Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Eli Templeton sure slipped down your rankings quickly :eek: What did he do wrong? I don't think his injury is serious enough to make him all of a sudden a bottom pick.

KM,

What should Melbourne do if they get pick 1. We have Clarke, Dawes, Hogan, Howe, Watts, Fitzpatrick and Gawn as key forwards and you have rated Boyd as a standout. By how much is Boyd better than pick 2? What would pick 1 be worth in terms of trading down? (i.e. would he be worth picks 2 and 10)

Thanks in advance.

Trading down could be worth considering.

Given the list position it must be considered and if the club fell an Aish, Sharenberg, Bontempelli or Sheed will become the best in the draft then it's worth consideration.

The other option is making a big trade. Perhaps moving Watts on may be an option. It's not going to leave Melbourne without quality talls with Frawley/Hogan/Clark and perhaps a Boyd through the draft if you go that way. So there will be a number of clubs who could put together a competitive packages for the athletic no.1 overall selection.
Geelong with some of their young assets could make an interesting package. Perhaps two of their young core and their 1st round draft pick may be a neat package for a guy who wasn't had a major influence on winning but could in a new environment reach his potential.
Brisbane are another team with some young assets who could put together an interesting package. With their KPP needs you can bet they'll pay for a chance at Watts.

Eli Templeton sure slipped down your rankings quickly :eek: What did he do wrong? I don't think his injury is serious enough to make him all of a sudden a bottom pick.

It's more I'm noticing a few others and liking their recent form more.

Templeton has always been a top talent from this draft group from a young age with his u16 form particularly outstanding but others I feel have developed quicker in recent seasons. I measure upside on development and with Templeton not even building up his body I'm not seeing it at the moment. A club can take him late draft but I would not take him early draft.

From Tasmania it's the Kade Kolodjashnij show having far surpassed Templeton in a hurry.

I am definitely a K Kolodjashnij fan (his brother ain't half bad either), and think KK will probably be our highest draftee this year, but Templeton is outstanding. His recent form is hard to judge, since he has been injured most of the year. He was a class above everyone in Tassie's loss to the Eastern Rangers, and that was his first game back from injury. He was absolutely everywhere, used it really well when he had it, and was very tough in close. He should be back for Tassie's next game, and I think if he stays injury free, he will show how classy he is during these champs. Expecting him to shoot back up the rankings. :thumbsu:

If he does get selected around 59, he will be a bargain.

Trading down could be worth considering.

Given the list position it must be considered and if the club fell an Aish, Sharenberg, Bontempelli or Sheed will become the best in the draft then it's worth consideration.

The other option is making a big trade. Perhaps moving Watts on may be an option. It's not going to leave Melbourne without quality talls with Frawley/Hogan/Clark and perhaps a Boyd through the draft if you go that way. So there will be a number of clubs who could put together a competitive packages for the athletic no.1 overall selection.
Geelong with some of their young assets could make an interesting package. Perhaps two of their young core and their 1st round draft pick may be a neat package for a guy who wasn't had a major influence on winning but could in a new environment reach his potential.
Brisbane are another team with some young assets who could put together an interesting package. With their KPP needs you can bet they'll pay for a chance at Watts.

It's more I'm noticing a few others and liking their recent form more.

Templeton has always been a top talent from this draft group from a young age with his u16 form particularly outstanding but others I feel have developed quicker in recent seasons. I measure upside on development and with Templeton not even building up his body I'm not seeing it at the moment. A club can take him late draft but I would not take him early draft.

KM do you know much about Jake Kolodjashnij? I noticed you have not rated him in your top 100 and I think he has been impressive lately.

I am definitely a K Kolodjashnij fan (his brother ain't half bad either), and think KK will probably be our highest draftee this year, but Templeton is outstanding. His recent form is hard to judge, since he has been injured most of the year. He was a class above everyone in Tassie's loss to the Eastern Rangers, and that was his first game back from injury. He was absolutely everywhere, used it really well when he had it, and was very tough in close. He should be back for Tassie's next game, and I think if he stays injury free, he will show how classy he is during these champs. Expecting him to shoot back up the rankings. :thumbsu:

If he does get selected around 59, he will be a bargain.
Look forward to seeing how Eli goes in the next game against VC. Apart from Kade and Eli who else do you rate from TAS?

KM what team dose joel madden play and who's carlton next father/son

Joel Madden was not drafted last year. Still on the Calder Cannons list. Only played the two TAC games last year and none this year. Not draft relevant until he is.

KM do you know much about Jake Kolodjashnij? I noticed you have not rated him in your top 100 and I think he has been impressive lately.

Brother of Kade. More a key defender. Taller and much stronger build so entirely different players.

Not nearly as dominant as his brother and by position doesn't yet project as AFL relevant but I'm sure with Kade doing so well clubs will look at him being one of the more interesting prospects from Tasmania this year.

Look forward to seeing how Eli goes in the next game against VC. Apart from Kade and Eli who else do you rate from TAS?

Zac Webster is a pretty strong chance. Brother of St Kilda's Jimmy Webster. Doesn't have the elite left foot of his brother, but is super quick, has a massive work rate, and is pretty good in close. With Kade and Eli, those three are our three most obvious prospects from Tassie. Zac had a bit of a down game on the weekend, but was still important.

I rate Jake Kolodjashnij as a bit of an outside chance. He is in very good form at the moment. Would be a good third man up type defender, who can rebound very well of half back. But Tassie are using him more as a KPD, mainly due to there not being really any other guys strong enough to take on the opposition's best forward. He was soundly beaten by Boyd who is seven centimetres and 14 kilos bigger than Jake, but Jake has done extremely well in the following games. I see him being suited to a role more like Sam Fisher or Colin Garland, rather than a true KPD like Glass or Taylor. I think Jake would be able to impress more if we had a Siggins from last year available to take the opposition's big guy whilst Jake plays a more supportive role. If he keeps up this form, he should get a combine invite, then I think he could do his draft chances a world of good with some solid results. Wouldn't be writing him off just yet.

Then you have guys who could be looked at, like Pearce (197cm utility), Wiggins (Forward), Fox (197cm KPF), and possibly Brady Grey (small forward/midfielder). But those guys are a bit of a long shot at this stage, in my opinion.

Eli, Kade, and Zac are still the big three, but Jake is on the rise!!

Jake is very much draft relevant.
Where roughly would you rate him against his peers at this stage, Chris? Hard for me to compare because I only pay attention to the Tassie boys, and am relying on second hand info for the out of state guys.

From what I've seen, his defensive work is right up there despite being asked to do more than he sometimes should at his height. If anything, I'd like to see more of his rebounding game. But Tasmania are usually pretty good at showing off their better players even if it isn't always in the best of interest of the team (yes, I'm still annoyed that they didn't play Thurlow through the midfield last year), so he should get a chance to show what he can do. In terms of similar players, he wouldn't be at the level of say a Tom Cutler but he should get a look in regardless.

I rate him higher than Zac Webster. In fact I'd probably rate Gray, Wiggins and Pearce ahead of Webster too. Zac reminds me of Jesse Crichton, but I'd rate Crichton as having the better midfield game at his age. Don't see Webster developing into much more than a back pocket myself.

From what I've seen, his defensive work is right up there despite being asked to do more than he sometimes should at his height. If anything, I'd like to see more of his rebounding game. But Tasmania are usually pretty good at showing off their better players even if it isn't always in the best of interest of the team (yes, I'm still annoyed that they didn't play Thurlow through the midfield last year), so he should get a chance to show what he can do. In terms of similar players, he wouldn't be at the level of say a Tom Cutler but he should get a look in regardless.

I rate him higher than Zac Webster. In fact I'd probably rate Gray, Wiggins and Pearce ahead of Webster too. Zac reminds me of Jesse Crichton, but I'd rate Crichton as having the better midfield game at his age. Don't see Webster developing into much more than a back pocket myself.
Cheers :thumbsu: Good to see I am not alone in thinking he is a pretty reasonable chance.

Interesting thoughts on Webster. He has been a bit down the last couple of games, but I think he is being played out of position really badly. He should never be played on the half back flank like he was for periods on the weekend. I see him more as a defensive small forward who can push up onto the wing, and possibly into the midfield with a lot of development. His inside work is pretty good given his size, his disposal is OK (looks worse due to Tassie's inability to spread against the good teams), and his pace would be more suited to closing down defenders or running along a wing than bursting through packs. I think he'd look a lot better in a better team. He should test very well at the combine for agility, pace, and endurance. But I don't totally disagree with your summation. I still think he is top 3, but Jake is closing in on him and he is not an absolute definite to be drafted. Think Eli and Kade are our only two (almost) certainties.

Are you Going to include the compo picks activated by gws and gc? Would love to have Kelly at 10 along with Boyd at 1. Wasley-black can be left out as gws is into him in a big way as he is into gws as well!

Zac Webster is a pretty strong chance. Brother of St Kilda's Jimmy Webster. Doesn't have the elite left foot of his brother, but is super quick, has a massive work rate, and is pretty good in close. With Kade and Eli, those three are our three most obvious prospects from Tassie. Zac had a bit of a down game on the weekend, but was still important.

I rate Jake Kolodjashnij as a bit of an outside chance. He is in very good form at the moment. Would be a good third man up type defender, who can rebound very well of half back. But Tassie are using him more as a KPD, mainly due to there not being really any other guys strong enough to take on the opposition's best forward. He was soundly beaten by Boyd who is seven centimetres and 14 kilos bigger than Jake, but Jake has done extremely well in the following games. I see him being suited to a role more like Sam Fisher or Colin Garland, rather than a true KPD like Glass or Taylor. I think Jake would be able to impress more if we had a Siggins from last year available to take the opposition's big guy whilst Jake plays a more supportive role. If he keeps up this form, he should get a combine invite, then I think he could do his draft chances a world of good with some solid results. Wouldn't be writing him off just yet.

Then you have guys who could be looked at, like Pearce (197cm utility), Wiggins (Forward), Fox (197cm KPF), and possibly Brady Grey (small forward/midfielder). But those guys are a bit of a long shot at this stage, in my opinion.

Eli, Kade, and Zac are still the big three, but Jake is on the rise!!
Cheers mate! There is something about JK I like. I was told he has had to play CHB because there is no one else to play that role, hopefully it doesn't jeopardise his chances and he can show the scouts more.
Good luck to the lot of them I say!!

Cheers Chris25 I hope he does get a look in! Great to see the K twins both get drafted :) and a few others from Tassie!!

Anyone else excited like me to read round 2 onwards?

And here I was going to focus on getting my yearly Collingwood list management thread started this weekend.

Sounds like I'll have to get that second round up sooner rather than later.

Are you Going to include the compo picks activated by gws and gc? Would love to have Kelly at 10 along with Boyd at 1. Wasley-black can be left out as gws is into him in a big way as he is into gws as well!

Kelly probably doesn't make it to pick 10. Clubs rate him much higher than I do in my power rankings.

With the zone selections I'll keep them in the draft until they have been zoned. It's highly probable that GWS take that shot at Wasley-Black but until they take him, they haven't.

That may indeed be the case with Boyd where a GWS take him anyway regardless of need. It's a case of there is no clear no.2. Aish, Scharenberg, Dunstan, Bontempelli/Sheed?

I have indeed.

Much stronger body than Jamie and a much stronger ball winner and inside player but also has some ability outside making him intriguing at his height. He's looking like one of the better WA talents this year and is one to watch for in the second round.

I like him Knightmare if he has a good championships I see him as a top ten prospect.
He is such a beast at the footy with a good kick and brilliant hands.

In some ways I could see him overtaking Sheed as WA's first pick.

He has been compared to Jobe Watson and I see it as a good comparison.
He is that ideal big strong inside beast every club wants these days, does every thing right
and works hard of the field.
Just the way the game is played today seems to suit his style of footy.
Championships will decide where he ends up, if he plays like he did against Tas against the
other division 1 sides then look out he will be this years bolter.

And here I was going to focus on getting my yearly Collingwood list management thread started this weekend.

Sounds like I'll have to get that second round up sooner rather than later.

Priorities man. Who cares about Collingwood? :p

2306303_1_M.jpg

Any info on this bloke:

25. Matthew Boag
DOB: 9 April 1995
Height: 185cm
Weight: 90kg
Previous Club: Torquay
Thats a magnicent size for a young fella. Think he sneaks into the age bracket.

Thoughts on Mitch Keedle?

Good TAC player but hasn't shown such a high level of play that he gets drafted to this point.

Is there a chance that 210cm player (can't remember his name) born in 1994 could be drafted but have his 86kg body develop for a couple of seasons?

Angus Milham.

A long, long way off but if a club is ok with putting 6-8 years into him he could in his mid-late 20s become something if he has the work ethic.

Height is rare so clubs will give him consideration but he needs to improve and show that he's a hard trainer to give clubs a reason to take the chance.

Guys this tall are always projects and almost always take into their mid 20s.