any returning WA player and the threat of PSD if a trade cannot be done (e.g. HT) - we would have to get them past WC as well since they will finish lower than us this year.

They may soon be playing for draft positions, could be close to a repeat of 2010 the way they are going (though cannot see them finishing last no matter how hard they try to)

Or WHATEVER!

It can be done.
overs. way overs
C Pearce & 1st round pick 4 Taylor.
money 4 Franklin.
Goal 2 goal line of SuperPav, Buddy (our new buddy?), Fyfe, Taylor (fishing 4 a nickname), James Taylor would be the best in the league by a long way.

overs. way overs
C Pearce & 1st round pick 4 Taylor.
money 4 Franklin.
Goal 2 goal line of SuperPav, Buddy (our new buddy?), Fyfe, Taylor (fishing 4 a nickname), James Taylor would be the best in the league by a long way.
2nd and 3rd round upgrades for us.

I should have qualified that bit.

And...leave Clancee alone!:p

Another interesting one coming out of contract is Leuenberger, particularly if the club believes that Clarke will want to go elsewhere. Whilst I didn't see the Brisbane game this weekend, it would seem that Leuenberger played well when playing as a key forward. Being 24, he will be coming into his prime.

One big problem: he reckons he is loyal to the Lions: http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-04-29/lion-to-stay-loyal
Actually a reasonable suggestion for once.

What's your point?

The fact that it is even being talked about is telling.

That game is the exception that proves the rule.
I don't want Buddy at Fremantle. I was pretty disappointed when Ross ruled it out, but now it's the best thing for the club – even if it isn't the best thing for the team.

Franklin is inconsistent. He's a huge talent. But when you're paying a guy $1.5 mil a year, he needs to be burying kicks. The guy was missing set shots from 40 out, butchering possessions... how many times has Lance Franklin kicked four or five goals against Collingwood or Sydney and won a game off his own back? Did you see the game against Geelong? That was winnable. Buddy resorted to sooking, high tackles, dirty play, and showing a shit attitude instead of just kicking goals.

Hawks fans don't really like him a whole lot because of it. Go the 'G for a game and anyone who isn't in the thermos and rug brigade won't be lapping up his effort. Or lack of...

His off-field shit is not worth the gamble, either. If he was the only one who it'd effect, go for it, but the chance of younger blokes thinking "this must be okay if Buddy does it!" is definitely not worth it.

I like the idea of Fremantle FC looking after the blokes we have. Crozier won't always be on a lower wage. Viv Michie won't always be a rookie lister. I'd rather give Griff, Neale, and Sutcliffe a bit more money (as they deserve) for more efforts – because they're going to start playing a lot more footy in the time of a Buddy-contract.

I don't know if Buddy is the kind of guy to become a star because he's on more money. It'll probably be more complacency.

Do not want. Regression for the club. Ross knows.

Yerp. Pretty sure Harry Taylor is the kind of bloke we want at the club. Goes about his footy consistently, does his job, and minus the massive ego. But I have a bit of a footy crush on Geelong so...

I don't want Buddy at Fremantle. I was pretty disappointed when Ross ruled it out, but now it's the best thing for the club – even if it isn't the best thing for the team.

Franklin is inconsistent. He's a huge talent. But when you're paying a guy $1.5 mil a year, he needs to be burying kicks. The guy was missing set shots from 40 out, butchering possessions... how many times has Lance Franklin kicked four or five goals against Collingwood or Sydney and won a game off his own back? Did you see the game against Geelong? That was winnable. Buddy resorted to sooking, high tackles, dirty play, and showing a shit attitude instead of just kicking goals.

Hawks fans don't really like him a whole lot because of it. Go the 'G for a game and anyone who isn't in the thermos and rug brigade won't be lapping up his effort. Or lack of...

His off-field shit is not worth the gamble, either. If he was the only one who it'd effect, go for it, but the chance of younger blokes thinking "this must be okay if Buddy does it!" is definitely not worth it.

I like the idea of Fremantle FC looking after the blokes we have. Crozier won't always be on a lower wage. Viv Michie won't always be a rookie lister. I'd rather give Griff, Neale, and Sutcliffe a bit more money (as they deserve) for more efforts – because they're going to start playing a lot more footy in the time of a Buddy-contract.

I don't know if Buddy is the kind of guy to become a star because he's on more money. It'll probably be more complacency.

Do not want. Regression for the club. Ross knows.

Yep. After initially being a massive 'Bring back Buddy" fan, I have swung around to this line of thinking.

With the exception of the off-field stuff, which doesn't worry me greatly and, I believe, could be managed.

Still, I just can't see him wanting to come back to the media scrutiny fishbowl which Perth is.

Key Forward