Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

What happened in the VFL Finals?

McDonald has rebounded.

His situation has been that he's had a poor season - due to injuries.

I've never had any issues with his game. He's remained high in my rankings for good reason. I've seen enough of him in years past and I'm confident in my assessment of his game pre-injury to not be worried by any form issues and these past couple of weeks he's rebounded in a big way with two exceptionally strong performances in the VFL for Werribee breaking the slump.

This week specifically he demonstrated his precision kicking, ability by hand and ability to win some of his own footy with the latter not normally his thing as more that Goddard type who typically likes others to win the footy for him and be that one who does the damage outside the contest with his work by foot and running game.

In any case he's a clear top 5 selection in this draft.

hey km what range do you think nathan freeman will go seen him play once looked like a young
dangerfield hard explosive line breaker a chance for the pies maybe?

Knightmare, considering Carlton's first pick now looks to be in the 13 -15 range. Who are the potential draftees likely to fall within that range?

Also is there any chance one of Lennon, Sheed, or Crouch might sliding to into that range?

Josh Glenn, Tom Langdon and Isaiah Miller all come to mind as above average kicking tall back flankers.
Glenn is my pick of the bunch but all are worth consideration as late draft selections.

I like the idea of any of those guys. Maybe also Zac Jones as a good defensive player with rebound?

Also should Daisy leave (not wishing him away),who and what type of players do you think the pies look at assuming it becomes two consecutive picks? (10/11)

Which needs are most pressing based on the guys who may still be there? (developing kpf - McCarthy; inside ball winner to replace Ball- Crouch/Sheed/Freeman; xfactor player: Bontempelli or kicking weapons: Lennon /Salem)

hey km what range do you think nathan freeman will go seen him play once looked like a young
dangerfield hard explosive line breaker a chance for the pies maybe?

Freeman is likely to be available and does have some Dangerfield - just not as tall and although he can win his own footy inside the contest he's not as consistently dominant inside the contest. He will probably go roughly in that 10-15 range.

He has some attributes and would be a fit for Collingwood with pace and skill something Collingwood need. I just like a few others more - namely Crouch and Sheed who are both better performed.

Knightmare, considering Carlton's first pick now looks to be in the 13 -15 range. Who are the potential draftees likely to fall within that range?

Also is there any chance one of Lennon, Sheed, or Crouch might sliding to into that range?

One of the three should be available. Most likely Sheed of that group.
Dumont and Dunstan may also be other options who could be strong selections as other midfielders. Nathan Freeman may also be there so there will be options a plenty with that top 20 all pretty even.

I like the idea of any of those guys. Maybe also Zac Jones as a good defensive player with rebound?

Also should Daisy leave (not wishing him away),who and what type of players do you think the pies look at assuming it becomes two consecutive picks? (10/11)

Which needs are most pressing based on the guys who may still be there? (developing kpf - McCarthy; inside ball winner to replace Ball- Crouch/Sheed/Freeman; xfactor player: Bontempelli or kicking weapons: Lennon /Salem)

Zac Jones I'm increasingly liking also. I wouldn't take him top 20 but perhaps somewhere in the 20-30 range I'd strongly consider him as probably that better performed defender in the TAC.

If Daisy leaves and Collingwood get pick 11 then I'd expect as with pick 10 another best available selection. Personally I'd love a Crouch and Sheed combo but a Bontempelli, Lennon, Kolodjashnij are others who may be some different types who I expect Collingwood would also strongly consider as taller, good ball users.

Early draft it's all about taking the best talent and this year the best availables are those inside midfielders - Crouch, Sheed, Dumont, Dunstan, Freeman so that's probably where I'd start and then later on look to fill those needs.

I believe that long term key forward is that no.1 need but I wouldn't spend pick 10/11 on McCarthy with pick 1 = Thomas Boyd what I'd be really looking to make a strong play for or if that is not possible then a Mitch Harvey in the 2nd round could be a backup plan if we look to address that need this year.

Lions need players who don't cry for mummy...who do you have Knight? :cool:

Christian Salem is as hard as they come.

But Matt Crouch would be my pick for Brisbane as that dominant inside mid. I just want him at Collingwood :p

Cheers Knight bang on my thoughts too.

Would love for McCarthy to still be there at the Pies second. Maybe with concerns about the leg there is a chance.

Christian Salem is as hard as they come.

But Matt Crouch would be my pick for Brisbane as that dominant inside mid. I just want him at Collingwood :p

matt crouch is my pick for port adelaide. im doubting that he will be available at our pick though but we should jump all over him if he is.

despite what many believe i reckon port needs an inside grunt in and under specialist. cassisi and cornes are our best here and we have young ollie wines of course. most of the rest of our list are more inside/outside clearance types rather than pack monsters. think we really need that inside in and under type to partner with ollie.

salem and lewis taylor are my other picks for port.

matt crouch is my pick for port adelaide. im doubting that he will be available at our pick though but we should jump all over him if he is.

despite what many believe i reckon port needs an inside grunt in and under specialist. cassisi and cornes are our best here and we have young ollie wines of course. most of the rest of our list are more inside/outside clearance types rather than pack monsters. think we really need that inside in and under type to partner with ollie.

You can never have too many hard inside ball winners.

Early draft history suggests it's the way to go. I don't disagree with your vision for Port Adelaide's situation.

Just don't bet on any of Crouch/Taylor/Salem being available. When I update my draft order hopefully this weekend they'll all be inside my top 11 selections.

Cheers Knight bang on my thoughts too.

Would love for McCarthy to still be there at the Pies second. Maybe with concerns about the leg there is a chance.

McCarthy may slide but I wouldn't expect him to slide past 20 and certainly not 25 with his talent.

But if he's there in the 2nd round he'd be a great get with his talent evident even if he takes a while to realise his potential.

Templeton a noticeable exclusion from power rankings, accident?

also want your thoughts on where would you put him? i noticed you had him lower than others in your power rankings before. do you think he is a reach for inside that first round maybe ahead of Kolodjashnij? he seems to me to be lower risk than Kade while also having higher ceiling with his contested ball ability. especially for such a light body. i would be happy for port to take him at about 14 given there is no unexpected slider

Templeton a noticeable exclusion from power rankings, accident?

also want your thoughts on where would you put him? i noticed you had him lower than others in your power rankings before. do you think he is a reach for inside that first round maybe ahead of Kolodjashnij? he seems to me to be lower risk than Kade while also having higher ceiling with his contested ball ability. especially for such a light body. i would be happy for port to take him at about 14 given there is no unexpected slider

Templeton as an u16 was dominant and he's still good but he's a light body and a relative non-improver.

Templeton is very much a reach in the first round and he'll be available in the 2nd round for clubs, no problem.

Kolodjashnij is an improving tall back flanker/wingman and while he'll remain outside and light bodied I'm increasingly confident in his game and production. He'll remain outside which is why I wouldn't use a top 10 selection on him, but a selection inside the top 20, sure. He'll find plenty of it, use it well and provide some run and carry so he can find a role.

Templeton I'm not so sure finds a role. He can play a little bit everywhere but he doesn't have that point of difference and I'm not seeing a position he settles in and develops into. He's played well against the light bodies but as the bodies have become stronger he's found life harder and I can't help thinking that he'll struggle at the top level.
I see him as a boarderline guy. He's not someone I'd select and he's more on the boarderline of my ratings as someone I'd rate around 60 but I don't have enough faith in to draft with any level of confidence.
He'll still probably go on draft day though. He's rated by enough others.

Templeton as an u16 was dominant and he's still good but he's a light body and a relative non-improver.

He's played well against the light bodies but as the bodies have become stronger he's found life harder and I can't help thinking that he'll struggle at the top level.

I'm intrigued by these two points, and wondering if you could expand a little.

Firstly, the latest printed weight for Eli is 75kg - the same as James Aish. So perhaps not quite as light a body as the 67kg from a few months ago would suggest. And regardless, he has been playing against senior bodies in Tasmania for two years now. And he has done so very well, maybe he isn't being named in the best players every week but he has well and truly shown he is a class above. So life against the stronger bodies hasn't been too hard for him. Plus, he was one of Tassie's best during the Championships, averaging 23 touches. And I thought he showed significant improvement, particularly in terms of an inside game - which while not elite, is developing well and he recorded a fair few clearances.

Admittedly, I do have a soft spot for Templeton. He is the #1 Taswegian for me, and I can't fault his performances or development over the last two years.

Firstly, the latest printed weight for Eli is 75kg - the same as James Aish. So perhaps not quite as light a body as the 67kg from a few months ago would suggest. And regardless, he has been playing against senior bodies in Tasmania for two years now. And he has done so very well, maybe he isn't being named in the best players every week but he has well and truly shown he is a class above. So life against the stronger bodies hasn't been too hard for him. Plus, he was one of Tassie's best during the Championships, averaging 23 touches. And I thought he showed significant improvement, particularly in terms of an inside game - which while not elite, is developing well and he recorded a fair few clearances.

Admittedly, I do have a soft spot for Templeton. He is the #1 Taswegian for me, and I can't fault his performances or development over the last two years.

Personally think he's gone 1st round but holding out hope Knighta is spot on and we can snag him. :p

Hey Knighta, How have you been bud?
Question for you, How is joshua iacobaccio looking from northern knights?
His numbers seem to be increasing week by week. Is he a rookie chance?

Cheers

Knightmare - really been enjoying your answers to all the questions in addition to the phantom, great work.

You can tell where I'm coming from with this question, and no worries if you can't be bothered answering for any/all of them, but was interested in draft ranges if the following players were in this years ND (assuming none of the baggage in terms of them wanting to potentially change clubs etc - assume a clean slate with them all happy to play for any club). Thanks in advance.

Conca
Yarran
Yeo

Philthy, realistically I think Port will settle for Dumont or Dunstan. Solid AFL players - and SA boys - and spend their second pick on Polak

I haven't seen his updated weight but that's a promising start that he's beginning to put some weight on that frame.

The numbers of div 2 guys can be more difficult to evaluate because they have less help around them and coming up against other div 2 teams it's weaker opposition.

He's a relatively good all rounder but he lacks a point of difference that makes you sit up and take notice. He's an ok but I'd still say a limited ball winner and as a light body playing inside the contest at the next level probably isn't within his capabilities. He's a good user of the footy without being a freak user or a penetrating kick. Has good pace but isn't a major linebreaking threat.

My other question beyond the point of difference is what is his position at the next level? He's not a dominant enough inside ball winner/clearance winner to be a serious on ball option. Outside the contest he finds some ball but not that, that much and he's not going to do that much damage. Forward or back perhaps on a flank he could be a fit but again I'm not seeing on all that many teams who he would play in front of.

James Aish I have some questions along similar lines with at his size as I don't ever see him becoming a genuine on baller who will win all that much of his own footy which is why I have him lower down my power rankings than most recruiters would but in saying that he's got a more dominant game as a higher level ball user, a higher level runner (both pace and endurance as well as that ability to work through traffic), he's a higher level accumulator when healthy and similarly has stacked up well if not better against senior opposition playing in a stronger competition. He won't be the best in this draft but he'll still on a wing or back flank become a strong contributor at AFL level and find a role on a team right away with his talent better than most by position.

Hey Knighta, How have you been bud?
Question for you, How is joshua iacobaccio looking from northern knights?
His numbers seem to be increasing week by week. Is he a rookie chance?

Cheers

Not invited to the draft combine. Probably goes undrafted with others more talked about but his past month has been better and suggests that he's a player on the improve which is what recruiters look for.

Knightmare - really been enjoying your answers to all the questions in addition to the phantom, great work.

You can tell where I'm coming from with this question, and no worries if you can't be bothered answering for any/all of them, but was interested in draft ranges if the following players were in this years ND (assuming none of the baggage in terms of them wanting to potentially change clubs etc - assume a clean slate with them all happy to play for any club). Thanks in advance.

Conca
Yarran
Yeo

Conca 5-15
Yarran 10-20
Yeo 20-30

Any NT boys Likely to get drafted?

Daniel Cox and Erin Wasley-Black were invited to the draft combine so they're both a chance. Jarrod Stokes is another with his pace up forward who could be a chance.

None are locks though so no guarantees on any of them.

Fair enough. I still think you're underrating Templeton, he could easily find a home on a wing. As for Aish, I wouldn't worry at all. He'll be the best midfielder (and he will be a midfielder) from this draft, and by a long way.

How ready made do you think he'll be? Obviously don't expect a Jaeger type impact but something along the lines of Ollie Wines type of output in his first season would be amazing.

Considering how different they are, it would be unrealistic to expect Aish to have a similar impact to Wines. But, I could easily see him have an unheralded but nonetheless excellent debut season like Lachie Whitfield - 19 games for an average of 18 disposals. He's proven himself as a midfielder at league level in the SANFL, so there is no reason he couldn't slot straight in.