Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

Would the top 10 - 15 be of a higher quality than 2012's batch?

If you're looking for a Wines type surely you go someone like Crouch? Aish isn't and will never be that type of midfielder from what I understand.

I wasn't talking a midfielder like Wines I was talking in terms of immediate impact, as in come in and contribute pretty well straight away.

KM do you have James Aish as your clear cut #2 or do you think Melbourne could pick up someone else?

Aish is the most probable pick 2. He's the better of the names being floated around and would be a strong and that consensus choice at 2.

In my view Luke McDonald is better than Aish with Matt Crouch and Dominic Sheed others I rate a touch more highly as guys who better win their own footy and possibly have a stronger immediate impact while they're at it.

It's one of those long term situations. Wines and Crouch will have a more immediate impact, but I'd be taking Whitfield and Aish ultimately.

I'd take Wines and Crouch first over Whitfield and Aish today. Outside players look better than they are in the u18s with outside ball so much harder to find when you get to the big time. Winning it on the inside the contest better translates.

Wines and Crouch in my view will be better short and long term.

Would the top 10 - 15 be of a higher quality than 2012's batch?

Similar standard and pretty comparable. This years top 10-15 and top 20 is perhaps a touch better with the sheer quantity of quality inside types but nothing in it.

Any reason for McDonald being downgraded and sheed being upgraded on your power rankings mate?

My power rankings are still floating and will continue to change on the leadup to the draft as I further review games/footage.

I've moved McDonald up to 4 on review of his recent VFL game (thread not updated).

Essentially I've always had McDonald in the 4-7 range in my power rankings, the only marginal downgrade was more due to my review of Crouch and Sheed and shifting them up my rankings with Bontempelli down a touch so don't read anything into any movement of McDonald. I've continued to see him as the same player through the year and regardless of his form slump through most of the year he's big time and a big weapon.

I'd take Wines and Crouch first over Whitfield and Aish today. Outside players look better than they are in the u18s with outside ball so much harder to find when you get to the big time. Winning it on the inside the contest better translates.

Wines and Crouch in my view will be better short and long term.

Whitfield has looked pretty good this year. And nobody told Aish it gets harder outside the U18s. It's easier to develop an inside game, than it is the skills required to be an 'outside' player - not that Aish is solely 'outside' by any means.

Mate I'd just like to give you some big props with your power rankings from your 2012 phantom draft.

Out of interest I thought id have a look back now that the seasons done and dusted just to see how your opinions stack up at least this early on in their careers. Your first two groupings all have players whose impact has reflected where you've grouped them. Obviously some havent but they havent seemed to have had the exposure yet.

Interestingly to me at least, there doesnt seem to be any in the third group who look out of place with where you have them as i dont think any have shown huge amounts yet, again even though its year one.

Excellent foresight so far mate!

Hi Knightmare,

Could you tell me if I think its Charlie Cameron is eligible for this draft watched last weeks game his going to be special also another Benell was playing(not the x Melbourne one) looked young but has the moves.
Same game Garlett played his so smooth that kid could be anything.......

Mate I'd just like to give you some big props with your power rankings from your 2012 phantom draft.

Out of interest I thought id have a look back now that the seasons done and dusted just to see how your opinions stack up at least this early on in their careers. Your first two groupings all have players whose impact has reflected where you've grouped them. Obviously some havent but they havent seemed to have had the exposure yet.

Interestingly to me at least, there doesnt seem to be any in the third group who look out of place with where you have them as i dont think any have shown huge amounts yet, again even though its year one.

Excellent foresight so far mate!

It's a start when you get the top end right, it's something I aim to continue to improve on every year and this year I'd like my strike rate to continue going in the right direction.

If I was to re-do those top 10 power rankings of 2012 I'd now go with:
1. Jaeger O'Meara
2. Brodie Grundy
3. Joe Daniher
4. Brad Crouch
5. Oliver Wines
6. Jack Viney
7. Nick Vlastuin
8. Lachie Whitfield
9. Jackson Macrae
10. Sam Mayes

Toumpas is one who well drops down based on what we've seen and is probably that one top end guy I'm not satisfied with having so high in hindsight. Melbourne's poor development program I feel has hurt his progress but the rest of that top 10 I had I'm otherwise relatively pleased with.

The one key learning these past two seasons for me has been the value of the guy who can win their own footy. Every year there are some incredible inside machines who go lower than they deserve (Wines/Greene) despite really having the runs on the board. It's just such a high % type to draft early with those outside types those who typically get selected earlier than they should thanks to u18 footy really giving those outside types the opportunity to look better than they are with the way coaches play such open and free flowing games to play to the strengths of these types.

Hi Knightmare,

Could you tell me if I think its Charlie Cameron is eligible for this draft watched last weeks game his going to be special also another Benell was playing(not the x Melbourne one) looked young but has the moves.
Same game Garlett played his so smooth that kid could be anything.......

Charlie Cameron has something. He's a year older and absolutely draft eligable. Doesn't find a whole lot of the footy but he has some real pace to him and has the ability to do some damage. I like his game also and if he interviews well and his past coaches say good things about him I'd strongly recommend a club take him.

Based on 2013 performance
1 Jaeger O'Meara
2 Oliver Wines
3 Brad Crouch
4 Sam Mayes
5 Lachie Whitfield

6 Brodie Grundy
7 Joe Daniher
8 Jack Viney
9 Nick Vlastuin
10 Jackson Macrae

It's a start when you get the top end right, it's something I aim to continue to improve on every year and this year I'd like my strike rate to continue going in the right direction.

If I was to re-do those top 10 power rankings of 2012 I'd now go with:
1. Jaeger O'Meara
2. Brodie Grundy
3. Joe Daniher
4. Brad Crouch
5. Oliver Wines
6. Jack Viney
7. Nick Vlastuin
8. Lachie Whitfield
9. Jackson Macrae
10. Sam Mayes

IMHO way too high, he played 7 games with an average of 68 dream team points. Joe Daniher also way too high, 5 games with an average of 54 dream team points.

Talls take longer to develop.

Keep in mind my power rankings aren't based on performance to date but rather a projection of who over their careers will reach the greatest heights and experience the greatest success.

Grundy has as a first year ruckman exceeded the numbers of any ruckman I can think of on a per game basis.

Joe Daniher is speculative and he hasn't dominated this year but at his height with his marking ability and ability at ground level I'll back him in if he can stay healthy.

DT points? seriously?

Based on 2013 performance
1 Jaeger O'Meara
2 Oliver Wines
3 Brad Crouch
4 Sam Mayes
5 Lachie Whitfield
6 Brodie Grundy
7 Joe Daniher
8 Jack Viney
9 Nick Vlastuin
10 Jackson Macrae

I reckon vlastuin is a little underated here. He has had a great year and in his first final was nearly our best player.

So a young bloke name Jack Johnstone has been Williamstown's best player in the finals series.
Although he spent a lot of the year in the development league, with that type of form in big games could he come under consideration?
Looks like he played TAC cup in 2011 and 2012.

KM,

Apparently Zac Jones had 28 disposals, 10 tackles & 10 clearances today in the prelim for the Stingrays.

Did you see the game & based on his season do you now see him as a top 30 draft selection?

Would like to see him playing alongside Nathan at Melbourne next year but I'm not sure he'll be available with our 3rd round pick.

So a young bloke name Jack Johnstone has been Williamstown's best player in the finals series.
Although he spent a lot of the year in the development league, with that type of form in big games could he come under consideration?

He's a young fella who has all of a sudden pulled out some excellent performances.

I wouldn't think a club would take the chance on him on the back of a few really out of the box performances but he can take some great confidence into next season and if he can continue to improve on his play then that's when I suspect he'll come into the calculations of recruiters.

KM,

Apparently Zac Jones had 28 disposals, 10 tackles & 10 clearances today in the prelim for the Stingrays.

Did you see the game & based on his season do you now see him as a top 30 draft selection?

Would like to see him playing alongside Nathan at Melbourne next year but I'm not sure he'll be available with our 3rd round pick.

I was at the game today and I was sitting with a Melbourne supporter who ecoed your sentiments.

Zac Jones was excellent and looked a class above as one of the few genuinely AFL quality guys out there on the day. I think Zac Jones is worth a top 30 selection and will probably go somewhere in the 20-40 range on draft day. He's just such a strongly performed player but hasn't come with the fanfare which screams draft day bargain to me.

If you want to make sure you get him it will take that 2nd round selection but if he's available in the 3rd round I'd absolutely jump at him as a selection. He's got the compete game and he can be an effective role player for a team.

Snoop Dog and I have been talking this kid up for two years now. I imagine he'll come into rookie consideration for the third year running, and these final performances will certainly help. I hope this is his year.

I was at the game today and I was sitting with a Melbourne supporter who ecoed your sentiments.

Zac Jones was excellent and looked a class above as one of the few genuinely AFL quality guys out there on the day. I think Zac Jones is worth a top 30 selection and will probably go somewhere in the 20-40 range on draft day. He's just such a strongly performed player but hasn't come with the fanfare which screams draft day bargain to me.

If you want to make sure you get him it will take that 2nd round selection but if he's available in the 3rd round I'd absolutely jump at him as a selection. He's got the compete game and he can be an effective role player for a team.

Do you see him at AFL level as a backman or do you think he has the ability after a few preseasons to become a legitimate midfielder?

If he is anything like Nathan he'll have a fantastic attitude & work rate. If we do pull a start of 2nd round PP, I wouldn't be against using our actual 2nd rnd pick to get a heart & soul type player into the club.

Do you see him at AFL level as a backman or do you think he has the ability after a few preseasons to become a legitimate midfielder?

If he is anything like Nathan he'll have a fantastic attitude & work rate. If we do pull a start of 2nd round PP, I wouldn't be against using our actual 2nd rnd pick to get a heart & soul type player into the club.

Jones has played more as a backman and that's probably where he settles at the next level at this stage but in saying that he does have the opportunity to develop into a midfielder and showed some very positive signs today.

He reminds me a little of Scott Burns where you could probably play anywhere and he'll still play a hard brand of footy for you and not look out of place.