Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2013 phantom draft

KM are there any mature-aged small lockdown defenders that could step up and make a pretty reasonable immediate impact?

I know Scott Sherlock (Werribee) had a decent year in the VFL. Provides run and is fierce in 1-on-1 contests. He's your traditional small lockdown though, being no taller than 175cm.

KM are there any mature-aged small lockdown defenders that could step up and make a pretty reasonable immediate impact?

David Mirra would probably be my pick of the bunch. Scott Sherlock and Daniel Caire if you don't mind going super small also can play.

If you're not opposed to recycled players Joel Wilkinson is one I think Gold Coast may have let go a touch early. He played some excellent shutdown roles this year. Most notably against Adam Goodes and Dayne Zorko. Few better young athletic pure stoppers going around and is someone who will continue to work at his game and continue to improve.

David Mirra would probably be my pick of the bunch. Scott Sherlock and Daniel Caire if you don't mind going super small also can play.
Cheers. Going small doesn't really bother me; just need someone who can lock down on your traditional dangerous smalls. Some talk on our board that Picken may be traded so just curious to get some names for someone who could come in and play that role should anything eventuate. Wood's disposal and decision making coming out of defense is all that's holding him back from being the perfect player for that role, while Jong is still super raw. Past that we have no real options.

Thomas Hodgson and Darcy Byrne-Jones from the 3rd round will get considered. Steven Edwards has some incredible pace. Josh Pitson also has some special to him. Nathan Drummond has some serious pace also.

Speaking of which i wonder what he ran in the 20m sprint.

Seen him run down Clem Smith easily, seems to have great top end speed which wouldn't necessarily show up in a 20m sprint.

Hi Knightmare,

I asked you this last year and I was very grateful for your response, so hoping you will be willing to do similar again :) I was hoping you would be able to rank the current year's potential draftees (maybe top 10 or 20 including minidraft players) from a DT perspective, as well as rating their potential to play games this year. I ask because I'm in a DT Keeper League and I've got a bunch of first and second round picks and am looking to bolster my team.

Cheers

Goatus

Hi Knightmare,

I asked you this last year and I was very grateful for your response, so hoping you will be willing to do similar again :) I was hoping you would be able to rank the current year's potential draftees (maybe top 10 or 20 including minidraft players) from a DT perspective, as well as rating their potential to play games this year. I ask because I'm in a DT Keeper League and I've got a bunch of first and second round picks and am looking to bolster my team.

Cheers

Goatus

Get on McDonlad, will play early

Knightmare. I think you might need to re access your Mitch Harvey prediction. He missed the prelim and grand final for North Adelaides under 18 through disciplinary issues. That must drop him down??

Would love for him to get to Essendon and team up with Watson.

Not sure he has the height to 'mix it' with the big inside mids in the AFL. He wouldn't die wondering though, right attitude.

EDIT: Nevermind, missed the joke initially. Not baad

Speaking of which i wonder what he ran in the 20m sprint.

Seen him run down Clem Smith easily, seems to have great top end speed which wouldn't necessarily show up in a 20m sprint.

Edwards didn't place which is interesting.

It's another reason why I don't care how guys test. You and I know Edwards can really go and so does anyone else who has seen at least one of his games.
Same story with Charlie Cameron. He's incredibly quick and yet he didn't place in any of the tests.

Trust the eyes. What they do in game is what matters, not what they do on the track.

Hi Knightmare,

Cheers

Goatus

Jack Martin would be my first picked rookie. Like Jaeger O'Meara he can have an immediate impact and likely will be one of the cheaper quality rookies making him the one must have.

Dayle Garlett if he gets drafted will be a cheap option who should play regularly pretty well right away.

Matt Crouch and Dominic Sheed are two who if playing can really rack up the big numbers and do so right away if they can break into their new teams early season.

Kade Kolodjashnij if listed as a defender would be a good get when he gets games.

Lewis Taylor if listed as a forward would be a very strong choice.

Luke McDonald if listed as a defender and playing early could be a solid choice.

Blake Acres if he looks set to play early games is another I'd strongly look at.

Otherwise look for the mature agers - any cheap mature ager who plays early is worth jumping at. Mitch Thorp, Nathan Gordon, Chris Cain and whoever else gets drafted could all be solid choices.

From a DT perspective on those who will certainly be drafted (I'm excluding mature agers simply because their draft status is not guaranteed):
1. Jack Martin (Cheap. Will score high. Bet on him for the rising star while you're at it. Can play 20 games and average a damaging 80DT)
2. Matt Crouch (May go later 1st round than expected. Can average 90DT. Just unknown how many senior games he plays which will depend entirely on who drafts him)
3. Dominic Sheed (Again it depends on where he lands. Has some positional range so that may also change things. Play him through the midfield and he can average 80DT and play most and possibly all games depending on the situation)
4. Kade Kolodjashnij (Outside but will accumuate which is perfect for DT. Depends on if/when he plays but once he plays two bring him in because he'll make you plenty of $$. Can average 70DT)
5. Lewis Taylor (Will accumulate and should play early. Can average 75DT)
6. Luke McDonald (The aim will be to play round 1. Will likely play off a back flank. Could average 70DT and play 20 games)
7. Blake Acres (An unknown and I'd watch during NAB Cup to see what his likely scoring is looking like and to see whether it looks like he'll play a role early. Can accumulate and may play early. Could average 75DT)
8. Josh Kelly (Early pick but will accumulate and play most if not every week. Can average 75DT)
9. Matthew Scharenberg (Early pick. Depending on the team has the opportunity to play 20 games. Can average 65DT)
10. Luke Dunstan (Could average 75DT and will be a late 1st round - 2nd round pick but probably doesn't play early unless it's a bottom team. One to look out for when he debuts)
11. James Aish (Has the opportunity to play all games. Could average 70DT but as the likely pick 2 comes at a price)
12. Jack Billings (Quality and can debut early. Can average 65DT)
13. Christian Salem (Strong body who can play pretty well right away. Just how many games is the unknown. May average 60DT)
14. Ben Lennon (May not debut round 1 but will play. May average 60DT)
15. Billy Hartung (Not a massive wrap but as a small likely to be selected early he'll likely also play early. May play 10-15 games and average 60DT depending on the team)

Might be worth asking me again when drafted. That way I'll have a better feel for the teams they're on, what roles, how many games and how much they'll score as it so often comes down to eventual location.

Knightmare. I think you might need to re access your Mitch Harvey prediction. He missed the prelim and grand final for North Adelaides under 18 through disciplinary issues. That must drop him down??

He probably doesn't go first round but I'd be surprised to see him slip past the second round. I have him comfortably inside my best 30 this year as one of the very few KPPs worth persuing.

I don't know enough about any disciplinary issues with Harvey. I've been exceptionally impressed by the work Harvey has put him to change his body and develop his game so I wouldn't be too concerned about Mitch the person and how he trains and prepairs going by the improvement I've seen.

That and his combine results. It would surprise me if goes in the main draft now.

All the better for Collingwood. Might be another year where we secure a quality big South Australian on the cheap. ;)

Sorry for all the questions :) but how do you feel about Shiel for Pick 2? Would we be winning out on this one? Do you think we are any chance to get some change from GWS too?

You commit a robbery and then want change?

I would do pick 2 for Shiel.

Shiel is quality and will help you right away. He'll play a Paul Ross variety of footy which will appeal as a genuine hard bodied, two way running midfielder.

Can't imagine you'd get change in that deal. Shiel is big time.

I found this article on the gold coast website. seemed a bit out of place.
http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/news/2013-10-04/kolodjashnij-on-the-rise

Knightmare do you reckon there's any chance gold coast will take Kolodjashnij with pick number 5?
They better not! :mad: They have a penchant for drafting Tasmanian players! Ever since taking Weller and Russell as their 17 year old picks, they have been mining the Tassie boys in the draft (Schade, Hall, Lonergan, Gilbee, and most likely Lachie Weller). Further though, McKenna has been talking up wanting to get a classy rebounding half back, so if they don't get one during the trade period, I'd say there is a pretty reasonable chance they'll use yet another high draft pick on a Tasmanian and get Kade :eek:

They are doing well for mids, so wouldn't be a bad idea to get in a versatile player like Kade and he (most likely) won't be around for their second pick.