Kingsley or Ottens?

• Kent Kingsley

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Brad Ottens

Votes: 0 0.0%

I never mentioned Pettifer and Brown, and you'll notice i still didnt in my last post.

Dont forget Mooney played in the backline for a large portion of the season, not to mention that he spent probably the other half suspended. Meanwhile, Ottens was constantly swapped between the ruck and the forward line. You wouldnt have your best defender interchanged everytime Ottens swapped ends. The best defender would have stayed on Kingsley while an interchangable defender would have played on Ottens while he was down the forward line.

I'm actually pretty sure Mooney only played maybe two games in defence for the year. Otherwise he was forward the whole time. Plus he was only suspended for what, 5 games? Hardly half the season.

2005, when Kingsley was actually playing, as was Playfair before his jaw was broken, if we were playing a side like St.Kilda, Hudghton would take Kingsley, Maguire would take Mooney, Koschitzke would take Ottens, and say Fisher would take Playfair. It will be the same at Richmond. Hudghton would probably Richo, Maguire/Kingsley, Koschitzke/Schulz, and whoever else you had. Personally I don't think much will change for Kent at Richmond, he is still going to be taken by one of the two best KP defenders in a game, and when you consider most teams have two great defenders, such as:

Rutten/McGregor, Fletcher/Michael, Glass/Hunter, Scarlett/Harley, Carroll/Rivers, Hudghton/Maguire etc., Kent will still be taking one of them. Not much changes.

About level for me. Ottens is terrible. Kingsley has only had one bad year! (in his last 4 or 5). Will be a good pick up IMO.

I honestly cannot believe you have just put Matthew Egan under the title "irrelevant type". He is fast becoming one of the premier backman in the competition, far ahead of any KP backmen at Richmond. Extremly uneducated comment.

Do they hand out rose coloured glasses at the gate at KP? Egan's passable, at best, but would mostly be carved up should he ever play on a premier forward. Feel free to play him in a key position when we next play and hence beat you. again.

Deary me, if you have such blind faith in some of your guys, it's no wonder next year's always good enough at Geelong... :rolleyes: Didn't you get the memo - you guys went backwards in 06!!!! Flag favourites my foot...

About level for me. Ottens is terrible. Kingsley has only had one bad year! (in his last 4 or 5). Will be a good pick up IMO.

How is he terrible? Played half the year in the forward line and half in the ruck. Came thirteenth in hitouts, ahead of players that played in the ruck all year, as well as kicking 26 goals, despite only spending half his time there.

Do they hand out rose coloured glasses at the gate at KP? Egan's passable, at best, but would mostly be carved up should he ever play on a premier forward. Feel free to play him in a key position when we next play and hence beat you. again.

Deary me, if you have such blind faith in some of your guys, it's no wonder next year's always good enough at Geelong... :rolleyes: Didn't you get the memo - you guys went backwards in 06!!!! Flag favourites my foot...

Name one Richmond defender better than Egan. Ask any other supporter of any other team and the majority would agree with me. As for Egan playing on a premier forward, he had to do it every week that Harley has been out for the last two years. Uneducated again.

How is he terrible? Played half the year in the forward line and half in the ruck. Came thirteenth in hitouts, ahead of players that played in the ruck all year, as well as kicking 26 goals, despite only spending half his time there.

You guys recruited him as a forward (26 goals :eek: ) 450k!

13th in hitouts. It's about hitouts to advantage, that is really a ***** statistic. Even if he was good in the ruck don't you have Mr 500k doing that job?

Ottens is overatted, and is only servicable IMO, would rather Meyer and Pattison:thumbsu:

You guys recruited him as a forward (26 goals :eek: ) 450k!

13th in hitouts. It's about hitouts to advantage, that is really a ***** statistic. Even if he was good in the ruck don't you have Mr 500k doing that job?

Ottens is overatted, and is only servicable IMO, would rather Meyer and Pattison:thumbsu:

Ottens was recruited as ruck/forward. Not a forward. Who told you he was just recruited as a forward? Because they seem to be misinformed.

I'm actually pretty sure Mooney only played maybe two games in defence for the year. Otherwise he was forward the whole time. Plus he was only suspended for what, 5 games? Hardly half the season.

2005, when Kingsley was actually playing, as was Playfair before his jaw was broken, if we were playing a side like St.Kilda, Hudghton would take Kingsley, Maguire would take Mooney, Koschitzke would take Ottens, and say Fisher would take Playfair. It will be the same at Richmond. Hudghton would probably Richo, Maguire/Kingsley, Koschitzke/Schulz, and whoever else you had. Personally I don't think much will change for Kent at Richmond, he is still going to be taken by one of the two best KP defenders in a game, and when you consider most teams have two great defenders, such as:

Rutten/McGregor, Fletcher/Michael, Glass/Hunter, Scarlett/Harley, Carroll/Rivers, Hudghton/Maguire etc., Kent will still be taking one of them. Not much changes.

Yeah but while Geelong had injuries to all their decent forwards like Playfair. The Tigers will be able to stretch the oppositions defense by putting up players like Simmo, Schulz, Pattison and Riewoldt at any time they wish really. If any of those players start to dominate, you would take your player off Kingsley and put him on the dominant player. Which leaves Kent open for a cracker.

He wont take the second best defender, Schulz will take it before Kingsley. He'll be played in the forward pocket or half forward flank. And not in a key positional role.

Mate you are seriously uneducated about the game. Egan is a very good player and given he is a late starter because of a budding tennis career...there is still alot of upside...the only rose colours are the condoms you have been using with your good mate bentleigh today...

There was too much else up there to quote....but Richmond people who are talking about our KP forwards and say...and Mooney..?...Mooney is a very good footballer and showed good form at CHF this season...was crucial to our make up this year and his tribunal appearances and outings cost us dearly this season...Nathan Ablett isnt a kid anymore and we are expecting big things from him next season...but unlike you guys we dont want to ******** ourselves silly about POTENTIAL...

And the discussion about us doing the deal for Ottens...pick 16 and a poor kid who cant get on the track Moloney ( and thats why we traded Moloney because we knew he was injury prone..unfortunately for him because he is a good kid)...is something I would do in a heartbeat...what would our ruck divisions be like without Ottens right now?

He is a crucial part of our ruck particularly and forward set ups moving forward...

Saying Richmond will click the fingers and fix the delivery into the forward line is just funny...

None of you have shown you understand kents game or what he needs to be a good player....some of you are over Ottens but most of you are too inclined to putting a negative spin on it which is just a sign of bitterness...

I am not bitter about kent going...I hope he does well and in some ways sticks it up Bomber who used him as a scapegoat for this season...but all this comparison with Ottens and saying he is going to kick 30, 40 and 50 goals next year based on reading stats where you dont know how to apply them to reality..and where kent is the 3rd or 4th tall in a crowded forward line that doesnt get good delivery is just nonsense really...

If you actually start talking about stuff relevant to his game and apply that to the REALITY of the Richmond style of play I will start listening...

Ottens was recruited as ruck/forward. Not a forward. Who told you he was just recruited as a forward? Because they seem to be misinformed.

Geelong's coaching staff were adament they were chasing a key forward. You did this the year before with Jade Rawlings! He can't play ruck so you were obviously chasing a key FORWARD, and got big Brad:eek: .

Yeah but while Geelong had injuries to all their decent forwards like Playfair. The Tigers will be able to stretch the oppositions defense by putting up players like Simmo, Schulz, Pattison and Riewoldt at any time they wish really. If any of those players start to dominate, you would take your player off Kingsley and put him on the dominant player. Which leaves Kent open for a cracker.

He wont take the second best defender, Schulz will take it before Kingsley. He'll be played in the forward pocket or half forward flank. And not in a key positional role.

Playfair doesnt make our forward line anymore...the three guys you mention...um...I would take Mooney, Hawkins and Ablett over them any day of the week....and I would take Ottens over Richo because he is far more valuable to our team structure than Richo would be...although I am not bagging a guy who has 700 goals in afl footy...

Geelong's coaching staff were adament they were chasing a key forward. You did this the year before with Jade Rawlings! He can't play ruck so you were obviously chasing a key FORWARD, and got big Brad:eek: .

No. We were after a ruck/forward. At that stage we had King injured and only Chambers and Blake to back him up. Chambers and Blake are not very intimidating, so we needed another player, one that had been AA ruck. Hence we got Ottens. I think a Geelong supporter would know more about it than you Danny.:thumbsu:

Playfair doesnt make our forward line anymore...the three guys you mention...um...I would take Mooney, Hawkins and Ablett over them any day of the week....and I would take Ottens over Richo because he is far more valuable to our team structure than Richo would be...although I am not bagging a guy who has 700 goals in afl footy...

I personally wouldnt. Mooney over Simmo is a joke, you would take a player who spends every second week suspended, over a bloke that was robbed not to be in the AA team? As for Hawkins and Ablett they've barely played any footy at all. Schulz alone has played more football than both of them combined.

As for Ottens and Richo, thats probably one of the funniest things ive ever seen. Ottens can barely hold down a key position role. Richo will play Full Forward for Richmond until the day he retires.

Schulz kicked 16 goals this year. I really don't think any coach with half a brain would put their second best defender on him when Kingsley is there, a proven forward.

And Hawthorn will win the flag next year right..?...and Kingsley will kick 50 as the 3rd or 4th tall at Richmond...and Ottens will kick 26 goals and play well in the ruck and finish top ten in the B & F and guys like you will call him a hack because you barrack for Hawthorn basically...stop ********ing us around and give proper football reasons for your comments...people who come into these posts and give their 2 cents worth are a waste of time and space...

I personally wouldnt. Mooney over Simmo is a joke, you would take a player who spends every second week suspended, over a bloke that was robbed not to be in the AA team? As for Hawkins and Ablett they've barely played any footy at all. Schulz alone has played more football than both of them combined.

As for Ottens and Richo, thats probably one of the funniest things ive ever seen. Ottens can barely hold down a key position role. Richo will play Full Forward for Richmond until the day he retires.

Will you read the post?...actually read it?....I put three guys up against three guys...where does this Mooney over Simmo thing start up..?...just read will you...

And no worries mate you mount the argument on the site for Pattison and Shulz over Ablett and Hawkins...go for it...

Richo is a much better full forward than Ottens....whats he like in the ruck is my point..?...I said structure...read what I write? We need Ottens in the ruck more than we need a 30+ guy proven as he is at full forward....the way you are arguing it isnt the point I am making...

And Hawthorn will win the flag next year right..?...and Kingsley will kick 50 as the 3rd or 4th tall at Richmond...and Ottens will kick 26 goals and play well in the ruck and finish top ten in the B & F and guys like you will call him a hack because you barrack for Hawthorn basically...stop ********ing us around and give proper football reasons for your comments...people who come into these posts and give their 2 cents worth are a waste of time and space...

Yes I said the Hawks will win the flag when?

I didn't say he would kick 50 either.

Ottens is a plodder, he is a servicable player, and if you actually think he is worth 450k then, ,,,,good luck with that. :thumbsu:

No. We were after a ruck/forward. At that stage we had King injured and only Chambers and Blake to back him up. Chambers and Blake are not very intimidating, so we needed another player, one that had been AA ruck. Hence we got Ottens. I think a Geelong supporter would know more about it than you Danny.:thumbsu:

It's quite easy to claim you needed a ruckan now, because Ottens can only play that position, you need to try and defend the clubs move. King was meant to be OK for the season coming up, he had a whole pre-season to recover.

I again ask if your theory is correct, why would Geelong be chasing Jade Rawlings, who could only play as a forward?

He's played on many good forwards such as Richardson, Pavlich, Bradshaw, O'Louglin and Brown. In each he has held his own. He held Jono Brown goalless in round one.

It's quite easy to claim you needed a ruckan now, because Ottens can only play that position, you need to try and defend the clubs move. King was meant to be OK for the season coming up, he had a whole pre-season to recover.

I again ask if your theory is correct, why would Geelong be chasing Jade Rawlings, who could only play as a forward?

Because yes, we needed a forward, and at that stage there were no decent ruckman/forwards going around. I think you'll find we needed a ruckman too. When Ottens came along, it helped both aspects. Hence, we needed a ruck/forward.

You thought it would help both aspects. But I think 50 goals NOT 26 was what was needed.

Yes I said the Hawks will win the flag when?

I didn't say he would kick 50 either.

Ottens is a plodder, he is a servicable player, and if you actually think he is worth 450k then, ,,,,good luck with that. :thumbsu:

He isnt earning 450k a year mate...thats you and Richmond supporters making stuff up as usual...so the hawks will win the premiership whenever you say mate because its all a part of your little fantasy world of make believe..thats the point..

He is on 400+!!!!

Stop speaking utter tripe, I have never said Hawthorn will win a Premiership!

Ive never rated kingsley much i'll admit but i think he offers us something we havent had for a long long time, another legitimate leading forward apart from Richo. I'll take it