Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2011 Mock Draft

Good to see Paine make it back into the second round. Luke Brown should be at least 30 spots earlier though, and Forster is still too low for me too. And I'm sure Mihocek will be the first Tasmanian picked.

Think pretty much all the mature aged players are too soon as well - Sunberg, Tate, O'Hara, Thomas, Saad, Blackwell. I might have a couple of them around the fourth round mark. But then again, I'm not a big fan of the 21+ years old.
:confused: why since freo are the main benefactors of "mature" age recruits????

This year I should have said. I'm not a big fan of any of the potential mature aged recruits this year.

But also, Barlow, Silvagni, Lower and van Berlo were all rookie pick ups. While Faulks + pick 61 cost us pick 55, and Mzungu + pick 44 cost us pick 38. Which is pretty much nothing, as opposed to taking a mature aged player inside the first three rounds of the National Draft.

Good list. Maybe just a little top heavy with Victorian boys with 50 listed. However they probably all stand a good chance of being in the 120 invitees to the draft combine in early October.

Any chance for Hylton, Hal Hunter, Darrou or Morris do you think Knight? Morris especially, is absolutely killing it in the TAC cup at the moment.

Ben Darrou is a good call, he is a James Gwilt clone with a racking boot, and good size too, very shy boy though

When do you think you'll be able to put up your range and why, always think that these are the best too read and the quality of these change a good mock draft to a great

Knightmare, you originally had Kavanagh at pick 12, now he is at pick 4. That is a big jump for a player that didn't play in the carnival. Is this jump just based on the opinions of media experts like Emma Quayle? You didn't have him rated in your top 12 mids originally?!

Great effort, though listing all those kids. Most drafts experts wouldn't be able to do that right now I'd say!

So you don't think Ben Brown will get Drafted?

Reckon Ben Brown is a big chance to be drafted. Played limited games for Tassie, due to returning from knee reconstruction. However showed his class in the last game versus Queensland U/18's where he kicked 3 goals and dominated in the ruck and around the ground. Only thing that will stop him is concern on his body being able to stand up to the rigours of football.

What are Kennedy's knocks on him Knight?

Didn't have him in my draft either last year.

Not a bad player. Fairly duel sided, can use the ball. Ok speed. Was unlucky not to get rookied but thought there were a couple of slightly better options.

Knocks: At his height maybe didn't stand out enough. Needs to get stronger. Doesn't hit the scoreboard enough - which other similar types can - ala Fasolo.

Good to see Paine make it back into the second round. Luke Brown should be at least 30 spots earlier though, and Forster is still too low for me too. And I'm sure Mihocek will be the first Tasmanian picked.

Think pretty much all the mature aged players are too soon as well - Sunberg, Tate, O'Hara, Thomas, Saad, Blackwell. I might have a couple of them around the fourth round mark. But then again, I'm not a big fan of the 21+ years old.

I do feel it is the low end for Forster + Brown but couldn't find a fit earlier. Don't blame you for thinking they are too low.

Will review Mihocek again, but do view Dobosz the superior talent of the two at this stage and the more likely to go earlier. Might change my mind later on, but for now see Dobosz as a late 1st rounder, Mihocek more of a 2nd rounder.

I probably have a little more faith in the mature agers. Think there are a couple who could have successful careers at AFL level. Might be right that they are in there too early, but more than anything wanted to emphasise at this early stage that they are all worth looking at.

Good list. Maybe just a little top heavy with Victorian boys with 50 listed. However they probably all stand a good chance of being in the 120 invitees to the draft combine in early October.

Certainly next year my ratio will be swung around for the 2012 draft with allot more talent outside of Victoria.

But certainly being a Victorian naturally there is a Victorian bias since I have greater access and knowledge of these players.

So you don't think Ben Brown will get Drafted?

Not in the main draft. But I think he is a big rookie chance if he can finish the season strongly.

Fantastic talent and am a big fan of the kid as you know as well as anyone. Had a really strong game to finish the champs and is on the right track to making it to the big time with a bit of luck if he can continue to show improvement.

Some good names.

Interestingly I had many of these in my original draft.

Morris is in good form and will be on the radar if he continues to perform.

Would say all are worth a look, but wouldn't have any down as locks at this early stage.

Certainly some of the better TAC Cup boys who I don't have up there. Still have time to impress.

When do you think you'll be able to put up your range and why, always think that these are the best too read and the quality of these change a good mock draft to a great

Did some initial ranges pre champs (many of which now are largely irrelevant) but will be looking at adding some better ranges in to give people an idea as well as some descriptions.
Should all be done by the end of the finals series. Earlier if I am blessed with the time to get around to it.

There are always some fantastic reads. Quigley, Snoop, Chris, Foj, Offsider amongst a couple of others on this site are all also well worth reading.

Knightmare, you originally had Kavanagh at pick 12, now he is at pick 4. That is a big jump for a player that didn't play in the carnival. Is this jump just based on the opinions of media experts like Emma Quayle? You didn't have him rated in your top 12 mids originally?!

Great effort, though listing all those kids. Most drafts experts wouldn't be able to do that right now I'd say!

Admittedly yes I have done this based on media experts, against my better judgement.

I do think he will go high, but until I see some of his games I won't be sold on his draft position. We should all over the next month or two get an idea of the type of footy he can produce and about where he will go. With few standouts at pick 4 - and with Longer not really relevant to that selection I thought I'd stick Kavanagh up there for the time being.

But there does seem to be such a consensus that he is going to be that no.4 pick that it was getting to the stage where it is rather hard to argue with.

What do you think of Lachlan Edwards, Knightmare?

Didn't stand out during the champs as much as I might have liked.

Good user of the footy. Probably doesn't quite get enough of it for my liking. One of a number of reasonable medium size players who could go this year. I do rate a few ahead of him, but in saying this he is still in the mix.

Reckon Ben Brown is a big chance to be drafted. Played limited games for Tassie, due to returning from knee reconstruction. However showed his class in the last game versus Queensland U/18's where he kicked 3 goals and dominated in the ruck and around the ground. Only thing that will stop him is concern on his body being able to stand up to the rigours of football.

Big fan of Ben Brown. Loved what he showed in the 2010 champs before injury. Showed big potential.

Would be interested to know exactly when he got back from injury. Did he have much preperation for the champs?

Had a very good final game to the champs which put him back in the mix to get selected again this year. Hope he can close out the season strong and continue to show improvement - because if injury free this kid can be an AFL level talent for mine.

Clay Smith looks a bargain at #25. I thought his standing elevated a bit like Dom Tyson after the champs...I think you magpies will be very lucky to see him available for your first pick :)

Clay Smith's rating has probably suffered from Dom Tyson and Toby Greene having very strong champs amongst a couple of other similar mids.

But still a very good mid. Smith is good value for the Pies, like him because he is another solid rotation mid/forward. Hard to find a place for him much higher up the draft order.

Didn't stand out during the champs as much as I might have liked.

Good user of the footy. Probably doesn't quite get enough of it for my liking. One of a number of reasonable medium size players who could go this year. I do rate a few ahead of him, but in saying this he is still in the mix.

Big fan of Ben Brown. Loved what he showed in the 2010 champs before injury. Showed big potential.

Would be interested to know exactly when he got back from injury. Did he have much preperation for the champs?

Had a very good final game to the champs which put him back in the mix to get selected again this year. Hope he can close out the season strong and continue to show improvement - because if injury free this kid can be an AFL level talent for mine.

Played against NSW/ACT in Tasmania at Aurora (Tasmania) were he was very good with I think monitored game time. Only other game was against Queensland at Skilled Stadium versus Queensland where he was named best for Tassie with 3 goals. Lots to like about Ben as he moves well for a big man. Reckon the remainder of his year with Glenorchy and his medical reports will tell the story.

Priority picks take 2 years to earn...none for GC this year

end of first round picks to teams with less than 5 wins. do it 2 years running and get a start of first round priority pick.

sucks that they gave em out like lolly pops to vic teams for years, then right as they start to rise and the out of vic teams come down they change it. should have changed it but allowed every team who hadnt yet had a priority pick to get it once before they revert to the current rules. this would have evened it up a bit and been the fairest solution.

how do people think tyson willl do at the testing?? and how is his disposal? ive heard a good kick from some?

Played against NSW/ACT in Tasmania at Aurora (Tasmania) were he was very good with I think monitored game time. Only other game was against Queensland at Skilled Stadium versus Queensland where he was named best for Tassie with 3 goals. Lots to like about Ben as he moves well for a big man. Reckon the remainder of his year with Glenorchy and his medical reports will tell the story.

Yeah. Competitive in the ruck. Very natural up forward.

He also played against Vic Country. Was pretty ordinary to start but got better as it went. With every match during the champs continued to show significant improvement to the extent that he was one of the best which was great to see. Just needs to keep it up and continue to show progress from game to game.

who are the best kpd in the draft? is there any talent in this area?

As pure backs Talia is probably the most solid. McInness and Lockyer are the other standouts.

knight...any chance you can add the lions combo pick to the draft?

Will do this at later date when order is released. I'm not putting a huge emphasis on which club gets who at each selection just yet but just really putting names out there as a guide as to who might get looked at by recruiters and who might feature in the draft.
When full ladder order is decided I will put up the compo picks.

end of first round picks to teams with less than 5 wins. do it 2 years running and get a start of first round priority pick.

sucks that they gave em out like lolly pops to vic teams for years, then right as they start to rise and the out of vic teams come down they change it. should have changed it but allowed every team who hadnt yet had a priority pick to get it once before they revert to the current rules. this would have evened it up a bit and been the fairest solution.

Not really. The first year under the new system was the 2006 draft, where Carlton and Essendon 'earned' priority picks. Now looking at the top 10:

Gibbs
Gumbleton
Hansen
Leuenberger
Boak
Thorp
Selwood
Reid
Armitage
N Brown

Imagine Carlton and Essendon getting a couple of those each. :eek: