Key Position set up for next year

• Thread starter Thread starter daveyboy3

Broady Poker Tour said:
I believe Gumbleton is more a CHB than a CHF but is versatile enough to play both. who knows, after we beat the Blues and avoid the spoon, we might end up with Gibbs instead. Assuming the Blues take a KPP

Either way, i think we Essendon supporters can be guilty of over-rating our own. I don't think Solly, Bradley or McPhee will ever be KPP's. Laycock is a ruckman not a forward, and hopefully Ryder will develop into an Adam Goodes type.
I think Lee might be the man who can fill Fletcher's boots when he retires in 2008.
Don't get me wrong I like Ryder but he was superfolous to our requirements when we were drafting in 2005 for all the reasons mentioned above.

We already have 3 ruckmen in Hille, Laycock and Cartledge
Our key forwards would have been Lloyd, Lucas, Johns
Our key backs were Fletcher, Bradley, Lee, Lucy

Thats a third of our list over 6'3

Floaters between back and forward are McPhee, Solomon.
Laycock could play forward, Bradley could go into the ruck if needs be.

Now we have an over abundance of talls and hit a draft with supposedly the greatest potential of key position players since its inception and conversely entering a period where the great teams (Adelaide, West Coast, Bulldogs, Melbourne) are dominated by runners.
Wallace saw the writing on the board and has been basically drafting pure running players for the past two seasons.

There's nothing we can do about what happened in the past but we can rectify the future.

Longy413 said:
What if Bradley gets traded West for a midfielder?

Would that make the choice to draft Gumbleton easier?

Short answer - yes

Longy413 said:

The only midfielder I want from out west is Judd. What is the likelihood of a mega trade of Bradley, Ryder and draft pick for Judd? It wouldn't hurt us to ask would it?

Broady Poker Tour said:
The only midfielder I want from out west is Judd. What is the likelihood of a mega trade of Bradley, Ryder and draft pick for Judd? It wouldn't hurt us to ask would it?

Zero.

And there are plenty of midfielders out West that would compliment our side.
Not just at West Coast.

Longy413 said:

Is that pure speculation on your behalf Longy? Or have you heard this mentioned around the traps?

Id love us to go for another down back, Lucas is much more damaging up front, Lloyd as CHF, Johns from the goal square (if he can continue improving). Bradley? Well, still unsure if his star is on the rise, but no doubt he would be an asset if his stocks rise...those long limbs are so valuable

Longy413 said:

I'll just expand on this Longy.

Yes, I would be willing to do this but there are a few drawbacks.

1. Kepler is probably the most popular player within the club.
2. I believe he will still be a good player for us in time.
3, I doubt if Freo will trade with us as they are slowish. The only player I would want from them in a straight swap is Crowley. Other alternatives are Dunn plus 2nd/3rd round draft pick or Peake plus 2nd/3rd round draft pick. All are unlikely.
4. This leaves West Coast. Selwood is a possibility. Selwood plus 2nd round for Bradley ? Hurn for Bradley straight swap. Again unlikely.
5. Sampi plus 2nd round for Bradley and 3rd round - NOW, THERE'S A TRADE !!!!!

And Gumbleton would want to be worth it.

couldnt trade bradley????? give him another 3 years before he shows his maturity, having said that people were saying the same thing about bolton and henneman in 2001 and now there worth nothing.

As i said before trade our second or third pick for james kelly or ritschechelli and then gumbleton with pick 1, we can then get another player in the PSD. Richmond forced fremantle to trade simmonds so they could get something in return, richmond then got Trent Nobhead in the PSD lets hope we get something better.

we have lovett we dont need sampi who cant play midfield, we also have cole who also battle weight issues

blumfieldisback said:
we have lovett we dont need sampi who cant play midfield, we also have cole who also battle weight issues

Hard to get a gig at West Coast playing mid-field.

I'd play him forward with Lovett off the half back line.
Lovett would be our line breaker off half back in the mould of Gilbee, Nikovski, McLeod.

We are desperate for this type of player.

We're yet to really see Lucy. He certainly has the measurements of a sturdy half back flanker/KP player according to the team lists.

Daytripper said:
Don't think Courtney's got the engine to play CHF.
They do a lot of running these days - just look at the amount of ground Lucas covers in a game. He's down at the HB line quite often.

Johns looks a pure full forward to me.
I'd even give him a shot at full back. He's got speed, strength and a decent footy brain.

Anything other than those two positions would be doubtful at this stage in his development unless he does a heap of aerobic work over the next three summers.

We see different things lol I agree at the moment Courtney hasnt got the fitness levels to play CHF full time but in saying that it is mainly due to only ever having one pre season and a number of injuries this year.
Take out the Freo game and he has played his best footy up the ground. Was the same with Bendigo last year , he seemed more comfortable and read the game much better from CHF.

Daytripper said:
Hard to get a gig at West Coast playing mid-field.

I'd play him forward with Lovett off the half back line.
Lovett would be our line breaker off half back in the mould of Gilbee, Nikovski, McLeod.

We are desperate for this type of player.

What another aboriginal who has continual fitness problems or personal issues, i doubt it. Id rather re-draft cupido then have sampi.

id would think a player that can play inside yet accelerate with pace and good foot skills is something we desperately need, or another back up forward if lloyd or lucas go down or someone to help fletcher out.

blumfieldisback said:
What another aboriginal who has continual fitness problems or personal issues, i doubt it. Id rather re-draft cupido then have sampi.

Race should have nothing to do with it.
blumfieldisback said:
id would think a player that can play inside yet accelerate with pace and good foot skills is something we desperately need, or another back up forward if lloyd or lucas go down or someone to help fletcher out.

Key forward back ups : Johns, Laycock, Ryder
Key back back ups : Lee, Bradley, Lucy

We've got heaps of them. Plus we are entering an era where KPP are no longer as important as they once were.

Simple question.
Who is the rebounding defender at our club ?
A player who can break lines and kick the occasional goal.

Answer : Zero. Sheedy is that desperate we are forced to use Welsh in that role and his foot skills aren't the greatest.

NLM?

Finding a key back (even if it's from within the current list) would also release McPhee. He breaks lines, he even did it on Saturday whilst playing on Riewoldt.

Nash maybe.

I'd rather play Dyson at half-back than Lovett.

IMO, Solomon and McPhee are good candidates to take up more KP responsibility in the next few years.
Solomon's midfield experiment didn't work and he definately has the size to match it. Might be a good idea to settle him down and give him a shut down roll in the backline.
McPhee ideally will move into the midfield, however if he's having cronic OP problems relating to the extra workload of a midfielder, we may look to settle him down back too. If he's fit, in form and able to play a midfield/utility role then that's probably his best spot.
Fletcher, Bradley, Lucas, Lee, Solomon, Mcphee and Lucy is a pretty decent group of talls to play in defence depending on match-ups.
For this reason i think it'd be crazy to draft a Hansen type with #1 pick to slot into CHB when our midfield is crying out for a boost.

Lets face it, with Lucy, Laycock, Johns, Lee and Bradley there's no way the club is going to keep them all. And dont forget Henneman.

Essendon had a big drive a few years ago when it looked like we had no big men and Hille wasnt progressing as quick as we'd hoped. Why do you think we took back Barnes and Salmon?

To me Johns, Lee and Bradley are the ones with the most promise. Haven't seem much of lucy so can't really comment. I have doubts that Laycock will ever make it. I know that Henneman will NEVER make it (Delist him now, please!).

The back line should be. Fletcher FB, McPhee CHB, rest of the backline should be Lee, Lovett-Murray, Soloman, Welsh with bolton coming off the bench to roatate.

Bradley and McVeigh on the wings to run and drive the ball forward.

As for the forward line. You gotta keep Lloyd at FF, he is the most accurate kick in the league. Lucas CHF, Johns Forward Pocket, with Johnson and Lovett rotating through to the centreline and other pocket as crumbers. It would make the forward line pretty potent.

Longy413 said:
NLM?

Finding a key back (even if it's from within the current list) would also release McPhee. He breaks lines, he even did it on Saturday whilst playing on Riewoldt.

Nash maybe.

I'd rather play Dyson at half-back than Lovett.

I've been an advocate of Dyson playing off half back but he just doesn't find the ball often enough. I reckon that might be his spot though.

NLM goes sideways too often and his kicks whilst penetrating aren't that accurate. Hence why he goes sideways.

I don't know why but the idea of Lovett playing there appeals to me. Who would have though a guy like McLeod would be so successful as a half back flanker ?

You don't even have to be that defensive minded for that particular role.

Daytripper said:
And Gumbleton would want to be worth it.

We are talking about a guy with the potential to not only dominate CHF physically but also kick bags of goals. We have nobody on our list with that potential. Scotty has about three years left and by that time Gumbleton would have done his apprenticeship.

The fact is this years draft is that important that we must draft the best available talent. We will be able to draft midfielders with plenty of talent with our second and third picks. Unfortunatley the elite of the tall players will be gone by then so we need to get in first and grab ourselves one. Gibbs didnt impress me as much as i thought he would and although hes bottom age i dont see him talking the AFL by storm like a Judd, Deledio, Griffen etc.

Half back can be filled by anybody, Nash, Dyson, NLM are all options. even Dempsey after another pre-season and a few more kilos could play back there if needed.

Full-Back is a power position, im sure we can find a kid who has slipped under the radar yet starred at a state screening to groom for that role. You just dont draft full backs straight out of junior footy, you need to make one. Blake Caracella and Tyson stenglein were both junior full backs and now wouldnt know where the position is.

Daytripper said:
Who would have though a guy like McLeod would be so successful as a half back flanker ?

Gary Ayres ;)

McVeigh (although playing mostly midfield), McPhee and NLM are all top 10 (club) in Inside 50's this year.

McPhee (7th) and NLM (3rd) are also top 10 in rebound 50's.
So we are getting a fair bit of drive from half back.

NLM leads the club in bounces, McPhee and Welsh also top 10.

We also lead the comp in scoring shots from Kick-ins.

A lot of the time we see Welsh, McPhee, NLM take off and stop because they have nothing to kick to. Perhaps it's just as simple has having some targets up forward giving our half-back line more incentive to run and create.

Longy413 said:
Gary Ayres ;)

McVeigh (although playing mostly midfield), McPhee and NLM are all top 10 (club) in Inside 50's this year.

McPhee (7th) and NLM (3rd) are also top 10 in rebound 50's.
So we are getting a fair bit of drive from half back.

NLM leads the club in bounces, McPhee and Welsh also top 10.

We also lead the comp in scoring shots from Kick-ins.

A lot of the time we see Welsh, McPhee, NLM take off and stop because they have nothing to kick to. Perhaps it's just as simple has having some targets up forward giving our half-back line more incentive to run and create.

Sheeds' gameplan doesnt lend itself to a running and bouncing game. He likes his players to keep possesion by foot. I'd like us to play with a little more daring, we as a rule are too static when trying to come forward.

DaSawx said:
What are the odds of Carlton drafting Gumbleton at #1 if we avoid the spoon?

The more and more I hear about Gumbleton the more I hear Jon Brown

Its hard to say as they drafted Kennedy last year with the thought in mind of playing him at CHF. I would have thought that gibbs would be their preferred option, then again i could be wrong.

DaSawx said:
What are the odds of Carlton drafting Gumbleton at #1 if we avoid the spoon?

The more and more I hear about Gumbleton the more I hear Jon Brown

I really think they will take Hansen.

I can see Gibbs slipping the pick 3. Giving Hawthorn another midfielder with average leg-speed to add to the collection.