Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2012 Mock Draft

What do we reckon folks? Surely calling a mod a douchebag is card worthy? :p

As long as Knightmare doesn't mind our discussions, then I'm not really bothered by anything else.

It wasnt that bad mate. I actually thought the tone of your response was just a invite for someone to snap at you. Everyone knows u do ur own Mock drafts and the way you responded to knight in his draft came across alittle aggressive. JMO

You didn't think I was serious about carding him?

Like I said, Knightmare knows I meant no offense. I enjoy our little debates.

You didn't think I was serious about carding him?

Like I said, Knightmare knows I meant no offense. I enjoy our little debates.

Although if you really wanted to hurt him, I think carding him 30mins before the draft would be right up there.

Lonergan at 13 and Thurlow at 16...

I-came-eccbc87e4b5ce2fe28308fd9f2a7baf3-1360.gif

Then Siggins at 62...

bradddancedd.gif

Thanks for the kind words all. Interesting draft. First 11/12 as planned and took a curious turn with both Tasmanians going early. Lonergan to Gold Coast a good fit!

Brodie Grundy sliding to 18 the bargain of the draft and he had no right being there. Clear top 5 talent and with that ruckman being Collingwood's key need with Jolly nearing the end it was a real surprise being able to fill that need when there seemed little chance. Kennedy also handy and can play some immediate footy and adds much needed explosiveness.

The Western Bulldogs draft I really liked. They nailed the Stringer, Macrae and Hrovat selections with Hunter through F/S underrated.

Melbourne another big winner with Toumpas, Viney, Kent late has something and Terlich also a good bet as an immediate mature defender who should really add some rebound.

Port Adelaide also impressive with Wines who could win the rising star next year as that strong inside mid and Clurey at 29 another bargain.

Essendon with Daniher don't require mentioning as that was always pretty straightforward.

KM, as predicted Toumpas to Dees at 4. How does he stack up age for age against Jack Trengrove?

Similar quality, different game.

Both excellent in u18s and at around the same stage.

Toumpas the better/more damaging ball user. Trengrove more inside.

Would really appreciate anything you have on Pruden!!

Inside type who has probably gone under the radar some. Really stands out in congestion with his decision making and never fumbles. Looks really at ease when playing so there could be something there.

Great write ups, KM. Some interesting players not picked up, Colquhoun, Pongracic, Garlett, Haynes and Rodda, but this i have a few questions regarding the Tigers, and given your draft knowledge, would like your thoughts.

What are your thoughts on the Tigers draft, KM?

Nick Vlastuin
Kamdyn McIntosh
Liam McBean
Matthew McDonough

And what would you give as a rating out of 10?

Great write ups, KM. Some interesting players not picked up, Colquhoun, Pongracic, Garlett, Haynes and Rodda, but this i have a few questions regarding the Tigers, and given your draft knowledge, would like your thoughts.

Nick Vlastuin
Kamdyn McIntosh
Liam McBean
Matthew McDonough

I had the Tiges in 9th place.

Brodie Grundy sliding to 18 the bargain of the draft and he had no right being there. Clear top 5 talent and with that ruckman being Collingwood's key need with Jolly nearing the end it was a real surprise being able to fill that need when there seemed little chance. Kennedy also handy and can play some immediate footy and adds much needed explosiveness.

Massive win for Collingwood. It amazes me that they not only can keep their core group together, finish top 4, and still manage to get an amazing rebuilding type draft at the same time.

Port drafted well too, for mine.

Massive win for Collingwood. It amazes me that they not only can keep their core group together, finish top 4, and still manage to get an amazing rebuilding type draft at the same time.

Port for me were very good. Collingwood and Port (Aside from GWS) were the standouts for me.

Althought, I think the bargain of the draft is Atkins at 81.

Nick Vlastuin
Kamdyn McIntosh
Liam McBean
Matthew McDonough

I'll get a draft review up over coming days.

I would give Richmond either a B+ or out of 10 a 7/10. Solid draft. Vlastuin first round is a solid find and I like those other selections also. McIntosh and McDonough in particular I like and in my view present solid value.

McIntosh has the ability to find a role in the back half and has an impressive game and McDonough is a very powerful small forward with such strong marking ability and just finds the goals, if he can lean down looks like he could be something also.

McBean I'm not so sure was really a necessary selection, I don't see him developing into a ruckman at the next level - not super powerful, not super athletic and has the feel more of a tall key position player but if he can find a position then maybe it works out and certainly taken about where he should have been selected but in Richmond's situation not someone I would have taken.

In Richmond's situation I would have gone Grundy early instead of Vlastuin and I think hindsight will really show just how wrong all clubs were on Grundy, regardless of needs for not selecting him. A midfielder could have been had second round or a Membrey who also would have been a heck of a find in the 2nd round and while it's no surprise that he would have fallen as that undersized key forward with similar types falling in that past, I think if he gets the opportunity to develop through the midfield he could be something and Sydney have done well to get him in the 40s.

I was right about not rating Hrovat, Wright and Colquhoun all that highly and wrong about Mathew Haynes being picked up.

Grundy is a massive get for us but it probably came at the expense of Lonergan who I believe will turn out to be the best mid from this draft.

It just shows why you don't need to tank to build a list and why it no longer works without those extra selections awarded as previously.

Geelong in the 2009+2010 drafts despite being premiership and top 4 finishes still dominated both drafts and in both years added more than even a bottom placed Melbourne.

Collingwood with Grundy and strong past selections also have the opportunity to stay in that top half of the ladder and go without rebuilding.

Adelaide have done the same. Sydney don't need to finish bottom 8 and always build through trade week finding those underutilised need fillers.

Any reason why you think Nick Graham slid to 54?

You had him in your top 25 in most versions of your mocks.

Happy with the risk/reward type in Menzel. A forward line with Betts/Garlett/Menzel is very exciting.

Graham I only had so high because he was expected to go so high being at 24 in the afl.com draft

With Graham he has the feel of a very good TAC Cup player but I don't feel that certainty that he can make the transition at AFL level as that smaller, not so strong midfielder. Uses it well and has some versatility but just not sure what role he can play for a team and while a solid all-rounder.

Menzel is a good fit for Carlton. One of the best talents in this draft. Could break down any time but if he can stay healthy can be as good as any.

I was right about not rating Hrovat, Wright and Colquhoun all that highly and wrong about Mathew Haynes being picked up.

Grundy is a massive get for us but it probably came at the expense of Lonergan who I believe will turn out to be the best mid from this draft.

Talk was Lonergan was high on our list, I suspect we may have taken him instead of Broomhead but I'm sure Collingwood very happy with the outcome and suspect Grundy and Lonergan both well inside our top 10 in our rankings.

Haynes I'm not surprised about. More athlete than footballer. Hope he gets a shot still as a rookie and isn't the worst for a club to take a shot on. Was considered a potential top 5 pick coming into the year but I don't expect Collingwood take him with Broomhead and Ramsay now added.

Colquhoun I wouldn't have taken national draft either, might still be looked at rookie draft though.

Hrovat didn't have enough speed for Collingwood with pace being that objective to add more of, Wright probably not as high on our list but might have been considered at 38 if he slid. Hrovat and Wright I still really like as players and I think can both go on and have success for their new clubs.

Yeah no doubt Hrovat and Wright will still be solid players but they weren't something we needed. Kennedy is a far more talented kid with a better pace and goal sense than them. Broomhead is a bit of a left field selection but apparently was very highly rated by Rendell. Love the fact our new recruits are good mates, takes out the go home factor out of the equation to an extent.

ps. I bet you'd be hoping like hell we nab the bad boy Garlett in the rookie draft.

any thoughts on st kilda. i thought they did really well once you factor in the hickey/lee/tdl acquisitions. very left field selections but could turn out amazing.

They seemed frustrated that they couldn't take the key defender they wanted in the 40s - but perhaps this is addressed in the rookie draft with a mature type, maybe Justin Hardy, Joel Tippett or Kyle Hartigan. But I like Wright in particular early and I think he can go on to have success off a back flank with his explosiveness.

Spencer White has some upside, Murdoch at 40 is an ok get and Saunders has his fans and has some pace.

Yeah no doubt Hrovat and Wright will still be solid players but they weren't something we needed. Kennedy is a far more talented kid with a better pace and goal sense than them. Broomhead is a bit of a left field selection but apparently was very highly rated by Rendell. Love the fact our new recruits are good mates, takes out the go home factor out of the equation to an extent.

ps. I bet you'd be hoping like hell we nab the bad boy Garlett in the rookie draft.

Some worrying things coming out about Garlett which have scared off recruiters. As I was saying pre-draft no certainty that he gets selected.

Would endorse the selection though and as a rookie you can take a chance and back the club culture in.

Sam Dwyer is one to look out for with that other rookie selection.

There was a hint of Rendell influence with the three SA boys early, no doubt. I suspect Hine and his crew spoke to him about his view on these knowing/expecting a number of these to be available at our selections.

Rendell loves those who can win their own ball and Kennedy certainly can with Broomhead while more outside also capable of winning his own ball. I can imagine both would have featured high on his list and seem to recall reading somewhere that he rated Kennedy in particular very highly with what he has actived these past two seasons with Grundy probably top 3, maybe top 4 on his list.

Also a good call about them all being from the same state, limiting the go home factor. Never hurts, whether it was a conscious decision and how much it came into it we can only guess but certainly not a bad thing.