Key Forward

• Thread starter Thread starter Kunna17

Even if Franklin wanted to join us.
I get the feeling Lyon would not be interested unless price was too good to refuse.

Franklin is a show pony and loves the attention.
There is no I in team but there is one in FranklIn.

Not exactly the type for his strict team rules and gameplan.
he's no jack reiwoldt, though, and seems to be team oriented enough, at least for me. also, ross said at the start of last year that he'd pay franklyn 1.5M for his services, before the club said it wasn't interested. i'd take him in a heartbeat as much for what he'd bring to the footy club off the field as on it and freo would be freakin' idiots to not make a play.

Lyon has already stated he is worth the big bucks in the pre season. He would love him I reckon

he's no jack reiwoldt, though, and seems to be team oriented enough, at least for me. also, ross said at the start of last year that he'd pay franklyn 1.5M for his services, before the club said it wasn't interested. i'd take him in a heartbeat as much for what he'd bring to the footy club off the field as on it and freo would be freakin' idiots to not make a play.
You beat me to it!!!

Wellingham wants his Buddy, badly. And the way Franklin's been playing, he needs his Wellies badly.

Funny timing by Wellingham - given the "connection" it may well be Buddy wanting to come home and they are making sure Freo keep him in their salary cap calc's to make a play, before re-signing too many players if that has any effect on what is in the kitty for him.

This would be madness. How many young KPF fail to come on at the next level? Wait it out with free agency until the right option becomes available. To get a number 1 draft pick you'd have to give up real quality e.g Fyfe, Hill. The other downside is the instability it would cause with the players knowing that the club is willing to ship off a gun player.

We're not in dire need now. Pav will still be around for a while yet and anyone of Clarke, Hannath, Griff, Silvagni or Sandi can provide adequate foil while Tabs, Smith and co develop. Who knows, Mora or Fyfe could become KPF's in time also.

Just a couple of points;

I am not sure what you think dire need is, but a lack of an up and running KPF is the single biggest hurdle for us this year. Sure Pav may come back soon, but at this stage that doesn't give me much certainty.

Hawthorn traded Croad, Collingwood traded Tarrant, St Kilda traded Lockett, Carlton traded Kennedy. Gun players get traded and it is all part of afl life.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2013-05-06/freo-will-make-a-play-
"Yeah, I have given him a couple of calls," Wellingham said.

"I don't think we will be able to get him, but maybe if he comes back over to the West to the other team, maybe."

When asked why he thought Fremantle was a contender to land the out-of-contract Franklin, Wellingham was honest.

"I just know that they are one of the teams who are going make a play for him, I suppose.

"Who else? Has GWS maybe got the money as well?"

Wellingham truly sounds like a genius.

How else could you make a statement sound like a question? Or a question sound like a statement?

There's maybe an alternative I guess, maybe.

Even with Pav in the team and not a single player on the injury list
We still lack key forwards.

The modern game once again requires 2 big key forwards.
We have Pav the rest are either not ready or never will be, or just not good enough.
Pav cant play forever so we need 1 developing ready to take his spot plus we still need 1 to be the 2nd key forward.

We have Pav the rest are either not ready or never will be, or just not good enough.
Pav cant play forever so we need 1 developing ready to take his spot plus we still need 1 to be the 2nd key forward.

Hate to be on my sickbed at your place mate; Nup, nah he's dead, no chance of recovery, no need for meds, where's my hotline for Bowra and O'Dea?

Are the injuries on your wrists healed up, or just bandaged for now?

Coulda, and his delusional bullshit, is at least worth a laugh.

But you actually believe this crap?

Just a couple of points;

I am not sure what you think dire need is, but a lack of an up and running KPF is the single biggest hurdle for us this year. Sure Pav may come back soon, but at this stage that doesn't give me much certainty.

Hawthorn traded Croad, Collingwood traded Tarrant, St Kilda traded Lockett, Carlton traded Kennedy. Gun players get traded and it is all part of afl life.

Maybe I'm overly optimistic but I think Pav will be back soon and will find form early in the second half of the year. I'm also confident one of the guys I named above will step up as a serviceable KPF in the short term.

Free agency has changed the game. We don't need to trade away a gun player to secure a KPF any more.

Is Luke McGuane still an unrestricted free agent? Would he be worth a look as a KPF? I haven't watched a lot of Richmond this year but he seems to be going well since he's gone forward.