Key Forward

• Thread starter Thread starter Kunna17

Buddy is two tiers up on those blokes.

We are talking about media attention. Being two tiers up is not a positive. Any form slump, half-assed party, injury, inaccuracy in front of goals, sideways grunt etc and he would get more scrutiny than a niknat sms.

Fair enough, but it'd generate plenty of positive coverage as well (especially early on). And certainly from a marketing angle he's a massive plus, which I'd argue is more important than the media narrative du jour.

Also, even if we accept that there'll be a lot of negative press, I think Buddy has shown he's better equipped to handle that heat than either Tarrant or Croad were.

That's the problem for me.

He's a "tweener". Not big enough, yet not small enough.

Wouldn't slash my wrists if we had a crack at him tough.

Hogan to me is still just a nice highlight reel.

Just doesn't do enough apart from take a nice grab.

I watched him against Vic metro last year and in the second half he turned the game on it's head,he was marking nearly everything that came near him and was really physical with his tackling and bash 'n' crash.

The kids has guts in spades.

I watched him against Vic metro last year and in the second half he turned the game on it's head,he was marking nearly everything that came near him and was really physical with his tackling and bash 'n' crash.

The kids has guts in spades.

With all due respect, he was a man child versus a lot of skinny kids. He's got to show that against men when he gets the chance.

I suppose what I am really saying is that he was lauded as the Messiah, and we see that with one kid in nearly every draft. Rarely does that sort of wrap come to fruition.

Does the AFL do any testing of U-17s for PEDs?

It seems like such an advantage to be a hulk against twigs if it only takes an end of school trip to Thailand to get on a cycle of the gear, train your arse off and kick off your U-18s year a step ahead.

With all due respect, he was a man child versus a lot of skinny kids. He's got to show that against men when he gets the chance.

I suppose what I am really saying is that he was lauded as the Messiah, and we see that with one kid in nearly every draft. Rarely does that sort of wrap come to fruition.

Definitely agree Hogan would've had a distinct physical advantage last year as he pitted himself against some physical inferior opponents.

I know young KPP are definitely trickier to pick if they will be any good,but I'm pretty confident if hogan in were at a club with a good culture he'd be a gun.

Definitely agree Hogan would've had a distinct physical advantage last year as he pitted himself against some physical inferior opponents.

I know young KPP are definitely trickier to pick if they will be any good,but I'm pretty confident if hogan in were at a club with a good culture he'd be a gun.

And now he is with Neeld.

I don't want Buddy at Fremantle. I was pretty disappointed when Ross ruled it out, but now it's the best thing for the club – even if it isn't the best thing for the team.

Franklin is inconsistent. He's a huge talent. But when you're paying a guy $1.5 mil a year, he needs to be burying kicks. The guy was missing set shots from 40 out, butchering possessions... how many times has Lance Franklin kicked four or five goals against Collingwood or Sydney and won a game off his own back? Did you see the game against Geelong? That was winnable. Buddy resorted to sooking, high tackles, dirty play, and showing a shit attitude instead of just kicking goals.

Hawks fans don't really like him a whole lot because of it. Go the 'G for a game and anyone who isn't in the thermos and rug brigade won't be lapping up his effort. Or lack of...

His off-field shit is not worth the gamble, either. If he was the only one who it'd effect, go for it, but the chance of younger blokes thinking "this must be okay if Buddy does it!" is definitely not worth it.

I like the idea of Fremantle FC looking after the blokes we have. Crozier won't always be on a lower wage. Viv Michie won't always be a rookie lister. I'd rather give Griff, Neale, and Sutcliffe a bit more money (as they deserve) for more efforts – because they're going to start playing a lot more footy in the time of a Buddy-contract.

I don't know if Buddy is the kind of guy to become a star because he's on more money. It'll probably be more complacency.

Do not want. Regression for the club. Ross knows.

You summed up my thoughts. I don't think Offering Franklin 1.5 million a year for 5 years is too much of a risk. Its the equivalent of giving him a lottery ticket. Also even though hes capable of kicking 60-80 goals in a season, I would hate to see him get a 1-2 month injury with us. I rather have 2 average tall forwards that can get 30-40 goals a year than him.

I was talking to another Docker fan on here just recently (Forgotten the person now) and I suggested We should of went after Quentin Lynch and give him a cheap Contract for 2 seasons. It wouldn't of fixed the problem but given us a band aid short term idea of another big key Forward kicking 30-40 goals a year while Hannath and another young key forward develops.

Still im Hoping Hannath will be a good consistent by the time Pavlich retires.

Don't agree with this post whiteoak.

IMO the man child argument doesn't really come into it. When drafted the kid was 194cm and 97kg and is only 17 he is still going to be a very big afl player and compared to a lot of afl players it will still seem like he is playing on skinny kids.

I'm not sure who lauded him as the Messiah? (perhaps people on this board???) You're right he will never live up to that sort of hype but who would, I still think he is a pretty special talent. He's already kicked a couple of bags of 4 in the vfl (as a 17 y/o) which may suggest he can match it against grown men.

I think we have a chance of getting Gumby, Pears and Taylor, and the first two wont cost us the world either.

Well, after actually watching Harry for the first time this year. I'd be prepared to part with whatever draft picks we needed this year to get him in.

Unless he played a brilliant game tonight, then I'd forgotten how good he is.

You summed up my thoughts. I don't think Offering Franklin 1.5 million a year for 5 years is too much of a risk. Its the equivalent of giving him a lottery ticket. Also even though hes capable of kicking 60-80 goals in a season, I would hate to see him get a 1-2 month injury with us. I rather have 2 average tall forwards that can get 30-40 goals a year than him.

I was talking to another Docker fan on here just recently (Forgotten the person now) and I suggested We should of went after Quentin Lynch and give him a cheap Contract for 2 seasons. It wouldn't of fixed the problem but given us a band aid short term idea of another big key Forward kicking 30-40 goals a year while Hannath and another young key forward develops.

Still im Hoping Hannath will be a good consistent by the time Pavlich retires.

Since when has Hannath been a full forward? Is this what we are reduced to? Hoping that every new ruckman or any big bodied person becomes our messiah at full forward?

All right champ then what should we do from now until the end of the season?

Lets hire back Jack Anthony shall we? Sooner Pav comes back the better. Still im curious if there are any other Key forwards besides Franklin available in the FA market at the end of the season.

All right champ then what should we do from now until the end of the season?

Lets hire back Jack Anthony shall we? Sooner Pav comes back the better. Still im curious if there are any other Key forwards besides Franklin available in the FA market at the end of the season.
Think youll find he's say that Hannath was not recruited as a prospect KPP but as a backup ruckman who could rotate forward. There is a difference, he does not have all the tools in the kit to be a FF, but if he can clunk a few marks and bring the ball to ground he'll be more than serviceable. Band aids only bring you closer to a full list rebuild because to stop developing internally and gift games to players by hypothetical chance they may show something,

Hurley goes back, Crameri rightfully plays as third tall.
Watching Gumbleton game last night against Gelong he would have to improve a lot more for us to be willing to trade much for him .
At least he was able to run out the game but his contested marking and leading patterns were poor .
He kept leading deep into the pockets and gave himself very little angle to work with when kicking for goal . On the 2 occasions he stayed in the middle he slotted a couple of nice goals but by then the game was over .
Too many times Gelong controlled the corridor forcing Essendon to play the flanks and their ball movement to indecisive .
Was that your observation or did you see it differently.

Well he wouldnt be the 1st person to become a good forward and ruckman, Corey Mckernan and Paul Salmon says hi.

Think youll find he's say that Hannath was not recruited as a prospect KPP but as a backup ruckman who could rotate forward. There is a difference, he does not have all the tools in the kit to be a FF, but if he can clunk a few marks and bring the ball to ground he'll be more than serviceable. Band aids only bring you closer to a full list rebuild because to stop developing internally and gift games to players by hypothetical chance they may show something,

Well if it comes to us recruiting at the end of this season, Obviously We need to draft 2 key forwards, One as a rookie in the ND and an experienced 1 on a 2 year contract as a short term solution. Its not just the quality were suffering atm its the Quantity as well.

I wouldnt mind Looking at Mckernan from the crows list.

Well if it comes to us recruiting at the end of this season, Obviously We need to draft 2 key forwards, One as a rookie in the ND and an experienced 1 on a 2 year contract as a short term solution. Its not just the quality were suffering atm its the Quantity as well.

I wouldnt mind Looking at Mckernan from the crows list.
There are a few developed key position players around that have been starved of opportunity due to depth rather then ability. Low cost for a possible decent return.

At the end of the day we are still winning without. Only time we lost is due to loss of personnel through injury in the back line. Makes me question whether we need the conventional big clutch forwards with our game style. Back up ruck and mid sized talls seems to work pretty well with our midfield rotations and pressure game.

There are a few developed key position players around that have been starved of opportunity due to depth rather then ability. Low cost for a possible decent return.

At the end of the day we are still winning without. Only time we lost is due to loss of personnel through injury in the back line. Makes me question whether we need the conventional big clutch forwards with our game style. Back up ruck and mid sized talls seems to work pretty well with our midfield rotations and pressure game.

Well the AFL is different now with the rise of the Free Agent era. If we want Buddy we just offer him a big contract. Go back 5 years ago we would had to Trade a player and a 1st round pick to get him.

Speaking of the back line, I would of been interested in talking to Toovey but considering hes had a knee injury, im saying no now. Got this funny feeling were going to get an experienced player without anyone noticing.

Well the AFL is different now with the rise of the Free Agent era. If we want Buddy we just offer him a big contract. Go back 5 years ago we would had to Trade a player and a 1st round pick to get him.

Speaking of the back line, I would of been interested in talking to Toovey but considering hes had a knee injury, im saying no now. Got this funny feeling were going to get an experienced player without anyone noticing.
Toovey is quality, but injury aside, hard to get the players out of Collingwood. They must be threatened with death if they leave without a massive overpayment by the team taking them.

Well Eddie Maguire didnt put a bounty on Josh Frasers head when he headed to Gold coast. Still I wouldnt mind Taking harry o brien or that Fasolo kid. I reckon if we offered him a good contract Toovey would go to us.

Gold Coast did Eddy a favour taking on that liability. Was unlikely to every get another game at the Pies. The compensation pick was paying overs for Fraser.