Key Forward

• Thread starter Thread starter Kunna17

You are at it again. I looked at three different threads and you were arguing in an aggressive way in all three of them. Why does this always happen with you. I think you need to relax a bit.

BTW I wasn't being condescending I was just putting my opinion across. Anyway go on arguing with posters on here. You seem to enjoy it.

And you are at it again by f***ing preaching!

Are you a mod or not??

If not.

F*** off and hit the report button.

It really is that simple.

Personally we are doing fine without Sandi.

I am desperate seeing Tarberner getting a game.

And there it is again.

Why would anyone be "desperate" to see Taberener get a game at this stage?

Are we re-building?

Are we losing?

Are we ....

meh....forget it.

Mr Shaw shared some breaking news on the Fox broadcast of today's game.Very worried about Sandy's toe injury 'cos it's potentially a very nasty injury and blah blah sad,dumb,ill informed,I'm a pro blah blah

"99% of the time unless you finish around the bottom of the ladder will you have the chance of picking up a KPF who will become great."

So there are dozens and dozens of great KPF's running around????Sorry JMT I must be failing this week's comprehension test.
Explain please.

Yep there are dozens of great KPF's (in their developing age groups) that get a chance at AFL. Funny how once they actually play against men and other talls most struggle significantly with some that eventually make it taking a truckload of time (some due to still growing, others to grow a pair), whilst most drop out or are list cloggers - very few have the mentality, skills, athletic ability as well as their height.

Amazed at how many "silver spooners" get the opportunity at AFL level - really, all the clubs recruiters should be better at the psych and career evaluations. When i say "silver spooners" I am referring to those that develop early or have had other family or "sponsored" benefits to get noticed/caressed along and have had the benefit of using their earlier height and perhaps athletic ability to shine. Most soon find themselves out of depth when the others catch up or when they have to play seniors against men. Prefer a mid size that's still growing and has actually had to learn the skills, mongrel and footy smarts to actually standout as a junior and beyond, not just for being tall as a junior.

A mid-sizer (anyone under the tall KPP level) has to stand out in their age comp's through their skill, mental toughness and footy smarts because there are so many they are competing against.

This is one of the problems we face in developing athletes. Whilst there are intrinsic genetic characteristics and traits that suit certain disciplines at an elite level in seniors - obviously it is the early developers that shine through in the 10-14 age range and its easy and also somewhat of a cop-out choosing the currently dominating but mostly developed youngsters to put on more elite programs. The risk is that those later developers (whom may have greater genetic attributes) don't get the same opportunity and drop out of the sport, at least on some mental level and also training and progression as a result, and thus we are deprived of the very best athletes to represent the country. At the end of the day a true champion athlete at international level is a combination of genetic makeup, mental attitude and coaching/skills - just lacking in any will ensure mediocrity at the top level. Similar thing happens in swimming. Luckily in footy there is a great need for the medium height (growing taller all the time) players and the majority of players are not true tall KPP's.

Mr Shaw shared some breaking news on the Fox broadcast of today's game.Very worried about Sandy's toe injury 'cos it's potentially a very nasty injury and blah blah sad,dumb,ill informed,I'm a pro blah blah

He is the same man who calls anyone in the game he is watching: "The best in the competition" even if he is barely the best in that team.

Kristian Jacksch might be another to chuck on the list.

Pick 12 or something for GWS. Has to contend with Cameron, Patton and possibly Franklin down there.

Has been kicking a few bags in the NEAFL (yeah, okay, its the NEAFL). 195cm forward.
Jacksch was the one (apart from Simpson) I was praying would fall to us. Loved his draft highlights. WTF are GWS going to do with them all? Its sickening.
I reckon Gumby is finished at Essendon with Daniher coming in. If he could stay in one piece he'd be worth a shot. Can take a mark.

Really? I can't wait to get Sandi back. Hannath is trying his heart out and has great potential but we will be a much better team with Jack in the WAFL and Sandi in the team.

Well you can't deny Hannath has proven to be handy this season hasn't he? Sandi has been injured, I don't know when he is coming back.

And there it is again.

Are we re-building?

Are we losing?

Are we ....

meh....forget it.

Some teams have rebuilt while still in the top 8 Just look at Geelong and Sydney in the past 8 years. both of those sides managed to play kids while they are still in the 8, I dont see why freo can do the same thing under ross lyon.

And there it is again.

Are we re-building?

Are we losing?

Are we ....

meh....forget it.

I know people see you as an a divisive sort of poster. But your totally right in what your say with this point. What our team needs in continuity. The best teams don't chop and change players just for the sake of it when they are winning. Sure we were a little scrappy today in this game. But im sure that Lyon will pick up on this and not get to complacent.

Perhaps. I look at what Silvagni has contributed over the time he's been in and think Taberner may have been worth a shot.

It was attitude for this guy. Thorpe rated himself higher than he was due. He told Tom Harley he was going to end his career in a VFL match, Harley went on to win a premiership and Thorpe was delisted.

It appears he has turned his attitude around, and if that was the only thing holding him then I think he is worth being picked up.

Some teams have rebuilt while still in the top 8 Just look at Geelong and Sydney in the past 8 years. both of those sides managed to play kids while they are still in the 8, I dont see why freo can do the same thing under ross lyon.

True, but I am convinced Geelong's fall isnt far away. You cant tell me, that mitch duncan, motlop, guthrie etc are going to be able to replace Chapman, enright, corey and Johnson and geelong will not feel it.

I Tipped this year they would be out of the 8, I am looking to be wrong, but I still think they will struggle sometime soon. Next year maybe.

Anyway, there is one player at melbourne who I would be interested in having as a key forward type, we should throw the absolute kitchen sink at Jeremy Howe, who is out of contract. Imagine how good and multi-dimensional our forwardline would be with Pav, Mayne, Howe, ballantyne, Walters and Crozier.

He may not want to come, but Id be all for offering him a big contract to flee the sinking ship. He would cost less than Buddy, has more tricks than gumbleton, and would really add something

True, but I am convinced Geelong's fall isnt far away. You cant tell me, that mitch duncan, motlop, guthrie etc are going to be able to replace Chapman, enright, corey and Johnson and geelong will not feel it.

I Tipped this year they would be out of the 8, I am looking to be wrong, but I still think they will struggle sometime soon. Next year maybe.

Anyway, there is one player at melbourne who I would be interested in having as a key forward type, we should throw the absolute kitchen sink at Jeremy Howe, who is out of contract. Imagine how good and multi-dimensional our forwardline would be with Pav, Mayne, Howe, ballantyne, Walters and Crozier.

He may not want to come, but Id be all for offering him a big contract to flee the sinking ship. He would cost less than Buddy, has more tricks than gumbleton, and would really add something

Definitely wouldn't be up in arms if we got Howe.

Really hope we have a crack at drafting jonno marsh( 192 cm),booted 3 gls yesterday against VM.

Incredibly quick for his size,loves to tackle and apply forward defensive pressure,he's got the style of play RTB would appreciate.

Jacksch was the one (apart from Simpson) I was praying would fall to us. Loved his draft highlights. WTF are GWS going to do with them all? Its sickening.
I reckon Gumby is finished at Essendon with Daniher coming in. If he could stay in one piece he'd be worth a shot. Can take a mark.

For mine Gumbelton is the most likely to come over. We should also look at Mark Paparone in Brisbane. He apparently has a sick family member and wants to come home. To me he looked an absolute ton better than Mason Shaw in the draft highlights last year and has shown real promise this year. Put ten kgs on him and I think he will be a star. I would definitely offer our first pick and perhaps a player for him.

Mitch Thorp sounds like a good option too. With key position players in such demand we should use our third round pick on him.

Crameri from Essendon is definitely worth a look. I know he is undersized for a key forward, but in the RTB playing style I think he could get the job done with his running ability. Essendon is reportedly struggling to resign all of their uncontracted players after picking up Goddard last year. I would offer 500k a year and put together a trade involving Mitchie, our first pick and perhaps even Suban as well. Anyone who doesnt think it will take an absolute ton to move any decent forward capable of 50 goals doesnt understand how trade value works.

Keep the best, trade the others for high draft picks ensuring a continuity of top-line talent down the track. It is a brilliant set-up for them, and they seem to do really well with talent identification. I am really excited to watch them develop.

For mine Gumbelton is the most likely to come over. We should also look at Mark Paparone in Brisbane. He apparently has a sick family member and wants to come home. To me he looked an absolute ton better than Mason Shaw in the draft highlights last year and has shown real promise this year. Put ten kgs on him and I think he will be a star. I would definitely offer our first pick and perhaps a player for him.

Mitch Thorp sounds like a good option too. With key position players in such demand we should use our third round pick on him.

Crameri from Essendon is definitely worth a look. I know he is undersized for a key forward, but in the RTB playing style I think he could get the job done with his running ability. Essendon is reportedly struggling to resign all of their uncontracted players after picking up Goddard last year. I would offer 500k a year and put together a trade involving Mitchie, our first pick and perhaps even Suban as well. Anyone who doesnt think it will take an absolute ton to move any decent forward capable of 50 goals doesnt understand how trade value works.

whilst im sure that the FFC could still maintain its place without Suban, im not sure its a world I want to live in. I just like him, his output can be sporadic, but he clearly loves the club, and I think he has some good qualities. He is also a ripper of a bloke to have around the club..... but if he helps to get us a player of the ilk of crameri or howe, then i would grudgingly let go.

Michie i would be loathed to let go. He will be a player. Lets not forget Mundy is 28/29... he seems young, but he doesnt have THAT much footy left

Not sure we would be giving up what brisbane demanded for paparone. he is contracted, so it would cost us more than he is worth. maybe next year when he is out of contract.

Keep the best, trade the others for high draft picks ensuring a continuity of top-line talent down the track. It is a brilliant set-up for them, and they seem to do really well with talent identification. I am really excited to watch them develop.

pretty easy to pick talent when you have so many first round picks. Ten years time when the concession effect has worn off we will see what their talent identification is like.

i know i need to get over it, but i just cant stop thinking about what we were given in our inception in comparison.... and then to worsen the situation we let a muppet like neesham trade off picks for guys like tony delaney and todd ridley.... no wonder we were a basket case

I appreciate you cant offer shit and get diamonds in return. Yes I know :oops:.

But why is Michie offered up ? They are hardly diamonds. Crameri is a 3rd tall and hes a bomber thru and thru. Would have a Tarrant trade smell to it. Lets not repeat history.

In Michie we have invested 3yrs in him, this is his FIRST year playing and we all amazed at his numbers and why isnt he getting game. Keep him and give him another two years and we will have a A grade youngster we are grabbing tissues over.

Gee, prising him out of the Lions would be an awesome KPP's so it would not be easy, and as he is still developing he is no immediate solution.

whilst im sure that the FFC could still maintain its place without Suban, im not sure its a world I want to live in. I just like him, his output can be sporadic, but he clearly loves the club, and I think he has some good qualities. He is also a ripper of a bloke to have around the club..... but if he helps to get us a player of the ilk of crameri or howe, then i would grudgingly let go.

Michie i would be loathed to let go. He will be a player. Lets not forget Mundy is 28/29... he seems young, but he doesnt have THAT much footy left

Not sure we would be giving up what brisbane demanded for paparone. he is contracted, so it would cost us more than he is worth. maybe next year when he is out of contract.

My point is that to get a key forward to the club we will have to trade more than what the player is worth as key forwards are currently in such short supply and like a previous post has said the promising key fporwards in the past three drafts have been grabbed by GWS and Gold Coast. (with the exception of Darling). This argument always goes round in circles. If there are very few promising key tall forwards in the draft and no viable (I dont think Franklin will leave Melbourne) free agents, the only way to get a key forward is through a trade. In my view we have a fantastic group of up and coming mids (Crozier, Neale, Sutcliffe, Simpson, and hopefully Mora) and we can afford to trade Mitchie (who I rate), our first pick and either Suban or C.Pearce and still have a fantastic midfield. So why would we not put a massive trade to a club that will improve their team, but at the same time allow us to fill our obvious need for what is an extremely rare commodity in a quality key forward. Trading overs is the only strategy that will allow us to recruit to fill our need, as no team in the afl would trade a highly promisiing tall forward at the moment without a huge trade in return.

We should also look at Mark Paparone in Brisbane. He apparently has a sick family member and wants to come home. To me he looked an absolute ton better than Mason Shaw in the draft highlights last year and has shown real promise this year. Put ten kgs on him and I think he will be a star. I would definitely offer our first pick and perhaps a player for him.

Thorp's AFL playing days are over, no club will ever risk having him on their list again. He could kick 200 goals in a season and still not be re-drafted, way too risky given his history.

Paparone is more a big midfielder than your true type KPF. His aerobic capacity is incredible but he will not be the big pack mark player most KPF should be, and he's not a natural goal kicker, whereas Shaw is both.

My point is that to get a key forward to the club we will have to trade more than what the player is worth as key forwards are currently in such short supply and like a previous post has said the promising key fporwards in the past three drafts have been grabbed by GWS and Gold Coast. (with the exception of Darling). This argument always goes round in circles. If there are very few promising key tall forwards in the draft and no viable (I dont think Franklin will leave Melbourne) free agents, the only way to get a key forward is through a trade. In my view we have a fantastic group of up and coming mids (Crozier, Neale, Sutcliffe, Simpson, and hopefully Mora) and we can afford to trade Mitchie (who I rate), our first pick and either Suban or C.Pearce and still have a fantastic midfield. So why would we not put a massive trade to a club that will improve their team, but at the same time allow us to fill our obvious need for what is an extremely rare commodity in a quality key forward. Trading overs is the only strategy that will allow us to recruit to fill our need, as no team in the afl would trade a highly promisiing tall forward at the moment without a huge trade in return.

Ive no doubt we could afford to trade him, but given what we have invested in him, would we want to? and in reality, what currency do you honestly think he would have? I would suggest next to none. suban may have some, but I would think he would be more your set of steak knives type of player.

In reality, as you say we go around in circles discussing things like this, in order to pick up an established forward, opposition clubs will ask for players like fyfe and hill, who are absolutely not on the table. In all likelyhood it will come back to us having to draft in players, which is why I think we needed to pull the trigger on Mason Shaw last year, hopefully there will be some KPP's left for us by the time our pick comes at pick 18 ;).

would be nice if we can find a muppet club and get a good draft pick for a rubbish player like collingwood did last year for wellingham.. maybe we can dupe the bulldogs into giving something up for silvagni.

WTF 500k + Mitchie + Suban + our first pick for effing Crameri.
Whiteoak's head just exploded after reading that crap.

Crameri is a 3rd tall, not a key forward.
Mayne is more reliable than Crameri, only reason Maynes goal scoring is abit down is because he is a 3rd tall getting the opponents best defender.
We have Mellington, developing who looks perfect for the 3rd tall option imo.
Plus if our midfield is strong enough we could also play Fyfe as a 3rd tall.
You want to throw everything at a 3rd tall when that is not our weakness.