Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2011 Mock Draft

• Thread starter Thread starter Knightmare

[FONT=&quot]Not the quality Indiginous of previous years unfortunately. Will be some lower end ones. Raikiwasa is one likely to be looked at.[/FONT]

Raikiwasa is a proud Fijian.

I really like Marley Williams and Murray Newman from WA. Lachlan Edwards from Victoria is another. All three are dangerous players. Anthony Tipungwuti is another one of those small guys from the Tiwi Islands, but is also playing TAC Cup football. If he doesn't get taken by GWS, he'd be my choice for Brisbane. Would definitely add something special to the Brisbane forward line.

Dangerzone your terminology is from the 80s either you are Aboriginal or not. By your terms would his bottom half be Aboriginal or the top half either way I am sure all indigenous lads would be proud of their heritage and their Australian heritage as well

Not specifiying, but I love the way certain posters on BF think forwards can just go back and play the position with perfection.

Elton for one cannot play back. Doesn't have the defensive smarts. Nor Sam Gordon. And I've seen Paine play down back. He's a much more damaging forward as he knows how to play the position. He gets lost down back. Bussey's in the same category as Elton.

Talia on the other hand is a natural defender. One who's played defence for quite some time. His body position one-on-one, spoiling and reading of the play from the back half is exceptional (for this level). He also knows how to fill the space when his man goes up the ground chasing kicks.

I understand you're saying these 'could' play back, but after much time with an AFL defensive coach. Not just at the click of the fingers.

Lastly- KM- I'd be interested to know about Tomlinson. One player I believe could be a genuine swing man. If anything I believe he's more of a back, but I seen him up forward and he's got a feel for it. I had him as a late top ten pick following quality games late last year for Oakleigh, AIS vs Geel on the G this year, and for VM against QLD and VC. He didn't get massive numbers but his shut down roles were critical. Early mock drafts however have him listed at pick 30 and beyond.

He's both sided, despite needing a little work on his left and he's got mongrel. I reckon he'd be a steal at 30.

I only make these comments because many of the better KPPs as kids only learn how to play forward and simply haven't ever learnt to play down back.

Certainly Talia is the only standout of the key backman, so for those clubs looking for a possible one early, they might have to make do with shifting one of those back. But you are not wrong in your comments. Gordon/Bussey/Elton/Paine are much better as forwards and they should be drafted as forwards.

Tomlinson is not a bad one. If he grows another 2-3cm he would be without a doubt be a 1st rounder in my view. Still has some late 1st round chances but I have him more as a 2nd rounder at this point in time.
I have him in the 20-45 type range where he could sneak into that late 1st round with a good close to the season.
Likewise consider him one of the better KPD choices in this draft who can still swing forward to effect.
Probably not as excited by his efforts during the champs as I'd hoped, pre champs had him as a mid-late 1st rounder, but was still solid and did his job most games.

Blueiris 4 standouts come to mind Indigenous players to watch come draft time are Wingard, Yagmoor,Anderson and Sumner although Anderson is already on GWS pre list.

Anderson will be a beauty for GWS.

Raikiwasa is a proud Fijian.

I really like Marley Williams and Murray Newman from WA. Lachlan Edwards from Victoria is another. All three are dangerous players. Anthony Tipungwuti is another one of those small guys from the Tiwi Islands, but is also playing TAC Cup football. If he doesn't get taken by GWS, he'd be my choice for Brisbane. Would definitely add something special to the Brisbane forward line.

Cheers for the notes.

Tipungwuti looks like a beauty for Gippy Power.
Really hope he gets rookied. On the short size but gee there is allot of talent there!

Dangerzone your terminology is from the 80s either you are Aboriginal or not. By your terms would his bottom half be Aboriginal or the top half either way I am sure all indigenous lads would be proud of their heritage and their Australian heritage as well

Yeah, reading back I can't believe how narrow minded and pretty insensitive I was with that comment. I wholeheartedly retract that comment.

Interesting one, and you're right. They have some fantastic kicks in their side. Particularly this year.

Last year they had Polec. Tapscott the year before. It can't be a fluke they all have fantastic kicks on them.

Would be interested to know how they are achieving the results they are achieving by foot.

[FONT=&quot]Not the quality Indiginous of previous years unfortunately. Will be some lower end ones. Raikiwasa is one likely to be looked at. [/FONT]

I know you are asking for Backs more specifically but outside of Dobosz I think really any of the others if asked could play down even if I do list as forwards.

My list of KPPs (top 10 - not including Patton):
Elton (More of a forward, but could play back)
Talia (KPD)
Dobosz (KPF only)
Lockyer (Undersized but has shown good as KPD/KPF)
Frost (Versatile KPP. Maybe better as a forward but could play back)
S.Gordon (KPF who could play some back)
Paine (See him primarily as a KPF but can play midfield or even back if necessary)
McInness (KPD primarily who could play forward)
Tomlinson (KPP - either, slightly undersized but not bad)
Bussey (KPF primarily but has versatility to go back or even ruck if necessary)

Outside of these the rest are more late-rookie prospects for mine.
So might be looking at the likes of: Andrew Bosley, Piva Wright (undersized), Xavier Richards, Henry Schade as other KPD options.

Interested on your thoughts on Mihocek from Tassie who was in AA as a defender. Would be very suprised if he did not get drafted.

Interested on your thoughts if you think he will get drafted and if so at what range.

Also as he was an AA pick in the backline how you think he may fare.

My thoughts are he is more of a forward as he tends to play a bit loose. Great mark but concerns that at 191cm he might not be tall enough for a KPD. Probably has most kids his age on strength, but this will not always be the case. Lacks non preferred.

But in the system I reckon his upside would be good.

Interested on your thoughts on Mihocek from Tassie who was in AA as a defender. Would be very suprised if he did not get drafted.

Interested on your thoughts if you think he will get drafted and if so at what range.

Also as he was an AA pick in the backline how you think he may fare.

My thoughts are he is more of a forward as he tends to play a bit loose. Great mark but concerns that at 191cm he might not be tall enough for a KPD. Probably has most kids his age on strength, but this will not always be the case. Lacks non preferred.

But in the system I reckon his upside would be good.

Marking is good. Good athlete and does have reasonable versatility. But not sure I see him as a KPP at the next level unless he grows another couple of cm. Still could be a solid 3rd tall down either end though.

Has shown enough to feature in the national draft. 2nd-3rd rounder in my books, would be higher if he was that little bit taller. But very draftable.

Along with Dobosz probably the two who would be near certainties from Tas to get selected.

I think the lions 1st selection is going to be one of the hardest to pick...love the buntine selection to add both class and vertsitility to our team. But I am starting to like what I hear about grigg, and from a list management perspective having a another SA boy in the team it will lesson any future go home factor.

Overall I think the Lions will be gunning for dyson as he has a real black/lappin look to him...but obviously he needs to be available...I am starting to think the up coming GC/Lions match could become the Dyson Cup!

Clay Smith is interesting...he keeps dropping at every update for you...any reason for that? I thought he was a real standout in the under 18's...considering the lions lack small mid/forwards you would think they wouldnt past on him with their selection if available?

I think the lions 1st selection is going to be one of the hardest to pick...love the buntine selection to add both class and vertsitility to our team. But I am starting to like what I hear about grigg, and from a list management perspective having a another SA boy in the team it will lesson any future go home factor.

Overall I think the Lions will be gunning for dyson as he has a real black/lappin look to him...but obviously he needs to be available...I am starting to think the up coming GC/Lions match could become the Dyson Cup!

Clay Smith is interesting...he keeps dropping at every update for you...any reason for that? I thought he was a real standout in the under 18's...considering the lions lack small mid/forwards you would think they wouldnt past on him with their selection if available?

I wouldn't favour an SA kid over a Victorian kid because of go home factor unless you really get some indication that it might become an issue.

The main one who I had those types of concerns about was Harley Bennell last year because as a Collingwood supporter I saw what happened with Johnny Bennell 2 years earlier.

Really any selection in that 4-12 range could go anywhere and a couple of others like McKenzie or Greene could continue to move up some more into that type range. Rate the talent all as being pretty even up that top end and there should be a fair bit of variation in most mock drafts after that top 3. Tyson could still slide even if selecting at 8 but just at this early stage have him going that little bit before your selection.

Smith is a really solid player, but don't see him going as early as I first thought. See him as more of a 2nd rounder now, but would be a good fit for Adel/Bris in the 2nd round as a rotation midfield who can play some forward minutes.
As a player comparison Mitch Banner would be the type of thing you'd be looking at with Smith. Not a great kick, but can produce good numbers as a midfielder/forward and have a strong impact on the game.

Marking is good. Good athlete and does have reasonable versatility. But not sure I see him as a KPP at the next level unless he grows another couple of cm. Still could be a solid 3rd tall down either end though.

Has shown enough to feature in the national draft. 2nd-3rd rounder in my books, would be higher if he was that little bit taller. But very draftable.

Along with Dobosz probably the two who would be near certainties from Tas to get selected.

Really appreciate ypur work and thoughts as I could only imagine the number of players that you have to look at.

Apologies for going on about the Tassie boys, but that stretch of water makes it hard to keep up with the landscape (even allowing for the magic computers!).

Have seen a few of the recruiters sitting at the rear of grandstands the last few weeks checking out those boys of interest.

I have 9 Tassie boys (check TSL forum I posted 6 weeks ago) who I believe may get a combine or state based testing invite. Still sit with 4 drafts & 2 rookies in the wash up. Time will tell.

There is always a smokey as George Burbury (Geelong rookie 2010) who didn't play Mariners and was picked up via private school footy and 6 odd games with Hobart. Same club as Peter Howe was drafted to Melbourne last year similar to the Russell Robertson scenario (the big hangers).

Can't wait for the draft invitees and I will be able to drill down a bit deeper on those kids.

I also have Clay Smith going fairly low, around the 40 mark if I remember correctly. But his kicking isn't one of the reasons I have him dropping. It's not something that will make anyone stand up and take notice, but that goes both ways. He doesn't make many mistakes.

As for Mihocek, well I'm a big fan. He might not ever play at full back, but there is nothing stopping him from developing into a Waite/Fisher style CHB. Definitely my favourite of the Tasmanians.

There is always a smokey as George Burbury (Geelong rookie 2010) who didn't play Mariners and was picked up via private school footy and 6 odd games with Hobart. Same club as Peter Howe was drafted to Melbourne last year similar to the Russell Robertson scenario (the big hangers).

Can't wait for the draft invitees and I will be able to drill down a bit deeper on those kids.

I really liked Burbury as a rookie choice last year. Had him down as one of the rookies I thought could go on to have a really nice career. Only heard about him late and only got footage really late of him, but what I saw impressed me. Having come for a rowing background myself I have a fair idea that his work ethic would be there.

I also have Clay Smith going fairly low, around the 40 mark if I remember correctly. But his kicking isn't one of the reasons I have him dropping. It's not something that will make anyone stand up and take notice, but that goes both ways. He doesn't make many mistakes.

As for Mihocek, well I'm a big fan. He might not ever play at full back, but there is nothing stopping him from developing into a Waite/Fisher style CHB. Definitely my favourite of the Tasmanians.

Would be interested what knocks you have on Smith, Chris?

For me with Smith it's definitely the kicking. Particularly during the U18 champs that let him down. Whether it be his finishing on goal or field kicking he just didn't seem to consistently finish off his work as often as I would have liked if he wanted to be considered a 1st rounder.
Had him higher in my rankings earlier and still like his game. But view him as more of a 2nd rounder now and think that is probably a more realistic draft position.

Been hearing Mihocek has been continuing on his strong form. Probably a 2nd rounder for me who could edge towards the 1st round with a particularly strong finish to the season. The reason why I'm not super keen on those low 190cm types as KPDs is because of how with every generation the key position forwards seem to be getting bigger and bigger and you'll be finding more and more key forwards around the 195-200cm mark which for a low 190cm type will find increasingly challenging.
So for this reason I do mark the likes of Mihocek among other similar low 190cm type key defenders who are slightly on the short size. But certainly with his size, marking ability and athleticism he does have the capacity to play a couple of cm taller. So a role on sub 195cm forwards is certainly doable.

Would be interested what knocks you have on Smith, Chris?

Nothing major really. I don't think his game is lacking majorly in any one area, everything he does is solid. But everything he does is just solid. There is nothing there that really makes me take notice of him. There have been plenty of his type before.

So for this reason I do mark the likes of Mihocek among other similar low 190cm type key defenders who are slightly on the short size. But certainly with his size, marking ability and athleticism he does have the capacity to play a couple of cm taller. So a role on sub 195cm forwards is certainly doable.

You wouldn't be picking Mihocek with the view that he would play at full back on the real tall players though. It's just not his position.

I'd have no problem with him running with the likes of Riewoldt, Watts and Lynch up the ground. With the right defensive structure, which keeps him at CHB rather than letting him get dragged deep, then he'll be a good player.

Hey Knights. Brisbane have activated their compo pick (27).

Thats a long way for Ellis to drop Knighta, What are your knocks on him?

I'd be happy to take him in the 2nd round...

Query:
Just wondering how Crozier is looking in the up coming draft. Saw the sensational mark and know he kicked 4 goals in a championship game, but wondering if people have been going into over hype.

Beautiful work like always Knightmare. I really respect and enjoy your posts. Keep up the great work!!

Cheers mate. Hope all is going well on your end. Hope the trade game is still running strong.

Good to see Mids and small/medium forwards linked to the crows.

Doing my best to have appropriate players at each selections based on club needs. Still allot of shuffling to get the right variation between best availables and club needs.

Hey Knights. Brisbane have activated their compo pick (27).

Might as well chuck it in now. Have just been focusing on writing up the profiles over the past couple of days.

Will do a minor reshuffle.

Thats a long way for Ellis to drop Knighta, What are your knocks on him?

I'd be happy to take him in the 2nd round...

Will be interesting to see whether he will get taken. At one stage had him as high as pick 24 or thereabouts. Probably more of a 2nd rounder who might drop into the 3rd rounding depending on how he goes in athletic testing.

Like his ball use, ball winning ability.

Do have some queries on pace. Not sure he has great pace + doesn't seem to use it enough. Would like him to add that little bit more run and carry to his game to add that little extra bit to his game to make him that little bit more attractive.

Query:
Just wondering how Crozier is looking in the up coming draft. Saw the sensational mark and know he kicked 4 goals in a championship game, but wondering if people have been going into over hype.

Should be a top 15 prospect. I fancy him as a top 10er but generally the 5-15 range is around the mark most think he will go. Fantastic talent with great potential, doesn't consistantly show it just yet but is developing really strongly so I don't think it will be wasted potential. One to look forward to seeing on the AFL stage in a couple of years when he fills out and builds that endurance.

Got all the descriptions knocked over now and done a little bit of an order shuffle to add that Brisbane selection in.

Will add my power rankings (basically my order of where players should go based on how I think their careers will turn out) after the completion of the trial for the official bigfooty phantom draft whenever that happens.

Might also look at adding a rookie draft.
Coleman, Tipungwuti, L.Neale, A.Benbow and some more mature agers amongst others will likely feature amongst others.

Tall Forwards list:
Heard Sheahan state on Future Stars today that the Tall Forwards going to Draft Camp will be released Tuesday. Looking forward to seeing who is on the list.

Several recruiters saw Dobosz kick 5 last weeked and would have collected another elephant stamp.

Schade who is a genuine tall defender at 195 cm took the points over Mitch Thorp. He was MVP for Tassie last year as the overager and only had 2-3 goals kicked on him in Division 2 carnival this year. Reckon he would be in top 5 genuine tall defenders who played in carnival. Reckon he will be drafted and probably go sooner than later.

Several recruiters saw Dobosz kick 5 last weeked and would have collected another elephant stamp.

Schade who is a genuine tall defender at 195 cm took the points over Mitch Thorp. He was MVP for Tassie last year as the overager and only had 2-3 goals kicked on him in Division 2 carnival this year. Reckon he would be in top 5 genuine tall defenders who played in carnival. Reckon he will be drafted and probably go sooner than later.

Dobosz is giving himself ever chance to go 1st round. Have been hearing he has been keeping his form up and had a few similar hauls.

Schade is draft relevant but I think his draft position might come down to needs. Maybe a Geelong adds him in the 2nd round if there are no other appropriate KPD options available. Maybe he goes later if he isn't rated as highly by recruiters.
Certainly have him behind Talia, McInness and a couple of other slightly smaller options at this stage.
With a strong finish to the season + good draft combine he can move up the rankings and ensure that he does get onto an AFL list.

Thoughts on Michael Ialeggio from Norwood, Knightmare?

Haven't seen allot of him since didn't get a game at the champs. Seems be a skillful type inside mid.

Can't say I know much about his draft chances though.