Key Forward

Yep. After initially being a massive 'Bring back Buddy" fan, I have swung around to this line of thinking.

With the exception of the off-field stuff, which doesn't worry me greatly and, I believe, could be managed.

Still, I just can't see him wanting to come back to the media scrutiny fishbowl which Perth is.
I don't see him wanting to come back to Perth. The AFL would rub their hands at a GWS with Buddy sitting up from Patton. He could get the same money there in a bigger city with bigger and more of everything. And yeah, like you said, without the Perth fishbowl. His profile would be lower there as well.

The off-field/his personality is pretty much in his system. Clarkson has given up on trying to mummy him. He's 26 now. He knows what he can get away with.

I don't see him wanting to come back to Perth. The AFL would rub their hands at a GWS with Buddy sitting up from Patton. He could get the same money there in a bigger city with bigger and more of everything.

....Assuming he wants to live in Bondi or Manly and fight traffic to get to training in GWS every day. Otherwise I can't see a high-roller like Budwiser wanting to live in a non-AFL hell hole like GWS.

to those people who are saying that they don't want Buddy.
this is a guy who is ALWAYS the main target in the forward line for opposition coaches.
Imagine how much SuperPav would love that!
ditto Mayne who for a few weeks will probably draw the best tall defender.
Buddy is a freak & a marquee player.
Do I think we will get him? Nope
Would I take him? absobloodylutely 4 sure!!!!!

to those people who are saying that they don't want Buddy.
this is a guy who is ALWAYS the main target in the forward line for opposition coaches.
Imagine how much SuperPav would love that!
ditto Mayne who for a few weeks will probably draw the best tall defender.
Buddy is a freak & a marquee player.
Do I think we will get him? Nope
Would I take him? absobloodylutely 4 sure!!!!!

You wouldn't take Darling but you would take Buddy. Very consistent.

Yerp. Pretty sure Harry Taylor is the kind of bloke we want at the club. Goes about his footy consistently, does his job, and minus the massive ego. But I have a bit of a footy crush on Geelong so...
I agree that he is hugely preferable to Buddy. Problem is I think we would have to give a lot to get him. At this stage I am hoping that RTB and co have another plan similar to getting D Pearce at the end of last year, which nobody saw coming.

because of what I know about darling's character.
he is the only player I actually hope gets injured.
not saying Buddy is an angel, only that he is not the type of scum that darling is

Depends on what type of scum you're in to. Besides we have any number of players who are capable of kicking 5 behinds a game or dropping off the back of the pack and picking up cheapies. If you want Cyril, minus the hamstring issues, then I'll be all ears.

I know he's far from a 'key' or 'power' forward but is Aaron Black at North some kind of option. I've been impressed with him when he has played. Would certainly get more opportunities with us. Might get him relatively cheap as well? Another Chris Mayne type I guess.

I'd be amenable to seeing him in purple.

He's 30 and coming back from a serious injury.

Not for mine at all.

He was an all Australian and would be a good forward option, and is a lot cheaper than the other options. If GC don't offer him a contract, he is FA which may occur.

I would also consider Gumby, Pears, and Taylor but I think it is important we consider 4-5 players so that we do get one.

He was an all Australian and would be a good forward option, and is a lot cheaper than the other options. If GC don't offer him a contract, he is FA which may occur.

I would also consider Gumby, Pears, and Taylor but I think it is important we consider 4-5 players so that we do get one.

He was an AA CHB. And that is where he has played the vast majority of his football.

He's a fine player with a great career. But I seriously doubt that we would even consider him at his age.

He was an AA CHB. And that is where he has played the vast majority of his football.

He's a fine player with a great career. But I seriously doubt that we would even consider him at his age.
If he was fit now he would walk into our forward line at the moment, and next year I think he will be fit.

I am not saying sell the farm for him, I think he could be free but he would get us closer to a premiership.

If McPharlin goes down or needs a rest we could through him back, or we could play him and Pav in the forward line.

If he was fit now, would you pick up in our forward line?

If he was fit now, would you pick up in our forward line if Pav was fit?

Do you think Keplar will be available next year before round 12?

For me the answer are hell yes, yes and no.

Also he kicked 29 goals one year while averaging 15-20 possies (2007).

Had an interesting chat with a mate who claims to have connections with Freo recruiting staff, who told him that Mason Shaw was lined up as our 1st round selection last draft until only the night before, when the club had a last minute change of mind & decided to take Josh Simpson (as he was always previously assumed to go higher but other clubs suddenly went cold after news of his baby).

I had a quick look at Mason Shaw's goals for South Adelaide Reserves in 1st 4 rounds: 4, bye, 3, 3 - very consistent like in WAFL reserves. Unlike Kersten, I reckon this bloke would have been a terrific get for Freo - local Winnacott Kat & Freo supporter, as well as being a true, hulking lead & crash FF who can hold marks. I hope Freo are keeping in touch with him & that he might come back to us (like Menegola) before his profile / price tag become too high.

If he was fit now he would walk into our forward line at the moment, and next year I think he will be fit.

I am not saying sell the farm for him, I think he could be free but he would get us closer to a premiership.

If McPharlin goes down or needs a rest we could through him back, or we could play him and Pav in the forward line.

If he was fit now, would you pick up in our forward line?

If he was fit now, would you pick up in our forward line if Pav was fit?

Do you think Keplar will be available next year before round 12?

For me the answer are hell yes, yes and no.

Also he kicked 29 goals one year while averaging 15-20 possies (2007).

No.
No.
No.
Maybe.

2007 was 6 years ago.

I don't think there is any issue bringing in senior bodies for one or two years for a push at a premiership next year.

There's a long history of clubs supplementing their list like that and going on to win the flag.

Has to be the right person though. Brisbane did it after 2009 and it'll take them longer to rebuild now because it didn't work out.

I tend to think while Pav is there we should look more so at younger players, not 18 year olds but younger than 30. If Pav left there would be a clear case for a forward line veteran.

Key Forward