Key Forward

Next year will be his last I reckon, he needs replacing and the replacement needs back up as well. When was the last time Clarke, Griffin or Hannath kicked MORE than 2 goals in a game. In most games two play theyd be lucky to contribute two between them. Ill leave Sandilands out of the picture as he'll be gone as well. Ruckmen aren't good forwards. I challenge anyone who says we don't need a kpf to name a player drafted as a ruckman that has gone from being a ruckman to playing as the number one key forward and actually been successful doing so.

If there is truly no kpfs worth it this year use trade to satisfy our need and then wait until next year to draft the youngsters. Next years draft is apparently full of quality talls

THIS, NEED back up. Not only for Pav but when he's gone (am i being optimistic thinking tabs should do the trick as BACK-UP in 2 yrs time)

Thoughts on McCarthy?

I like McCarthy, I just don't know if he'll be able to take the presence he has at Colts level and apply it at the next level.

I don't think he's a first round pick, I think he'll be taken after Marsh, has no real flaws as a lead up forward, worry about his body shape, this is regardless of his leg injury, but I wonder if his frame will cope with more weight which he'll need to have any say at the higher level.

Marsh on the other hand just has a frame and a presence, he's the safer pick, with a load more upside for me.

Like Hourigan from SA a lot

Not my speciality, refer SA q's to Chris25

Just like he's been fit every game this year. We did fine without him. Just keep filling the team with talent and we'll score goals. Key forwards aren't a necessity in AFL these days. A couple of teams chock full of key position talent sit firmly within the bottom 10. Sydney seem to be doing worse with Tippett, their forward entries have become predictable. As long as you have a tall target occasionally as a get out option you can do fine. Clarke and Griffin could fill that role for us.

We haven't done fine, we've been towelled twice by the top 2 sides. Not that a key forward is necessarily going to fix that, but it's a clear deficiency when Pav isn't fit, and that's not going to become less of a problem in the years to come.

I know what you're saying in that you don't need a dominant key forward to win flags, but you need a competitive one as part of your structure. Every other decent team has one. And i've got no doubt our forward line looks a whole lot better with Pavlich there than not.

Obviously there's a bit of talk about Franklin and Taylor. Neither of these guys are guaranteed though or eve likely. If we don't get these guys who would you be looking at, I've noticed Gumbleton seems to be playing alright for Essendon. Who do you guys think as we MUST grab a key-forward this off-season.

I'm not sure if this guy has been brought up, but how about Mitch Thorp? 194cm, former no6 pick from Hawthorn, at 24 yrs he's scored 4 goals a game for 52 goals in player/coach role for South Launceston
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...at-an-afl-career/story-fni5f22o-1226684649930

Cant believe how quick, strong and athletic Jesse White looks this year.. nothing like in previous years where he was slow and one dimensional. Would be the top of my shopping list, although his contract price would be getting higher and higher. If we cant get him.. off to the draft we go and normal business resumes for at least another year.

no others? Adelaide, Port Adelaide and Essendon all have talls surplus to needs.

Not that i particularly rate.. the usual names will come up, Gumbleton etc.. but i see Taberner as a similar type of player who is 5 years younger without the injury history. Blokes like Butcher would be preferable, but wouldnt come cheap if at all.

Im sure we will be linked to every KPF who is half decent sitting on a list somewhere, but White is the only one who excites me at all.

Yeah, I'm starting to like him more and more as I think he fits our gameplan in the sense that he has the mongrel, speed and agility to be a MAYNE style key forward for us but just BIGGER.
I still think we are going to land Watts though.

Yeah, I'm starting to like him more and more as I think he fits our gameplan in the sense that he has the mongrel, speed and agility to be a MAYNE style key forward for us but just BIGGER.
I still think we are going to land Watts though.

Both Jack Watts and Jesse White - now that would be a recruitment coupe!!

Sydney - 2013
Gm Opponent Rd R KI MK HB DI GL BH HO TK RB IF CL CG FF FA BR CP UP CM MI 1% BO GA %P
57 Hawthorn 7 L 6 2 4 10 1 1 11 4 2 1 3 3 1 1 6 4 2 2 2 1 81
58 Adelaide 11 W 10 7 3 13 3 1 2 3 2 5 9 2 3 2 3 93
59 Port Adelaide 13 L 5 5 7 1 3 3 1 1 1 5 4 85
60 Carlton 14 W 3 2 4 7 1 8 2 3 1 4 3 1 2 83
61 Greater Western Sydney 16 W 5 5 4 9 3 2 1 5 5 2 3 47
62 West Coast 17 W 7 5 7 14 1 2 3 8 6 3 2 1 85
63 Richmond 18 W 10 5 4 14 4 1 2 1 3 1 2 10 5 3 5 2 1 84
64 Western Bulldogs 19 W 6 6 4 10 1 2 2 1 6 4 3 1 88
65 Collingwood 20 L 6 2 7 13 2 3 1 3 3 1 6 6 1 2 89
66 St Kilda 21 W 10 9 5 15 3 4 3 8 8 3 4 1 1 2 86
67 Geelong 22 L 6 4 6 12 4 3 1 2 6 5 2 1 1 84
Totals 11 (7-0-4)744748122168312132691435 695518201848

Or look at this link - http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/J/Jesse_White.html

See the 2013 section at the bottom of the page.

This is Jesse White's stats for 2013.

Key stats for me are
- 1 goal in 4 games when Sydney have lost.
- In a number of games, he only has single digit possessions which means if he is not contributing on the score board, then he is not contributing.
- He is only playing as the Third tall at the moment, I doubt he is capable of playing as a main focal point of the attack.
- He only kicked 16 goals in 11 games, and 10 have come from 3 games when Sydney have absolutely dominated a side, a. (3 Adelaide - 77 margin, 4 Richmond -47 point margin, 3 GWS - 129 margin)

Why do we want him again?

Sydney - 2013
Gm Opponent Rd R KI MK HB DI GL BH HO TK RB IF CL CG FF FA BR CP UP CM MI 1% BO GA %P

Or look at this link - http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/J/Jesse_White.html

Key stats for me are
- In a number of games, he only has single digit possessions which means if he is not contributing on the score board, then he is not contributing.
- He is only playing as the Third tall at the moment, I doubt he is capable of playing as a main focal point of the attack.
- He only kicked 16 goals in 11 games, and 10 have come from 3 games when Sydney have absolutely dominated a side, a. (3 Adelaide - 77 margin, 4 Richmond -47 point margin, 3 GWS - 129 margin)

Poor mans Keplar.

Sydney - 2013

Key stats for me are

This is my thoughts too

When all they are doing is bombing it to Kurt Tippett 50% of all entries what do you want White to do?

He would be a walk up start over Keplar and ageing Sandilands or Griffin (if selected as a primary tall forward) in my side any day of the week.. but thats just me. Stats dont tell the whole story

When all they are doing is bombing it to Kurt Tippett 50% of all entries what do you want White to do?

He would be a walk up start over Keplar and ageing Sandilands or Griffin (if selected as a primary tall forward) in my side any day of the week.. but thats just me. Stats dont tell the whole story

He has been running up the ground a lot too and looks very handy.

There is certainly a lot to work with if we can get him imo.

A lot of posters on this board are in dreamland with what is actually going to be available to us, what they are going to cost and what we actually have currently and their realistic progress in development.

FWIW I have no problem in us getting Thorpe, White, Watts etc at a reasonable (to us, considering we have a sever need for KPPs) price because something is better than nothing and we have to start somewhere. Also I am not one of the people that thinks that we have been negligent in our rebuild by not taking key position players because we are really only 5 years in and we are already sitting in top 4, I expect us to be pushing harder a couple of years after Pav and McPharlin retire.

I like McCarthy, I just don't know if he'll be able to take the presence he has at Colts level and apply it at the next level.

I don't think he's a first round pick, I think he'll be taken after Marsh, has no real flaws as a lead up forward, worry about his body shape, this is regardless of his leg injury, but I wonder if his frame will cope with more weight which he'll need to have any say at the higher level.

Marsh on the other hand just has a frame and a presence, he's the safer pick, with a load more upside for me.

Not my speciality, refer SA q's to Chris25

I really like McCarthy, I think he has a lot of upside. He has only really concentrated on footy this year and hasn't played many games at all. He is very raw and for a first year footballer has done remarkably well. He has beautiful hands and hand/eye skill probably developed from his basketball background. I see him as being very similar to Fyfe in his first year of colts. I know his South teammates were gutted he broke his leg and are still hoping he might be available.

I like Marsh, he has an unbelievable burst of speed and is a very good size. I just don't see him as a player that would fit our immediate needs as a KPF. By his own admission his marking needs a lot of work. However, he is a bloke willing to put in the hard yards.

I see them as completely different players in very different roles in the AFL. McCarthy will be your big pack marking forward also knows how and when to lead and Marsh I see as that burst of speed midfielder who would leave his opponents in his wake. Would love to have both but at the moment McCarthy is the one I would pick first.

I really like McCarthy, I think he has a lot of upside. He has only really concentrated on footy this year and hasn't played many games at all. He is very raw and for a first year footballer has done remarkably well. He has beautiful hands and hand/eye skill probably developed from his basketball background. I see him as being very similar to Fyfe in his first year of colts. I know his South teammates were gutted he broke his leg and are still hoping he might be available.

I like Marsh, he has an unbelievable burst of speed and is a very good size. I just don't see him as a player that would fit our immediate needs as a KPF. By his own admission his marking needs a lot of work. However, he is a bloke willing to put in the hard yards.

I see them as completely different players in very different roles in the AFL. McCarthy will be your big pack marking forward also knows how and when to lead and Marsh I see as that burst of speed midfielder who would leave his opponents in his wake. Would love to have both but at the moment McCarthy is the one I would pick first.

Marsh slots into midfield nicely, McCarthy strong forward. Thing With Marsh is gives an option for Centre-Half Forward and draws key defender. Mayne and Griffin (Pav + Sandi gone by time im thinking) then have 1 outs instead of 2 on 1's. Also would often beat defender on lead and could be a player who changes course of game by being shoved in the midfield seeing fyfe go forward if we're struggling and fyfe not having a blinder.

Wont McCarthy draw a key defender as well? McCarthy will beat most defenders on a lead, you don't have to be super quick to do that.

mate im not bagging McCarthy, less likely to be availabe at our pick and although huge potential 1/2 as likely 2 turn into a gem, MID AND FORWARD vs FORWARD ONLY

Understand you view kunna but surely it is about time we drafted a genuine kpf instead of trying to manufacture one...in my humble opinion.

also understand where your coming from. I dunno i guess i see Marsh as a pav type player, and what's wrong with that. Obviously needs to work on strength + Marking to get to pavs level but currently has tools pav never had.

Key Forward