Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2011 Mock Draft

knightmare, interested on your thoughts of the cats first pick. do
you think they will take the best available player or go on more of a positional and needs basis? given that who do you think they will take?

If you look at page 1 you will see that Knightmare has Geelongs first pick as:

#26 Geelong - Fraser McInness (WA – KPD/KPF)
Height: 197cm, Weight: 91kg, DOB: 19/07/1993
Recruited from: Perth Football Club
Style: Dustin Fletcher
Player comparison:
Range: 10-45
Profile: Very tall backman with great potential at his size. Very mobile and should grow out well. Has had some injury difficulties but looks good. Versatility is there for him to play a range of positions, probably like him most as a key defender. 1st round talent who might rise up the standings a little later on.

So I am going to take a stab at this and say that I think Knightmare thinks Geelongs 1st pick will be Fraser McInness

Knightmare, how do you think Buntine would go as a mid?

I don't get to see these kids play and so am going on a couple of minutes of highlights ... but his hands in close look superb. Seems to be able to hit targets by hand out of packs and is desperate in his attack on the ball and body.

Would he have the engine and all round skills to run through the midfield? Physically he looks like an archetypal big tall mid.

When he was first linked to Port I thought no not another quarterbacking hbf ... but he looks like he could be much more.

Played mostly back this year but I absolutely think Buntine could play some mid. Has the skill set for it and wins his own ball so don't consider it a big issue whether it be inside/outside. Good height to play mid and personally don't mind that taller type mid.

Early picks are about getting best availables. Just need to go for the best talent because those early picks don't come around every day and are even more important to nail.

Knightmare, why'd you have us choosing Waldhunter over Grigg and McKenzie

Waldhuter is growing on me. What I didn't realise with his game was that he has very reasonable pace and a very good long kick on him.

Like him as an immediate option. Very serious attack on the footy and will give you that edge in the tackle count and inside ball winning.

Better inside ball winner than Grigg, even if Grigg is possibly the bigger accumulator.

I think everyone is getting over excited by Waldhunter's highlights. Besides that fact that literally all of the highlights that he has are either tackles or just barreling his head in, he probably has a 2:1 ratio for the number of possessions he got throughout the championships and the number of highlights he had. I think he had like 2 or 3 4-5 possession games, and the highest he got was like 14. With the big body he has, I don't think his scope for improvement will be very big.

Works for Joel Selwood doesn't it? :D

His numbers throughout the champs were ordinary outside of the 1-2 big games, but probably hasn't consistantly played in roles that allow him to get big numbers. At times throughout the year has been playing outside - which because of his kicking ability and speed should in theory be able to play - just trying to complete his game. But all his inside work has been supurb and really does stack up.
Past performances in u16s and last year also very good. So proven performance isn't a huge concern.

I initially questioned his scope for improvement since he has a fairly mature body, but I don't necessarily think he has limited upside. Probably could work on his endurance to allow him to continue giving that effort more often which will come and is something he could very easily work on and also could learn to play some more outside and get more involved in some link up stuff. But the things he needs to add to his game aren't so much things he can't work on which is why he is such an attractive prospect. Most things you look for are there.

Knightmare, well done on some outstanding draft info. Have you seen much of Elliot Yeo? Haven't seen him mentioned in your draft which surprises me. I think he shows a lot of promise.

Cheers

Have seen enough of Yeo. Have him just outside of my draft but a very possible last/rookie selection.
Pace + kicking good. Has some talent and some nice attributes. U18 champs performance disappointed me a little. Decision making wasn't great and looked VERY pressured much of the time which was very concerning and the thing I'd most worry about if looking to draft him.

Hey Knight, What would your thoughts be on Sam Gordon to the Swans? probably put him at FF while Reid continues to be a dominating CHF?

I do like Sam Gordon. He is inside my power rankings but doesn't appear inside my phantom draft - big reason being he didn't get a draft combine invite.

Think he is very draftable and think he would be a good option to consider in either of the drafts.

To be honest would move Reid down back - not a great kick on goal but has that same standout marking ability. Think he could be just about as good as Ben is for Collingwood down back as that marking defender who can attack the footy and read it better than anyone else.

Possibly best available - has worked well in the past and see no reason why Geelong won't keep that same approach. But if that best available is a KPD. Then even better.

If you look at page 1 you will see that Knightmare has Geelongs first pick as:

#26 Geelong - Fraser McInness (WA – KPD/KPF)

So I am going to take a stab at this and say that I think Knightmare thinks Geelongs 1st pick will be Fraser McInness

Will probably be different next week but certainly is one if I expect Geelong to look at if available.

Reading between the line its sounds a very "Geelong Pick"
"Has had some injury difficulties" , "Versatility is there for him to play a range of positions" etc. A KPP that may gain in favour as we progress towards the draft. Reminds me of when we picked HarryT.

But is it more needs based than genuinely a late 20's pick?

Yeah from memory didn't play in the u18 champs - or maybe played 1-2 games, too long ago. But is one who has gone under the radar a little and hasn't been talked about in the 1st round conversation as he possibly could.

McInness has played some key forward and key defence. Even some ruck - but don't think he will play that at the next level.

Geelong will probably go needs basis. But if a quality KPD is available. Why not.

Wow 2 of our predicted dratees likened to Pav. Imagine if they were as good as him.:D

Only made that comparison because both are rare in that they can both play KPP but also move through the midfield without looking out of place. Paine as key forward/mid and Tomlinson key forward/ key back/ mid.

Really quite an unintended coincidence.

Knightmare can you tell me more about Taylor?

Tac cup future stars have him coming to us at 6 so I am interested.

I watched his vids and read his description and he sounds fantastic. Why do you (and others) have him so low? What are his weaknesses?

I'm assuming this is Taylor Adams?

He's a really quality mid. Mainly inside. The thing that stands out about him is that he looks that class better - just looks like an AFL player playing at VFL level.
Skills set very good - by foot and hand. Speed not bad and very agile and can get around you pretty easily. Decion making very good. Good ball winner.
Real hard worker and is noted for leadership. Has impressed Nathan Buckley when he was working with him a couple of years back. One of those really - you know he is going to make it types because he puts in the work.
In a way is a player with very few flaws and there isn't allot you can really say he is not great at but more a couple of things he might not stand out in as some other prospects might.

Should go top 20, but pick 6 possibly a tad early. Would take Kavanagh/Buntine higher - both better talents. Typically I do tend to favour those taller mids though.

Knightmare, I love your work - all quality. I'm just curious about Carlton's first pick, assuming we don't have to use it on Dylan Buckley.

Given the players likely to be available at #22 and the fact that we will be looking very hard at tall forwards, inside ball winners or elite disposers, who would be our "best available" picks? Would going for a Paine give us the best player, or would a Kerridge or Markworth be better?

Thanks mate.

Knightmare, I love your work - all quality. I'm just curious about Carlton's first pick, assuming we don't have to use it on Dylan Buckley.

Given the players likely to be available at #22 and the fact that we will be looking very hard at tall forwards, inside ball winners or elite disposers, who would be our "best available" picks? Would going for a Paine give us the best player, or would a Kerridge or Markworth be better?

Thanks mate.

Will be interesting to see who is available.

Kerridge possibly not 1st round. More of a 2nd rounder.

Markworth if available is very much worth looking at. Is probably long term a mid but has played as a leadup forward also throughout the year. Think he is one of the better talents in this years draft.

Paine might be gone. But certainly could be available. Worth consideration. Probably the better of the KPF choices.

The player I encourage Carlton to look at is Waylen Manson. Many would argue it is possibly too early to take him but on talent could possibly be the best player in this years draft.
There is the bit of go home factor and personality is a bit of an unknown and hasn't really played the professional footy. But his production in those very few appearances is really quite unbelieveable and the talent is there to be a special KPF which probably only Patton otherwise has.
Think he would fit into that forwardline very well with Betts and Garlett. Would make for a truely frightening spectacle.
As a club Carlton are probably one of the few clubs who I think could really make Manson work because you have the resources to make it happen.

Will be interesting to see who is available.

Kerridge possibly not 1st round. More of a 2nd rounder.

Markworth if available is very much worth looking at. Is probably long term a mid but has played as a leadup forward also throughout the year. Think he is one of the better talents in this years draft.

Paine might be gone. But certainly could be available. Worth consideration. Probably the better of the KPF choices.

The player I encourage Carlton to look at is Waylen Manson. Many would argue it is possibly too early to take him but on talent could possibly be the best player in this years draft.
There is the bit of go home factor and personality is a bit of an unknown and hasn't really played the professional footy. But his production in those very few appearances is really quite unbelieveable and the talent is there to be a special KPF which probably only Patton otherwise has.
Think he would fit into that forwardline very well with Betts and Garlett. Would make for a truely frightening spectacle.
As a club Carlton are probably one of the few clubs who I think could really make Manson work because you have the resources to make it happen.
Thanks mate. He does sound like a spectacular talent - we'd just need to be confident of him being able to fit in with Betts, Garlett, Yarran etc and cope with the transition. Will be interesting to see where he goes...

G'day Knightmare, love your work with the mock draft mate.
I don't often post on here but i do enjoy everyone's input and opinion.
I am curious about who are the blues gonna draft with our first pick come the 24th of November.

I have been looking around and Shane Kersten looks very solid, jack-darling like, maybe not in terms of presence but in terms of having an impact from the go. He has very good athletic abilities as I found from the darft combine last year. I am wondering if you can give us more info about Shane Kersten because personally I would love to have him at the blues.
Maybe even a few videos if there are any :)

Thanks mate. He does sound like a spectacular talent - we'd just need to be confident of him being able to fit in with Betts, Garlett, Yarran etc and cope with the transition. Will be interesting to see where he goes...

Will be interesting over coming days to see how he interviews and goes with all the psych testing.
If he does reasonably maybe he gets a shot.

G'day Knightmare, love your work with the mock draft mate.
I don't often post on here but i do enjoy everyone's input and opinion.
I am curious about who are the blues gonna draft with our first pick come the 24th of November.

I have been looking around and Shane Kersten looks very solid, jack-darling like, maybe not in terms of presence but in terms of having an impact from the go. He has very good athletic abilities as I found from the darft combine last year. I am wondering if you can give us more info about Shane Kersten because personally I would love to have him at the blues.
Maybe even a few videos if there are any :)

Kersten is another Carlton should look at along with Manson, Dobosz, Paine, Elton and possibly even McInnes as that potential key position forward. All these should be looked at 1st round if available.

Kersten is on the short side and while he didn't play during the u18 champs has the scores on the board and late season really performed very well with some big goal hauls. Is a really strong mark on the lead. Has a long 55m kick on him. Good athlete. I have questions as to whether he can play as a 3rd tall - which maybe at his height he might be asked to do.
But if you draft him it would be as your next generation full forward.
Think various recruiters will have varying views on him. His type (undersized KPF) isn't popular with all recruiters so because of this has a high potential variation of draft range since he doesn't really have that positional flexibility.

Kersten is another Carlton should look at along with Manson, Dobosz, Paine, Elton and possibly even McInnes as that potential key position forward. All these should be looked at 1st round if available.

Kersten is on the short side and while he didn't play during the u18 champs has the scores on the board and late season really performed very well with some big goal hauls. Is a really strong mark on the lead. Has a long 55m kick on him. Good athlete. I have questions as to whether he can play as a 3rd tall - which maybe at his height he might be asked to do.
But if you draft him it would be as your next generation full forward.
Think various recruiters will have varying views on him. His type (undersized KPF) isn't popular with all recruiters so because of this has a high potential variation of draft range since he doesn't really have that positional flexibility.

i'm not exactly sure on this, dont quote me, but i have read somewhere that he has grown to 193cm tall now and even some one said he out performed darling during last years national champ in terms of goals.
i am very interested by the fact that some has compared his style to fev, around the same height, pretty quick and kick bags of goals, are there any truth in that? i like ur comment about him being the next gen full forward, i can see him with mitchell with our resting ruck being the talls up forward.

and what is the definition of an undersize KPF, is undersize in terms of height or weight?

also like the looks of Paine, good hands and from highlight reels he seems to give a good lead also. thoughts on him?
I just have a feeling that we'll land one of Paine or Kersten if we keep our first round pick at 22

i'm not exactly sure on this, dont quote me, but i have read somewhere that he has grown to 193cm tall now and even some one said he out performed darling during last years national champ in terms of goals.
i am very interested by the fact that some has compared his style to fev, around the same height, pretty quick and kick bags of goals, are there any truth in that? i like ur comment about him being the next gen full forward, i can see him with mitchell with our resting ruck being the talls up forward.

and what is the definition of an undersize KPF, is undersize in terms of height or weight?

also like the looks of Paine, good hands and from highlight reels he seems to give a good lead also. thoughts on him?
I just have a feeling that we'll land one of Paine or Kersten if we keep our first round pick at 22

My belief with KPFs is that you generally look at 194cm+. Size does matter and in September footy in particular big bodys don't get any smaller. So having those 196cm KPFs can make a big difference.
With each generation KPPs continue to get taller and taller so I am to a degree in my analysis slightly more critical of those under 194cm and tend to rate those 196cm+ a little higher generally.

Kersten did have a massive 2010 U18 champs. A bit like Darling in that both had massive years as 17 year olds.
Darling while he ripped up the U18 champs in 2009 just didn't have a great 2010 season which saw him drop.
The interesting thing with Kersten is that he didn't play. So there is that potential to drop.

With both Darling and Kersten I to a degree question their upside because both have been very physically developed since a young age while most taller KPPs physically are usually much later bloomers which usually means they have greater potential for physical and football growth.
This doesn't mean neither are AFL level talents. Just means you take what you see in front of you now knowing what they can produce expecting allot less future development than you might get in a Jack Watts or Sam Day.

So Kersten for Carlton isn't a bad selection and perhaps is more suitable because he has those results on the board now and can possibly break into the team that little bit earlier than one of the other KPFs. Just depends on what you are looking for.

Paine is also worth looking at. Really intriguing key forward because he does have the ability to push up into the midfield. Skills set almost like that of a midfielder but then as a forward is a very strong overhead mark. Should go somewhere 1st/2nd round and like Kersten may/may not be available depending on how other teams evaluate his talent.

Love your work Knightmare. Don't know where you find the time?

If the likes of Piane & Kersten are gone before Carlton's first pick (which is plausible), should they look at Jackson Coleman from Sandringham Dragons with one their later picks?

He's listed at 196cm, 91kg, is a marking forward who can pinch hit in the ruck. I believe he has also spent time down back with reasonable results. Played 14 TAC Cup games in 2011 for 34 goals and is IMO a mobile, athletic big man with good pace and potential.

Would appreciate your thoughts.

Love your work Knightmare. Don't know where you find the time?

If the likes of Piane & Kersten are gone before Carlton's first pick (which is plausible), should they look at Jackson Coleman from Sandringham Dragons with one their later picks?

He's listed at 196cm, 91kg, is a marking forward who can pinch hit in the ruck. I believe he has also spent time down back with reasonable results. Played 14 TAC Cup games in 2011 for 34 goals and is IMO a mobile, athletic big man with good pace and potential.

Would appreciate your thoughts.

Jackson Coleman is an interesting one. Might go as a rooke but not confident he will get a shot in the main draft.

Is two years older (born in 91) and probably hasn't dominated to the extent you would hope for someone those few years older in the TAC Cup. But certainly the potential for development is there since he hasn't played a whole lot of serious footy prior to this year.

Jackson Coleman is an interesting one. Might go as a rooke but not confident he will get a shot in the main draft.

Is two years older (born in 91) and probably hasn't dominated to the extent you would hope for someone those few years older in the TAC Cup. But certainly the potential for development is there since he hasn't played a whole lot of serious footy prior to this year.

Saw Coleman play in Hobart against the Tassie Mariners this year and must say that I thought the hype on him was over the top.

Considering his considerable age and weight advantage his performance was ordinary. The experience factor was used as a reason for his form, however I did not rate him.

I think it highly unlikely he will even be rookied.

Knight, In view of hoskin-Elliots great recent testing do you think he will move up the draft order? and if so at what players expense?

I am really hoping that the Lions get either Buntine, Hoskin-E, or Tyson

Knight, In view of hoskin-Elliots great recent testing do you think he will move up the draft order? and if so at what players expense?

I am really hoping that the Lions get either Buntine, Hoskin-E, or Tyson

Tyson will be well and truely gone by pick 8.

If Hoskin-Elliot goes higher then possibly Buntine slides, not because of quality but GWS and Port.A don't really have a great need for him with a number of similar enough alternatives.

Kavanagh I also think might be a possible slider and is the other to look out for at pick 8 if Hoskin-Elliot is not available.

I wonder if the crows will make the move and pick Talia at #10? They are currently looking at their "program" to retain interstate talent, and considering they have recently lost Bock & davis I think they would be doing everything possible to make their Talia a 10 year player...and getting his brother to the club would not only secure their KPD'ers post the Bock/davis walkout, but also keep it solid for years to come with the brothers playing along side each other.

also, prior to the gunston, maric, & armstrong walkout they only had one early pick and seemed destined to take a quality mid...but now with the likely hood of getting 3 extra resonable picks from those players they can focus on mid needs after securing Talia...thoughts?

thoughts?

I wonder if the crows will make the move and pick Talia at #10? They are currently looking at their "program" to retain interstate talent, and considering they have recently lost Bock & davis I think they would be doing everything possible to make their Talia a 10 year player...and getting his brother to the club would not only secure their KPD'ers post the Bock/davis walkout, but also keep it solid for years to come with the brothers playing along side each other.

also, prior to the gunston, maric, & armstrong walkout they only had one early pick and seemed destined to take a quality mid...but now with the likely hood of getting 3 extra resonable picks from those players they can focus on mid needs after securing Talia...thoughts?

thoughts?
Interesting train of thought there, but I really think an outside mid must be our number one priority. Between Talia, Rutten, McKernan, Luke Thompson, Shaw and Otten, I don't think we are too bad in the key defender department.

Another medium forward would be faily high on our list now as well. We have very few players capable of taking a big grab seeing as we've lost Burton and Gunston in the last 12 months.

thoughts?

Disagree. Talia is a quality KPD, and probably one of the best in the draft, but the sheer quantity of quality midfielders this year means we have to go a mid at pick #10. Depending on how high our pick is that we get for Gunston, I think we should use that on the defender, if necessary.

thoughts?

Adelaide should certainly still look at appropriate KPPs if there is value for one at a particular selection.

A more significant need for Adelaide is for some more quality midfielders. Pick 10 could land a very good mid.

Talia I don't think will go quiet so high even though he is probably the best KPD prospect. Think he will land somewhere more in the 15-30 range, but there is still potential that he is taken that little bit earlier with GWS in particular looking for KPPs.

Hey knightmare, if the rumours are true about us trading pick 14 for pick 15 and morris, who do you think we'll get with pick 15 and our 4th rounder (which would've been the pick we'd use to get morris)? Would we still have a shot at nabbing Kavanagh or Greene?